Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Garden Party Knit Dress

We narrowed the silhouette of our favorite flirty party dress a smidge — with less gathering at the bodice and a less-full (but still floaty) skirt. In pretty florals and polka dots, it's the kind of ladylike dress you'll wear again and again, whether to weddings or the eponymous party. Cap sleeves Low V-neckline Fitted bodice Knee length Lighter-weight cotton/rayon/spandex Imported
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (167 reviews)
5 stars
88
4 stars
47
3 stars
14
2 stars
17
1 star
1
139 of 16783%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garden Party Knit Dress
Review 1 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
beachgarden
Location:Southern California
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great Dress
Date:May 1, 2015
Flattering shape, very comfortable, can be casual or dressed up. Forgiving fit, but not frumpy.
Review 2 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nancy42
Location:Rockford, IL
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
My Granddaughter's favorite
Date:April 30, 2015
Because I live over 300 miles from my granddaughter, I don't get to go shopping with her often and don't see her on a day to day basis, so I don't feel confident buying her clothes. However, when I saw these dresses last year, I took a chance that she might really like them and had the one with pink daisies and the blue one with tiny flowers sent to her for her 18th birthday. The navy polka dot dress was her first choice but was sold out. Well, she loved the dresses! I mean she REALLY loved the dresses. Then, I was surprised and thrilled a few weeks later to see that the navy polka dot had again become available and had it sent to her too. Again, she loved the dress--the style, the comfort, everything about it. After seeing Facebook pictures of her wearing these dresses all summer, I noticed that dress pictures continued into the fall with sweaters and jackets over them. Finally, I was astonished to see an outdoor shot of her Christmas shopping in December in one of the dresses, boots, and a leather jacket! When I expressed my surprise to my daughter, she told me that my granddaughter does indeed wear them ALL the time and even sleeps in them occasionally. Apparently, they're the most comfortable clothing she has. She also likes them because they are flattering to her very busty figure. I guess it can be difficult to find styles that are. Since she didn't inherit the busty gene from me, I had no previous awareness of that problem. This year, of course, I looked for these same dresses as soon as the spring line came out and ordered the blue and white flower and vine print--the one most different from last year's choices. Again, a huge hit! I will be watching closely, hoping to see that more options will be added in the summer!
Review 3 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JoyceK
Location:Boston
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
funny puff
Date:April 24, 2015
The top fits nicely and the fabric is comfortable, but there's an odd puff in the middle just below the high waist so it looked frumpy on me even though i'm long and narrow.
Review 4 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elle1wog
Location:Turlock, California
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Perfect summer dress.
Date:April 21, 2015
I am delighted with this dress. I love that it is lined and that I will not have to wear a slip. It's the perfect summer dress for a backyard party or dinner out on a warm summer evening. It's an age-appropriate garment for an older woman with a youthful figure. Very feminine.
Review 5 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KMDVT
Location:Vermont
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Beautiful Dress!
Date:April 19, 2015
This dress is flattering and functional. I'll be wearing it to a casual wedding coming up in May. So glad I found a nice dress that I'll be able to dance all night in!
Review 6 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
kemma
Location:Southern California
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Garden Party Knit Dress
Date:April 15, 2015
I love the style of the dress. The fabric is very soft and not too thin. I like the ruching which is slimming and the V neck is not too low. I was disappointed with the pattern of the fabric. In the catalog is shows a more dense blue pattern. What I received was larger blue flowers with a lot of off white space between so I retuned it. If the fabric came as shown I would have kept it.
Review 7 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Raha
garden dress
Date:March 31, 2015
basically i like the dress. but one should be aware - i ordered a size 10 and a size 12. as far as i can tell they are identical so sizing could be a problem. this was not a petite yet it is quite short. i am keeping both.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maineshopper
Location:Clifton Forge, VA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Go-To Dress
Date:March 19, 2015
This little dress is perfect to toss on to do errands, shop, or bring on vacation. Soft fabric, flattering A-line fit, not too clingy or low cut, easy care, perfect length for my petite frame, a little bit of sleeve...all of my favorite features in a summer dress. Delightfully cool to wear on steamy days. I'm so happy to see it in new colors and plan to buy a couple more! Final note: similar fit to some Eileen Fisher wear, but more affordable. A++
Review 9 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gilan
Location:Atlanta
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
So soft
Date:February 19, 2015
Bought this for my daughter, and she loves it - says it feels like her softest PJ's
Review 10 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Preschoolgal
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Disappointed
Date:February 14, 2015
I bought this same dress last year in other fabrics. Both wore well and were comfortable. This dress is a stretchy fabric that I do not care for. Plus the neck opening is sewn incorrectly and does not fit properly. I got it on clearance so not worth returning. If I had paid full price it would definitely have been returned!
