Product Reviews

Garnet Hill Signature Swim Dress

A sure way to make a splash this season! Our swim dress with ruching at the bust is retro in feel but modern in fit. The short outer dress floats over a fully lined body. Inner bra provides structure with an underwire and lightly padded cups. Nylon/spandex with UPF 50. Lined. Imported. Runs true to size.
Average Customer Rating:
3.933 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
7
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
2
33 of 4573%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garnet Hill Signature Swim Dress
Review 1 for Garnet Hill Signature Swim Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
101Bird
Location:Memphis
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Sweet!
Date:September 24, 2013
The suit looked so cute on the model that I thought I would take a chance on it. I think I will enjoy wearing it to the beach so that when I take a walk, I won't feel so exposed. It is a good look for me.
For some reason, I always have to buy bathing suits in a size or two, larger than my dress size. I don't know if this is my problem or a common one. I wear a small in most GH items and I bought a size 10 in this suit. It fits fine, except as mentioned by others. The problem is the bra part is cut too wide and that makes the boning hit in the wrong place. If it were tighter there, the suit would stretch to support and position better. It needs a tuck on each side. I can wear it the way it is, but it would fit better if taken in there. I am 5'4" 134 lbs, 36 D.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garnet Hill Signature Swim Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jsdb
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
swim dress
Date:September 23, 2013
Loved the material and print, quality is high, but had to return for a different size. Waiting for the exchange
Review 3 for Garnet Hill Signature Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DillyDally
Location:Way out West in Idaho
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Cute Suit
Date:September 19, 2013
This is a cute suit. Some swim dresses are like you are swimming in the dress. This suit is friendly, it covers up a few flaws but doesn't drown the wearer.
Review 4 for Garnet Hill Signature Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clamster
Location:Seattle, Washington
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
So Happy I Got This!
Date:September 8, 2013
The fabric has a nice feel. It's not too thin. The length is perfect. So many swim dresses are too long and frumpy. Not this one. The top of the suit fit me just right. Can't wait to wear it in Maui this November! High quality all the way.
Review 5 for Garnet Hill Signature Swim Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
stop
Location:denver
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Date:September 2, 2013
Got this on sale so it was a great deal! Like the length (I'm 5'5" and starfish is cute print! Material is thick. I have larger girls (DD) so not as much coverage as I'd prefer, but my friends said it was still appropriate for a "family" pool!
Review 6 for Garnet Hill Signature Swim Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lac123
Location:TX
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Yeah...no!
Date:August 29, 2013
Not for the pear-shaped body at all! Was hoping the underwire would help support, but they were a disaster. Not sure why, because I found the underwire in other GH suits to be a big benefit. These were flat and gave no support. The fabiric was a very nice weight and I liked the purple paisley print, but nothing could overcome the bad bust arrangement. Also,I know it's a dress, but it was just a little too long to be swimming in, and I'm 5'9", so rarely are things too long. I'll be returning this.
Review 7 for Garnet Hill Signature Swim Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JazzyJ
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
You'll feel great wearing this swimdress
Date:August 29, 2013
I purchased this swim dress in the purple paisley and I love it. Even at my age and shape, I'm perfectly happy slipping on this suit and hitting the beach or pool with my kids.
First, the quality of the swim fabric is great: sturdy but soft, and durable. Next, the print is lovely - I love paisley and this one isn't funky or old-fashioned, like paisley sometimes can be. These two things - fabric/fit and print - make for one slimming suit.
Word to the "well endowed": as with other GH products, the bust is a bit small for me. As a DD, the girls stay in and there is enough coverage to run down a preschooler heading into the surf - but not a lot of modesty and you sure won't be playing volleyball. Next year's update, maybe offered in two cup sizes - A-C and D+, would make this a 5-star suit.
I recommend if GH has your size on sale this fall - snap it right up!
Review 8 for Garnet Hill Signature Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LuckyK
Location:Alpine, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Love it!
Date:August 29, 2013
This is a cute alternative to a more revealing swimsuit. I am 55 and not so keen on showing a lot of skin anymore. I purchased the starfish print . I am 5 foot 5 inches, 116 lbs and ordered a size 4. It fits well and is very flattering.
