Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Garden Party Knit Dress

Twist and shout! This flirty and flattering party dress gathers at the fitted bodice, then floats away to a full skirt. In retro florals or black, it's the kind of ladylike dress you'll wear again and again to weddings, graduations, or the eponymous party. Cap sleeves. Low V-neckline. Knee length. Lighter-weight cotton/rayon/spandex. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.226 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (155 reviews)
5 stars
82
4 stars
43
3 stars
14
2 stars
15
1 star
1
129 of 15583%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garden Party Knit Dress
Review 1 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bricktulip
Location:Oklahoma City
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
attractive dress without being too revealing
Date:November 21, 2014
This dress is really nice. I bought a floral print and then bought another in a solid color. I would give this dress five stars but there is a seam down the middle front of the dress. It is not usually visible due to the folds of the extra fabric. It's one of those personal peeves of mine.
Review 2 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bigd61
Location:Seattle
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not flattering
Date:September 15, 2014
The quality of the fabric was nice, however the fit was not flattering on me. I don't have a tummy but it made me look like I did! Maybe a good maternity dress... I'm 5'7 130lbs. Long waisted and curvy.
Review 3 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MagalieL
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Perfect dress
Date:September 4, 2014
This dress is soft, comfortable, and flattering. I ordered a size down from what the online measurements said and it worked perfectly. I do not find the cut too low - looks like on the photo. I also ordered this dress in black because I liked it so much, but it's not as lovely in black. Please bring this dress back next summer in more colours and patterns!
Review 4 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kalifish
Location:Charlottesville, VA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Solid casual black dress
Date:September 1, 2014
I purchased the black in a size 8 and it is pretty much what I expected based on other reviews. The dress is low cut, but just add a bandeau top and it instantly becomes work friendly! I think it is a great buy for the sale price.
Review 5 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anaiis
Location:Northern California Bay Area
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
So comfortable
Date:August 29, 2014
This is such a comfortable dress, I wear it all the time. I hesitated to order it because of the short length, but it is flattering on my 50ish figure and I am 5'7". I remove it from the wash and hang to dry which seems to add another inch to the length. I'd like a choice of a regular or a long length in pants, skirts, and dresses Garnet Hill! I am so happy to see dresses in style again! This one is a winner.
Review 6 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sewmom2
Location:Up-State NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice knit dress
Date:August 29, 2014
The dress fit nicely. The center pleats could make this look a bit maternity. If I stand with good posture, then it looks more flowey than maternity. So, I'll keep it and stand up straight.
Review 7 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
maturingmama52
Location:SW Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Flattery Will Get You Everywhere
Date:August 24, 2014
Be prepared to get compliments! I love the flattering fit of this darling dress. Neckline is not too plunging and fits nicely on my larger bust. Just a fun and pretty dress that makes you feel and look good.
Review 8 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
lifeisgoodat45
Location:Sarasota, FL
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
too full under bodice
Date:August 23, 2014
Ok...I have a little extra around my middle that I hide with empire waist tops and dresses. First got this dress in the blue floral, but the tiny flowers and muted color made it feel like a nightgown. I exchanged for the navy polka dot but was disappointed with a seam that runs vertically down the center from the bodice (didn't notice with the floral) that cut into the polka dot pattern and looked off. I also noticed how full the fabric was. From the side it made me look much bigger than I am. Instead of camouflaging it just looked like covering my middle. Not what I was going for.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison August 25, 2014
You're right, the Garden Party Knit Dress does have a seam that runs down the center of the fitted bodice. The fitted bodice is also where the fabric gathers then floats away to a full skirt, giving the fabric a "full" look. If you need help with a return or freight free exchange, give us a call.
Review 9 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WorkingOR
Location:Salem, OR, USA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Gives you a tummy!
Date:August 22, 2014
Even on my very slim daughter this dress gave the appearance of a tummy! The neckline is really low too; maybe it would be better on someone who is more busty, but still slim?
