Product Reviews

Surplice Voile Dress

Pretty prints and pockets — two reasons to covet this season's surplice dress. With wide, bra-strap-friendly straps, a shaped empire waist and a gathered A-line skirt, it's the kind of dress that swings from everyday to, say, an afternoon wedding without missing a beat. Sleeveless. Pull-on style. Above-knee length. Cotton voile with voile lining. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.585 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
11
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
2
29 of 4171%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Surplice Voile Dress
Review 1 for Surplice Voile Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bumblebeefl
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Easy fashion
Date:November 7, 2013
Thank you for making a dress that is easy to wash and wear. It is great for everyday - running the kids around town.
The top opens a bit (at the bottom where it comes together), but I'm pretty sure I am the only one who can see my bra. The length is good too. I plan to add leggings and a sweater if it ever cools off here in Florida.
Review 2 for Surplice Voile Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
anoname
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
stiff material
Date:September 29, 2013
I read the previous reviews and ordered a size 12 instead of a size 10. My mistake the bust area was quite large and I am a size 38 C. I did not return for an exchange because the material seemed stiff to me and did not flow nicely. But the dress is well made and the print cute just not for me.
Review 3 for Surplice Voile Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
neworleansgirl
Location:New Orleans, LA
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Not for the pear shaped!
Date:September 25, 2013
I purchased this in the natural/coral dot fabric, which was an absolutely adorable fabric. However, I found that the sizing and fit was very off. As other commenters noted, the bust is very large, which also led to a lot of gaping at the arm holes and a the front of the dress. I ordered a size 2, and still found that the bust was FAR too big. I'm 5'2" and 120 pounds and used the sizing chart as a guide, so I was really surprised that the fit was so off.
Additionally, the narrowest part of the dress fell at an odd spot midway between an empire waist and my natural waist. As someone that is fairly pear-shaped, I found that the odd placement of the waist, combined with a fairly large volume of material on the bottom of the dress gave me a potato-sack look. I think this dress would probably be most flattering on someone with an hourglass or "apple" figure.
I loved the print and wish the fit had been more flattering.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Surplice Voile Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cas68
Location:San Luis Obispo, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
sweet dress
Date:September 22, 2013
I really like GH dresses -- especially these loose fitting ones that still have shape. Very summery -- cute with flip flops, boots, strappy sandals. I bought the cream with polka dots. Very retro. I bought the 6 and it fits loose/comfortably (the way I like it). I'm a 34B/27/39 and 5'4". Falls just a titch above my knees.
Review 5 for Surplice Voile Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sarilla
Location:St. Paul
Gender:Female
cute fabric, terrible fit
Date:September 19, 2013
The fabric of this dress is adorable, but the fit is horrendous. It has the shape of a garbage bag. I love the fabric so I hope to have it tailored.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonOctober 7, 2013
Depending on your figure, this dress can be "roomer", due to the pull on style. You can always accent with a belt.
Review 6 for Surplice Voile Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
pagegirl
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Gorgeous print
Date:September 11, 2013
I'll be exchanging for a smaller size, but this is a fun dress with a lovely print! And pockets!
Review 7 for Surplice Voile Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dressmeup420
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Comfy dress
Date:August 30, 2013
Super flattering and adorable dress... love the pockets, empire waist, and knee-length fit. Only issue is the v-neck goes a little too deep and tends to open up with wear. Easy fix with a quick-stitch but still annoying. Great fabric though
Review 8 for Surplice Voile Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
reading
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
special, easy dress
Date:August 29, 2013
This dress was given to me as a gift and the rose pattern really makes for a lovely summer dress, perfect for a dinner date. It is also extremely comfortable to wear and the lining is a real plus, as there is no need to fuss with a slip. Length also perfect--not too short but still cool and easy to move around in. Also love the pockets. Would highly recommend.
Review 9 for Surplice Voile Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
shellycul
Location:Reno, NV
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
doesn't hang nicely
Date:August 28, 2013
I like the colors and the length, as well as the separate slip, but probably should have returned it; I don't think I'll wear it often. It pooches above the waist.
