Product Reviews

Essential Summer Sundress - Regular

The ladylike way to float through a summer's worth of soirées, our de-lovely dress is fitted through the bodice and flares to a full skirt. With a soft square neck, contrasting sash and a trio of retro-inspired prints, this is a frock you can really rock. Sleeveless. Knee length. Hidden zip. Removable sash. Cotton voile. Lined. Imported. Fitted bodice. For best fit, order according to your chest measurement (on Size Chart). If you are between sizes or desire a more relaxed fit, order the larger size.
Average Customer Rating:
3.454 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
9
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
2
17 of 3352%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Review 1 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Waulie
Location:Collegeville, PA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
ADORABLE
Date:June 27, 2014
Love this dress! I got the polka dots. I normally wear a 6P and ordered a 6P it is a smidge tight in the torso and I have a small chest. But the overall length and fit are good enough that I won't exchange for another size. The muted colors are great! And the dress is just fun! I've gotten tons of compliments when I wear it!
Review 2 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
COMountains
Location:Colorado Mountains
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Not what I expected...
Date:April 5, 2014
I ordered the navy dot...colors were really washed out...also, the dress is a bit short waisted...I am 5'5"...about 112 lbs...just fit funny. Glad I can return it...loved the other dress I ordered.
Review 3 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
maturingmama52
Location:SW Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Worth getting size right!
Date:March 16, 2014
I bought this dress for my 20 year old daughter. It took two tries to get sizing correct, runs very tight in the bust. This is a lovely dress, bought the polka dot and daughter wore to baby shower and received tons of compliments. Gave it only 4 stars due to sizing troubles, GH customer service was fabulous however.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lidi
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
so pretty poor fabric and cut
Date:March 16, 2014
love the color and style
weird fit , I ordered a 12 because I'm large busted, but short waisted, dress made VERY short waisted, almost empire, In todays fabrics that don't wrinkle or show less, this came out of the bag looking like wadded up paper! Not good for a pretty summer dress in the south.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 19, 2014
We hope when you returned that you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to try one of our other great dresses. If you need assistance please contact us. 1.800.870.3513
Review 5 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
birdmom
Location:Hawaii
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
odd fit on top
Date:March 15, 2014
Like many other reviewers, I agree that the bust area is small in comparison to the rest of the dress. I ordered up, as recommended, but then it was too big under the arms and through the waste and hips.
The lime/blue pattern was nice, and I rather liked that it was more muted than it appeared on the website. But the sizing was just off, and I normally have good luck with GH dresses. This one had to go back, tho.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 17, 2014
We're sorry to hear that this dress did not work for you. Please remember we provide the garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to help you get the right fit. We hope you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to try another one of our great dresses.
Review 6 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
09876
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Cute Dress
Date:February 3, 2014
I got this dress for my daughter. We read the reviews after we ordered the dress and were worried if the dress will be too tight. However, it was perfect fit for her according to the measurement provided.
Review 7 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Golfer
Location:Medfield, MA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Cute summer dress
Date:January 6, 2014
I ordered the dot sundress. It was very cute. I had to return it though because the zipper bothered my arm.
Review 8 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mauggie
Location:Jacksonville FL
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
sale price
Date:October 28, 2013
I don't think I would have paid full price for this dress, but on sale it was a very
nice bargain.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bah2home
Location:Bay Minette, Al
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Pretty print...on sale!
Date:October 27, 2013
Love this style and print! After reading reviews, I did order up a size. I am normally a 6 ( 5'10 and 145lbs ) and the 8 fit perfectly...just need to take a little tuck in under the arms. The material is nice. not sure I would have paid full price for the dress.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
msdj
Location:Nebraska
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Good buy on sale
Date:July 28, 2013
This is a nice dress, but over priced for the quality. I waited and bought it on sale, so I felt I made a good buy. Many others said it was tight on top, so I ordered one size bigger... glad I did.
Review 11 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
lightenship
Disappointing
Date:July 27, 2013
I loved the GH sundress I bought a few years ago and expected to love this one. NOT!
Too short (I lengthened it as much as possible). Shoddy workmanship (dangling threads, belt loop came loose before I wore the dress). Fabric is coarse.
Review 12 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MrsBeasley
Location:Dallas, TX
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Beautiful Dress
Date:July 23, 2013
Got the blue & green print, great fit & fabric, nicely lined. I bought it because of the sale price & it's a dressier look that can be worn out at night or to a wedding. Great fit, runs true to size, order to chest measurements as stated in description. Really like the square neck. I'm 5'10" & it hits just above my knee & am not skinny but pear shaped. The tabs that hold the sash came out the first time I washed it so I cut them off.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Puddin
Disappointing
Date:July 15, 2013
I thought this dress was terrific looking, so I ordered it in my usual dress size, which is an 8. I couldn't even zip up the dress! So, I returned the 8 and ordered a 10. STILL couldn't get it zipped! Three time's a charm, right? Wrong! Even at a size 12, although I could now zip it closed, the dress was simply too tight. I'm 5'3" and weigh between 120-125. I thought in order to wear this dress comfortably, I'd have to be stick thin!
Review 14 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WendyH
Location:Montpelier
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Cute, light and great for summer, but size up
Date:July 14, 2013
I'm 5'4" and I typically wear an 8 in dresses. This was a snug fit for me. I can keep it, but only because I'm planning to lose my winter weight (aaaany day now).
The length was perfect!
I bought it on clearance. I don't think I'd pay the full price for it.
Review 15 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
beardedlady
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
get your iron ready
Date:July 10, 2013
This one was a miss for me. It arrived all wrinkled and I knew it would only get worse from there. It also gave me uni-boob the way that it was cut. Color was not flattering on my skin tone either. The lime looks duller in person.
Review 16 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jumpingcreek
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
GREAT DRESS
Date:July 1, 2013
My daughter loves this dress. Style and material are great. You may want to bump up a size for a better fit.
Review 17 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Berkshires, MAss.
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not sure why neither size worked...
Date:July 1, 2013
Perhaps the clothe is too light... thought the colors are exactly what catalog shows. I am an easy fit in 6 regular or 8 petit, but not in this pattern. Too bad.
Review 18 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KPTLady
Location:Kennebunkport, ME
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Irregular Hem
Date:June 29, 2013
I've purchased this dress twice because I love it. Unfortunately, the back of the dress is a full inch longer than the front. It looks like you've sat in it all day and it is stretched out. I've looked on line and in the catalogs and none of the pictures show this defect. I returned the first dress and ordered another one. The second one is exactly the same. I have to assume they are all cut from the same pattern and are all defective. But, as I said, I love the dress. The fit through the bodice is perfect. I am 5'7" and weigh 125bs. I bought the size 6. Maybe that is the only size with an irregular hem. I will have to bring it to the tailor and have it fixed. It isn't a good value when you need to paid extra to fix a defect.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lilliana
Location:Spokane, WA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Absolutely lovely
Date:June 9, 2013
This dress looks just as beautiful on as it does in the picture. It fits beautifully. The material is gorgeous and the sash makes the dress exquisite. I got so many compliments when I wore it to work. It is dressy yet casual, light and airy and perfect for summer. Looks nice with a light sweater.. I am so glad I got it! I plan to get another in a different color.
Review 20 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wnymomof2
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Pretty...disappointing
Date:June 3, 2013
This is a beautiful dress but the cut is very unflattering if you are not model tall and thin. I ordered a size up based on the reviews and it still did not fit my average body well. Frumpy does not even begin to describe how it looked on.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>