Product Reviews

Mayfair Knit Top

A sweep of surplice defines our dressiest knit top of the season. Romantically ruched above and below the waist with a crossover waistband, it's a flattering, slightly A-line silhouette — perfect over our pencil skirt or matchstick jeans and anchored with strong jewelry. Cap sleeves. Slightly longer length. Lightweight pima cotton/modal jersey. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.917 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
0
18 of 2475%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Mayfair Knit Top
Review 1 for Mayfair Knit Top
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
trendygma
Location:tulsa , Ok
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Knit top
Date:February 25, 2014
True to size, nice quality fabric and very comfortable
Review 2 for Mayfair Knit Top
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Floridagringa
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
fit is off
Date:February 16, 2014
5'4" 125# and I got the XS. Tight through the bust (and I am a less than 34A). The A shape is very pronounced and the body of the shirt billows out past my chest for a maternity-ish effect. Maybe if one had very small hips this might work better.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison February 18, 2014
We're sorry to hear the fit of our Mayfair Knit Top didn't work for you. We'd be happy to help you with a return or freight free exchange at any time. Give us a call at 800-870-3513.
Review 3 for Mayfair Knit Top
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ladyslipper
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Very nice top
Date:February 4, 2014
I took a chance on this despite the negative reviews and I love it. I ordered the black in XS. It flows nicely under a sweater or alone, and does not look like a maternity top on me. That is often a problem with Garnet Hill's empire-waisted garments, but this one worked. The clearance price was excellent.
Review 4 for Mayfair Knit Top
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CMPV
Location:Greenwich, CT
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
great purchase
Date:February 4, 2014
I bought this shirt in black, careful about sizing based on other reviewers. For someone that has a smaller chest size, the upper fit was perfect. For the price, even more so!
Review 5 for Mayfair Knit Top
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HawaiianGirl
Location:Morgan Hill, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Love the colors and fabric
Date:January 27, 2014
The multicolor top is great to wear. I can dress it up with nice pants or dress down with jeans. I bought the black color too!
Review 6 for Mayfair Knit Top
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
maturingmama52
Location:SW Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Took a chance
Date:January 26, 2014
I had eyed this top all fall but was skeptical after reading several disappointing reviews. Finally ordered with some gift money received...so glad I did. I found the colors as pictured, lovely for fall and will work for spring as well. I am small but quite busty and this top fits really well and has nice coverage. Floral can be worn with many of the colored cardigans I own.
Review 7 for Mayfair Knit Top
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
azalea
Location:NY, NY
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
summer?
Date:January 24, 2014
bought this off-season sale item. but it's light and summery and bright and perfect when summer does return.
Review 8 for Mayfair Knit Top
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
annie45
Location:watertown, NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
GREAT shirt
Date:January 18, 2014
I am 5"3 115, got the small and love it. I would buy every color offered, sadly there are only 2. Just enough fabric to look fashionable and not maternity.
Review 9 for Mayfair Knit Top
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
FutureRN
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Disappointing Quality & Fit
Date:October 25, 2013
I had high hopes for this top as a colorful option to wear with black pants for Thanksgiving. First, as a previous reviewer stated, the colors are off from what is shown in the picture... much more muted and less bright than shown with alot more gold. Second, the fit of this top was not flattering. While I appreciated the length and the A-line shape, at the bottom, the top was just too tight around my bust... not a problem I am used to having being a 36 B. I would suggest that if you are ordering this top that you pay attention to the measurements. I most certainly should have ordered the XL instead of the L. However, ultimately this top went back. At the V-Neck there was a small stitch to keep the top from coming open. The stitch was placed poorly and the top did not lay flat and puckered oddly... not the quality I have come to expect from GH.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonNovember 12, 2013
We're sorry to hear that our Mayfair Knit Top did not meet your expectations. Please remember our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 10 for Mayfair Knit Top
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ccmsr
Location:Chevy Chase, MD
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
nice top with flattering fit
Date:September 30, 2013
This is great on its own or under a jacket. Good fit Wish it came in more colors and patterns
Review 11 for Mayfair Knit Top
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ATLchick
Location:Atlanta
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Simple Yet Flattering!
Date:September 29, 2013
I bought this shirt in both black and the colorful print. Just love both. Sizing is right on. I am a 32D/34C chest and bought them in Medium (according to the measurements for the item). They are both easy to match with jeans...I wear them with skinny jeans. I also like the longer length.
Review 12 for Mayfair Knit Top
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ruchedpjs
Location:Chicago
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Maternity top
Date:September 24, 2013
At age 56, I need a little camouflage in the tummy area but this looked like a maternity top on me. I wish they wouldn't pose the model with her arm covering the shirt so you can't tell how it hangs. Also I thought the pattern/colors were too loud.
Review 13 for Mayfair Knit Top
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
bandmom
Location:Ventura, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Colors not as shown
Date:September 18, 2013
This top has been sitting in my closet for a couple of weeks and have decided to return because I don't think I'll wear it. As other reviewers have mentioned, the top in the picture is the one I wanted. The colors are very different in person. To get an accurate representation, look at the Signature Merino Cardigan in Autumn Floral. That is a better picture of the colors. Also, the top looks a little maternity to me and I am just too old for people to wondering about that!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonOctober 7, 2013
Please know that we want you to be completely satisfied with your item. Remember our exchanges are always freight free. If you need assistance please call us. 1.800.870.3513
Review 14 for Mayfair Knit Top
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
BarbaraV
Location:Seattle
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
cute print but nothing special
Date:September 17, 2013
basically just a cute print on a t-shirt material tank top. Not worth the price in my opinion. Returned.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonOctober 2, 2013
It is regretful that this item did not met your expectations. Hope you took advantage of our freight free exchanges.
Review 15 for Mayfair Knit Top
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zuma
Location:Oregon
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Best Ever Top
Date:September 16, 2013
Love the vibrant print. Fabulous fit. I'm a little heavy around the middle and this top slims me nicely, even after I've eaten a meal. It doesn't cling around my belly, or make me feel like a stuffed sausage. I look like I have a nicely curved shape and I feel pretty, comfy, and confident while I still try to lose weight. Even if I lose those extra pounds, this top will still fit because it hugs my upper chest and flares out from my middle without making me look pregnant.
Review 16 for Mayfair Knit Top
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MtMom
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
colors differ from photo
Date:September 14, 2013
The colors in the fabric are different from the photo shown--mine was predominately purple and gold. I decided not to keep this top, not because of the fabric, but because there was too much extra fabric at the hip. The wider sweep was not a good look on me. I think this would look cute redesigned as an above the knee dress though.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonSeptember 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. You are right, it does have more purple and yellow/gold color then what shows in the picture. We really try to accurately represent colors online, it’s too bad the sweep did not work for you. If you need help with an exchange or return call us, so we can help you.

