Product Reviews

Ryka Dress from Velvet by Graham & Spencer

FROM VELVET BY GRAHAM & SPENCER EXCLUSIVELY FOR GARNET HILL Our much-loved crewneck dress has the perfect mix of feminine draping with a gathered and crossover front, a deep scoop neck in back, and ties in back. Made from Velvet's lovely cotton baby jersey and available only at Garnet Hill. Three-quarter sleeves. Above-knee length. From Velvet by Graham & Spencer. USA.
Average Customer Rating:
2.9 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
4 of 1040%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ryka Dress from Velvet by Graham & Spencer
Review 1 for Ryka Dress from Velvet by Graham & Spencer
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
lovetowearknits
Location:Berkeley, CA
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
unflattering and low-quality fabric
Date:April 15, 2013
I was really surprised at how low-quality the knit fabric on this dress was compared to other GH knit dresses I have ordered. It was a little like bulky t-shirt fabric, did not have the 'sheen' seen in the model photo, and definitely had no good flow or drape. In addition, the bust detail is not suited for a larger cup size.
Response from Garnet Hill:By MeganCustomer LiaisonApril 16, 2013
We're sorry to hear our Ryka Dress didn't meet your expectations. We are here to help if you have questions about your return or exchange. Give us a call at 800-870-3513.
Review 2 for Ryka Dress from Velvet by Graham & Spencer
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Allegro
Location:Washington, DC
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
cute casual dress
Date:February 6, 2013
It's a cute, comfortable, casual dress. I got the jade color, and it's nice. Got it on sale. Otherwise, I think it's too expensive for the quality.
Review 3 for Ryka Dress from Velvet by Graham & Spencer
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
csness
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Cheap Material & Thick Tie
Date:December 2, 2012
This dress was a total disappointment. The material is very cheap so it's inappropriate for work AND the tie is so thick and long that it's impossible to sit comfortably against the back of chair (besides the fact that it looks ridiculous too).
Review 4 for Ryka Dress from Velvet by Graham & Spencer
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
CEW6
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Not what I expected
Date:November 27, 2012
I was quite disappointed with this dress unfortunately. I wanted to like it, but the thin fabric bothered me as well as the wrinkles. The belt is a bit awkward and is too short if wrapped back around to the front. I just don't think this one was worth the price..... just don't love it like some of my other Garnet Hill dresses.
Review 5 for Ryka Dress from Velvet by Graham & Spencer
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ragpoof
Location:Beaufort, SC
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
sloppy
Date:October 28, 2012
Wrinkles were really tight when it arrived...still have not fallen out....dress looks unfinished...I work in a casual environment, still cannot wear. Disappointed.
Review 6 for Ryka Dress from Velvet by Graham & Spencer
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pickyshopper01
Location:Ohio
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Sweet Sexy Dress
Date:October 19, 2012
Not sure why a couple reviewers referred to this as a maternity dress, as it definitely is not. The back ties are NOT exceptionally long and the back of the dress is as great as the front, especially with the deep scoop in the back. The sizing is normal for Velvet. I wear a small and the fit was perfect, as it has a slight A-line, which works great for my body style. Size 2 at the top and a 4 to 6 at the bottom. This dress would make a great holiday party dress!
Review 7 for Ryka Dress from Velvet by Graham & Spencer
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Antoinette
Location:Ashland Oregon
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Flattering and supremely comfortable dress
Date:October 10, 2012
When I first saw this dress online, I didn't give it a second look, since it appeared somewhat girlish in the picture and too short for my 5'11 frame. Since I have several Velvet dresses that I absolutely love however, I decided to give this one a try. I expected to be returning it, since the jade is a new color for me and the style is a departure from my norm as well, but I was the thrilled the moment I put it on. The neckline and 3/4 sleeves are very flattering, and jade color is absolutely gorgeous! The length is perfect, with the hem hitting just above my knees. This dress is soft, comfortable, well made and chic, and I am happy to have something a little different in my wardrobe. My favorite fall purchase thus far!
Review 8 for Ryka Dress from Velvet by Graham & Spencer
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
anon9
Location:Washington State
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Maternity dress!
Date:October 4, 2012
I completely agree with an earlier reviewer. GH should have posted a picture of the back of this dress. The long tie in the back combined with the empire waist reminds me of maternity dresses! If you are pregnant this will be a wonderful option for you. I am not, so back it goes!!
Response from Garnet Hill:By MeganCustomer LiaisonOctober 11, 2012
Thanks for your feedback! We're sorry to hear our Ryka Dress did not fit as you expected. As always, we're happy to accept a return or exchange at any time if you aren't completely delighted!
Review 9 for Ryka Dress from Velvet by Graham & Spencer
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nettekamp
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Great Dress
Date:October 2, 2012
Wonderful dress, recently purchased in charcoal in a medium size. I am actually 6 months pregnant and the empire waist is very flattering for me. It will be a piece I can wear over and over again even after I have my baby. Love the sleeve length.
Review 10 for Ryka Dress from Velvet by Graham & Spencer
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Alycat77
Location:Houston
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Make an great entrance, just don't turn around
Date:October 2, 2012
I purchased the midnight in a small and it looked fantastic from the front but absolutely terrible from the back. Really, really bad design in back. Maybe that's why there is not a picture of the model from the back. If only the back of the dress had been plain it would have been almost perfect. The fabric has less sheen than the picture shows which makes the dress appear much more casual. It is a faded purple, not a rich deep purple as pictured. There is a scooped back that dips down probably 5 inches and then there is a long, long tie back. The dress from the back looks wrong in so many ways. The tie is such a thick material and and is so long that it looks strange, unattractive and extremely bulky when tied. I can't imagine leaning back in a chair or driving a car while wearing the dress tied. Wanted to love because of the front, but hated the back so no compromise.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By MeganCustomer LiaisonOctober 3, 2012
Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the style of our Ryka Dress. We're sorryt to hear it didn't meet your expectations. Keep in mind, we're happy to accept a return or exchange at any time if you aren't completely satisfied!