Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Garnet Hill.

Ruched Swim Boy Shorts - Girls

Ruched and retro — that's just the way she'll like these hip bottoms. They give great demure coverage yet still look stylin'. Fixed waistband has gathering at the sides. Nylon/spandex with UPF 50+ sun protection. Lined. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
0
37 of 4092%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ruched Swim Boy Shorts - Girls
Review 1 for Ruched Swim Boy Shorts - Girls
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mncs
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Run a little large
Date:June 27, 2014
These boy shorts are so cute. The fit on them runs a little large in the waist and the leg opening. My small almost 6 yr old can't quite swim in these shorts, since they sag down on her. When they are dry, no issue. The leg opening is large, but again, my daughter is slim. Great colors and the suit has washed up really nicely.
Review 2 for Ruched Swim Boy Shorts - Girls
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
texbec
Nice Shorts / Need Drawstring
Date:June 2, 2014
I bought two pair of these shorts for my daughter. They fit very well and run true to size when dry. She wears a 6 in most brands and the 6 fits well. She has worn them swimming three times. They are holding their nice bright colors well so far. She was concerned about them not having a panty inside but with the fit and the liner they are as modest as we had hoped. They cover her very well and the leg openings are just the right size. I like the length of the leg not to long or to short. My only complaint and why I didn't give them 5 stars is that they are too loose in the waist when wet. They are not going to fall off of her completely but the waist needs a draw string. The suit sags down low in the back exposing too much of the top of her bottom. The wide pink waist band is plenty big for a drawstring and it almost looks like the designer was leaving room for one. There is a nice tunnel already made in the material. Inside that tunnel is one small thin piece of elastic at the very top sewn in to the pink band but they rest is just an empty tunnel begging for a drawstring. We love these cute shorts we just wish they didn't sag in the waist.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison June 3, 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback. We've shared your comments with our Design Team to consider a drawstring for future collections. If you have further feedback or questions, feel free to give us a call.
Review 3 for Ruched Swim Boy Shorts - Girls
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
asiefohio
Location:Ohio
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Sagging lining first wear
Date:May 11, 2014
We were so excited that these bright comfy shorts would match her solid pink top perfectly. My 12 yo daughter wore them to a pool party as soon as they came in. They fit snug, and felt great on her. However, she said she would never wear them again. Once the lining was wet, it sagged out the back of her legs. It was as if once it got wet, it stretched out, and she felt like she was constantly adjusting them. I would be curious to see if others have the same experience.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison May 12, 2014
We're sorry to hear about your experience, but glad you've contacted Customer Service so we could find a solution. If you have further feedback or questions we're available at 800-87-3513.
Review 4 for Ruched Swim Boy Shorts - Girls
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nana10
Location:iowa
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Adorable - good coverage
Date:March 19, 2014
Ordered the capri color. I loved them. Had to send these back b/c they didn't match the rashguard they are shown with. Would be cute with the capri top.
Review 5 for Ruched Swim Boy Shorts - Girls
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CatShops
Location:ATlanta
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
cute, great fit
Date:March 4, 2014
These are great for active kids. They fit well, and I never feel like my girls need a cover up when they are wearing them.
Review 6 for Ruched Swim Boy Shorts - Girls
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Swalke14
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Cute but seems big for size
Date:February 24, 2014
I got the boy shorts and the tankini for my 2 year old. She's skinny but pretty true to a 2T size. I ordered a 2T in the boy shorts and they literally fall off her bottom- even with a regular diaper under them. I wish they came with a drawstring. I think I will put one in them rather than return them. They are really cute on her when they stay up!
Review 7 for Ruched Swim Boy Shorts - Girls
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KristenVT
Location:Burlington, VT
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Great swimsuit bottoms
Date:February 11, 2014
I bought these in Island Palm size 8 for my 8 year old daughter. They fit her perfectly and are very cute. The colors are nice to mix and match and I bought them on sale. Perfect!
Review 8 for Ruched Swim Boy Shorts - Girls
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yiayia
Location:Albany, ny
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Ruched swim boy shorts for girls
Date:February 9, 2014
Cute bathing suit if it fit. Shorts and top way too wide for my granddaughter who falls in the 50% percentile for weight. No return label in box. Maybe as it was on sale? Don't know. Will give to someone else. She is ten but ten is way too wide:(
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison February 13, 2014
At Garnet Hill, your satisfaction is guaranteed and we are happy to exchange or accept returns even if the item was on sale. Give us a call at 1-800-870-3513 and we'll be happy to assist you!
