Product Reviews

Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress

Based on a favorite fuss-free summer staple, this short retro tee dress comes in dots, stripes and solids — for every itinerary under the sun. Styled with a wide boat-neckline, a pair of side-seam pockets, and an elastic smocked waist to wear dropped down or blousoned a bit. Heavierweight slubbed cotton jersey, garment-washed for softness. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.537 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
13
3 stars
12
2 stars
10
1 star
3
32 of 5459%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Review 1 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hilarypa
Location:Litchfield, CT
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Cute, but only if you're 20...
Date:July 29, 2014
I am 5'3" and if I wore this dress I would be flirting with the possibility of showing off way too much... this dress is SHORT... like 5" above my knee. It is adorable, the price is great and I wanted to keep it so much, even tried to figure out creative ways my tailor could alter it, but alas... it goes back. This dress is perfect for younger gal.
Review 2 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mrm0219
Location:San Antonio, TX
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
great summer go-anywhere dress!
Date:July 12, 2014
I agree with the reviews that this dress is somewhat shorter than others, but I wear the waistband on my hips and love it! It's perfect for on-the-go days, or just-out-of-the-gym evenings. Fabric is cool but substantial (ie: not see-through). Love the pockets, and the fact that I got it on sale is even better! 5'10", a little "muscular", and purchased a size 12.
Review 3 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kmads
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Darling Dress, perfect for Summer!
Date:June 11, 2014
I wore this for the first time last week and got TONS of compliments! It's adorable. I am usually a size 6 and sized up to an 8 based on other reviews. I didn't think it was too short. Depends if you wear the elastic on your natural waist or not. I pulled it down below my natural waist and the length was perfect. I'm 5'5" and it stayed put. I love this dress and wish they had more colors in my size, I would buy another one. :)
Review 4 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lgpeck
Location:So OC
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Nice summer dress....
Date:May 30, 2014
I purchased this dress in the light taupe with polka dots.....cute, fits well, a good purchase.
Review 5 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kasie
Location:Pennsylvania
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
CUTE Summer Dress for Casual Wear!
Date:May 8, 2014
This is the 2nd dress I purchased in this style! I definitely recommend ordering a size up if you are tall, because it is VERY short and also a bit short waisted. However, by ordering a size up, it is perfect! I did not wash it yet, so I am not sure how it is going to wash, but I am definitely NOT putting this one in the dryer! I got these on sale, and I do not think I would have paid full price, because the material is a bit thin, and I am not sure how they will launder, but the fit is cute, and the sale price was great! They will be perfect for wearing by the pool or throwing on to go to the grocery store with flip flops or for the beach!
Review 6 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JWLFW
Location:Louisiana
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Cute Dress
Date:May 4, 2014
Simple, comfortable dress for Spring/Summer outings.
Review 7 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
VicS
Location:Chicago, Illinois
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Cute but too short
Date:April 7, 2014
This dress was very cute but I was very disappointed at the length. It was very short and I had to return it.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonApril 8, 2014
We do provide garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in finding the right fit.
Review 8 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SweaterLove27
Location:Media, PA
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Best Dress Ever
Date:February 9, 2014
This is the best summer dress ever. I love the waist band to keep my tummy tucked. It is so comfortable and very washable. I would highly recommend it.
Review 9 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
cuties
Location:ill
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
see thru
Date:December 3, 2013
Very cute and cute print but the fabric is real thin and see thru. I am finding this with alot of your products.
Review 10 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
GrassrootsK9
Location:Tampa. FL
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Cute but didn't fit me well
Date:September 24, 2013
I still think the dress is cute but it is definitely not for someone with no waist. I am average size but no curves.I was actually hoping it would make it look like I had a waist. The waist band was so thick it just made me look straight and larger.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonOctober 11, 2013
We're sorry to hear that the Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress did not work for you. Please remember that our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 11 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
101Bird
Location:Memphis
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Too short
Date:September 24, 2013
This is a cute dress but not for me. I had hoped that the blouson aspect would allow me to adjust the length, but it was not attractive on me.
Review 12 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
smile1977
Location:northern calif.
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
retro cap slleve knit dress
Date:September 6, 2013
adorable style, excellent quality, but returning because item is very short.
Review 13 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
daffodils
Location:Sacramento,CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
I just love it
Date:August 29, 2013
The dress is wonderful. I received a lot of compliments every-time I wore it. The fabric is soft and comfortable. I have 4 different colors of this dress
Review 14 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
YBELLE
Location:Miami, Florida
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Love it!
Date:July 15, 2013
I purchased this adorable dress in green. It's very comfortable for a warm summer day. I do agree with the other comments regarding the length, but since I am on 5'3, it's great for me. It will look super cute worn as a tunic, with capri leggings. Very versatile.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
kpeeze
Location:LA, CA
Gender:Female
Strange fit
Date:July 8, 2013
This is simply just not a great cut for someone with a large chest. It's way too baggy around around the arms and in the waist. Honestly, the quality wasn't so great either.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
calihannah
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Cute, but very short
Date:June 28, 2013
This dress is adorable -- but to call it a dress is a stretch if you have any backside and/or hips! It is a really cute tunic over capri or ankle-length leggings, but it would be indecent to wear it with nothing under it. If you are straight-bodied like the model in the photo, it might fit you long enough to wear bottomless - but if you have something that Sir Mix-A-Lott would appreciate, plan to wear this with cute capris!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cat8
Date:June 23, 2013
Cute style but material could be better quality. Like the style but quality of construction could be better.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
cmpchiro
Location:Park City, UT
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Twisting elastic
Date:June 20, 2013
I really tried to love this dress, but the thick elastic in the waist would twist and bunch funny. The length was okay - short but not too short. Loved the green and blue striped versions. Sadly will be returning.
Review 19 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lesk
Location:Murrysville, PA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Sweet summer dress
Date:June 9, 2013
This is a very sweet little summer dress. It is versatile as it can be worn very casually with casual sandals or you can ramp up the style a bit with a dressier sandal and a sweater for a nice classic look. The only reason it did not get 5 stars was that the dress is rather short and runs a bit small. But if you size up, you have a bit more play to wear it lower on the waist for an extra bit of length.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Boopboopadoop
Location:San Francisco
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Too short -- too bad!
Date:June 9, 2013
I purchased this dress in spite of all the reviews complaining it's too short.
I bought an extra large size (16) in the hopes it would mitigate the problem.
Alas, the dress was still way too short.
More appropriate for a young teenager.
I LIKE short dresses, but this is more like a beach cover up than a dress.
My other issue was the color. I bought the Navy/White dot fabric. It looked great in the photo. However, in reality, it is a washed out, dull medium blue with beige dots. It looked drab, not crisp and bright. That was too bad, because the fabric itself is a nice,
light weight cotton.
I hope the designers at GH will take all these comments to heart and redesign this item with a more appropriate, wearable length (just above knee or knee length) and a true Navy/White dot fabric.
This dress has so much potential, but
unfortunately, it falls short.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By MeganCustomer LiaisonJune 10, 2013
Thanks so much for your note! Customer feedback is our most valuable tool, and we have shared your comments with our team to review. If you have any further feedback or questions give us a call at 800-870-3513.
1 2 3 next>>