Product Reviews

Retro Capri Chino Pants

Our lean capris are a modern take on the typical chino — and in a cool range of colors (neutrals to gutsy pastels), we bet these will become your new go-to pants from now till shorts season. Natty details include side pockets, back welt pockets and belt loops. Slightly tapered legs. Favorite rise. Midweight 100% cotton twill, washed for softness. Imported. Inseam: 25 1/2" Rise: Low (View our Pants Rise Guide )
Average Customer Rating:
3.133 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
0
5 of 1533%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Retro Capri Chino Pants
Review 1 for Retro Capri Chino Pants
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WorkingOR
Location:Salem, OR, USA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Perfect curvy body fit!
Date:February 8, 2014
I jumped on these when I saw the other reviews stating small waist and big legs; it fits perfectly! LOVE a waist that fits and how slim/straight they look on curvy me! Good colors too. Fit is TTS for that body type (or for me, at least).
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Retro Capri Chino Pants
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
letyourinnergeekspeak
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
strange sizing
Date:February 3, 2014
the fabric is the usual high quality on GH chinos. but the sizing is off. I'm a curvy size 12 and the legs fit fine but the waist was so small I couldn't begin to button the pants. so i've returned them in exchange for a pair of the regular chinos in the vintage peacock. love that color!
Response from Garnet Hill:By MeganCustomer LiaisonFebruary 10, 2014
Thanks so much for your feedback on the fit of our Retro Capri Chino's, we've shared it with our design team to review. We're glad to hear you took advantage of our free exchanges, and hope you enjoy your new pants!
Review 3 for Retro Capri Chino Pants
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tealover
Location:Salt Lake City
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Glad I took a Chance
Date:September 3, 2013
I have not ordered pants from GH, so I wasn't sure about fit or sizing, but these fit me perfectly - and for the sale price are a great deal. I'm usually between a 6-8, and I ordered a 6 to get the grey color I wanted - so glad I sized down with these. They are a little long for capris (I'm 5'6) and not quite long enough for ankle pants - the only reason for 4 stars. Fabric is a great weight - will be perfect for fall.
Review 4 for Retro Capri Chino Pants
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
liana565
Location:Eastern TN
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
I love those pants.
Date:August 31, 2013
even there are a few things about them.
yes, they are longer than capris should be.
Second, I think they slightly run small. I've ordered an oyster pair first. As soon as they came out of the box and were tried on, I've ordered two more colors (Rose and Jade). My mom saw those yesterday on me and loved the feeling of the fabric. I've ordered 2 pairs for her. She can't wait to get them.
Review 5 for Retro Capri Chino Pants
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
chitwnchk
Location:Healdsburg, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
OK
Date:August 29, 2013
These aren't the best pants, and definitely not the worst. They were definitely a little baggier than I thought, and a little longer than I thought. They almost came to my ankles. I would not order another pair, but they are OK.
Review 6 for Retro Capri Chino Pants
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
brett69
Location:New York, NY
I wish I'd read all the reviews
Date:August 28, 2013
I ordered white and, as some previous reviewer noted on reviews I didn't see in time, they are completely see-through. I like the fit and may try another color, but white is virtually unwearable.
Response from Garnet Hill:By CherieCustomer LiaisonAugust 28, 2013
As a result of customer feedback improvements are already underway for next year. In the meantime may we'd be happy to help you with an exchange.
Review 7 for Retro Capri Chino Pants
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
NMgirlAK
Location:Alaska
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Terrible Fit
Date:June 20, 2013
These have to be the WORST fitting pants I've ever tried on. The waist fit fine, but the rear and thighs were very baggy, absolutely no shape and definitely not flattering. I live in Alaska, so of course I didn't get the return sticker with my order which means I now have to spend even more money on these awful pants.
