Product Reviews

Faux-Layered Knit Dress

A basic tee sheath turns decidedly less so, with the addition of a built-in tank and elasticized self-belt. Wear it on the shoulders or off, cinched or not, tied in the front or back. Any way you style it, this dress is likely to become a summer fave. Cap sleeves. Above-knee length. Pima cotton/modal, garment-washed for softness. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.55 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 star
0
13 of 2065%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Faux-Layered Knit Dress
Review 1 for Faux-Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mkane
Location:Burlington, MA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Date:July 2, 2014
Great dress for the price! Does run a bit big, but overall great!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Faux-Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Judimcd
Location:Ringwood, New Jersey
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Comfy dress
Date:June 30, 2014
This dress is very comfortable. However, it runs quite big and can make me feel a bit lost in the fabric. It is a good dress to run some errands in though and was a great value on sale.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison June 30, 2014
To better assist with sizing, we provide actual garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab. If you decide you'd like to exchange for a different size, give us a call, we'd be happy to help.
Review 3 for Faux-Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Zapatos
Location:Billings
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Little confusing
Date:June 29, 2014
I like the light material however it took me a little while to figure out how put it on. It fits fine but it doesn't wow me. Kind of shapeless. Will dress it up with different belt as the one it came with is so cheap. Good value but not worth the wow!
Review 4 for Faux-Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bluebayou
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
nice summer dress
Date:February 19, 2014
I look forward to wearing this in the warmer weather. The fit was good.
Review 5 for Faux-Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
alekp
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
nice summer dress
Date:February 16, 2014
Very nice fabric and color. Shape, like for most of GH (at least for me) is a little bit boxy - but I bought size S (for my 5'9" 150 lb) and tied the belt behind (left the front free), just to give the dress a little bit shape and that worked. I bought it on a sale so it was a good value.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison February 18, 2014
Thanks for your great idea of another way to wear this dress! If you have any questions or further feedback, we're here to help at 800-870-3513.
Review 6 for Faux-Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SepiaSister
Location:St. Louis, MO
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
comfort & ease
Date:January 27, 2014
Adorable cotton dress for when the weather spikes. Got it in blue while marked down. I would buy in other colors, if this dress were offered in any other colors other than the non summery colors of grey & black. This dress is an absolute steal on Sale of the Day. I hope to see this dress return for Summer 2014, this time offered in more summery colors.
Review 7 for Faux-Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SylPod
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Very casual
Date:October 3, 2013
I do like my blue one, but will be wearing it only at home or for a quick trip to a grocery store. It is not fitted, the sewn in tank gives it more of a sporty look. It is not too tight or too loose on me. Mine is size S (I am 5`6, 140lb and 36C.)
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Faux-Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
mofitz
Location:Baltimore
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Needs a complete makeover
Date:September 21, 2013
Looked cute beach casual in the photo. Just looked cheap/tacky in reality. Considering the normally wonderful style and quality at GH, this dress was just a rare mistake.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonOctober 8, 2013
We are sad to hear this item did not meet your expectations. Please remember our exchanges are freight free. If you need assistance please call us.
Review 9 for Faux-Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
fishartist
Location:Montana
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Not for busty women
Date:September 18, 2013
The elastic waist is too high for a full figured woman. It was cheap so I will keep for messy painting times.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Faux-Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
EclecticSage
Location:Kansas City, MO
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Glad I ordered it in black
Date:September 17, 2013
Had I gone with the blue, it would've been easy to see through. Will look better as a long top with leggings than as a dress.
Review 11 for Faux-Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous201
Location:Santa Cruz, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Very sack-like
Date:September 16, 2013
The fabric was very thin T-shirt material. Huge difference in size between small and medium - I ordered both. It didn't really matter, though. Both sizes were very shapeless and unflattering. I'm 5' 4", 135 lb and the medium was huge and hung off my shoulders. Sent both sizes back even though the price was very discounted.
Review 12 for Faux-Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Calimomof3
Location:CA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Awesome dress!
Date:September 11, 2013
I purchased this on sale, so the price was just right. The fit on me with the xs was also perfect, as I am petite (5'2", 115 pounds). It's comfortable, not clingy, and I can where it to work.
Review 13 for Faux-Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WorkingOR
Location:Salem, OR, USA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Really THICK fabric
Date:September 10, 2013
This dress has a nice weight to the fabric, so it hangs with a nice drape. It feels really soft and comfortable too. It does run large, unfortunately, so I'm not sure I'll keep it, but the faux layering is nice. Both the black and blue are nice colors and I like the cap sleeves.
Review 14 for Faux-Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Zionsville, IN
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
cute and easy
Date:August 27, 2013
I really like the cut of this dress; it's very figure flattering. The dress is also so easy to wear in the summer, super comfortable.
Review 15 for Faux-Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JacquiMg
Location:Austin TX
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Love the fabric, very comfy
Date:August 10, 2013
I ordered this dress, then read the reviews a second time and was bummed because I figured I'd have to return it. As it turned out, I bonded with the dress as soon as I put it on. No, it doesn't look as "cool" as it does on the model, but it's comfortable and the fabric is lovely - a soft cotton/modal blend that feels like a nightgown. It's thick enough to skim over little imperfections.I pop it on when I want to look casually dressed. I haven't figured out the best way to accessorize all the mono-color. Maybe I don't need to at all. It's not a dress for "special occasions" but for heading off to the grocery store or an afternoon of errands, I feel I really got a bargain.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Faux-Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
PetiteMom50
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice dress but runs large
Date:April 29, 2013
This was my first time ordering a dress from Garnet Hill, so I didn't know what to expect on sizing. The quality of the dress was nice, and it had cute styling, but on me, it looked like a sack! Not anything like the photo on the model. I think if it came in petite it would have worked. I also got the Eileen Fisher ballet neck dress, which does come in petite, and that one fits fine. I'm 4'10" and just under 100 lbs, for reference.
It was disappointing as I am looking for cute but casual dresses for summer, and this would have been perfect. But back it goes.
Review 17 for Faux-Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jmremsen
Location:Dover, MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
awkward dress
Date:April 6, 2013
I agree with the previous reviewer that the dress hangs strangely and is unflattering. The model in the photo looks great, but perhaps because she has a fan blowing the dress against her body; otherwise the dress is too puffy, even with the tie. Also the attached tank is frustrating to get on and off and ends uncomfortably just under my bra line. It goes back.
Review 18 for Faux-Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Soonergirl
Location:Alexandria, VA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Perfect!!!
Date:April 6, 2013
I wanted something casual to wear during the day to whatever, well I found it. The fit is great as I have a fuller figure and don't like to show it.
Nice but not baggy.
Review 19 for Faux-Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dressshop
Location:VA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great summer dress
Date:March 27, 2013
Casual ,cool summer dress. Many options for the way the shoulder can be worn due to the sheath. The waist tie offers many options. Looking forward to a casual cool style for a hot summer.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Faux-Layered Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jillw
Location:Chicago IL
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Not what I expected
Date:March 26, 2013
I was hoping to love this dress but it just didn't hang right on my body. Material was cheap looking and there was too much fabric at the waist making me look puffy. It goes back :(
1 of 1 found this review helpful.