Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Surplice Maxi Dress

A stylish twist on one of our most popular dresses ever, this year's maxi has the surprise of a graceful tulip hem — to go from sandy days to Saturday nights. The easy silhouette has a fitted surplice bodice and A-line skirt. The front and back V-neck and Grecian-inspired twisted straps look chic coming or going. Made of a stretchy cotton/rayon/spandex blend in solids and prints that celebrate summer. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.156 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
24
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
3
59 of 7777%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Surplice Maxi Dress
Review 1 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jazzerbunny
Location:San Diego, Ca.
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Tropical
Date:April 16, 2014
Dress is pretty, bought the blue, feels good on. I'm 5-2 inches and the dress is about 1/4 inch to long, will keep it. Very flattering for the figure, I ordered one size less and it fits perfect , except of course the length. got the dress on sale
Review 2 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JMVW
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Pretty
Date:April 15, 2014
I purchased this dress for our recent cruise. I love the v in the front and back. Looks very nice on.
Review 3 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pradamary
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
So Glad I Chose This
Date:April 11, 2014
Being 62, I'm of the mind if you wore a style "the first time it was in style" you shold probably not wear it the next time it comes into style. But the tulip hem was the reason I chose this maxi dress. It arrived today and I love it. I'm 5'6" 180 pounds and 14 fits great. Garnet Hill could teach a lot of companies how to fit women correctly. I think this dress will be great this summer.
Review 4 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ERNURSE
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Date:April 8, 2014
GREAT FABRIC SOFT AND MOVES WELL/GREAT FIT- TRUE TO SIZE
a VERY COMFORTABLE DAY DRESS
Review 5 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marilynn
Location:Santa Cruz Co, California
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Cute dress
Date:April 5, 2014
Just arrived today...can't wait to wear it to a summer wedding...
Review 6 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mitche
Location:Seattle
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Believe the bad reviews
Date:March 29, 2014
I had read that the blue print was not as pictured, but it is downright faded. It looked like it was several years old. I was surprised and disappointed at the poor quality. I'm going to be far more careful about my shopping with GH as I've had too many disappointments recently.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison April 1, 2014
Thanks your feedback. We strive to accurately present colors online, and are sorry you were disappointed. We are here to help if you'd like to make a return or exchange! Give us a call at 800-870-3513.
Review 7 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TrishH
Location:Centreville, MD
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
My First Maxi Dress
Date:March 22, 2014
I decided to give this maxi a try because it has the tulip hem. I bought it in the black and I can't wait for some warmer weather so I can wear it. It will be great for work or a date night. I really don't like any of the other fabrics this dress comes in and am hoping there will be more options eventually.
Review 8 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bobbi45
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Barb
Date:March 18, 2014
The material in the dress looked faded and cheap. I was very disappointed. Although the dress was blue, the hem was done in white thread. I returned the dress.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison March 20, 2014
We appreciate your feedback on our Surplice Maxi Dress and have shared your comment with our Product Design Team to review. Please feel free to give us a call at 800-870-3513 if you have further feedback or questions!
Review 9 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
geog
Location:Minneapolis
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Balck and white can't wait for summer dress!
Date:February 23, 2014
I chose the black and white print. It's flattering and comfortable. Maybe a little on the 'big' side, but still looks nice. Will likely wear this a lot if summer ever gets here!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ronnieb
Location:Medford OR
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Hopeful, but
Date:February 18, 2014
Looking for a fun dress to take to Scottsdale; but this did not work; too low in front for me. Beautiful color and I liked the fabric.
Review 11 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MOTiger
Gender:Female
Great Dress!
Date:February 17, 2014
This is a great dress. The quality is very good and the dress is very stylish. The material has a bit of a strech and is very comfortable.
Review 12 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GlamJess
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Pretty maxi
Date:February 10, 2014
This dress has a nice drape, the hem is on trend, but I think it runs a little roomier than other maxis I have tried. I got the black and it is flattering.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kmads
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Vacation Ready!
Date:February 6, 2014
I had been admiring this dress for awhile and when I realized it had gone on clearance, I snapped it up. I plan to take it with me on my HI vacation and know it will be perfect for a night out. I love the tulip hem, shows a little leg but also makes it cooler to wear. Love the color too! Such an easy, sexy little dress.
Review 14 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CKH62753
Location:Gloucester, MA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
A great where anywhere dress
Date:February 5, 2014
I have been enjoying this dress all winter on my quick get away trips to warm weather destinations. Just toss it in your bag, pull it out and wear it. It always looks great!
Review 15 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaryJ
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Fun Summer Dress
Date:February 5, 2014
I got this is blue and it is a beautiful color, fits great - I got S and I am 5'4' - 125 lbs
Review 16 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
muranomama
Location:Midwest
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Cute and comfy!
Date:January 25, 2014
I bought two of these and I'm seriously considering buying more. For reference, I bought a size 8 and it fits perfectly--a 6 probably would have been fine, too--and I'm 5'3, 120 lbs, 34C. The fabric is so soft and comfy and this dress is very flattering. It can easily be dressed up or down, depending on your accessories. I love the tulip hem, so feminine! The twisted straps are a nice detail, also. They do allow my bra strap to show as others have mentioned, but that doesn't bother me--who cares? I can not wait to wear these!
Review 17 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TutuDeb
Location:Hawaii
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Adorable
Date:January 19, 2014
Love this dress, I live on the Big Island and need easy going, age appropriate clothes and this is it. I bought 2. Iim 60 and its hides the icky stuff and my hubby says I look "good"
Review 18 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MSWTasha
Location:Wallingford PA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
great dress!
Date:January 18, 2014
I love this dress. Got a second one after the first one fit so well. Flattering and comfortable!
Review 19 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
UnionGirl
Location:Portland, Oregon
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
FRUMPY!
Date:January 14, 2014
I would need a really good boob job to make this dress look good. This dress is not made for most of us middle-aged ladies. The twisted shoulder straps are horrible. Needless to say... I returned this one. The fit was fine, just didn't hang well on my body.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mewintergirl
Location:Cumberland Center, Maine
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Fabulous vacation dress!
Date:December 9, 2013
Fit is true to size. Love the color and fabric. Easy to dress up or down. Wish I had bought two!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>