Product Reviews

Oversized Boxy Sweater

Our oversized sweater has a bit of swing. In a draped silk/cotton blend, it's a slouchy silhouette that looks fabulously flattering over any slim, neat bottom in your closet. Wide neckline to slip on or off the shoulder, as the mood strikes. Three-quarter-length sleeves. Slightly longer length. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.839 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
15
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
3
44 of 6271%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Oversized Boxy Sweater
Review 1 for Oversized Boxy Sweater
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mmwriyadh
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
NIce, but a bit boring.
Date:November 26, 2013
This sweater is very soft and super comfy, on the other hand, it's a bit boring. It's made of a waffle weave and since I got the oatmeal color, it looks like an old long underwear shirt that my Grandpa out grew. Not a fashion statement to be sure.
Review 2 for Oversized Boxy Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
soprano
Location:Lincoln, NE
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Really soft sweater
Date:November 18, 2013
I love the loose cut of this sweater and the fabric is beyond soft.
Review 3 for Oversized Boxy Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Michigandress
Location:Lansing, MI
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Soft and beautiful, runs large!
Date:November 18, 2013
I bought this to wear to a banquet, but it runs quite large. I ended up wearing a different top to the event, but I love this sweater over a pencil skirt with some motorcycle boots, or with a pair of skinny jeans. The black is rich and has washed well without fading or pilling up.
Considering getting more colors.
Review 4 for Oversized Boxy Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WhiteRose
Location:Colorado
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Definitely oversized.
Date:October 9, 2013
I am 52, 5'2 & 115 lbs. I usually wear a small and don't like to wear my clothes tight. This sweater runs big, I should have ordered an XS.
Review 5 for Oversized Boxy Sweater
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Wahine808
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Big, comfy, relaxed, but pills badly
Date:September 17, 2013
The reviews are right, it's big, and boxy, but it's super comfortable, and casual. My main issue is that it pills really badly. I'm hoping it will stop soon after a couple washings, because I really do like it. But it's just getting everywhere. I'm glad I got it on sale, not worth full price.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonOctober 2, 2013
Some pilling is expected in the beginning, but it will decrease after the first couple of washings.
Review 6 for Oversized Boxy Sweater
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bunnykins
Location:Sunny Southwest
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Definitely size down!
Date:September 9, 2013
Very nice luxe fabric, soft and comfy design. Took the advice of other reviewers and ordered a size down from my regular. Love the body fit but the sleeves are nowhere near 3/4 on me, they are right at elbow length which is awkward and somewhat uncomfortable. I kept it anyway because it is a nice versatile seasonal transition piece, but the sleeve thing is very annoying. A great sweater if you get it on sale, would not be worth full price for me.
Review 7 for Oversized Boxy Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lovegreatdealsshopper
Location:Mnpls,MN
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Huge......
Date:September 5, 2013
Had to return as was huge in large.I wanted loose fitting but this went way beyond. The feel and texture is very soft and lovely. Sad to return as too big and color did not work. Am considering ordering in different color. Really a lovely item though.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Oversized Boxy Sweater
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KarenEL
Location:Fairfax, VA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great Summer Sweater!
Date:September 3, 2013
Love this sweater! It's the perfect weight for summer, and will be great in Spring and Fall, too. As other reviewers indicate, it runs large. But it drapes very nicely and looks great on. Bought it in the French Blue (gorgeous color), and just ordered the Black on sale. Hope GH brings this back in other colors next Spring!
Review 9 for Oversized Boxy Sweater
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NKAK
Location:Alaska
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Comfort
Date:August 29, 2013
I love the fit, and how you can dress the sweater up or wear with jeans!
Review 10 for Oversized Boxy Sweater
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BostonNBL
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Oversized is right
Date:August 25, 2013
i love the color (i ordered the bright pink) and the weight of the sweater - the fabric has a great flow....but as someone who is 5 foot 2, it is very long, i would love it a few inches shorter. overall, it's a perfect staple that works with nearly everything.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Oversized Boxy Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Principal
Location:SW Kansas
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Super sweater!!!!!!!!!!