Review 10 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
everheather
Location:Portland, ME
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
A good every day dress
Date:August 22, 2014
I bought the size 12 (I'm 5'4" and wear a 34DD). It is a great dress if you are curvy, and fits really well and looks good. The only thing I don't like is that the under layer of the skirt is synthetic and doesn't breathe as well as I would like. Otherwise it is flattering and comfortable.
Review 11 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fly123
Location:Atlanta, Ga
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Flattering Summer Dress
Date:August 22, 2014
I get many compliments when I wear this dress. Equal parts flattering and comfortable, it's great for a casual night out. I am 5'4, 132 pounds, 34 D, and the small fits perfectly. It makes my waist look tiny, always a plus, and the neckline is perfect. Love it!
Review 12 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
clperry
Location:michigan
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
cute dress
Date:August 21, 2014
I ordered this dress to wear to a wedding but it was to casual. great dress for a party but not a wedding.
Review 13 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lola987
Location:Louisville, KY
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Beautiful, Feminine Dress
Date:August 21, 2014
I am so pleased with this dress. It is casual, flirty, and very feminine. It lays smooth on the body without obnoxious bunching and hugs in all the right places. I ordered one size down (can't remember why, it was about a month ago) -- from a 12 to a 10 -- and it fits like a dream. I've seriously considered ordering another and have only hesitated because I don't like to have similar items in my closet.
You will love the soft, relatively thin fabric (the thinness is not an issue because it is lined with the same fabric -- in a solid).
Review 14 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SallyOconn
Location:Livingston, MT
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Love this dress
Date:August 21, 2014
I bought this dress in black and with the pink daisys. Both are fabulous. Flattering, hides my belly, flows well, packs well. I get tons of compliments, especially on the Pink Daisy pattern. Fits true to size. I bought on sale, but would be worth it full price.
Review 15 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
birdmom
Location:Hawaii
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice but not perfect
Date:August 13, 2014
This dress has plenty of pluses and just a few odd elements. I like the material thickness and the fact the skirt is lined. Pink print is pretty and the overall fit is very feminine, flattering to a curvy figure and comfortable. Knee length is fine. As others have mentioned, the gathered front does poof out a bit, and the neckline plunges more than I'm used to, but that can be fixed with a cami. Overall, it's worth keeping, especially at the sale price.
Review 16 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zora
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Attractive and comfortable
Date:August 12, 2014
This dress is flattering, comfy, and not too low-cut. It's true to size: I'm 5'5", 120 lbs, and the 4 fits just right. The skirt has a retro feel (I ordered the navy with polka dots). Very happy with this purchase.
Review 17 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ramona
Location:Trenton, NJ
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
OK front view, not from side
Date:August 7, 2014
I had high hopes for this dress but was disappointed in the fabric and the design. The knit didn't do anything for my hourglass shape, and the waistline drops from raised in front to natural waist in the back which, combined with the gathers in the front, created a very unbecoming profile. The floral print was a little too cute for my tastes, too. On the plus side, the dress was very comfortable thanks to the soft knit. Just not substantial enough for me. It was returned.
Please, GH, include a greater range of attire for those of us over 40. Knee length would be great. Thanks!
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison August 11, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on the fabric and design of our Garden Party Knit dress; we have shared them with our Product Design Team to review. If you have any further feedback or questions, please give us a call at 800-870-3513.
Review 18 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scottsdalegirl
Location:Scottsdale AZ
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Cool and Comfortable
Date:July 18, 2014
This dress fits well and has a nice drape. I live in a hot place and it is very comfortable in the summer heat. Pattern has a vintage feel.
Review 19 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MidAgeButStillKickin
Location:Wilmington, NC
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Easy Wear
Date:July 16, 2014
I enjoy comfort clothes and this little dress fits the bill. It's great for work, running around town, or relaxing around the house. I'm between an 8 and 10 but ordered a 10. I like the little extra room in the dress and I'm about to order another one. Great price.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sharr
Location:East Rochester
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Love this dress
Date:July 7, 2014
Because it is so soft and comfy..nothing restricts movement. And thrilled that it was NOT above the knee. I request more like that..who wants to see knees over 50?
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>