Review 9 for Ruched Swim Boy Shorts - Girls
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WorkingOR
Location:Salem, OR, USA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Cute and functional
Date:September 2, 2013
These shorts are great over a one piece or as the bottom to one of the swim tops. I like that it covers more and is so stylish! My kids like it too! Fit is TTS.
Review 10 for Ruched Swim Boy Shorts - Girls
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
emilyS
Location:Austin, TX
great swim shorts!
Date:August 29, 2013
These shorts are so cute. They fit my slim 8-year-old great & match her other swim tops from different brands. Be aware that on the chevron prints at least the colors are shiny, not matte.
Review 11 for Ruched Swim Boy Shorts - Girls
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
llynch
Location:NC
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Waist too big.....had to alter
Date:August 29, 2013
It's hard to find modest cute suits. My girl is 8 and the boy shorts cover the tush, so we are happy with this. However, The waist stuck out in space around her body, so grandma did some intaking to make it fit. Our girl is average to petite in size, not over weight. On a pudgy overweight girl the waist would fit. Otherwise, We love this.
Review 12 for Ruched Swim Boy Shorts - Girls
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MommyPA
Very nice prints and great coverage
Date:August 29, 2013
My daughter has two pairs. It is very difficult to find something for kids that is decent and fun at the same time. These are perfect for her. I wish it had a liner though.
Review 13 for Ruched Swim Boy Shorts - Girls
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4kids4thismom
Location:Northern Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
LOVE these suits
Date:August 28, 2013
These bottoms fit great, have great full coverage and are not something that everyone else has. My daughter gets a ton of compliments when she wears them. She has an athletic build and they fit great!
Review 14 for Ruched Swim Boy Shorts - Girls
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kellysmama
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
swimwear
Date:August 28, 2013
Oh my gosh!!! Love this swimwear from Garnet Hill. Great quality and lasts!! love the different designs they have too!
Review 15 for Ruched Swim Boy Shorts - Girls
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chicotina
Location:Chico, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
PLEASE bring these back next year!
Date:August 28, 2013
My daughter is quite lean and tall and I always have trouble trying to find bikini bottoms that don't absolutely float on her and, ahem, show too much, but these boy shorts solved all of our problems! Great fit and she feels super comfortable in them. We got the chevron stripe in blue and green along with the tankini top. Really nice fabric and fit. PLEASE bring this style back next year so I can buy more!!
Review 16 for Ruched Swim Boy Shorts - Girls
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nonato7
Location:N.C.
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
nice coverage for young girls
Date:August 27, 2013
stays in place, cute prints, make solids to mix and match
Review 17 for Ruched Swim Boy Shorts - Girls
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alsysalsy
Location:Las Vegas, nv
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
please bring these back next year
Date:August 23, 2013
My daughter loves these swim shorts. We got them at the end of the season so we couldn't get a matching top but she wears them over a hot pink swimsuit. Please bring these back next season!!!
Review 18 for Ruched Swim Boy Shorts - Girls
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CosmopolitanCowgirl
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Finally . . . something cute with coverage!
Date:August 4, 2013
Looked for sooo long for boy shorts like these. They provide more sun protection than the typical swim bottom, and they are better at keeping sand out of the crotch area than board shorts are. Also love the mix-n-match feature of these with the swim tops. Wait for the end-of-the-season sale, as they otherwise are expensive. (I gave 5 stars for "value" only b/c I bought them on sale.)
Review 19 for Ruched Swim Boy Shorts - Girls
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nantucketgirl
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Super cute boy shorts
Date:August 1, 2013
I love Garnet Hill swimsuits and theses boy shorts are no exception. My daughter has gotten quite a few compliments on them. She is a typical 7 yr old girl & I ordered a sz 8. I would expect these to last through next summer.
Review 20 for Ruched Swim Boy Shorts - Girls
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Basti
Ruched swim boy shorts for girls
Date:July 30, 2013
My daughter loved them. She is 11 years old. They look cute on and fit true to size.
1 2 next>>