Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Calais Knit Dress

The sailor-style tee grows into a chic dress with a decidedly French flair in solids or stripes. A flatters-all cut with a slight A-line shape, classic boatneck, and on-seam pockets. Above-knee length. Three-quarter sleeves. Midweight slubbed pure cotton jersey. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (226 reviews)
5 stars
137
4 stars
60
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
7
201 of 22689%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Calais Knit Dress
Review 1 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NoahsTia
Location:Northern California
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Size Up for Curvy Figures
Date:February 22, 2015
This is a great basic piece that can be dressed up or down, as other reviewers have noted. I have a curvy figure and my regular size 12 fit, but I wanted slightly better draping, especially since the garment is cotton and may shrink a little, even though I will air dry it. I found that size 14 fits better over my hips and isn't too large.
Review 2 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LuckyGirl12
Location:Boston, MA, USA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great Transitional Winter/Spring Dress
Date:February 21, 2015
I like this dress. It fits well on top and the A-line shape is flattering. I wore it with lined leggings today, plan to wear it with capri leggings in Spring and just espadrilles in Summer. Note to petites, I'm 5'3'', size 10/12 and it lands a little above my knee. I'm pondering on having it taken up a bit.
Review 3 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Netto
Location:Niwot, CO
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Classic knit dress
Date:February 17, 2015
This dress is very comfy! It will be easy to throw on, dressed up or dressed down. The fabric is the perfect weight for the coming spring as well as with leggings and a sweater in winter.
Review 4 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dharmadm
Location:Los Angeles, California
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Classic and youthful
Date:February 13, 2015
Yes, I said youthful in a feel good for 50+ hipster. It is classic. Thank you for the sizing comparison - was perfect and the length is too, just at the knee for spring and summer. Boots or sandals, flats or "tennies" AND oh those pockets. Fabric quality is good. I'm 5'7" and healthy in weight okay a little plump but the dress fits nicely with it's A-line shape.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OHJT
Location:Cleveland, OH
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
What Happened?
Date:February 8, 2015
I purchased 2 Calais dresses last year and loved them. Wore them all summer. They also pack very well. Purchased another 2 for this year. Compared the size from last year and this year the dresses were definitely scaled down from last year. Still love them, but will return for a larger size.
Review 6 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kaarin39
Location:Birmingham, AL
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great new dress for early spring
Date:February 7, 2015
This dress is a delight! I love the surprise of a new color to my closet green/black stripe. I have not had anything in green for a while. This dress is simple, looks good with leggings and boots. Also, it didn't cost much!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NHgirlinKY
Location:Edgewood,KY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
I feel pretty
Date:February 7, 2015
I never thought horizontal stripes would look good on my body shape. Well, this dress from Garnet Hill did a miracle! Bought a size L, I'm a 14, and the dress drapes over my body in a famine and flattering way that I feel pretty! I get compliments from women of all ages.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Closetfull
Location:Mahtomedi, Mn
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Disappointed
Date:February 6, 2015
Loved how this dress looked in the picture and should have read the reviews to the end as several people had the same problem I did. I am 5'7" 135lbs. athletic build. This dress is very boxy and is not flattering on me. I'd take it in, but can't because of the pockets. It's going back. This is my first time ordering from Garnet Hill and am disappointed.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonFebruary 25, 2015
We want you to be completely satisfied with your dress. Our exchanges are always freight free and if you need any assistance, we are here to help at 1.800.870.3513.
Review 9 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SoCalGirl2
Location:San Diego, CA
Gender:Female
Nothing Special
Date:February 4, 2015
This dress is just so-so. I'm 5"6", 125 lbs. ordered a Medium and found that this dress just hangs on me and looks like a box. The top part fits nicely, but it's very wide from the waist down, and I carry my weight in my hips so it should've fit me better. My husband said it was boring. I'm going to try a belt on it and a chunky necklace before I return it. The quality is average for a t-shirt dress. It looks so nice in the picture, a perfect travel dress.
