Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Calais Knit Dress

The sailor-style tee grows into a chic dress with a decidedly French flair in solids or stripes. A flatters-all cut with a slight A-line shape, classic boatneck, and on-seam pockets. Three-quarter sleeves Above-knee length Midweight slubbed pure cotton jersey Imported
Average Customer Rating:
4.388 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (268 reviews)
5 stars
165
4 stars
69
3 stars
16
2 stars
9
1 star
9
238 of 26889%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Calais Knit Dress
Review 1 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
omgirl56
Location:Malibu
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
simple black dress
Date:June 22, 2015
I was looking for something that can be dressed up, or not, in a casual way and this is that dress. I used the guide for size, as I'm more of an hour glass shape-36D yet slim through the waist-and ordered the size 10. I'm 5'7" and weigh 150lbs. It fits pretty well-fitted through the bust and a little looser than I'd like through the body, but it works and I plan to get a lot of wear out of it this summer. I ordered the black.
Review 2 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
j9chicago
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Doesn't hold its shape
Date:June 19, 2015
I had the old calais dress that was a thinner material, and was excited to try the new 'upgraded' one with thicker fabric. I wore it for the first time yesterday. Mid-day, I caught a glimpse of my backside in the mirror and the whole back of the dress was stretched out and saggy around the rear-end. It looked awful, and I won't wear the dress again. Disappointing purchase.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonJune 25, 2015
Please remember our exchanges are always freight free and we have lots of other dress styles to choose from.
Review 3 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lorraine
Location:indiana
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Disappointing, multiple problems
Date:June 17, 2015
add one more review confirming the problems with this dress. Fabric is thin, scratchy; dress is square (not A line); pockets hit me at mid-thigh; shoulders snug; too short to wear without shorts, leggings. Wish I could return, but for the shipping costs and hassle, i'll give it to my 14 year old niece.... READ the reviews before ordering.
Review 4 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PeachyPie35
Love this dress
Date:June 15, 2015
This dress is super comfy & is very flattering. I am 5'7", 152lbs & normally wear a size 6/8 on the bottom & S/M on the top. I ordered a size 8 in this dress & it is perfect! The arms are actually a tad snug, but the rest of the dress fits perfectly even after being washed.
Review 5 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lilbythesea
Location:Southern California
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Pure Bliss
Date:May 31, 2015
I adore this dress because the minute that I put it on, I was completely comfortable. The fabric is a high quality and I love the light weight but not too light. It washes beautifully ( COLD water) and I dry it on low, delicate for a little bit then hang it to dry.It's a classic.and I love the three quarter length sleeves.I got the blue-green striped one and it fits perfectly although I agree with another reviewer that the sleeves are a little tight but I can live with it.I am 4'9'' and weigh 104# so the extra small is perfect and I don't need to shorten it which is a plus.Can't wait till it goes on sale again. Thanks, Garnet Hill, for another quality item !!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
farmchix
Location:West Coast
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Striped knit dress
Date:May 31, 2015
A great travel dress. Size 00 is a good fit for those that usually order the XS, returned the size 2 as it was way to big.
Review 7 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wendel
Location:Alexandria, VA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
So great, I bought two!
Date:May 20, 2015
This is a very comfortable dress that is nice enough to wear for very casual social events but also suitable for just running around doing errands. It fits nicely through the hips and appears well made. I expect it will stand up to many washings.
Review 8 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beachjoy
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Date:May 16, 2015
comfortable and versatile dress to be worn alone or over t-neck and tights in cooler weather.
Review 9 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
betteboop
Location:WA State
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Comfy, Cozy!
Date:May 15, 2015
Very comfortable, suspect it will travel well and fits well.
Review 10 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bevanoo
Location:Upstate NY
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Very wearable...
Date:May 14, 2015
This will be one of those go to dresses...easy to wear....flats, sandals, whatever, wherever.
