Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Garden Party Knit Dress

We narrowed the silhouette of our favorite flirty party dress a smidge — with less gathering at the bodice and a less-full (but still floaty) skirt. In pretty florals and polka dots, it's the kind of ladylike dress you'll wear again and again, whether to weddings or the eponymous party. Cap sleeves Low V-neckline Fitted bodice Knee length Lighter-weight cotton/rayon/spandex Imported
Average Customer Rating:
4.22 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (177 reviews)
5 stars
93
4 stars
50
3 stars
15
2 stars
18
1 star
1
147 of 17783%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garden Party Knit Dress
Review 1 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ocooch
Location:wisconsin
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Love this dress
Date:May 26, 2015
I got the navy floral--size 8. I'm about 5'6" 150#, broad in the shoulders, 36C. Fits really well, a bit low cut and a gather below the bust that is a bit bunchy (but i'm a bit bunchy there anyway). IT'S LINED--so no special undies or spanx or anything needed. Reviewing it because I stopped on the site to buy another in the floral.
Review 2 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
teacup
Location:Kansas City
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Lovely!
Date:May 23, 2015
I love wearing dresses! I bought this for a graduation and it is my first purchase from Garnet Hill. I was especially happy with the quality. I love that the dress is lined! The fit was great- I am a pretty standard size 8, with curves. The bust is flattering and the drape of the skirt eliminated the need for spanx- who wants to wear spanx in the summer?
Review 3 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AMDL
Location:Portland, OR
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Simple and pretty
Date:May 14, 2015
I bought the dress in navy floral which is a lovely color, I appreciate the vintage quality added by slightly off-white background. It is the easiest thing to wear, a perfect day dress. Personally I'm not a fan of the lining which shortened a bit in the wash, I don't think the dress needs it. Otherwise it held up really well in the wash. I hesitated for some time whether or not to keep it because of concern about the fit - the gathers under the bust can create an unflattering silhouette, especially from side view, however in the end I liked the dress too much to return it.
Review 4 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrothead
Location:No. Va.
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
A PERFECT summer dress!
Date:May 11, 2015
In fact, I loved it so much that I have already ordered a second one!!! Well made, soft comfortable fabric, flattering style. I'm watching my mail box for my second one!!
Review 5 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LizFV
Location:Columbus OH
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Wore the day I received
Date:May 9, 2015
I am 5'4" and curvy (34D, size 8). I ordered the navy floral in medium. It fit perfectly- flattering shape -not too flowy/overwhelming for a shorter person. The material is lightweight but not see through due to liner. The bodice is fashionable but not cut too low for a busty person. The navy floral is a pretty pattern. I wish the dress came in solid colors b/c I would order more!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mereo
Location:Vermont
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
great dress
Date:May 8, 2015
I love this dress! I bought it in black last year and found it to be so comfortable and looked great. I was excited when the catalog added more colors and now I have it in four colors.
Review 7 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bblr
Location:Bay area, Northern California
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Pleased ...
Date:May 8, 2015
Pleased with this pretty dress for my adult daughter with special needs. She likes pretty with ease. Challenged with her fine motor skills, it is nice that she can pull it over her head and not fiddle with zippers or buttons and still look pulled together. The material is scrumptious, the floral pattern pretty, the drape flattering.
Thank you, we're pleased!
Review 8 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jeaniejanet
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
not for me,,,
Date:May 7, 2015
I am 5' 3" l, 40" bust and a little overweight.
The dress looked lovely on the model (tall and slim) but it looked a bit like a frumpy house dress on me. I going to let my daughter dry it on when she comes over and see if she looks better in it. The material is really nice and the dress is comfortable. Just not for me! I got the blue floral dress.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison May 20, 2015
We're sad to hear the style of this dress didn't work for you. We'd love to help with a freight free exchange at any time. Give us a call, 800-870-3513.
Review 9 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Soosie
Location:St. Louis, Mo.
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
This Dress is the Bomb
Date:May 6, 2015
It is beautifully made and lined for a nice smooth look. It fits nicely and can be dressed up or down depending on the occasion. This is my "Go-To" dress this summer for every occasion.
Review 10 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
scribbler
Location:Chicago
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not for me
Date:May 6, 2015
I don't know why Garnet Hill dresses so rarely fit me anymore. They used to - and I don't think it's me that's changed! But now, in order for the bodices to fit, the skirts don't work on me, hitting me at the wrong place, the fabric not draping right. The bodice on this was almost too big, very gaping depending on what bra I tried with it. Although the sleeves were tight; that's another thing I've noticed about Garnet Hill lately, the sleeves are much more restricting and tight. The quality of the material was OK - not dressy, not at all, but fine for a summer day. It's just the fit that doesn't seem to work for me anymore. For reference - 5'1, about 155 pounds. I bought this in a 14.
