Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Garden Party Knit Dress

Twist and shout! This flirty and flattering party dress gathers at the fitted bodice, then floats away to a full skirt. In retro florals or black, it's the kind of ladylike dress you'll wear again and again to weddings, graduations, or the eponymous party. Cap sleeves. Low V-neckline. Knee length. Lighter-weight cotton/rayon/spandex. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.22 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (159 reviews)
5 stars
84
4 stars
44
3 stars
14
2 stars
16
1 star
1
132 of 15983%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garden Party Knit Dress
Review 1 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gilan
Location:Atlanta
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
So soft
Date:February 19, 2015
Bought this for my daughter, and she loves it - says it feels like her softest PJ's
Review 2 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Preschoolgal
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Disappointed
Date:February 14, 2015
I bought this same dress last year in other fabrics. Both wore well and were comfortable. This dress is a stretchy fabric that I do not care for. Plus the neck opening is sewn incorrectly and does not fit properly. I got it on clearance so not worth returning. If I had paid full price it would definitely have been returned!
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonFebruary 27, 2015
We're apologize that you received your dress in less than perfect condition. We will have a Customer Care Specialist contact you.
Review 3 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MeClasica
Location:MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Date:February 6, 2015
The dress fits nicely on the bust area (34C) somewhat of low cut for my taste but not too revealing. I was afraid it was going to give a pregnancy look but I don't feel it does. The dress is fully lined and comfortable. I bought it on sale of the day at a great price, for that reason 5 stars on value.
Review 4 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eugenia
Location:Brownsburg, IN
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great deal, Great quality
Date:February 6, 2015
I love the dress! It is lined in the same fabric so it doesn't cling and hangs nicely.
Review 5 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bricktulip
Location:Oklahoma City
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
attractive dress without being too revealing
Date:November 21, 2014
This dress is really nice. I bought a floral print and then bought another in a solid color. I would give this dress five stars but there is a seam down the middle front of the dress. It is not usually visible due to the folds of the extra fabric. It's one of those personal peeves of mine.
Review 6 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bigd61
Location:Seattle
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not flattering
Date:September 15, 2014
The quality of the fabric was nice, however the fit was not flattering on me. I don't have a tummy but it made me look like I did! Maybe a good maternity dress... I'm 5'7 130lbs. Long waisted and curvy.
Review 7 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MagalieL
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Perfect dress
Date:September 4, 2014
This dress is soft, comfortable, and flattering. I ordered a size down from what the online measurements said and it worked perfectly. I do not find the cut too low - looks like on the photo. I also ordered this dress in black because I liked it so much, but it's not as lovely in black. Please bring this dress back next summer in more colours and patterns!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kalifish
Location:Charlottesville, VA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Solid casual black dress
Date:September 1, 2014
I purchased the black in a size 8 and it is pretty much what I expected based on other reviews. The dress is low cut, but just add a bandeau top and it instantly becomes work friendly! I think it is a great buy for the sale price.
Review 9 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anaiis
Location:Northern California Bay Area
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
So comfortable
Date:August 29, 2014
This is such a comfortable dress, I wear it all the time. I hesitated to order it because of the short length, but it is flattering on my 50ish figure and I am 5'7". I remove it from the wash and hang to dry which seems to add another inch to the length. I'd like a choice of a regular or a long length in pants, skirts, and dresses Garnet Hill! I am so happy to see dresses in style again! This one is a winner.
Review 10 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sewmom2
Location:Up-State NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice knit dress
Date:August 29, 2014
The dress fit nicely. The center pleats could make this look a bit maternity. If I stand with good posture, then it looks more flowey than maternity. So, I'll keep it and stand up straight.
Review 11 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
maturingmama52
Location:SW Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Flattery Will Get You Everywhere
Date:August 24, 2014
Be prepared to get compliments! I love the flattering fit of this darling dress. Neckline is not too plunging and fits nicely on my larger bust. Just a fun and pretty dress that makes you feel and look good.
Review 12 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
lifeisgoodat45
Location:Sarasota, FL
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
too full under bodice
Date:August 23, 2014
Ok...I have a little extra around my middle that I hide with empire waist tops and dresses. First got this dress in the blue floral, but the tiny flowers and muted color made it feel like a nightgown. I exchanged for the navy polka dot but was disappointed with a seam that runs vertically down the center from the bodice (didn't notice with the floral) that cut into the polka dot pattern and looked off. I also noticed how full the fabric was. From the side it made me look much bigger than I am. Instead of camouflaging it just looked like covering my middle. Not what I was going for.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison August 25, 2014
You're right, the Garden Party Knit Dress does have a seam that runs down the center of the fitted bodice. The fitted bodice is also where the fabric gathers then floats away to a full skirt, giving the fabric a "full" look. If you need help with a return or freight free exchange, give us a call.
Review 13 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WorkingOR
Location:Salem, OR, USA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Gives you a tummy!
Date:August 22, 2014
Even on my very slim daughter this dress gave the appearance of a tummy! The neckline is really low too; maybe it would be better on someone who is more busty, but still slim?
Review 14 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
everheather
Location:Portland, ME
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
A good every day dress
Date:August 22, 2014
I bought the size 12 (I'm 5'4" and wear a 34DD). It is a great dress if you are curvy, and fits really well and looks good. The only thing I don't like is that the under layer of the skirt is synthetic and doesn't breathe as well as I would like. Otherwise it is flattering and comfortable.
Review 15 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fly123
Location:Atlanta, Ga
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Flattering Summer Dress
Date:August 22, 2014
I get many compliments when I wear this dress. Equal parts flattering and comfortable, it's great for a casual night out. I am 5'4, 132 pounds, 34 D, and the small fits perfectly. It makes my waist look tiny, always a plus, and the neckline is perfect. Love it!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
clperry
Location:michigan
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
cute dress
Date:August 21, 2014
I ordered this dress to wear to a wedding but it was to casual. great dress for a party but not a wedding.
Review 17 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lola987
Location:Louisville, KY
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Beautiful, Feminine Dress
Date:August 21, 2014
I am so pleased with this dress. It is casual, flirty, and very feminine. It lays smooth on the body without obnoxious bunching and hugs in all the right places. I ordered one size down (can't remember why, it was about a month ago) -- from a 12 to a 10 -- and it fits like a dream. I've seriously considered ordering another and have only hesitated because I don't like to have similar items in my closet.
You will love the soft, relatively thin fabric (the thinness is not an issue because it is lined with the same fabric -- in a solid).
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SallyOconn
Location:Livingston, MT
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Love this dress
Date:August 21, 2014
I bought this dress in black and with the pink daisys. Both are fabulous. Flattering, hides my belly, flows well, packs well. I get tons of compliments, especially on the Pink Daisy pattern. Fits true to size. I bought on sale, but would be worth it full price.
Review 19 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
birdmom
Location:Hawaii
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice but not perfect
Date:August 13, 2014
This dress has plenty of pluses and just a few odd elements. I like the material thickness and the fact the skirt is lined. Pink print is pretty and the overall fit is very feminine, flattering to a curvy figure and comfortable. Knee length is fine. As others have mentioned, the gathered front does poof out a bit, and the neckline plunges more than I'm used to, but that can be fixed with a cami. Overall, it's worth keeping, especially at the sale price.
Review 20 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zora
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Attractive and comfortable
Date:August 12, 2014
This dress is flattering, comfy, and not too low-cut. It's true to size: I'm 5'5", 120 lbs, and the 4 fits just right. The skirt has a retro feel (I ordered the navy with polka dots). Very happy with this purchase.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>