Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Lace Pencil Skirt

The sharply tailored pencil skirt takes a decidedly feminine turn in soft cotton lace. The mod geometric pattern keeps the look clean, and the dusky colors are both office and party apropos. Slim fit with darts for shaping. Hidden side zip. Back vent. Knee length. 100% cotton lace with cotton lining. Imported. Runs small; we recommend that you order up one size.
Average Customer Rating:
4.21 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
16 of 1984%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lace Pencil Skirt
Review 1 for Lace Pencil Skirt
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hike
Location:Pasadena, California
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Like but not love
Date:November 17, 2013
The cut and fit of this skirt were nice, as is the skirt fabric. However, I wish it had a silky lining. The cotton lining does not permit easy movement like a silky/nylon one would. I got the jade color, which is very pretty but does not easily coordinate with other colors.
Review 2 for Lace Pencil Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
funkqueen
Location:san francisco, ca
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
fits like a glove
Date:September 15, 2013
I love this skirt and it makes me happy when I wear it.
Since the skirt has a great pattern, the top can be simple.
Review 3 for Lace Pencil Skirt
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stelli
Location:CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
pretty color
Date:September 10, 2013
I love this green color, and the lace makes it easy to dress up or down, depending on accessories and shoes, but I sized up as recommended and it's too big, and a little too long. Since the size down is sold out in both colors, I am debating the return/alter question...hmmmm. It is really a pretty skirt!
Review 4 for Lace Pencil Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joycie
Location:Phoenix
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great Skirt
Date:August 28, 2013
What I like about this skirt is the fact you can dress it up or down. Cute with heels or sandals. Can't go wrong with this skirt.
Review 5 for Lace Pencil Skirt
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bobbi2
Location:Illinois
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Petite,please!
Date:July 14, 2013
At 5'3", I am frequently on the border when it comes to sizing, but the skirt as photographed appeared to be at least two inches above the knee, so I thought it might work. I really, really wanted it to. It looks so versatile. And I thought it would probably travel well. The backside of the skirt does fit snug, but a pencil skirt should. My problem is that the skirt hits me right below the knee--which I could do if the shape was more narrow--this one flairs a bit too much to be attractive. If the only thing that needed fixing were adding some darts at the waist (the price is good), I would keep it, but it really needs to be tapered at the bottom and/ or hemmed several inches. A person needs to be tall enough that the skirt hits 2 inches above the knee (as pictured) for this shape to be an attractive fit. This is nicely tailored--it should be offered in petite sizes too. The lace pencil skirt is popular this season, this is almost as nicely made as several competitors, but a third less in price. How I wish I had snagged a petite size from the competitor while they were still available.
Review 6 for Lace Pencil Skirt
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
justdiscoveredgarnethill
Location:Chicago area
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Unique skirt, but a little pricey
Date:June 24, 2013
The skirt is very cute. It has a great look that can be casual or a little more.
Be careful and follow the washing directions! I accidently shrunk it a little.
Review 7 for Lace Pencil Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MdMom63
Location:Denton, Maryland
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Love this skirt!
Date:June 18, 2013
So classy, unique design and fits perfectly! Didn't need to size up as suggested and no problems with skirt stretching out in back. Couldn't decide between colors, so bought Jade & Castlerock!
Review 8 for Lace Pencil Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Solstice
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Date:June 17, 2013
Love the color and the quality. Slim shape but like that it is lined.
Review 9 for Lace Pencil Skirt
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SimoneSays
Location:St. Louis
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Pretty skirt!
Date:June 12, 2013
I took heed of the other reviews and sized up from my usual 6 to an 8. The skirt fits fine around my hips but my dear old seamstress mom is taking in the waistband to fit me. If you have a straighter figure, size up and go for it! This is a unique skirt, high quality fabric. I wish the lining was not cotton, as I fear it will stick to undergarments.
Review 10 for Lace Pencil Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Greatbleuheron
Location:Midwest
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Pretty Skirt
Date:June 12, 2013
Even after sizing up as recommended, this skirt is still a bit snug. It's also slightly stretchy (perhaps because of the lace), so it does fit, but without much room to spare.
It's a very pretty skirt. The lace is gorgeous. Be careful of the sizing, but otherwise, recommended.
Review 11 for Lace Pencil Skirt
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KtrsBklyn
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Simple without being plain, good for the office
Date:June 6, 2013
Very pretty, well-made skirt, but I did not find that it ran small, that if anything it as boxier than I expected, not tapered. I'm going to send it bak for a size down and hopes it has a sleeker more tailored look.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lace Pencil Skirt
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quirk
sizing is small
Date:April 9, 2013
The 12 was way smaller than other 12s from Garnet Hill.
Response from Garnet Hill:By MeganCustomer LiaisonApril 10, 2013
Thanks for your feedback! Our Lace Pencil Skirt does run a little small, and we recommend ordering up one size for the best fit!
Review 13 for Lace Pencil Skirt
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Donomom
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Mixed opinion
Date:March 8, 2013
This skirt is very cute, unique fabric, nice colors! I bought one size up, fits nicely. But. .. . . . the lining is very poor. This open work fabric obviously needs a lining, but the choice of fabric here is terrible, it wants to cling to tights or skin. You need a silky slip to make this work, and that adds a bit of bulk. The lining fabric is very poor quality for the price and style. But I love the skirt despite this problem. . . if there's a sale, I might even buy the other color!
Review 14 for Lace Pencil Skirt
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Serina
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Looks pretty
Date:March 1, 2013
The skirt does look very, very pretty. Regarding size - I saw all the notes about ordering a size up, so I ordered my size according to the size chart and a size larger. The smaller one fit me perfectly (size 4 for 36.5" hips). I have no idea why they are saying to order up.
The lining is quite thin.
Besides this, the problem is the backside stretching out after you sit in it. It poofs right out. If you do not mind a poofy butt, or if you will never sit down, it is gorgeous.
Sadly, I am returning both.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By MeganCustomer LiaisonMarch 1, 2013
Customer feedback is extremely important to us, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments on our Lace Pencil Skirt!
Review 15 for Lace Pencil Skirt
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kriser
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Date:February 16, 2013
Runs small,, good length .is really cute and will be great in the spring
Review 16 for Lace Pencil Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
slpen
Location:PA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
very nice skirt
Date:February 11, 2013
Wore the castlerock with tights and berry cashmere sweater and got many compliments. Look forward to wearing in summer with just a tee and sandles. I wear a 6-8 ordered the 8 fits great.
Review 17 for Lace Pencil Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Michigander
Location:MI
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Fabulous skirt!!
Date:February 5, 2013
This skirt is absolutely gorgeous! I ordered the dusty jade rather than my usual black and I love it; it will be wearable with many colors. The fabric is beautiful. I'm glad I followed the recommendation to order a size larger than usual. The fit was good for my slim-hipped, no-waisted, "boyish" figure, but could work well riding lower on a curvier figure. This is going to be my new favorite skirt!
Review 18 for Lace Pencil Skirt
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
whitney
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
True to size
Date:February 5, 2013
I ordered this skirt a size larger per gh instructions. However upon receipt it was too large. Should have ordered my regular size. It is on its way back for an exchange. I did like it so I'm hoping it will fit the 2nd time around.
Review 19 for Lace Pencil Skirt
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
noname
Location:Dallas, TX
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Cute skirt!
Date:February 5, 2013
Did as recommended and ordered one size up from my normal size. Glad I did. The skirt fits exactly right and exactly as my normal size would.
I got the "castleroock." It's a mid-grey color -- I'll be able to pair it with lots of different tops!
Great skirt, wonderful addition to my summer wardrobe!