Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Cashmere Retro Cardigan

A classic chameleon, our soft, two-ply cashmere cardigan has great style range — equally divine over a simple tee or a dressy dress. Finished with pretty buttons and a grosgrain-ribbon placket. Long sleeves Hip length Pure cashmere Imported GARNET HILL CASHMERE Garnet Hill cashmere is made from the fine, downy undercoat of Kashmir goats. We create long-term relationships with the herdsmen who raise them on multi-generational family farms in Inner Mongolia, where changeable weather has evolved goats with longer, loftier, softer fibers. Clipped but once a year in spring, these purebreds are treated like pets; never crossbred for higher yields, as some farms do. This produces the highest-quality fibers, which are then washed, carded, and spun into sumptuous two-ply yarns twisted to resist pilling without compromising strength. To achieve our vibrant colors, we use only Oeko-Tex®-certified eco-friendly dyes, with fewer chemicals, less water, and less energy. Eco-Cashmere is made from the natural white, beige, and brown fibers. Undyed and unbleached, they are processed with even less water and zero chemicals. The seams of our sweaters are linked by hand at a maker that sells to only a handful of high-end clothiers in Europe... and to one in the United States: Garnet Hill. From start to finish, every step in our manufacturing process takes place under the glass roof of a world-class, eco-conscious production facility. With proper care, your cashmere sweater will last for years and years.
Average Customer Rating:
4.441 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
2
59 of 6887%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Review 1 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
So Wonderfully Soft, but....
Date:August 13, 2015
I love cashmere, and the softness of this sweater did not disappoint. It feels wonderful. However, it arrived buttoned up, and it took be 10 minutes to undo all the buttons. The button holes were super tight. I tried doing them up, and undoing them a couple of times to see if they loosened, and they were still really time consuming. I also did not like how the sweater hung loose at the bottom. There was no "cling" at the waist at all, which gave it less shape than I would have liked, and I had ordered the small. Wanted to love it, but sadly I'm paying to return it.
Review 2 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ojai, California
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Very nice cashmere cardigan
Date:August 13, 2015
The colors are warm and gentle. High quality sweater, good fit - I have this in 2 colors and love them both!
Review 3 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NH
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Not the best quality cashmere
Date:August 9, 2015
The best quality cashmere I bought from Garnet Hill was in 2007, and I've purchased several cashmere sweaters since that time, but none of them have been anywhere equal the the cashmere in the original cashmere sweater I purchased in 2007. Please bring back the higher quality cashmere!!!
Review 4 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:suburban Chicago
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Beautiful!
Date:August 9, 2015
Excellent quality. Bright colors (as depicted on website/catalog). True to size. Mid-weight---good for spring/fall, cool summer evenings, and over a blouse in winter.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Champaign IL
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Didn't work for me
Date:August 8, 2015
The Medium was too large even though that's the size the website said I should order. So I ordered the Small. It was a little too skimpy. Plus the button holes are just a teeny bit too small making it somewhat difficult to button and unbutton. Sorry Garnet Hill. Usually like your stuff!
Review 6 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dekalb, Illinois
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Cashmere cardigan
Date:August 6, 2015
I love the quality and the style of this classic sweater. The wisteria hue is simply fabulous! Purchasing the item on sale was a plus!
Review 7 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Massachusetts
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
luxe fabric, gorgeous color
Date:July 31, 2015
For years I've had a basic black cashmere cardigan that I take for travel. Not very exciting but warm and light. This new cardigan is also light, but the cashmere is even softer and the color, a pale lavender, is lovely. Also, I got it on sale, making it an even better value.
Review 8 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Pacific NW
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
nice but not for me
Date:July 30, 2015
size just was not right for me. too bad. gapped in places, too loose in other places.... just not for me. my build is broad shoulders and small waist....
Review 9 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Flimsy
Date:May 27, 2015
The buttons are too small for the button holes, the cashmere is flimsy and flops down unless it is totally buttons up-I returned it.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison June 9, 2015
We appreciate your feedback and have shared it with our Design Team. We want you to be delighted with every purchase, and are happy to help you with your return or exchange if you are not!
Review 10 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edgewood,KY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Wish I could have ALL the colors!