Review 10 for Surplice Voile Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Alfonsina64
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
The dress with my name on it!
Date:August 28, 2013
Ever since I found GH, I've been aiming to buy this fantastic dress. Everything on it belongs with me: the perfect length that I can use with booties of sandals, my favorite flower pattern, bright contrasting colors, sensual surplice fabric, which drapes gracefully while flattering my body. Most importantly, the size leads you now to the best fit!
Review 11 for Surplice Voile Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NBFM
Location:MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Bought TWO!
Date:August 28, 2013
I love this dress for so many reasons, it's structured, lined, summery and fun, interesting fabric choices, and suitable for lots of different occasions. The only issue I have is the cut at the bust should be a bit more modest for my comfort, but I have sewn in a snap to deal with that.
Review 12 for Surplice Voile Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Judimcd
Location:Ringwood, New Jersey
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Comfy Dress
Date:August 13, 2013
This dress is very comfortable but, it runs very big. I am petite and ordered a size 2 and it is extremely roomy. It did not come in petite. It seemed to fade a good amount when I washed it which was a bit disappiointing.
Review 13 for Surplice Voile Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Artemisa
Location:Eastford, CT
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Surplice voile dress
Date:August 13, 2013
I'm pretty sure the fabric is not voile. Also, even though I followed the measurement chart, the upper part of the dress is too big. I have always been satisfied with GH products, but this is not 100%.
Review 14 for Surplice Voile Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
trakat
Location:Houston, TX
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
a little boxy but still cute
Date:July 27, 2013
this dress is really cute. the pockets seem a little far back but they are seamlessly integrated into the design and look good.
it seems to run a little large -- and i have been wearing a camisole underneath it as the neckline is plunging and quite open.
Review 15 for Surplice Voile Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Laceroses
Location:Long Island, N.Y.
Very disappointed
Date:July 24, 2013
I couldn't wait to get this dress, but when I tried it on my disappointment was great. The rose pattern is beautiful, but the fit (particularly the entire bodice/top area) is terrible. It is huge and has an odd cut. I entertained bringing it to the tailor, but after some realistic consideration, I knew that returning it would be my best bet. If the top could be redesigned and perhaps made in a knit (similar to the the wonderful Starlit knit dress) I would purchase it again. I did love the rose pattern.
Review 16 for Surplice Voile Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RoxyRoxy
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice Dress but runs a bit large
Date:July 14, 2013
This is a great summer dress. The fabric and cut are nice, and it is very flattering. However, I found that it ran a bit large, especially in the bust. I normally wear a size 10, and so I ordered that size. It was a bit larger than I wanted, so i washed it and dried it in the dryer hoping that it would shrink. Unfortunately it really didn't shrink that much which means it is good quality!
Review 17 for Surplice Voile Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bythewater
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Very unflattering
Date:June 27, 2013
I ordered two sizes down, and the dress was still very bulky below the waist. With more tailoring and a zipper it would be a lovely dress as the fabric is high quality, but if you have any curves, it's really not for you. I am 5"2, 130#.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Surplice Voile Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Roxas
Location:Hampton, VA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Date:June 9, 2013
I was a little nervous about the pink and fit (I'm thicker in the middle than I would like to be), but the dress is perfect! Great light weight summer dress. I wish there were more pattern choices, I would have bought a couple more.
Review 19 for Surplice Voile Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lilliana
Location:Spokane, WA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Charming dress
Date:June 9, 2013
This dress just makes me feel happy. I got an extra small and it fits just right. It is a little roomy around the empire waist but the overall look is very classy and sweet. The material is absolutely gorgeous, very high quality and the colors (I got the roses print) are vibrant. I wore it with a lightweight lime green sweater and the outfit looked beautiful. I got so many compliments. Definitely love this dress.
Review 20 for Surplice Voile Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mia2811
Location:Vermont
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Lovely summer dress
Date:June 4, 2013
Fine detail, flattering fit, beautiful fabric..a great summer dress
1 2 3 next>>