Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Garden Party Knit Dress

We narrowed the silhouette of our favorite flirty party dress a smidge — with less gathering at the bodice and a less-full (but still floaty) skirt. In pretty florals and polka dots, it's the kind of ladylike dress you'll wear again and again, whether to weddings or the eponymous party. Cap sleeves Low V-neckline Fitted bodice Knee length Lighter-weight cotton/rayon/spandex Imported
Average Customer Rating:
4.23 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (191 reviews)
5 stars
102
4 stars
52
3 stars
17
2 stars
19
1 star
1
160 of 19184%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garden Party Knit Dress
Review 1 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bellabarbara
Location:Portland, OR
Gender:Female
I love this dress x2
Date:July 31, 2015
So, when I got my first dress, the navy floral, I loved it so much that I came back the same day to buy the petite floral print as well. Second dress just arrived today. Same comfortable fit, size 4 perfect for me, and I will be looking forward to more color and print options in the near future...would love the black polka dot and a solid color.
And, if you could add side-seam pockets, this would be even MORE perfect. I am a seamstress, so I will be doing this to both dress, but just saying, think it would be a popular addition to a great dress!
Thank you!
Review 2 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MauiBound
Location:Seattle
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Just shy of perfect
Date:July 27, 2015
I love the quality of material, and the lining adds a nice touch. The 8 is comfortable, fits me on top (5'10", 145 lb). I just wish it was 1" - 1.5" longer.
Review 3 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chechel
Location:Philadelphia , PA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
A Keeper !!
Date:July 22, 2015
I wore this dress for the first time today, I had lunch with girlfriends that ask me if I had lost weight; which I have not !
I was not so sure about the dress, but after that comment, it is a keeper !
Review 4 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purple7
Location:WA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Sweet Dress
Date:July 22, 2015
I really love the fabric, style, small flower pattern and flow of this dress. Just what I was looking for and difficult to find. Very feminine! Perfect!
Review 5 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
pdxgirl1
Location:Oregon
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
For the skinny
Date:July 15, 2015
I am 36DD, 5 ft 7 inches tall. This dress only made me look even bigger busted and made me look like I had a huge stomach because of the way it draped. I would like to minimize my large bust. The material is not the best. I give it an average, because I am sure it would look wonderful on a smaller chested, skinny person.
Review 6 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ginia
Location:Raleigh, NC, USA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
darn cute!
Date:July 13, 2015
I was really disappointed that the black/white version of this dress was sold out by the time I got the catalog. I decided to order the floral & it is indeed another perfect fit. Fitted in the bodice & relaxed in the hips. I hope they bring back the black/white, I'd definitely get another.
Review 7 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BarbA2
Location:Vancouver, WA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Pretty and Forgiving!
Date:July 13, 2015
I bought this dress based on everyone's reviews of it and it delivered! It is pretty, comfortable and hides all those things you want to hide. I love that the sleeves covered my upper arms and the pleating on the front hides a tummy quite nicely. I would highly recommend this dress!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
lkelleymidwife
Location:Wakefield, RI
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Too long for petite
Date:July 5, 2015
However, it too long for petite women. I was so sad since I loved the dress overall.
Review 9 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DebbyK
Location:Doylestown,Pa
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Lovely style, perfect fit
Date:June 21, 2015
Perfect sizing, I loved the flowy style. Color was perfect and was as pictured. A bit low cut in front, but overall loved it. Comfortable and can dress up with heels or casual with flats.
Review 10 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ShopperY
Location:CT
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
great purchase
Date:June 20, 2015
Quality fabric; lined with thin,soft material so dress doesn't cling. Flattering style, longer length (I'm 5'3") and it just covers my knees.
Review 11 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Madsmom
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Not for me
Date:May 30, 2015
This is a very pretty dress. you could easily dress it up or down, however I feel the material is quite casual. Unfortunately when I put the dress on it reminded me of a maternity dress, maybe the polka dots? I am 5'4" and 115 lbs and I feel like the style of the dress made my tummy look bigger, did not work for me.
Review 12 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RenaissanceWoman
Location:New England
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Nice Summer Day Dress
Date:May 30, 2015
Perfect summer day dress! This dress --in the black and white dots--will go to my daughter's college graduation (with a dressy black straw hat and red platform sandals), and with different accessories, to a casual daytime summer wedding and to a country day out of the city on an upcoming trip to Paris. Flattering and easy, feminine yet sophisticated. I am a curvy petite and sized up to the 10 from usual 8, and it works well. Graceful somewhat longer length on me.
Review 13 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
azfree
Location:Jamaica Plain, MA
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Fits nice on top, skirt is unflattering
Date:May 30, 2015
I ordered this dress in size 2. I am 5'4" 115lbs 34B, 34 years old. The top of this dress was a nice shape and fit me very well. I love the quality of the fabric (as usual from Garnett Hill). The bottom was not flattering on me-- it is bell shaped and made me look much older than I am. I returned the dress.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonJune 5, 2015
We are so glad to see, from your order, that you took advantage of our freight free exchanges, to get another item that did work for you.
Review 14 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
pattilee
Location:Queens NY
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Cute and very wearable dress
Date:May 29, 2015
The only reason I am not giving this five stars is that the fabric bunches a little in the front. But I like the shape a lot, and the blue and white print is adorable. Still I would rather have bought this at a sale price.
Review 15 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ocooch
Location:wisconsin
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Love this dress
Date:May 26, 2015
I got the navy floral--size 8. I'm about 5'6" 150#, broad in the shoulders, 36C. Fits really well, a bit low cut and a gather below the bust that is a bit bunchy (but i'm a bit bunchy there anyway). IT'S LINED--so no special undies or spanx or anything needed. Reviewing it because I stopped on the site to buy another in the floral.
Review 16 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
teacup
Location:Kansas City
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Lovely!
Date:May 23, 2015
I love wearing dresses! I bought this for a graduation and it is my first purchase from Garnet Hill. I was especially happy with the quality. I love that the dress is lined! The fit was great- I am a pretty standard size 8, with curves. The bust is flattering and the drape of the skirt eliminated the need for spanx- who wants to wear spanx in the summer?
Review 17 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AMDL
Location:Portland, OR
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Simple and pretty
Date:May 14, 2015
I bought the dress in navy floral which is a lovely color, I appreciate the vintage quality added by slightly off-white background. It is the easiest thing to wear, a perfect day dress. Personally I'm not a fan of the lining which shortened a bit in the wash, I don't think the dress needs it. Otherwise it held up really well in the wash. I hesitated for some time whether or not to keep it because of concern about the fit - the gathers under the bust can create an unflattering silhouette, especially from side view, however in the end I liked the dress too much to return it.
Review 18 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrothead
Location:No. Va.
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
A PERFECT summer dress!
Date:May 11, 2015
In fact, I loved it so much that I have already ordered a second one!!! Well made, soft comfortable fabric, flattering style. I'm watching my mail box for my second one!!
Review 19 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LizFV
Location:Columbus OH
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Wore the day I received
Date:May 9, 2015
I am 5'4" and curvy (34D, size 8). I ordered the navy floral in medium. It fit perfectly- flattering shape -not too flowy/overwhelming for a shorter person. The material is lightweight but not see through due to liner. The bodice is fashionable but not cut too low for a busty person. The navy floral is a pretty pattern. I wish the dress came in solid colors b/c I would order more!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garden Party Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mereo
Location:Vermont
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
great dress
Date:May 8, 2015
I love this dress! I bought it in black last year and found it to be so comfortable and looked great. I was excited when the catalog added more colors and now I have it in four colors.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>