Product Reviews

Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress

Based on a favorite fuss-free summer staple, this short retro tee dress comes in dots, stripes and solids — for every itinerary under the sun. Styled with a wide boat-neckline, a pair of side-seam pockets, and an elastic smocked waist to wear dropped down or blousoned a bit. Heavierweight slubbed cotton jersey, garment-washed for softness. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.438 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
12
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 star
3
26 of 4854%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Review 1 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
VicS
Location:Chicago, Illinois
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Cute but too short
Date:April 7, 2014
This dress was very cute but I was very disappointed at the length. It was very short and I had to return it.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonApril 8, 2014
We do provide garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in finding the right fit.
Review 2 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SweaterLove27
Location:Media, PA
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Best Dress Ever
Date:February 9, 2014
This is the best summer dress ever. I love the waist band to keep my tummy tucked. It is so comfortable and very washable. I would highly recommend it.
Review 3 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
cuties
Location:ill
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
see thru
Date:December 3, 2013
Very cute and cute print but the fabric is real thin and see thru. I am finding this with alot of your products.
Review 4 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
GrassrootsK9
Location:Tampa. FL
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Cute but didn't fit me well
Date:September 24, 2013
I still think the dress is cute but it is definitely not for someone with no waist. I am average size but no curves.I was actually hoping it would make it look like I had a waist. The waist band was so thick it just made me look straight and larger.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonOctober 11, 2013
We're sorry to hear that the Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress did not work for you. Please remember that our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 5 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
101Bird
Location:Memphis
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Too short
Date:September 24, 2013
This is a cute dress but not for me. I had hoped that the blouson aspect would allow me to adjust the length, but it was not attractive on me.
Review 6 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
smile1977
Location:northern calif.
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
retro cap slleve knit dress
Date:September 6, 2013
adorable style, excellent quality, but returning because item is very short.
Review 7 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
daffodils
Location:Sacramento,CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
I just love it
Date:August 29, 2013
The dress is wonderful. I received a lot of compliments every-time I wore it. The fabric is soft and comfortable. I have 4 different colors of this dress
Review 8 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
YBELLE
Location:Miami, Florida
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Love it!
Date:July 15, 2013
I purchased this adorable dress in green. It's very comfortable for a warm summer day. I do agree with the other comments regarding the length, but since I am on 5'3, it's great for me. It will look super cute worn as a tunic, with capri leggings. Very versatile.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
kpeeze
Location:LA, CA
Gender:Female
Strange fit
Date:July 8, 2013
This is simply just not a great cut for someone with a large chest. It's way too baggy around around the arms and in the waist. Honestly, the quality wasn't so great either.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
calihannah
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Cute, but very short
Date:June 28, 2013
This dress is adorable -- but to call it a dress is a stretch if you have any backside and/or hips! It is a really cute tunic over capri or ankle-length leggings, but it would be indecent to wear it with nothing under it. If you are straight-bodied like the model in the photo, it might fit you long enough to wear bottomless - but if you have something that Sir Mix-A-Lott would appreciate, plan to wear this with cute capris!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cat8
Date:June 23, 2013
Cute style but material could be better quality. Like the style but quality of construction could be better.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
cmpchiro
Location:Park City, UT
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Twisting elastic
Date:June 20, 2013
I really tried to love this dress, but the thick elastic in the waist would twist and bunch funny. The length was okay - short but not too short. Loved the green and blue striped versions. Sadly will be returning.
Review 13 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lesk
Location:Murrysville, PA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Sweet summer dress
Date:June 9, 2013
This is a very sweet little summer dress. It is versatile as it can be worn very casually with casual sandals or you can ramp up the style a bit with a dressier sandal and a sweater for a nice classic look. The only reason it did not get 5 stars was that the dress is rather short and runs a bit small. But if you size up, you have a bit more play to wear it lower on the waist for an extra bit of length.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Boopboopadoop
Location:San Francisco
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Too short -- too bad!
Date:June 9, 2013
I purchased this dress in spite of all the reviews complaining it's too short.
I bought an extra large size (16) in the hopes it would mitigate the problem.
Alas, the dress was still way too short.
More appropriate for a young teenager.
I LIKE short dresses, but this is more like a beach cover up than a dress.
My other issue was the color. I bought the Navy/White dot fabric. It looked great in the photo. However, in reality, it is a washed out, dull medium blue with beige dots. It looked drab, not crisp and bright. That was too bad, because the fabric itself is a nice,
light weight cotton.
I hope the designers at GH will take all these comments to heart and redesign this item with a more appropriate, wearable length (just above knee or knee length) and a true Navy/White dot fabric.
This dress has so much potential, but
unfortunately, it falls short.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By MeganCustomer LiaisonJune 10, 2013
Thanks so much for your note! Customer feedback is our most valuable tool, and we have shared your comments with our team to review. If you have any further feedback or questions give us a call at 800-870-3513.
Review 15 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
30something
Location:Deptford, NJ
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
So short!
Date:June 6, 2013
I read the reviews, but went against my better judgement and ordered it. It is so short! Completely unrealistic (hits just below my buttocks) and wearing leggings is not an option really - due to bulky layering in the summer heat : ( Definitely returning.
Review 16 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
schlbb
Location:Lubbock, TX
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
shorter than a tennis skirt!
Date:May 31, 2013
This dress would be absolutely adorable if it were longer. I wear tennis clothes all the time and this dress is shorter than a tennis skirt. I read the reviews and should have listened!
Response from Garnet Hill:By MeganCustomer LiaisonJune 3, 2013
Thanks for your note! Keep in mind, you can find the length of this dress by size on the 'Measurements' tab.
Review 17 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CahakGirl
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Very short skirt
Date:May 31, 2013
I wanted very badly to keep this dress, however, it's super short and I'm 5'2. The waist elastic band can be pulled down low, like the gal in the green dress photo, however, being so short, that put the band below my belly button. Not a good look. I hope you have better luck with it.
Review 18 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rachel71
Location:Minneapolis
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Fun summer dress
Date:May 28, 2013
I bought this dress before I read all the reviews which is good- I never would have purchased it and would have missed out on a great dress! I'm a tad under 5"5 and about 125 lbs and although the dress is on the short side, I can comfortably wear it out and not worry about looking inappropriate.
I especially love that my thicker arms and 34D chest fit nicely into this dress. I got the polka dot print and got lots of compliments!
I could see where the dress could be a bit short in the back if one has a fuller backside...
Review 19 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
onthelake
Location:fl
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Date:May 24, 2013
Liked the style in my younger days. However, it is midthigh and to short for me
Review 20 for Retro Cap-Sleeve Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CincyGirl
Location:Cincinnati
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Short but nice!
Date:May 20, 2013
I am actually using this as a tunic with leggings since it is rather short. I am 5'6" , 120 lbs and size 4 fit great. Quality and material are nice. I washed it once and hung it to dry with no issues.
1 2 3 next>>