Product Reviews

Essential Summer Sundress - Regular

The ladylike way to float through a summer's worth of soirées, our de-lovely dress is fitted through the bodice and flares to a full skirt. With a soft square neck, contrasting sash and a trio of retro-inspired prints, this is a frock you can really rock. Sleeveless. Knee length. Hidden zip. Removable sash. Cotton voile. Lined. Imported. Fitted bodice. For best fit, order according to your chest measurement (on Size Chart). If you are between sizes or desire a more relaxed fit, order the larger size.
Average Customer Rating:
3.575 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
11
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
3
23 of 4058%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Review 1 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lucy65
Location:Palatka, Florida
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Essential Summer Sundress
Date:August 17, 2014
Lovely dress, however the top of the dress seem to be cut tight. I am a average size 12 but the top of the dress fits more like a 10.
Review 2 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Greta8845
Location:Sacramento, CA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Not Garnet Hill Quality
Date:August 13, 2014
Inferior fabric. Not the quality your company is known to stock.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonAugust 14, 2014
We're glad to see that when you returned your dress, you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to try another one of our great items.
Review 3 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GreenSeaTurtle
Location:Midwest
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Too Short
Date:August 6, 2014
Unfortunately this dress is MUCH shorter than the description states and the pictures shows. It hits me about mid thigh. Otherwise, quite adorable, nice quality, and a pretty print.
Review 4 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
natalia123
Location:Cleveland, Ohio
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Super Cute
Date:August 2, 2014
this dress is awesome. I had ordered it at full price back in the beginning of summer. It was too tight so I sent it back and forgot about it. It went on sale and I snatched it up remembering of course to get 2 sizes larger than I normally wear. Plus they only had petite size but it worked out ok as I am five foot two I would have preferred the regular length but it is just so adorable. I got the green/blue print. Cannot wait to wear.
Review 5 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clamster
Location:Seattle, Washington
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
So cute
Date:July 31, 2014
I love this dress. Fit is true to size. Material is light weight, but skirt is lined, so no show through. I just turned 65 and this dress looks good even on me! Buy one if you can.
Review 6 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Monterey
Location:Sedona
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Excellent purchase, perfect fit
Date:July 31, 2014
I went with the green/blue and the blue/red dot..I am 5' 4 1/2' and 130 lbs with a very short waist..the 10P worked. I can't say enough about these fabulous dresses!! I plan on wearing them OUT!
Review 7 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
olivia
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great summer dress
Date:July 27, 2014
I ordered this in the dots pattern. It's very cute, the navy could easily be black so I wore it with black patent sandals and it was great. I'm long waisted and it's short waisted so I wore it almost as an empire style, with no belt. It works great. The rest is true to size and very cute.
Review 8 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Waulie
Location:Collegeville, PA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
ADORABLE
Date:June 27, 2014
Love this dress! I got the polka dots. I normally wear a 6P and ordered a 6P it is a smidge tight in the torso and I have a small chest. But the overall length and fit are good enough that I won't exchange for another size. The muted colors are great! And the dress is just fun! I've gotten tons of compliments when I wear it!
Review 9 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
COMountains
Location:Colorado Mountains
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Not what I expected...
Date:April 5, 2014
I ordered the navy dot...colors were really washed out...also, the dress is a bit short waisted...I am 5'5"...about 112 lbs...just fit funny. Glad I can return it...loved the other dress I ordered.
Review 10 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
maturingmama52
Location:SW Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Worth getting size right!
Date:March 16, 2014
I bought this dress for my 20 year old daughter. It took two tries to get sizing correct, runs very tight in the bust. This is a lovely dress, bought the polka dot and daughter wore to baby shower and received tons of compliments. Gave it only 4 stars due to sizing troubles, GH customer service was fabulous however.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lidi
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
so pretty poor fabric and cut
Date:March 16, 2014
love the color and style
weird fit , I ordered a 12 because I'm large busted, but short waisted, dress made VERY short waisted, almost empire, In todays fabrics that don't wrinkle or show less, this came out of the bag looking like wadded up paper! Not good for a pretty summer dress in the south.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 19, 2014
We hope when you returned that you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to try one of our other great dresses. If you need assistance please contact us. 1.800.870.3513
Review 12 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
birdmom
Location:Hawaii
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
odd fit on top
Date:March 15, 2014
Like many other reviewers, I agree that the bust area is small in comparison to the rest of the dress. I ordered up, as recommended, but then it was too big under the arms and through the waste and hips.
The lime/blue pattern was nice, and I rather liked that it was more muted than it appeared on the website. But the sizing was just off, and I normally have good luck with GH dresses. This one had to go back, tho.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 17, 2014
We're sorry to hear that this dress did not work for you. Please remember we provide the garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to help you get the right fit. We hope you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to try another one of our great dresses.
Review 13 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
09876
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Cute Dress
Date:February 3, 2014
I got this dress for my daughter. We read the reviews after we ordered the dress and were worried if the dress will be too tight. However, it was perfect fit for her according to the measurement provided.
Review 14 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Golfer
Location:Medfield, MA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Cute summer dress
Date:January 6, 2014
I ordered the dot sundress. It was very cute. I had to return it though because the zipper bothered my arm.
Review 15 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mauggie
Location:Jacksonville FL
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
sale price
Date:October 28, 2013
I don't think I would have paid full price for this dress, but on sale it was a very
nice bargain.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bah2home
Location:Bay Minette, Al
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Pretty print...on sale!
Date:October 27, 2013
Love this style and print! After reading reviews, I did order up a size. I am normally a 6 ( 5'10 and 145lbs ) and the 8 fit perfectly...just need to take a little tuck in under the arms. The material is nice. not sure I would have paid full price for the dress.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
msdj
Location:Nebraska
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Good buy on sale
Date:July 28, 2013
This is a nice dress, but over priced for the quality. I waited and bought it on sale, so I felt I made a good buy. Many others said it was tight on top, so I ordered one size bigger... glad I did.
Review 18 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
lightenship
Disappointing
Date:July 27, 2013
I loved the GH sundress I bought a few years ago and expected to love this one. NOT!
Too short (I lengthened it as much as possible). Shoddy workmanship (dangling threads, belt loop came loose before I wore the dress). Fabric is coarse.
Review 19 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MrsBeasley
Location:Dallas, TX
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Beautiful Dress
Date:July 23, 2013
Got the blue & green print, great fit & fabric, nicely lined. I bought it because of the sale price & it's a dressier look that can be worn out at night or to a wedding. Great fit, runs true to size, order to chest measurements as stated in description. Really like the square neck. I'm 5'10" & it hits just above my knee & am not skinny but pear shaped. The tabs that hold the sash came out the first time I washed it so I cut them off.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Essential Summer Sundress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Puddin
Disappointing
Date:July 15, 2013
I thought this dress was terrific looking, so I ordered it in my usual dress size, which is an 8. I couldn't even zip up the dress! So, I returned the 8 and ordered a 10. STILL couldn't get it zipped! Three time's a charm, right? Wrong! Even at a size 12, although I could now zip it closed, the dress was simply too tight. I'm 5'3" and weigh between 120-125. I thought in order to wear this dress comfortably, I'd have to be stick thin!
1 2 next>>