Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Cashmere Retro Cardigan

A classic chameleon, our soft, two-ply cashmere cardigan has great style range — equally divine over a simple tee or a dressy dress. Finished with pretty buttons and a grosgrain-ribbon placket. Long sleeves Hip length Pure cashmere Imported GARNET HILL CASHMERE Garnet Hill cashmere is made from the fine, downy undercoat of Kashmir goats. We create long-term relationships with the herdsmen who raise them on multi-generational family farms in Inner Mongolia, where changeable weather has evolved goats with longer, loftier, softer fibers. Clipped but once a year in spring, these purebreds are treated like pets; never crossbred for higher yields, as some farms do. This produces the highest-quality fibers, which are then washed, carded, and spun into sumptuous two-ply yarns twisted to resist pilling without compromising strength. To achieve our vibrant colors, we use only Oeko-Tex®-certified eco-friendly dyes, with fewer chemicals, less water, and less energy. Eco-Cashmere is made from the natural white, beige, and brown fibers. Undyed and unbleached, they are processed with even less water and zero chemicals. The seams of our sweaters are linked by hand at a maker that sells to only a handful of high-end clothiers in Europe... and to one in the United States: Garnet Hill. From start to finish, every step in our manufacturing process takes place under the glass roof of a world-class, eco-conscious production facility. With proper care, your cashmere sweater will last for years and years.
Average Customer Rating:
4.475 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (80 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
2
70 of 8088%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Review 1 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Eastsound, WA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Beautiful, but boxy
Date:January 16, 2016
I have the navy cardigan in a small, which I love! However because I wanted to replace my favorite oversized cashmere sweater,I ordered this in a medium and it is too boxy. I'll be sending it back: lesson learned.
Review 2 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:West Coast, California
Gender:Female
Festive and a bit vintage
Date:December 19, 2015
Has the look of a vintage sweater but the softness of high quality cashmere. It's a lovely holiday staple
Review 3 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Amazing Classic Cardigan
Date:December 5, 2015
Beautifully made and wonderfully classic. This runs a bit large--beware of that. Use the fit tool on the site to help you choose the best size.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Timeless Beauty
Date:December 3, 2015
classic cardigan; excellent quality; this sweater can be used for work or an evening out.
Review 5 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Midwest
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Super soft sweater
Date:November 18, 2015
The retro cardigan is a great basic sweater. The midweight cashmere is super soft and comfortable. I really like the fit - not tight but not baggy. I can button all the buttons without any tightness across the bust or hips. I'll definitely be wanting another.
Review 6 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NH
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great over the long haul
Date:October 16, 2015
When I do bother to write a review it is usually during that honeymoon phase when I am enamored with the item and still wearing it the first few times. This case is different. I own two of these sweaters and have worn them many many times. I have washed them a number of times and so when I say these sweaters are my favorite "go to" items I really mean it. I have worn them with jeans, dresses, leggings and to many different settings. They are warm and so so soft. I have washed them by hand (always a good choice) and sent them to the cleaners (not necessary, I did a better job!) and I have even washed them in the machine on the super gentle cycle (my favorite way because they get the fluffiest). I tend to size up a bit with these to avoid the dreaded button gap that comes with having boobs. These sweaters are top notch and well deserving of a place in your line up.
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:up state NY
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Love
Date:October 14, 2015
I love this cardigan. It is perfect for summer, I got it in pale orchid. It layers well and I expect it will be great in winter too. The fit is perfect. The styling is great, just a slight curve in at the sides, length is nice and the sleeves are just right.
I will certainly get another one in the future.
Review 8 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Twin Cities
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Enduring classic
Date:October 13, 2015
Depending on the color you choose and how you pair it, this lovely, soft sweater is classic or funky. The weight is very versatile, and in MN (where temperatures vary dramatically on a daily basis) I can use it in all seasons. Great with dresses, skirts, and pants. Go by the fit guide. I am a 34D, wear an M in the merino wool cardigan and wear an S in this. I gave a 4 on value because I wouldn't pay full price (bought on one of many sales).