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonFebruary 27, 2015
We're apologize that you received your dress in less than perfect condition. We will have a Customer Care Specialist contact you.
Review 11 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MeClasica
Location:MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Date:February 6, 2015
The dress fits nicely on the bust area (34C) somewhat of low cut for my taste but not too revealing. I was afraid it was going to give a pregnancy look but I don't feel it does. The dress is fully lined and comfortable. I bought it on sale of the day at a great price, for that reason 5 stars on value.
Review 12 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eugenia
Location:Brownsburg, IN
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great deal, Great quality
Date:February 6, 2015
I love the dress! It is lined in the same fabric so it doesn't cling and hangs nicely.
Review 13 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bricktulip
Location:Oklahoma City
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
attractive dress without being too revealing
Date:November 21, 2014
This dress is really nice. I bought a floral print and then bought another in a solid color. I would give this dress five stars but there is a seam down the middle front of the dress. It is not usually visible due to the folds of the extra fabric. It's one of those personal peeves of mine.
Review 14 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bigd61
Location:Seattle
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not flattering
Date:September 15, 2014
The quality of the fabric was nice, however the fit was not flattering on me. I don't have a tummy but it made me look like I did! Maybe a good maternity dress... I'm 5'7 130lbs. Long waisted and curvy.
Review 15 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MagalieL
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Perfect dress
Date:September 4, 2014
This dress is soft, comfortable, and flattering. I ordered a size down from what the online measurements said and it worked perfectly. I do not find the cut too low - looks like on the photo. I also ordered this dress in black because I liked it so much, but it's not as lovely in black. Please bring this dress back next summer in more colours and patterns!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kalifish
Location:Charlottesville, VA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Solid casual black dress
Date:September 1, 2014
I purchased the black in a size 8 and it is pretty much what I expected based on other reviews. The dress is low cut, but just add a bandeau top and it instantly becomes work friendly! I think it is a great buy for the sale price.
Review 17 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anaiis
Location:Northern California Bay Area
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
So comfortable
Date:August 29, 2014
This is such a comfortable dress, I wear it all the time. I hesitated to order it because of the short length, but it is flattering on my 50ish figure and I am 5'7". I remove it from the wash and hang to dry which seems to add another inch to the length. I'd like a choice of a regular or a long length in pants, skirts, and dresses Garnet Hill! I am so happy to see dresses in style again! This one is a winner.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sewmom2
Location:Up-State NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice knit dress
Date:August 29, 2014
The dress fit nicely. The center pleats could make this look a bit maternity. If I stand with good posture, then it looks more flowey than maternity. So, I'll keep it and stand up straight.
Review 19 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
maturingmama52
Location:SW Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Flattery Will Get You Everywhere
Date:August 24, 2014
Be prepared to get compliments! I love the flattering fit of this darling dress. Neckline is not too plunging and fits nicely on my larger bust. Just a fun and pretty dress that makes you feel and look good.
Review 20 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
lifeisgoodat45
Location:Sarasota, FL
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
too full under bodice
Date:August 23, 2014
Ok...I have a little extra around my middle that I hide with empire waist tops and dresses. First got this dress in the blue floral, but the tiny flowers and muted color made it feel like a nightgown. I exchanged for the navy polka dot but was disappointed with a seam that runs vertically down the center from the bodice (didn't notice with the floral) that cut into the polka dot pattern and looked off. I also noticed how full the fabric was. From the side it made me look much bigger than I am. Instead of camouflaging it just looked like covering my middle. Not what I was going for.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison August 25, 2014
You're right, the Garden Party Knit Dress does have a seam that runs down the center of the fitted bodice. The fitted bodice is also where the fabric gathers then floats away to a full skirt, giving the fabric a "full" look. If you need help with a return or freight free exchange, give us a call.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>