Review 8 for Retro Capri Chino Pants
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DiscoOwl
Location:Buckeye, AZ
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Not so lean
Date:May 14, 2013
These capris look like skinny style on the model photos, but i could have quite literally fit 2 legs in each pant leg on the pair i received. Very bummed because they fit me totally perfectly through the waist and hips and felt very comfortable otherwise. Just way too much gaping material through the leg and rear. I was looking for something more form-fitting, but these were incredibly baggy and loose on me. Might just be my body type so maybe they would work for others. I have very skinny legs. For reference I am 6'0", 145 pounds and tried the size 12.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Retro Capri Chino Pants
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Snowmeg
Location:Somerville, MA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Should have read the reviews on these
Date:April 20, 2013
These are very comfortable and the fabric feels great, but order a size up. I had to return my usual size 10 and order up to a 12. They felt great, but I agree with other reviewers: they are ankle pants, not capris, and I am almost 5'9". They also do not cuff well as they are tapered. Also, the back panel does appear to be cut larger than the front, and sticks out. Lastly, on the rose, the pocket is extremely visible, which is not attractive. This was not an issue on the jade. I wanted to love these, very disappointed, especially as the fabric is so comfortable.
Response from Garnet Hill:By MeganCustomer LiaisonMay 3, 2013
We appreicate your feedback! We want you to be completely delighted with all of your purchases, and are here to help if you are not. Please give us a call at 800-870-3513 if we can be of assistance.
Review 10 for Retro Capri Chino Pants
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
threekids
retro chino crops
Date:March 16, 2013
fit great, color and quality great. My only complaint is that I am only 5 feet one inch tall and these are too long - they fit more like ankle pants than capris. I'm keeping them but I'll have to hem them.
Review 11 for Retro Capri Chino Pants
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DoctorD
Location:Washington DC
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Great Warm Weather Pants
Date:March 3, 2013
Fun colors, soft fabric, good fit. Perfect. Can't waita foar warm Spring weather.
Review 12 for Retro Capri Chino Pants
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
GinaDallas
Not capri length on me
Date:February 28, 2013
Love the colors and they fit very well...HOWEVER...they are a lot longer on me than on the model in the picture. So, these are not made for an average-height person (I'm 5'6"). They look like ankle length pants on me, which wasn't the look I was going for. Since they were on sale, I will get them shortened to capri length. But be warned, if you are not at least 5'10", they will be longer on you than what is shown in the picture.
Response from Garnet Hill:By MeganCustomer LiaisonMarch 5, 2013
Thanks for your comments on our Retro Capri Chino Pants. Please note, all sizes of this pant have a 25.5" inseam. Please give us a call if we can help you with a return or exchange!
Review 13 for Retro Capri Chino Pants
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
BmoreGirl
Location:Baltimore, MD
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Don't get the white!
Date:February 26, 2013
The fit on these pants seems pretty reasonable - but I ordered the white and they are VERY see through. Not what I would've expected from Garnet Hill - they're going back.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By MeganCustomer LiaisonMarch 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your note! We appreciate your feedback and have shared it with our Design Team to review. Keep in mind, exchanges are always free if you'd like to try a different color!
Review 14 for Retro Capri Chino Pants
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
justmeneardc
Location:Maryland
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Very disappointing
Date:February 21, 2013
I ordered two pairs: one white, one rose. The white ones were completely see-through. No excuse for this--there must be someone doing quality control, no? The rose color is very pretty, but the cut of these pants is is off, at least for me: the width of the back of the legs is wider than the front of the legs, so the seams and about an inch of fabric stick out on the outer edge of each leg. (I do have thin legs, so this may not be a problem for everyone.) So they're both going back. It's nearly impossible to find capris that are long enough for me (I'm 5'11'), and these are a good length, so I'm really disappointed .
Review 15 for Retro Capri Chino Pants
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MaryEllen
Location:Raleigh, NC
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Picture is deceiving
Date:January 28, 2013
I loved the way these capris look on the model but not on myself. Unfortunately, these are not available in petite so it is a very odd length on me and when I roll it up like the picture, it seems too bulky. Also, the fit is much baggier than it looks on the model which I don't like. The tan color looks much darker in the picture and that was a disappointment as well. Chances are, these are going back.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.