Product Reviews

zinni™ by Garnet Hill Ruched-Neck Dress

A primo post-yoga dress that's also perfect for running around town (or crossing continents, for that matter — it packs into nothing). Slim fit with a slight A-line skirt. Built-in shelf bra. Adjustable straps. Above-knee length. Cotton/rayon/spandex with a quick-dry wicking finish. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.917 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
0
7 of 1258%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for zinni™ by Garnet Hill Ruched-Neck Dress
Review 1 for zinni™ by Garnet Hill Ruched-Neck Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jordianna
Location:Clinton, NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not right for me
Date:September 17, 2013
The material was thinner than I expected. The fit wasn't flattering. For this late in the season, it was too expensive for the quality.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonOctober 2, 2013
Please remember our exchanges are always freight free. If you need assistance please call us. 1.800.870.3513
Review 2 for zinni™ by Garnet Hill Ruched-Neck Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DiMoJo
Location:Davis, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great Dress for Causal Wear
Date:August 12, 2013
Simple and comfortable. Can wear with or without an additional bra since the dress has a self bra.
Review 3 for zinni™ by Garnet Hill Ruched-Neck Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MtMom
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
pretty print / hate the padded cups
Date:July 24, 2013
I was so excited to find the Mosiac print available in my size. Initially the dress had potential: it was cute, colorful, and fit everywhere...but the padded cups (which some say are removable) were the deal breaker. I am an 8 on top and 10 on the bottom & ordered the Medium which was fitted, but not tight.
Review 4 for zinni™ by Garnet Hill Ruched-Neck Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
BlueGirlRedState
Location:Dallas, TX
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
My first Zinni purchase disappoints
Date:July 11, 2013
I've been a GH shopper for years, and I love their dresses. I've always successfully worn a GH medium so I purchased this Zinni dress in a medium. It was too small. I've got a true hourglass build with a defined waist that's a full 10" smaller than my chest measurement and hip measurement. It pulled at the chest and hugged my bottom in an unflattering way. It gapped strangely in the waist. I could tell that sizing up wouldn't have made a difference.
Even if the dress had fit well, there were still two things that I didn't care for. 1) The removable bra cups were a little too much padding, and if you remove the cups, the shelf bra wouldn't sit smoothly because it needs the cups to fill it. A tighter, more supportive built-in shelf bra with no removable cups like they have in Prana dresses would be better. And 2) The adjustable strap hardware isn't hardware at all. It's cheap-looking, cheap-feeling plastic. If the dress had been a keeper, I'd never been able to dry it in the dryer because heat causes plastic to become brittle and more breakable.
If GH still has the Prana dress in my size, I'll replace this dress with that one.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for zinni™ by Garnet Hill Ruched-Neck Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oakley
Location:SF Bay area
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
bought for the fabric alone
Date:May 12, 2013
I wear a M or L but the XL was the only size left. I took in the sides 2 inches on each side.The dress is wonderful. I am 4'5" and 143 lbs and rubinesque so the extra width was nice to have. Beautiful fabric , very cool, nice with a light sweater.
Review 6 for zinni™ by Garnet Hill Ruched-Neck Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jolene1
Location:Milwaukee
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
just didn't work
Date:April 13, 2013
I love other dresses by zinni. I was hoping this dress would be like the others but the fit wasn't right. It made you look shapeless.
Review 7 for zinni™ by Garnet Hill Ruched-Neck Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MackinacMom
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Love This Dress!
Date:April 13, 2013
This dress in the Batik print is beautiful! I love how flattering the dress makes me look. I am 5'3" and weigh 135 and have little bulges left over from having children. :o)
I purchased this dress in a small and it looks wonderful! It hides my little bulges and the built-in bra is a wonderful asset. I know this will be a summer favorite.
Review 8 for zinni™ by Garnet Hill Ruched-Neck Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
four4kids
Location:Tampa FL
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Super soft dress is flattering!!
Date:April 11, 2013
This dress is amazing! Not only it is soft and comfy, its built in bra makes my normally flat chest look great! I would buy this one in another color if they had it.
Review 9 for zinni™ by Garnet Hill Ruched-Neck Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Physicslove
Location:Lynchburg, VA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Hides what you want hidden!
Date:April 9, 2013
I hesitated before buying this dress, as I'm 50 and petite but still have 50-year old bumps and lumps. My favorite feature of this dress is that the straps are adjustable - enabling me to hike the armpits far enough up to cover any back flab. The neckline is great for me as it is modest, and I love the built-in bra because I'm a 36A and need a little extra help in that region (the pads are removable if you don't need the extra padding, leaving a shelf bra). It's not too clingy at the waist and flares out in an A line fashion, so it doesn't cling to any bulges south of the waist, either. For reference, I am 5'2" and 110, but thicker around the waist and broad-shouldered, and the XS fit well. I have no idea how it would work for someone bustier or very thin. I usually wear an XS in tops and a 2 or 4 petite in bottoms. The length was great for me - partly covered the knee. On a more average height person, it should fall above the knee.
The fabric is super comfy and soft, and I can wear it to work with a cardi and sandals or out and about with flipflops. This dress should be very versatile and great for travel!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for zinni™ by Garnet Hill Ruched-Neck Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mmgeile
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
best sundress ever
Date:April 9, 2013
This is a great dress for summer. The material is very lightweight and stretchy, and it drapes beautifully. Perfect for melting hot summer days. I love the adjustable shoulder straps. The print on the fabric hides any flaws you might have. I paid full price which I don't often do, so while a bit expensive, I am very happy with the style and the quality.
Review 11 for zinni™ by Garnet Hill Ruched-Neck Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
damey
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
So comfortable and so cute!
Date:April 8, 2013
Just got this and look forward to wearing it all summer. It looks great, fabric is very soft, it's super comfortable. Good value as I got it on promotion. . .I can't wait to wear it!
Review 12 for zinni™ by Garnet Hill Ruched-Neck Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
FLBaby
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Soft, pretty material - fit is so-so
Date:March 21, 2013
The material is gorgeous and very soft. The fit was only so-so. Loose in the waist so it gaps in the back between the shoulders and bum. Too bad. Maybe it would fit well on a different body type.