Product Reviews

Essential Summer Sundress - Regular

The ladylike way to float through a summer's worth of soirées, our de-lovely dress is fitted through the bodice and flares to a full skirt. With a soft square neck, contrasting sash and a trio of retro-inspired prints, this is a frock you can really rock. Sleeveless. Knee length. Hidden zip. Removable sash. Cotton voile. Lined. Imported. Fitted bodice. For best fit, order according to your chest measurement (on Size Chart). If you are between sizes or desire a more relaxed fit, order the larger size.
Average Customer Rating:
3.739 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
12
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
3
29 of 4663%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Review 1 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mkane
Location:Burlington, MA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Adorable
Date:October 13, 2014
I bought two of these dresses for an upcoming beach wedding. Both are so cute, cannot decide which to wear! Great fit, although I do not agree that the top runs small, I went up a size and probably should have gotten my normal size.. never disappointed by Garnet Hill.
Review 2 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
benji
Location:Swansboro, N.C.
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
lovely dress
Date:October 12, 2014
had to return needed a size larger due to my midriff, waiting now to see is still available for a exchange, or I'll have to accept refund
Review 3 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SunnyWave
Location:San Diego, CA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
cute dress
Date:August 28, 2014
This is a nice light weight dress for summer. I like the coral color and the belt is a nice tough. I'd recommend ordering a size up or checking the measurements for your chest size. It fit me well with the exception of the shoulder straps being a little too loose, but it was an easy alteration and since I got this dress at a nice sale price, I didn't mind a little alteration cost. Fun dress for summer that I recommend.
Review 4 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WorkingOR
Location:Salem, OR, USA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great dress!
Date:August 22, 2014
We have this dress in the coral floral and the crème dot as they look so different and it is such a flattering dress! The square neckline and shorter length is just right for my teen daughters!
Review 5 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ginnycl
Location:Lynchburg, Va
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
feminine and flirty
Date:August 22, 2014
I bought this dress for my daughter. She gets compliments every time she wears it. The sash really makes the dress. Very good quality.
Review 6 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
totoroCA
Location:CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Perfect summer dress
Date:August 21, 2014
Bought the floral and the polka dots dresses. They are both very cute. The polka dots one has more retro feel. Perfect for casual wear or a summer fun party. Not sure about the sash. Would probably just use a skinny belt instead.
Review 7 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lucy65
Location:Palatka, Florida
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Essential Summer Sundress
Date:August 17, 2014
Lovely dress, however the top of the dress seem to be cut tight. I am a average size 12 but the top of the dress fits more like a 10.
Review 8 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Greta8845
Location:Sacramento, CA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Not Garnet Hill Quality
Date:August 13, 2014
Inferior fabric. Not the quality your company is known to stock.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonAugust 14, 2014
We're glad to see that when you returned your dress, you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to try another one of our great items.
Review 9 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GreenSeaTurtle
Location:Midwest
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Too Short
Date:August 6, 2014
Unfortunately this dress is MUCH shorter than the description states and the pictures shows. It hits me about mid thigh. Otherwise, quite adorable, nice quality, and a pretty print.
Review 10 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
natalia123
Location:Cleveland, Ohio
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Super Cute
Date:August 2, 2014
this dress is awesome. I had ordered it at full price back in the beginning of summer. It was too tight so I sent it back and forgot about it. It went on sale and I snatched it up remembering of course to get 2 sizes larger than I normally wear. Plus they only had petite size but it worked out ok as I am five foot two I would have preferred the regular length but it is just so adorable. I got the green/blue print. Cannot wait to wear.
Review 11 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clamster
Location:Seattle, Washington
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
So cute
Date:July 31, 2014
I love this dress. Fit is true to size. Material is light weight, but skirt is lined, so no show through. I just turned 65 and this dress looks good even on me! Buy one if you can.
Review 12 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Monterey
Location:Sedona
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Excellent purchase, perfect fit
Date:July 31, 2014
I went with the green/blue and the blue/red dot..I am 5' 4 1/2' and 130 lbs with a very short waist..the 10P worked. I can't say enough about these fabulous dresses!! I plan on wearing them OUT!
Review 13 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
olivia
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great summer dress
Date:July 27, 2014
I ordered this in the dots pattern. It's very cute, the navy could easily be black so I wore it with black patent sandals and it was great. I'm long waisted and it's short waisted so I wore it almost as an empire style, with no belt. It works great. The rest is true to size and very cute.
Review 14 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Waulie
Location:Collegeville, PA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
ADORABLE
Date:June 27, 2014
Love this dress! I got the polka dots. I normally wear a 6P and ordered a 6P it is a smidge tight in the torso and I have a small chest. But the overall length and fit are good enough that I won't exchange for another size. The muted colors are great! And the dress is just fun! I've gotten tons of compliments when I wear it!
Review 15 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
COMountains
Location:Colorado Mountains
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Not what I expected...
Date:April 5, 2014
I ordered the navy dot...colors were really washed out...also, the dress is a bit short waisted...I am 5'5"...about 112 lbs...just fit funny. Glad I can return it...loved the other dress I ordered.
Review 16 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
maturingmama52
Location:SW Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Worth getting size right!
Date:March 16, 2014
I bought this dress for my 20 year old daughter. It took two tries to get sizing correct, runs very tight in the bust. This is a lovely dress, bought the polka dot and daughter wore to baby shower and received tons of compliments. Gave it only 4 stars due to sizing troubles, GH customer service was fabulous however.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lidi
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
so pretty poor fabric and cut
Date:March 16, 2014
love the color and style
weird fit , I ordered a 12 because I'm large busted, but short waisted, dress made VERY short waisted, almost empire, In todays fabrics that don't wrinkle or show less, this came out of the bag looking like wadded up paper! Not good for a pretty summer dress in the south.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 19, 2014
We hope when you returned that you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to try one of our other great dresses. If you need assistance please contact us. 1.800.870.3513
Review 18 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
birdmom
Location:Hawaii
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
odd fit on top
Date:March 15, 2014
Like many other reviewers, I agree that the bust area is small in comparison to the rest of the dress. I ordered up, as recommended, but then it was too big under the arms and through the waste and hips.
The lime/blue pattern was nice, and I rather liked that it was more muted than it appeared on the website. But the sizing was just off, and I normally have good luck with GH dresses. This one had to go back, tho.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 17, 2014
We're sorry to hear that this dress did not work for you. Please remember we provide the garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to help you get the right fit. We hope you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to try another one of our great dresses.
Review 19 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
09876
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Cute Dress
Date:February 3, 2014
I got this dress for my daughter. We read the reviews after we ordered the dress and were worried if the dress will be too tight. However, it was perfect fit for her according to the measurement provided.
Review 20 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Golfer
Location:Medfield, MA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Cute summer dress
Date:January 6, 2014
I ordered the dot sundress. It was very cute. I had to return it though because the zipper bothered my arm.
1 2 3 next>>