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Glad I splurged
Date:October 13, 2015
I'd been eyeing this cardigan for a while and finally snagged it during a sale. The pale orchid is lovely and works with so many colors. I sized up for a loose fit. The cashmere is substantial, not flimsy. Can't wait for the weather to cool off.
Review 10 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:BOSTON
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
MORE OF THIS!!
Date:October 2, 2015
I love the fit and shape of this cardigan - not bulky around the waist or tight around the bottom band. Just the right weight to layer. PLEASE DON'T DISCONTINUE THIS CARDIGAN!
Review 11 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Wow...I really can't love these
Date:September 10, 2015
I have to demur from all the rave reviews here. I literally found the sweater scratchy!--which for cashmere is really something. I ordered this piece in eggplant, which unlike the beautiful pic was really more of a boring maroon. No problem there-- but I want to wear it over a cardi, and it was too itchy to do this. At the same time I ordered the beautiful wool Boston Terrier sweater-- and that was SOFTER than this cashmere was. Sorry Garnet Hill....it's going back. Too bad, because the cut is fine.
Review 12 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maine
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
LOVE these
Date:September 3, 2015
I love these cardigans. I am usually an XS but on these (I have 6+), I get a S. More & more colors please!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
So Wonderfully Soft, but....
Date:August 13, 2015
I love cashmere, and the softness of this sweater did not disappoint. It feels wonderful. However, it arrived buttoned up, and it took be 10 minutes to undo all the buttons. The button holes were super tight. I tried doing them up, and undoing them a couple of times to see if they loosened, and they were still really time consuming. I also did not like how the sweater hung loose at the bottom. There was no "cling" at the waist at all, which gave it less shape than I would have liked, and I had ordered the small. Wanted to love it, but sadly I'm paying to return it.
Review 14 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ojai, California
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Very nice cashmere cardigan
Date:August 13, 2015
The colors are warm and gentle. High quality sweater, good fit - I have this in 2 colors and love them both!
Review 15 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NH
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Not the best quality cashmere
Date:August 9, 2015
The best quality cashmere I bought from Garnet Hill was in 2007, and I've purchased several cashmere sweaters since that time, but none of them have been anywhere equal the the cashmere in the original cashmere sweater I purchased in 2007. Please bring back the higher quality cashmere!!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:suburban Chicago
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Beautiful!
Date:August 9, 2015
Excellent quality. Bright colors (as depicted on website/catalog). True to size. Mid-weight---good for spring/fall, cool summer evenings, and over a blouse in winter.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Champaign IL
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Didn't work for me
Date:August 8, 2015
The Medium was too large even though that's the size the website said I should order. So I ordered the Small. It was a little too skimpy. Plus the button holes are just a teeny bit too small making it somewhat difficult to button and unbutton. Sorry Garnet Hill. Usually like your stuff!
Response from Garnet Hill:By LynnCustomer LiaisonSeptember 3, 2015
Thank you for sharing this with us. It appears you utilized the "Measurements" guide on our website, but the item still wasn't the right fit. We will pass along your comments to our Design Team regarding the button hold size and appreciate you taking the time to let us know. Please call us at 800-870-3513 to arrange a return or freight free exchange.
Review 18 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dekalb, Illinois
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Cashmere cardigan
Date:August 6, 2015
I love the quality and the style of this classic sweater. The wisteria hue is simply fabulous! Purchasing the item on sale was a plus!
Review 19 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Massachusetts
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
luxe fabric, gorgeous color
Date:July 31, 2015
For years I've had a basic black cashmere cardigan that I take for travel. Not very exciting but warm and light. This new cardigan is also light, but the cashmere is even softer and the color, a pale lavender, is lovely. Also, I got it on sale, making it an even better value.
Review 20 for Cashmere Retro Cardigan
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Pacific NW
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
nice but not for me
Date:July 30, 2015
size just was not right for me. too bad. gapped in places, too loose in other places.... just not for me. my build is broad shoulders and small waist....
1 2 3 4 next>>