Review 11 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
beachgarden
Location:Southern California
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great Dress
Date:May 1, 2015
Flattering shape, very comfortable, can be casual or dressed up. Forgiving fit, but not frumpy.
Review 12 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nancy42
Location:Rockford, IL
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
My Granddaughter's favorite
Date:April 30, 2015
Because I live over 300 miles from my granddaughter, I don't get to go shopping with her often and don't see her on a day to day basis, so I don't feel confident buying her clothes. However, when I saw these dresses last year, I took a chance that she might really like them and had the one with pink daisies and the blue one with tiny flowers sent to her for her 18th birthday. The navy polka dot dress was her first choice but was sold out. Well, she loved the dresses! I mean she REALLY loved the dresses. Then, I was surprised and thrilled a few weeks later to see that the navy polka dot had again become available and had it sent to her too. Again, she loved the dress--the style, the comfort, everything about it. After seeing Facebook pictures of her wearing these dresses all summer, I noticed that dress pictures continued into the fall with sweaters and jackets over them. Finally, I was astonished to see an outdoor shot of her Christmas shopping in December in one of the dresses, boots, and a leather jacket! When I expressed my surprise to my daughter, she told me that my granddaughter does indeed wear them ALL the time and even sleeps in them occasionally. Apparently, they're the most comfortable clothing she has. She also likes them because they are flattering to her very busty figure. I guess it can be difficult to find styles that are. Since she didn't inherit the busty gene from me, I had no previous awareness of that problem. This year, of course, I looked for these same dresses as soon as the spring line came out and ordered the blue and white flower and vine print--the one most different from last year's choices. Again, a huge hit! I will be watching closely, hoping to see that more options will be added in the summer!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JoyceK
Location:Boston
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
funny puff
Date:April 24, 2015
The top fits nicely and the fabric is comfortable, but there's an odd puff in the middle just below the high waist so it looked frumpy on me even though i'm long and narrow.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison May 5, 2015
This dress does have gathering at the bodice with a skirt that's floaty. Perhaps a different style dress would be more of what you're looking for. Give us a call if we can help with a return or freight free exchange.
Review 14 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elle1wog
Location:Turlock, California
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Perfect summer dress.
Date:April 21, 2015
I am delighted with this dress. I love that it is lined and that I will not have to wear a slip. It's the perfect summer dress for a backyard party or dinner out on a warm summer evening. It's an age-appropriate garment for an older woman with a youthful figure. Very feminine.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KMDVT
Location:Vermont
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Beautiful Dress!
Date:April 19, 2015
This dress is flattering and functional. I'll be wearing it to a casual wedding coming up in May. So glad I found a nice dress that I'll be able to dance all night in!
Review 16 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
kemma
Location:Southern California
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Garden Party Knit Dress
Date:April 15, 2015
I love the style of the dress. The fabric is very soft and not too thin. I like the ruching which is slimming and the V neck is not too low. I was disappointed with the pattern of the fabric. In the catalog is shows a more dense blue pattern. What I received was larger blue flowers with a lot of off white space between so I retuned it. If the fabric came as shown I would have kept it.
Review 17 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Raha
garden dress
Date:March 31, 2015
basically i like the dress. but one should be aware - i ordered a size 10 and a size 12. as far as i can tell they are identical so sizing could be a problem. this was not a petite yet it is quite short. i am keeping both.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maineshopper
Location:Clifton Forge, VA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Go-To Dress
Date:March 19, 2015
This little dress is perfect to toss on to do errands, shop, or bring on vacation. Soft fabric, flattering A-line fit, not too clingy or low cut, easy care, perfect length for my petite frame, a little bit of sleeve...all of my favorite features in a summer dress. Delightfully cool to wear on steamy days. I'm so happy to see it in new colors and plan to buy a couple more! Final note: similar fit to some Eileen Fisher wear, but more affordable. A++
Review 19 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gilan
Location:Atlanta
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
So soft
Date:February 19, 2015
Bought this for my daughter, and she loves it - says it feels like her softest PJ's
Review 20 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Preschoolgal
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Disappointed
Date:February 14, 2015
I bought this same dress last year in other fabrics. Both wore well and were comfortable. This dress is a stretchy fabric that I do not care for. Plus the neck opening is sewn incorrectly and does not fit properly. I got it on clearance so not worth returning. If I had paid full price it would definitely have been returned!
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonFebruary 27, 2015
We're apologize that you received your dress in less than perfect condition. We will have a Customer Care Specialist contact you.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>