Date:May 10, 2015
Gotta love cashmere and Garnet Hill has the softest, lightest and warmest. This is my second cashmere cardi from GH, I have one in gray and I wanted one in a spring color. The fit is comfortable and classic. I'm a quality over quantity kind of person; this is why I got my two sweaters at Garnet Hill.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Springfield, illinois
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Date:May 9, 2015
Love Garnet Hill' cashmere! Quality is suburb. Price is very fair and the colors are beautiful.
Review 12 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland,OR
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
nice but not for me
Date:April 2, 2015
I gave the sweater 4 stars despite the fact that I returned it, because I think it could work nicely for someone else. The medium in the vee neck pulllover fits me perfectly, but this one runs a little smaller, and was too tight through the bust. (I am a generous 36D.) Worn open it was fine, but I want to be able to button it without it pulling. The sleeves were plenty long and and the shoulders fit, so I think the large would be too big. If you are slightly less busty, it would be great. The tulip color is lovely.
Review 13 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Snohomish, WA, USA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
A soft, beautiful cardigan and the perfect weight!
Date:March 18, 2015
I now own two of these beautiful and soft cashmere cardigans. They are the perfect weight for inside the office or a night out. I love how they hang. The colors are very pretty and rich.
I am 5'8', 135lbs with a hourglass figure. I have both a size small, which fits a little more close to the body, as well as a medium, which allows for some room underneath for a bulkier shirt.
I can highly recommend this beautiful item and hope that more colors are introduced into the line, such as navy, red and light pink.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stamford CT
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Classic and Cozy
Date:December 31, 2014
Ordered XL which is a size up to accommodate shirt underneath. Fit was excellent..it hit right below my waist with sleeves nice and long. Two ply cashmere was not thin like others I have tried and soft not scratchy.
The geranium color is pink with a hint of orange--very flattering for my winter-pale complexion. Great GH quality!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:New York state
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Boxy and not fitted
Date:December 29, 2014
The item description does not state the "fit" but I found my normal size to be very boxy through the arms and body. I would never wear this. The models must have clips in the back of the sweater as it DOES NOT come in at the waist. I normally wear a small (5'8" 130 lbs)
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonFebruary 10, 2015
We're so glad we were able to speak with you and assist you with a return. Please remember we provide garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in getting the right fit.
Review 16 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:St. Paul, MN
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
What's up??
Date:December 28, 2014
I have this in several colors from this year and last, and the bright teal this year is just as good as the others I've had longer. The gold leopard seems thinner, more flimsy, and not at all as good as the others I have. I also expected there to be black in the leopard spots to wear with black pants but it is dark brown. That's not a big concern but its flimsiness is. Still deciding if I will keep it, but this is the only one of these I've ever considered returning.
Review 17 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wmass
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Classic and hip
Date:December 17, 2014
I ordered this sweater for my husband to "give" me for Christmas. I didn't want to miss the sale or my size in the leopard print. I was afraid that the sizing would be similar to the merino cardigan, which runs small, and doesn't work for me as I like sweaters looser. Well, the fit of this is spot on, comfy without being sloppy. I think it will be perfect to add a little warmth and class to black and neutrals all year long.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Detroit, Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Beautiful cashmere, poor fit
Date:December 13, 2014
I have been waiting on this sweater because the leopard gold print was on back order. It finally arrived today and I'm so disappointed. The sweater is beautiful! But the fit is not. The sleeves are very long, reaching my finger tips...very strange. The cuff and the sleeves are very wide. I could put both arms in one sleeve! The body of the sweater fits great:). Another problem was I couldn't unbutton the sweater. The button holes are smaller than the buttons?? Not sure what happened there. So...unfortunately it's going back. I really hope they redesign this sweater and shorten the sleeves (I have average length arms) and fix the button problem because the cashmere is just beautiful!
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonDecember 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We will pass your comments along to our Design Team for further review.
Review 19 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alpharetta, GA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Perfect winter cardigan
Date:December 8, 2014
Your cardigans are soft and stylish - perfect for work and social events.
Review 20 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Gray Heather Conservative look
Date:October 22, 2014
This was my first purchase with Garnett Hill. While the sweater was quite soft I was expecting much softer yarn and slightly thicker weave. Also I didn't notice in the photos how high the collar comes up on the neckline. The look is great if you want a very conservative look. I prefer a bit lower neckline. The fit seemed a bit large. I am normally size 6, Overall a nice sweater very pricey, look for a sale. (I did purchase again BTW) Thanks
1 2 3 4 next>>