Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Madras Shorts

We're mad for madras shorts — our latest are updated with bright colors and a neat, sleek fit. The cheery patchwork looks especially modern paired with white or stripes, and the details are just right too: fly front, belt loops, front pockets, back welt pockets, and our favorite rise. Imported. Inseam: 5"
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 1580%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Madras Shorts
Review 1 for Madras Shorts
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nrhgal
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Very cute shorts.
Date:October 21, 2013
I have been wanting a pair of patchwork madras shorts for a long time and was thrilled to find these at GH. They are well made and a little different from the other patchwork madras shorts I have seen. I was disappointed that the price dropped immediately after I bought them, but hey.............they're cute shorts and I will get a lot of wear from them.
Review 2 for Madras Shorts
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
worrywort
Location:Washington state
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
adorable!
Date:September 14, 2013
Nice fit. I'm 5 ft 1 in and the length was perfect. Beautiful fabric. Got it on sale (but I buy all my GH clothes on sale) and definitely worth sale price.
Review 3 for Madras Shorts
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Waldopug
Location:Newark,DE
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
So prep
Date:August 29, 2013
I knew,from reading the other reviews,that these were going to be short shorts.I thought that they were just short enough and very cute..I don't have killer legs,but they made them look longer and were flattering..I felt very 60s prep.I wore them on the 4th of July with a shirt that had a flag logo and it looked perfertlThe shorts go with everything.The fabric is not flat,but actually patches sewn together.There is a lot of attention to detail with the pockets and belt loops.LOVE THEM!
Review 4 for Madras Shorts
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jeweleye
Location:lawrence , kansas
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
madras shorts
Date:August 27, 2013
Like most of Garnett Hill clothes these shorts are wonderful. Fit is perfect and I like the length. Reminds me of my favorite madras from years past!
Review 5 for Madras Shorts
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
J3nny
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Meh
Date:August 6, 2013
I have to honestly say that I am disappointed. I bought these in the red colors two years ago and waited for them last year and they were not being offered. I was excited to get them on sale this year. The quality is fair at best. Very thin and fit weird. I am contemplating returning them.
Review 6 for Madras Shorts
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
chdurie2
Location:New Jersey, NY, USA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great Nostalgia Piece
Date:August 6, 2013
I bought these to remind me of those I had as a teenager, when they were quite fashionable. These fit comfortably. They were a good buy at the sale price, but I would not have paid full price. Unlike some other reviewers, I did not find them too short, but I have short legs. I do wish that there wasn't quite so much green in them. But they have lots of other colors, so a match is easy. I like them a lot.
Review 7 for Madras Shorts
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Godiva
Location:Henderson
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Love These Shorts
Date:August 5, 2013
These shorts fit me perfectly. I love the length; not too short or too long. Just right! The clasps are perfect; much better than a button or snap. I also love the colors and patterns within the shorts. I loved the first pair so much that I bought a second pair of shorts for when the first pair wears out. I payed regular price for the first pair and the second pair I was able to get the "Sale of the Day" price. Definitely buy these shorts.
Review 8 for Madras Shorts
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bunker
Date:August 5, 2013
The shorts are cute and fit well but the first time I wore them the hook at the top over the zipper came off which means I have to figure out how to match the other hook or get it done by a tailor which will cost additional money.
Review 9 for Madras Shorts
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zilaw
Location:florida
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
AWESOME SHORTS!
Date:July 25, 2013
I just got this yesterday and wore it all day today.. they fit true to size, very comfortable, yet stylish enough to go about town, and the the fabric is both substantial and breathes well. The extra 1" in the length goes a long way making it both versatile and stylish
Review 10 for Madras Shorts
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bronco
Location:Vermont
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
great shorts
Date:July 14, 2013
Love these shorts! Perfect fit! So many compliments. Wish there were more plaids to choose from!
Review 11 for Madras Shorts
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shopper67
Location:Bethlehem ,PA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
FUN!!!!!
Date:July 13, 2013
These shorts are fun! You can put many different solid color tops w/these cute shorts. I wish they were a little longer and closure at the top is a little difficult to close - snap would have been better. But I still kept them all the same and have enjoyed the compliments I have received.
Review 12 for Madras Shorts
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TYGHILL
Location:NJ
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Something different
Date:July 13, 2013
These shorts are what I expected. The favorite rise and size 4 always works for me at GH . I have long legs and I knew the 5 inch inseam would be short but I was able to get another good inch in length by taking them to the tailors. I am very happy.
Review 13 for Madras Shorts
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
plane53
Location:CT
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Date:June 25, 2013
I've been waiting years for madras shorts to come back. Thank you. Everyone tells me that they really like them. You can wear all different tops with them. One of the best things I bought all year.
Review 14 for Madras Shorts
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SooZT
Location:Baltimore, MD
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Classic
Date:June 18, 2013
I don't know how trendy these shorts are, but they are definitely a classic. They'll go with every top in your wardrobe. Fit beautifully and are reasonably short. I bought a size larger than my normal size to ensure coverage.
Review 15 for Madras Shorts
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
meredith123
Location:Philly area
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Nice fabric, but two issues for me
Date:June 6, 2013
I loved the fabric of these shorts, but there were two things that made me return them. First, the low rise. I wish the rise were 2 inches higher. Second, the length. I found these were too short for me. I wish they were 7 inches, not 5 inches, in length. This is all too bad for me, because I love madras and the fabric was lovely.