Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Surplice Maxi Dress

A stylish twist on one of our most popular dresses ever, this year's maxi has the surprise of a graceful tulip hem — to go from sandy days to Saturday nights. The easy silhouette has a fitted surplice bodice and A-line skirt. The front and back V-neck and Grecian-inspired twisted straps look chic coming or going. Made of a stretchy cotton/rayon/spandex blend in solids and prints that celebrate summer. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.149 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
28
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
3
67 of 8777%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Surplice Maxi Dress
Review 1 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shopper05
Location:Long Island, NY
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great summer dress!
Date:August 3, 2014
Finally ordered when dress went on sale. Glad I did. Really cute. Great color, cute styling w twisted straps & nice fit. Very comfortable too. I'm 5'2", 105 lbs. sz 2 was perfect. Didn't have to shorten either. Love GH.
Review 2 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
granny1
Location:midwest
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
love it!
Date:August 1, 2014
I got this dress in the black/white floral print and it is really pretty. It drapes well and the skirt opening in front makes it unlike my other maxi dresses. I'm 5'7", 130 pounds and the small is perfect. Although it looks shorter in the picture, on me the back hem is a few inches from the ground. Oh, and it does need a cami underneath.
Review 3 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tma413
Location:Washington
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Really Pretty Dress
Date:July 24, 2014
This dress has the prettiest neckline! The back V is as well is really cute. I bought it in black and the fabric is a nice weight. I came across 3 issues with the dress overall. First, the neckline is a little lower than the pictures show - I wish it was a little bit higher. Also, the dress splits into the tulip hem at the knee. From the pictures it looks like it does so at the mid calf or so. It's still really cute, but if you were wanting something longer, this may not be it. I had read other reviews saying that this dress runs a little large, and from what I can tell it runs true to size. I ordered down a size to accommodate this (I'm between a 4 and a 6), and it's a little tight. I can still fit into it, but it's a little tricky to get over my chest.
Review 4 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
laura12
Location:scarsdale,NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Date:June 24, 2014
Dress is a nice cotton. The only problem is that its a bit too long in the back. Love the neckline. Very fun and flowy dress
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Missie
Location:Taunton, MA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great go-everywhere dress!!
Date:June 16, 2014
I purchased this dress (black and white print) on sale just over 2 weeks ago and have already worn it 3 times! It falls nicely and is very comfortable!! I am 5'7" and a size 4. The XS fit perfectly. It washes well too!! I'm very pleased with this versatile purchase!!
Review 6 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NDno1
Location:GA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Simply, elegantly casual!
Date:June 14, 2014
I am delighted that I snagged two of these in very different prints. They are perfect island and village wear with flat sandals and easily upscale with heeled espadrilles. I'm 32DD, 5'4' and the size 4 is just perfect. Washes beautifully with a 10 minute dryer toss, then drip dry. No iron = Summertime staple! Add a denim jacket or a crochet cardigan if AC chills you or the straps feel naked. I
The tiny strap show is A-ok - no problemo.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lilly22
Location:South Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Pretty and comfortable
Date:June 10, 2014
Have several of these Maxi Dresses. They look very pretty and are very comfortable to wear. Length is nice as it can be worn anywhere Love the tulip hem. Definitely recommend.
Review 8 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ruland
Location:Nashville, TN
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
tough call
Date:May 29, 2014
I read lots of reviews on this dress and decided to order it despite small reservations. While others may have found that it worked, I did not. The blue fabric comes across as faded and is thinner than I would have liked. The size 6 is a bit big for my 5ft 3.5 " 122 lb frame. It is going back.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison May 29, 2014
We're so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the color and fabric of our Surplice Maxi Dress. A Customer Care Specialist will be reaching out to see how we can help.
Review 9 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LilyKona
Location:Colorado
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Nice summer sun dress
Date:May 23, 2014
This is a great sun dress. Dress it up or down. Love the hem as it gives it a flare.
Review 10 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MaryRN
Location:Anacortes WA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
comfortable but twisted straps are not functionall
Date:May 20, 2014
The straps could not hide my bra. Otherwise very flattering and comfortable. I do not like having to worry about bra straps showing and I definitely need to wear a bra with this dress.
Review 11 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jazzerbunny
Location:San Diego, Ca.
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Tropical
Date:April 16, 2014
Dress is pretty, bought the blue, feels good on. I'm 5-2 inches and the dress is about 1/4 inch to long, will keep it. Very flattering for the figure, I ordered one size less and it fits perfect , except of course the length. got the dress on sale
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JMVW
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Pretty
Date:April 15, 2014
I purchased this dress for our recent cruise. I love the v in the front and back. Looks very nice on.
Review 13 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pradamary
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
So Glad I Chose This
Date:April 11, 2014
Being 62, I'm of the mind if you wore a style "the first time it was in style" you shold probably not wear it the next time it comes into style. But the tulip hem was the reason I chose this maxi dress. It arrived today and I love it. I'm 5'6" 180 pounds and 14 fits great. Garnet Hill could teach a lot of companies how to fit women correctly. I think this dress will be great this summer.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ERNURSE
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Date:April 8, 2014
GREAT FABRIC SOFT AND MOVES WELL/GREAT FIT- TRUE TO SIZE
a VERY COMFORTABLE DAY DRESS
Review 15 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marilynn
Location:Santa Cruz Co, California
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Cute dress
Date:April 5, 2014
Just arrived today...can't wait to wear it to a summer wedding...
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mitche
Location:Seattle
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Believe the bad reviews
Date:March 29, 2014
I had read that the blue print was not as pictured, but it is downright faded. It looked like it was several years old. I was surprised and disappointed at the poor quality. I'm going to be far more careful about my shopping with GH as I've had too many disappointments recently.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison April 1, 2014
Thanks your feedback. We strive to accurately present colors online, and are sorry you were disappointed. We are here to help if you'd like to make a return or exchange! Give us a call at 800-870-3513.
Review 17 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TrishH
Location:Centreville, MD
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
My First Maxi Dress
Date:March 22, 2014
I decided to give this maxi a try because it has the tulip hem. I bought it in the black and I can't wait for some warmer weather so I can wear it. It will be great for work or a date night. I really don't like any of the other fabrics this dress comes in and am hoping there will be more options eventually.
Review 18 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bobbi45
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Barb
Date:March 18, 2014
The material in the dress looked faded and cheap. I was very disappointed. Although the dress was blue, the hem was done in white thread. I returned the dress.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison March 20, 2014
We appreciate your feedback on our Surplice Maxi Dress and have shared your comment with our Product Design Team to review. Please feel free to give us a call at 800-870-3513 if you have further feedback or questions!
Review 19 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
geog
Location:Minneapolis
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Balck and white can't wait for summer dress!
Date:February 23, 2014
I chose the black and white print. It's flattering and comfortable. Maybe a little on the 'big' side, but still looks nice. Will likely wear this a lot if summer ever gets here!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ronnieb
Location:Medford OR
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Hopeful, but
Date:February 18, 2014
Looking for a fun dress to take to Scottsdale; but this did not work; too low in front for me. Beautiful color and I liked the fabric.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>