Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Surplice Maxi Dress

A stylish twist on one of our most popular dresses ever, this year's maxi has the surprise of a graceful tulip hem — to go from sandy days to Saturday nights. The easy silhouette has a fitted surplice bodice and A-line skirt. The front and back V-neck and Grecian-inspired twisted straps look chic coming or going. Made of a stretchy cotton/rayon/spandex blend in solids and prints that celebrate summer. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.189 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (95 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
31
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
3
75 of 9579%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Surplice Maxi Dress
Review 1 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gomez2
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Super comfy dress
Date:September 24, 2014
A breeze to pull on, not tight or clingy. I'm 36A, 5'5", 135 lbs and the 6 fits perfect. A bit low on the neck line, but I'll fix with small stitch. Very flattering. It is a little billowy, but that seems to fit the "beach wear" style. A great deal on sale!
Review 2 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BigRhedd
Location:Mississippi
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Love the Dress!
Date:September 15, 2014
I'm fairly tall, but with a short torso it's hard to find dresses that look good on me. The dress fit beautifully. It is very comfortable to wear. I liked it so well I ordered two colors. I love the dress.
Review 3 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
liana565
Location:Eastern TN
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Real nice dress!
Date:September 11, 2014
I went size up against recommended and I am very pleased how it ended up on me. Very comfy, bright (I got the blue color) , draw attention dress.
Review 4 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SuburbanMom
Location:Suburban Philadelphia
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Very flattering, packs well
Date:September 10, 2014
Bought this dress in the black/white floral to wear on an island vacation. Received many compliments and would happily buy it again in other colors. Two problems, the black/white print fades even when washed in cold/gentle, and dress is a bit too low cut (easily fixed with a pin). Would love to see this one again next spring/summer in different prints!
Review 5 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fleury
Location:Seattle WA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Love this dress.
Date:September 9, 2014
This is my first review, but I had to say how much I love this dress. I bought it in black, on sale, for a trip to hawaii. It is as comfortable as a nightgown, and so versatile. Most maxi's make me feel sloppy or pregnant, but the wrap style skirt on this is so elegant. I wear it to the park with my kids, to my husband's fancy company party, I never want to take it off. I hope it comes back next summer with some more sophisticated prints and more neutral solids. I will buy more!!! I am 5'9", 175lb, and a 36DD and bought a 10. It made me feel willowy - hid my trouble spots, and showed off my legs. Loved it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DoubleHappiness77
Location:Metro Detroit, MI
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great dress for the price
Date:August 23, 2014
I had been looking for another maxi dress for a while, and snapped this one upon Sale of the Day. I was skeptical when I ordered it, because I carry weight in my middle and am picky about knit dresses, especially with empire waistlines. I am glad I went for it with this dress. My TrueFit size was a 4, but I got the 6 because I was worried about it clinging to my belly and I am happy with the 6. I like the tulip hem, but it worried me when I wore it on a windy day. I had no problem with my bra straps being concealed under the twisted straps, but I am small-busted (36A). Overall, I really like the dress and have already gotten a ton of wear out of it!
Review 7 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
farmgirl62
Location:Saco,ME
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
simply beautiful
Date:August 22, 2014
I was lucky to come across this dress greatly reduced! I purchased the black and white floral in size 6, I am 5'5" 130lbs. It fits perfect, is of high quality and is prettier than I expected!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BusyCAMom
Location:Northern CA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Very Nice Dress
Date:August 22, 2014
I bought 2 of these and really like the dresses. They are comfortable and look nice.
Review 9 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shopper05
Location:Long Island, NY
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great summer dress!
Date:August 3, 2014
Finally ordered when dress went on sale. Glad I did. Really cute. Great color, cute styling w twisted straps & nice fit. Very comfortable too. I'm 5'2", 105 lbs. sz 2 was perfect. Didn't have to shorten either. Love GH.
Review 10 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
granny1
Location:midwest
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
love it!
Date:August 1, 2014
I got this dress in the black/white floral print and it is really pretty. It drapes well and the skirt opening in front makes it unlike my other maxi dresses. I'm 5'7", 130 pounds and the small is perfect. Although it looks shorter in the picture, on me the back hem is a few inches from the ground. Oh, and it does need a cami underneath.
Review 11 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tma413
Location:Washington
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Really Pretty Dress
Date:July 24, 2014
This dress has the prettiest neckline! The back V is as well is really cute. I bought it in black and the fabric is a nice weight. I came across 3 issues with the dress overall. First, the neckline is a little lower than the pictures show - I wish it was a little bit higher. Also, the dress splits into the tulip hem at the knee. From the pictures it looks like it does so at the mid calf or so. It's still really cute, but if you were wanting something longer, this may not be it. I had read other reviews saying that this dress runs a little large, and from what I can tell it runs true to size. I ordered down a size to accommodate this (I'm between a 4 and a 6), and it's a little tight. I can still fit into it, but it's a little tricky to get over my chest.
Review 12 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
laura12
Location:scarsdale,NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Date:June 24, 2014
Dress is a nice cotton. The only problem is that its a bit too long in the back. Love the neckline. Very fun and flowy dress
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Missie
Location:Taunton, MA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great go-everywhere dress!!
Date:June 16, 2014
I purchased this dress (black and white print) on sale just over 2 weeks ago and have already worn it 3 times! It falls nicely and is very comfortable!! I am 5'7" and a size 4. The XS fit perfectly. It washes well too!! I'm very pleased with this versatile purchase!!
Review 14 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NDno1
Location:GA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Simply, elegantly casual!
Date:June 14, 2014
I am delighted that I snagged two of these in very different prints. They are perfect island and village wear with flat sandals and easily upscale with heeled espadrilles. I'm 32DD, 5'4' and the size 4 is just perfect. Washes beautifully with a 10 minute dryer toss, then drip dry. No iron = Summertime staple! Add a denim jacket or a crochet cardigan if AC chills you or the straps feel naked. I
The tiny strap show is A-ok - no problemo.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lilly22
Location:South Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Pretty and comfortable
Date:June 10, 2014
Have several of these Maxi Dresses. They look very pretty and are very comfortable to wear. Length is nice as it can be worn anywhere Love the tulip hem. Definitely recommend.
Review 16 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ruland
Location:Nashville, TN
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
tough call
Date:May 29, 2014
I read lots of reviews on this dress and decided to order it despite small reservations. While others may have found that it worked, I did not. The blue fabric comes across as faded and is thinner than I would have liked. The size 6 is a bit big for my 5ft 3.5 " 122 lb frame. It is going back.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison May 29, 2014
We're so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the color and fabric of our Surplice Maxi Dress. A Customer Care Specialist will be reaching out to see how we can help.
Review 17 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LilyKona
Location:Colorado
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Nice summer sun dress
Date:May 23, 2014
This is a great sun dress. Dress it up or down. Love the hem as it gives it a flare.
Review 18 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MaryRN
Location:Anacortes WA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
comfortable but twisted straps are not functionall
Date:May 20, 2014
The straps could not hide my bra. Otherwise very flattering and comfortable. I do not like having to worry about bra straps showing and I definitely need to wear a bra with this dress.
Review 19 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jazzerbunny
Location:San Diego, Ca.
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Tropical
Date:April 16, 2014
Dress is pretty, bought the blue, feels good on. I'm 5-2 inches and the dress is about 1/4 inch to long, will keep it. Very flattering for the figure, I ordered one size less and it fits perfect , except of course the length. got the dress on sale
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Surplice Maxi Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JMVW
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Pretty
Date:April 15, 2014
I purchased this dress for our recent cruise. I love the v in the front and back. Looks very nice on.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>