Review 10 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Melisa
Location:Central NY
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great everywhere dress
Date:August 26, 2014
I purchased this as a 'travel' dress but I find I like it for any type of day--it packs well, fits well, and can be dressed up or casual. I preferred ordering up one size.
Review 11 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KSHinPA
Location:Pennsylvania
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Not bad
Date:August 22, 2014
This is a great pattern (I love the stripes) and a decent cut, although I find it a little boring if worn without a belt.
Review 12 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Trailer
Location:Pasadna
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
A little small
Date:July 3, 2014
I wanted this dress to be loose and flowing on me...it was a little more snug than I prefer. nice dress and material however.
Review 13 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wilsonkp
Location:Springfield, VA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Comfortable & flattering
Date:June 30, 2014
I'm very happy so far with the quality of Garnet Hill's clothing. This was my first purchase and I've since ordered a second dress. Both items are well made and are flattering for my 5'5'' 135 body. The fabric on this dress is very soft and the color is nice for summer.
Review 14 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Henrysmother
Location:Mississippi Gulf Coast
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great Summer Dress
Date:June 12, 2014
Just wanted to share the fit of the dress. With that said, here we go... I'm 50, normally I wear a size 8-10, I weight 142 lbs, 5'6", mearsurements 38-29-37. I ordered the size 8. Love it. Perfect fit, the coral color is beautiful, the fabric is nice. Typical of Garnet HIll standards and quality. Bottomline, I am enjoying it and ordering (or rather Back-ordering) the Black. Thanks, Garnet Hill.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Massachusetts
Location:Boston MA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Nice yet needs accessorizing
Date:June 10, 2014
This dress is nice quality. I really like the pockets. I got the navy stripe. However, I find that it was a bit drab and needed accessorizing. Found a chunky yet plain lime green necklace that worked well. I'm petite, the size 00 fits fine (usually I'm a 0) and is the right length.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
reanie
Location:st. louis
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
unhappy in st. louis
Date:June 10, 2014
I thought this dress looked so cute and a great color for the summer. I ordered for vacation when it arrived it was made so poorly and the size was not accurate.
Very disappointed!!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison June 11, 2014
Thanks so much for your honest feedback. We're very sorry to hear that you were disappointed and encourage you to reach out to our Customer Care Specialist at any time if an item is less than perfect. We love to have the opportunity to help!
Review 17 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
luvtorow
Location:Maine
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
chic dress
Date:June 2, 2014
After reading the reviews for this dress I ordered a size down...04 instead of 06 as suggested. Dress arrived....really! Looked like a sack on me. The dress has been returned, I am now waiting for an exchange in a 02. Optimistic a smaller size will be the answer....I like the material and the style. Will let you know.
Review 18 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GardenWItch
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Easy simple summer dress
Date:May 27, 2014
This dress fits true to size. and is very comfortable. Nice that it has pockets. Side slits would have made it cuter.But overall for a casual summer frock the price is right and its a good value. I had no problem with the sizing. I am 5'3" 110 lbs. and purchased a size 4. I usually wear petite but it does not come petite but it fit fine. I would have liked it even better if it was a bit shorter.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison May 29, 2014
Thanks for all the wonderful comments. We'll share the suggestion for side slits with our Design Team!
Review 19 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lopp
Location:Tampa, Florida
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Date:May 27, 2014
I purchased the navy and white as well as the aqua and white. This is just a great little versatile piece made with a nice weight cotton fabric to have in your wardrobe taking you anywhere you want to go early spring and on into early fall. The 3/4 length sleeves really synched it especially for woman of ages 60 and beyond.
Review 20 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KBoz
Location:Indiana
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Good Basic
Date:May 26, 2014
Great dress for work or casual evening.
Always get compliments when I wear this dress. Got the black and grey/white stripe dresses last year,just got the blue and white stripe...luv the color.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>