Date:August 20, 2013
This is such a comfortable sweater and looks fabulous as casual or a little dressier!!!!!!!!! The colors are amazing!!! You will want them all!!!!
Review 12 for Oversized Boxy Sweater
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Naia
Location:Phila
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
not like image
Date:August 11, 2013
Quality of fabric and color (coral) are lovely. However this is not at all as pictured, unless the model is a foot taller than my 5'4'. Sweater (S) comes almost to my knees, and is not boxy , but shapeless.(I appreciate a boxy, loose on the frame look).I wonder how catalogue shopping can reflect the very high cost to consumers of paying postage and handling costs 2 ways(while still supporting employees)? Some choose 'real people' to model the clothes, some do not add on poastage.....this purchase will make me very much more cautious
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Oversized Boxy Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LakesideMom
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Lovely Swing and Drape
Date:August 3, 2013
Purchased the coral pink color. Love it! Beautiful swing and drape. Other users have remarked on the thin fabric, but this is one of the reasons it's a wardrobe staple for me. The fabric has a silky sheen to it, so there's no mistaking it for your average t-shirt. Wear it once per week or more often. Pairs perfectly with shorts, denim capris, everything. Also layers beautifully with a GH ribbed tank on those days I don't want to chance undergarments peeking out. Am 5'7" 123 lbs. and XS fits well. I have only dry cleaned so far and am pleased with the results (I didn't want to chance washing it on my own; fabric is too beautiful and I want it to stay that way).
In fact, love it so much I purchased a second (also at full price) in the french blue. However, it was more of a gray-ish, faded blue than shown on my computer screen, so I very reluctantly returned it. All in all, a gorgeous garment.
Review 14 for Oversized Boxy Sweater
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SFPC
Location:San Francisco
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Shedding sweater
Date:August 1, 2013
Liked the sweater very much (chose black), although I did have to exchange the large for a medium, and really a small would have been the best choice (I generally wear large or xl tops). However the issue was that it pill-ed. It was so bad, I had sheets of black all over my white pants, my purse, the seatbelt, it was shocking. I tried washing it, but it didn't stem the shedding. It has now gone back. Customer service, as always, is tremendous.
Review 15 for Oversized Boxy Sweater
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bigal
Location:south carolina
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
great oversized top
Date:July 29, 2013
I love this top-very appropriate for this time of year in the south and looks great with slim pants. Not too thick, not flimsy either. Does run quite large-I'm a solid 8 but ordered XS and it fits just great with room to spare. Would order another color if it went on sale and they still had any left!
Review 16 for Oversized Boxy Sweater
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mb123
Date:July 21, 2013
Although meant to be oversized, this is HUGE and I had to return it.
Review 17 for Oversized Boxy Sweater
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
cgjen
HUGE!
Date:July 19, 2013
Just received a XS in Grey and it is going back. This sweater is OVER Oversized. I'm swimming in it and it is a lot longer than pictured.
Review 18 for Oversized Boxy Sweater
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
pamoogi
Location:New England
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
sent it back
Date:July 16, 2013
the style was bit flattering for me - a bit too long since I am short-waisted - looked frumpy, but it was comfortable when I tried it on...
Review 19 for Oversized Boxy Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wildyam
Location:NH
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Go-To comfy top
Date:July 7, 2013
I ordered this sweater in coral completely on a whim, thinking it was probably going to be huge on my small frame. But the color was a good one so I took a chance. It was so perfect when it arrived that I went back and ordered both the gray and the black. It is whisper light, and drapes beautifully, so doesn't have that 'I'm-wearing-my-mother's-sweater' feel. Light enough for hot, humid weather when the AC puts a chill in the air. Style works with shorts, slacks or skirts. Would probably work over a simple knit dress, but haven't tried that yet. Love it!
Review 20 for Oversized Boxy Sweater
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jlcrayner
Location:Windermere, FL
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
wonderful summer sweater
Date:July 4, 2013
Great fit - I am 5'3" and weigh 155 and I ordered the small - fits perfectly and is very lightweight - makes for a wonderful evening sweater to wear with cropped pants, or even shorts. Highly recommend.
1 2 3 4 next>>