Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Cashmere Retro Cardigan

A classic little chameleon — this cardigan looks equally chic over a tee or the dressiest of dresses. This one is finished with pretty buttons and a grosgrain-ribbon-lined placket, and is available in a range of fresh and flattering wear-with-everything hues. Long sleeves. Hip length. 100% cashmere. Imported. GARNET HILL CASHMERE Garnet Hill cashmere is made from the fine, downy undercoat of Kashmir goats raised in Inner Mongolia. Our suppliers practice responsible herd management and produce the highest quality fibers, which are washed, carded and spun into sumptuous two-ply yarns, twisted to resist pilling (without compromising strength). To achieve our vibrant colors, we use only Oeko-Tex certified eco-friendly dyes, which means we also use fewer chemicals, less water and less energy. From start to finish, every step in our manufacturing process takes place under the glass roof of a world-class, eco-conscious production facility.
Average Customer Rating:
4.605 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
35 of 3892%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Review 1 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PPH22
Location:Raleigh, NC
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
A nice, soft cardigan
Date:April 8, 2014
I like Garnet Hill cashmere. It is not itchy. It is nice and soft. It can't be worn all day every day or it will pill but for special occasions it is lovely. I am 5'3, 102lb and the xs is still a bit large, especially the sleeves which I will need to roll up. However I am going to keep it because it looks smart and feels nice for an evening out. Goes with skirts, jeans, dresses.
Review 2 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hikerlady
Location:Enumclaw, WA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
soft and pretty
Date:April 6, 2014
This is a soft color to wear as well as a soft and warm light weight sweater. Really nice. Pricey, but more worth it on sale.
Review 3 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Henrietta
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Classic Cardigan
Date:April 4, 2014
This is a lightweight cashmere cardigan, which varies slightly from year to year. It has become more slimly fit, so only a thin t-neck can be worn under it.
Review 4 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NYCfan
Location:NYC
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
I love this cardigan
Date:April 4, 2014
I have bought this cardigan in all available colors- a keeper!
Review 5 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rosiesdiner
Location:Washington, DC
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
One of my favorite wardroe pieces
Date:February 24, 2014
I own a number of these cardigans and am always on the lookout to see the new pattern offerings. The quality is great. They are long wearing, clean well, and look fantastic.
Review 6 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mimishka
Location:Boston area
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
A Classic
Date:February 6, 2014
I have this sweater in black and have gotten a lot of use out of it. My one compliant is the piling. I shave it, but it is a bit more maintenance than I like for my sweaters.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
catylakeland1
Location:Wilmington DE
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
nice basic cashmere
Date:February 4, 2014
I finally ordered this even thought it was a bit late in the season to buy a almost full price sweater.It goes well over some dressier blouses and dresses that a long boyfriend style wouldn't really look good with.Nice quality(as usual) from GH cashmeres.The XS fit well.I am about 5'4" and 114 lbs,but kind of busty.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
agnesm
Location:Los Angeles
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Perfect cardigan
Date:February 4, 2014
I love my grey cardigan. Oh why does anything classically styled have to be called "retro" --? I count on Garnet Hill to be true to these sort of basics. Thank you, Garnet Hill! I have been a customer since 1984!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Moussiesmom
Location:Charlotte, NC
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Cute and Comfy!
Date:February 4, 2014
I've bought a few of these retro cardigans, and choose my colors wisely, and am always so happy with my purchases! This time I got the mint and it is really beautiful and flattering with my ruddy skin tone- the only thing that bothers me is that within a relatively short time, it starts to pill, which I would not expect with the price of this cardigan...but, then again, I keep purchasing them so that should tell you something!! I like to try to get them when they are on sale...
Review 10 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Toodles7
Location:Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Great sweater
Date:September 21, 2013
With a chill in the air this sweater is tops! I like the neutral color as well.
Review 11 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tannw
Location:Southern California
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Inconsistent sizes
Date:August 19, 2013
Bought the sweater in a medium in the yellow colour and loved it so I ordered another in the blue. Blue sweater was a lot smaller, almost seemed like a small. Please make the sizes consistent!
Review 12 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
momotaro87104
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Soft and stylish
Date:August 14, 2013
I love the sweater, but the yellow was not the right color for me. I wish I hadn't waited for it to go on sale because now I need to return the yellow and there is only pearl left. I should have gotten the coral or blue at full price. It would have still been good value for the dollar and I probably would have gotten a second one.
Review 13 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Belle11
Location:Nebraska
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Terrific sweater
Date:August 11, 2013
This is the third cashmere cardigan I've purchased from Garnet Hill. The color is a wonderful soft gray that works well with my skin tone and hair color. (Blond hair, fair skin.) I bought it on sale, couldn't resist the offer even though we are in the heat of Summer! I have something to look forward to wearing now when the cooler temps arrive. It's a nice medium weight that will work well for layering.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
youngest1
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
nice sweater
Date:August 5, 2013
I bought two of these; one in coral , the other blue. I followed the advice to order a size up. I am glad I did. The cashmere is so soft. The colors are even better than on the page. The only thing is the cashmere could be thicker.
Review 15 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Twinklestar
Location:Holland, MI
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Finally!
Date:July 31, 2013
I've coveted this sweater for a while. The silver heather was on back order when I tried to get it in the spring. So happy to have it, finally, and to have gotten it on sale. The fit is perfect (5'4", 112 lbs, XS) and I love the shaping at the waist. It's fitted, but not "shrunken". A refreshing change from the boxy look of many sweaters. It's light, but not tissue-weight by any means. Perfect for all seasons. Love it!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MarieNoelle
Location:Massachusetts
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Perfect cashmere cardigan
Date:July 30, 2013
I am so happy with this high-quality cardigan. It's just what I wanted (but I'd call it classic rather than retro). I sized up to have it a bit longer and good for layering. This cashmere actually has some thickness and substance to it, unlike other too-thin cashmere I've bought over the past several years from other places. Got the beautiful silver heather in large (5'2" and 128 lbs).
Review 17 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LuvShopping
Location:Maryland
Gender:Female
Nice Sweater
Date:July 25, 2013
I am 5'1"" and 120 lbs and wear an extra small in this sweater. The bluebird is blue but has a tiny bit of green in it, although I would not call it a teal. For some reason, based on the photo, I expected more of a denim blue. The sweater is very soft. I agree that the button holes are tight as mentioned by a few shoppers. On sale this sweater is a good buy.
Review 18 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DrMomm
Location:Los Altos, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Buy two!
Date:July 24, 2013
The GH cardigan has become my three-season uniform. It feels great, fit is flattering, and the colors are nice. The sale price was a bonus, so I got two. You should, too.
Review 19 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CJ20
Location:Vermont
Gorgeous color
Date:July 24, 2013
I purchased the blue sweater and it's a gorgeous color and the cashmere seems nice and soft.I won't be wearing it until fall and think it will be great for work with nice pants or skirts as well as with jeans on the weekend. A good wardrobe staple.
Review 20 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
landlover
Location:Chicago
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Almost perfect
Date:July 19, 2013
I see what others mean about the buttons, however the fit, color and quality of fiber are so superior to other sweaters I have owned that I will simply tighten them myself. I'm sure GH heard us and will inspect buttons and buttonholes on future products.
1 2 next>>