Review 9 for Garnet Hill Signature Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Berkshires
Location:Berkshires, MA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
finally, a modest bathing suit
Date:August 27, 2013
It fits, is not too padded in on top, and feels very good. Nice material.
Review 10 for Garnet Hill Signature Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VickiR
Location:Maine
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Date:August 27, 2013
Loved this suit so much I ordered another one; very flattering!
Review 11 for Garnet Hill Signature Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bgshopper
Location:Chicago area
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Nice looking and comfortable
Date:August 27, 2013
I bought the black and white swimdress first and it fit so well that I bought the dress with the stars. I'll be wearing them in October when we spend two weeks walking on the beach in Florida.
Review 12 for Garnet Hill Signature Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Emrin
Very flattering
Date:August 4, 2013
This is a very flattering swimsuit. I'm 60 and not thin, but this suit makes me look pretty good!
Review 13 for Garnet Hill Signature Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mdee
Location:New York
love this swim dress
Date:July 23, 2013
Fits beautifully using the adjustable straps. Fabric very high quality. Stays put while swimming. Covers just what I want it to. Would like for the bra portion to fit just a little more like a bra, but this is a small complaint. Love the suit. Taking it on vacation.
Review 14 for Garnet Hill Signature Swim Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
pbhibiscus
Location:palm beach, fl
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
cups too small
Date:July 16, 2013
after reading other reviewers mentioning small cups , I ordered this suit in two different sizes. The cups, in both sizes, were too too small. Otherwise, the body of the suit fit well and the fabric was of a good quality and cute print.
Review 15 for Garnet Hill Signature Swim Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Qtshopper
Location:N. Virgina
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Kinda Cute but...
Date:July 14, 2013
This suit is just ok for me. The material is really thick and heavy and not so comfortable on a hot day and it just wasn't as flattering as I hoped it would be. i'm tall, a size 8-10 with D cups on top. The top portion was too small with the wiring in a weird place to hold what's there. I wore it once and just wasn't all together happy with how I felt in the suit. Might be better for someone who wants a lot of coverage and is smaller on top.
Review 16 for Garnet Hill Signature Swim Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kerry08
Location:Annapolis, MD
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Flattering and adorable!
Date:July 6, 2013
I have two of these suits, one in a 8 and one in a 6. I have a short torso so the 8 is a little long but know one would know. The six fits perfectly!! I have a plain black and the cute starfish. I feel very comfortable in this swim dress and the thickness of the fabric is fantastic, feel like it will last forever!
Review 17 for Garnet Hill Signature Swim Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TLC1
Location:Santa Fe NM
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Didn't last
Date:July 4, 2013
I bought this suit to go on vacation. I took it on a ten day trip to the beach and the plastic slides that hold the straps broke and I ended up using safety pins to keep it together. I agree with other reviewers that the top fit a bit strangely but I still thought it it was cute. Too bad the quality was so poor. I expect better from garnet hill.
Review 18 for Garnet Hill Signature Swim Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nana3
Location:New Haven, CT
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Disappointed
Date:June 28, 2013
I purchased the swimdress pictured and was so excited to try it on. I was so disappointed! The fabric was wonderful and the fit was great except for the bust. The cups had underwires and padding but no shape. They were almost flat, no depth. So sad to send this back.
Review 19 for Garnet Hill Signature Swim Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
cdrzymala
Location:Raleigh, NC
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Ok Bathing suit
Date:June 18, 2013
The material and quality of this bathing suit is wonderful. I love the starfish pattern! At 5'4" and 130 pounds, I ordered an almost perfectly fitting size 8. The only downside to this suit is the top. It flattens me. Someone would have to be an A-cup for the under-wire to go where it should and I am a B/C.
It just came today and I am having trouble deciding whether or not to keep it. I want to love it...
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garnet Hill Signature Swim Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Eleuthera
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
charming and flattering
Date:June 13, 2013
This is a sweet suit, surprisingly flattering, the skirt flares slightly and ends just below the bottom. The underwire was a funny shape, I don't know whose breasts it would actually outline and support, it just squashed mine. I removed it and the suit is much better without it. I'm 5'10", 140 pounds, 34C, the size 8 was a good fit. The best thing about it is that beautiful starfish pattern. Thanks Garnet Hill!
1 2 3 next>>