Review 17 for Mayfair Knit Top
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LakesideMom
Location:Pennsylvania
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Delightful
Date:September 14, 2013
Purchased the autumn floral - gorgeous! Coordinates with so much in my wardrobe. Delightfully longer than expected and thoughtfully tacked at the bustline so you don't have to wear a cami. However, I did wear it with a green cami (peeked out of the neckline), cropped purple jacket and dark slacks to the office. Very versatile; can imagine I'll have this for years to to come. Am 5'7", 122 lbs. with broad shoulders - ordered the small based on garmet measurements and it was perfect. Nice quality fabric, too.
Review 18 for Mayfair Knit Top
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
kjoe
Location:Southern NH
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice top
Date:September 14, 2013
I loved the fit of this top - very flattering. Unfortunately, it was just too long for my 5'4" frame. I thought about keeping it and having it shortened but decided to return it and wait for something that looks good 'as is'.
Review 19 for Mayfair Knit Top
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
keann24
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Colors off
Date:September 12, 2013
The fit of this top is perfect and I am keeping the black. The floral top looks nothing like the photo though. The colors are not at all similar. Too purple and yellow. Not what I was expecting.
Response from Garnet Hill:By MeganCustomer LiaisonSeptember 12, 2013
Thanks so much for your note! We strive to accurately present colors online, and are sorry you were disappointed. If you have any questions regarding your return, feel free to give us a call at 800-870-3513.
Review 20 for Mayfair Knit Top
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
yvonne
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
lovely top
Date:September 11, 2013
I am so glad that Garnet Hill revamped its sizing although I suppose that people who are fans of more generous sizing will not be so pleased. It's nice to not have to guess about fit and to have my normal size (6) fit perfectly. (For reference, I'm 5'5" and 130 lbs.)
I liked this top very much. Because it's a bit longer than a tee shirt and a little shorter than a tunic, the top looks great with skinny jeans and is flattering if you need to hide a not-so-flat stomach.
I found the catalog picture a bit misleading since the top is much more snug around the chest on me (and I'm not that big on top -- a 36B). Also, I was a little surprised at how much the top flares out over the waist and hips since it looks a lot straighter in the picture. It's roomier than a "slightly A-line silhouette," but it still looks flattering.
1 2 next>>