Review 11 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mmbh
Location:Madison, WI
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great Dress
Date:May 13, 2015
Comfortable, stylish and affordable. Love the pattern and the pockets. I'm 5'4" (115 lbs) got the 0 and it was a good fit (a bit roomy, but good). It hits just above my knee, which feels perfect. I anticipate wearing this one a lot!
Review 12 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoestamp
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
great casual summer go-to dress
Date:May 10, 2015
This is a super dress of its type. Shape is just right, pockets set just right, length perfect.
I got size 12 and it fits perfectly. The perfect grab and go dress that rolls up for packing into a tiny space. Shakes out and gets back in shape in no time.
Many complements on the navy/green stripe
Review 13 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Snik
Location:Minnesota
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
A Must
Date:May 10, 2015
This will become your favorite. So comfortable, with a very flattering cut. - plus it has pockets! What's not to love?
Review 14 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FLtransplant
Location:Stuart, FL
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Great Dress to Run Around
Date:May 9, 2015
Ordered the grey/white stripe dress last year and just received the black/white version. Like this new one better as they are now sized, i.e. 8, 10, 12, etc, vs small, medium. The newer one fits perfectly while the older one runs a little large. Great to pull on with a pair of sandals to go most everywhere.
Review 15 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kikkimora
Location:New York City
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Very nice dress
Date:May 6, 2015
This dress is quite lovely and looks great worn alone or with a jacket. You can dress it up a little like i did, with a necklace and heels. Fabric is nice to touch, soft but not too thin. Sleeves are tight, but i like them like that. It's a bit of A-line, so it works fine with on seam pockets. Very easy type od drees, can be worn many different ways. The only thing is color, i expected it to be more gray, but it is closer to beige. That's why contrasting jacket, like navy, is perfect to match it with.
Review 16 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Karen398
Location:Plymouth, MN
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Curvy girls, don't shy away from this one!
Date:May 5, 2015
I wouldn't normally choose something like this since I am very curvy. However I was feeling bold and bought it - and I'm so glad I did! This wears like a great tee and I pair it with slim pants. I get loads of compliments on the look and feel super comfortable.
Review 17 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AllieGator
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Cut Small - Shoulders and Upper Arms
Date:May 4, 2015
Great style, color and fabric. On me, very snug in the shoulders and upper arms but perfect in waist, hips and length. Loved the dress. Wished it fit better.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison May 18, 2015
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with our Calais Knit Dress, and are sorry to hear it didn't work out! If you have any other feedback or questions please give us a call at 800-870-3513.
Review 18 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Suse092201
Location:Kirkland, WA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Third time's a charm!
Date:April 30, 2015
I had to exchange this dress for a smaller size, twice. My usual size is XS or S, and I first purchased the size 04. It was like a huge tent on me. Exchanged for a 02, which was still tent-like. I thought there's no way a 00 would fit, but received the dress again today and it's about perfect. Now I see what all the fuss is about. A bit snug in my shoulders, but fits nicely in bust (I'm a 34A) and skims over my middle-aged midsection, no more tent. I'm looking forward to wearing this, maybe tomorrow!
Review 19 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Eleg34
Location:Ohio
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Disappointed
Date:April 29, 2015
I was so excited to receive the dress today, But I'm not happy after try it on the dress.
This dress is not made of soft and flowing material as expected from the pictures shown and also is below my knees. Material is not tee-shirt soft The dress is not attractive on, and would be difficult to work with in trying to make it more fashionable. It would be nice if something could be done to improve that considering the super duper high cost it is to pay mail costs when ordering and returning items.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMay 29, 2015
We provide garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab and our exchanges are always freight free. If you need assistance, we are available at 1.800.870.3513.
Review 20 for Calais Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FancyGirl
Location:Saratoga, NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great Casual Friday Piece or Sunday Brunch
Date:April 15, 2015
Fits perfect without being too tight or too baggy.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>