Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Abrielle Expandable Leather Bag

Expand your horizons with our lustrous Italian leather bag that mellows over time to a supple, vintage patina. Its clever zipper at the bottom edge unzips in a pinch for more coveted room. In blissful colors — two pops and a neutral — that transition beautifully through the seasons. Long strap can be adjusted to hang cross-body or on the shoulder. Outer zip compartment. Inside pockets include zip and sidewall compartments, trimmed in leather. Given the nature of the leather, slight variations will occur. Cotton lining. Italy. Size: 16" H x 14" W x 2" - 3" D
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 of 1883%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Abrielle Expandable Leather Bag
Review 1 for Abrielle Expandable Leather Bag
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JBSinVA
Gender:Female
I so wanted to love this bag
Date:August 6, 2013
I wanted this bag for a long time and waited for it to go on sale before I bought it. I LOVE LOVE LOVE the green color, and I really wanted to love this bag. Unfortunately the bag was much larger than I expected, and the strap was way to long for me (5'1"). A couple of inches smaller and this bag would be perfect.
Review 2 for Abrielle Expandable Leather Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LabDogs
Location:Chester Springs, Pa
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great Bag!
Date:July 10, 2013
My first purchase from GH and more than I've ever spent on a bag, but well worth the investment! The Coral (orange/pink) color and quality of the leather are excellent. It is year-round bag, too. (Arrived with a storage bag, as well) Plan to purchase more bags of this quality from GH. (This is a larger bag, so it could possibly overwhelm someone of a smaller stature -- being 5'9" / 145 lbs. it works perfectly for me. Hope this helps.
Review 3 for Abrielle Expandable Leather Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Monee
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Great color
Date:July 5, 2013
I bought it in green which I love. The bag is a little too large for me but I can adjust the strap and it folds easily. I'll get great use out of it.
Review 4 for Abrielle Expandable Leather Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ilovebags
Location:San Diego, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great Bag!
Date:June 24, 2013
This is a versatile, well made day bag. The cross-body strap makes it a good choice for shopping and running errands. The apple green really pops!
Review 5 for Abrielle Expandable Leather Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tiger2
Location:Arkansas
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great for travel!
Date:June 16, 2013
The bag arrived just in time for a trip to Italy. It was very functional and I received numerous compliments on it's great look. I am rather tall and the strap was perfect for carrying it as a cross-body bag. The expandable bottom allowed me to add purchases throughout the day with no space problems. The neutral brown color was great and the leather was good quality.
Review 6 for Abrielle Expandable Leather Bag
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
moppet
Location:NC
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Really wanted this bag to work
Date:June 11, 2013
Very well made bag but very large. I am 5ft 2, petite, and this bag overwhelms me. I previously read reviews re size and strap length, but I liked the style and just had to give it a try. Unfortunately, I have to return it. Even if the strap was altered, It would not work for me. So disappointed...how about a mini version..1/2 the size. I would go for it.
Review 7 for Abrielle Expandable Leather Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
weaselino
Location:new jersey
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
love this bag!
Date:May 6, 2013
I bought this in the brown and I love the variegated finish on it. It is not too big but still can hold a lot and is a very attractive style. May even buy it in other colors. Very wonderful bag!
Review 8 for Abrielle Expandable Leather Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RKBenn
Location:Los Angeles
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Expandable Leather Messenger Bag
Date:May 3, 2013
Love this item..........very sleek.....easy to wear.....love the color (I got the apple green).....and the style is just what I was looking for!
Review 9 for Abrielle Expandable Leather Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MarieP
Location:Long Valley, New Jersey
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
I Love This Bag!
Date:May 1, 2013
Just what I needed...the perfect size and yet you can find everything in it easily...
Looks great with whatever I am wearing!
Review 10 for Abrielle Expandable Leather Bag
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SweetPea616
Location:Mahwah, NJ
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
My summer bag
Date:April 28, 2013
I bought this bag because I have the Sophia bag - but in ruby. I love Sophia so I thought I would try this one as well. Love the leather, love the look. Unlike other reviews I find the strap length fine [but I am tall]. I do wish it had an outside pocket as Sophia does. The zipper closes it securely. I am happy!!!
Review 11 for Abrielle Expandable Leather Bag
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lene
Location:Boston
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Abrielle Expandable Leather Bag
Date:April 27, 2013
I like the general look, the leather,the fact that it expands and has lots of pockets inside the bag. I was looking for something over the shoulder and a little larger for the summer. This is why I decided on the pink, a nice summer color. I was a little surprised at the "bubblegum pink" color. It looks darker online. I was not sure if I would keep it at first but the quality is so nice. The strap is a little long and I may have a hole put in it as another reviewer suggested
Review 12 for Abrielle Expandable Leather Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kansascitian1
Location:KCMO
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
molds to body
Date:April 21, 2013
I am 5'4" and have struggled to find a low-profile tote with which to travel carrying heavy items. This bag has excellent zippers.The leather is sumptuous - even protected with highly-recommended anti-stain spray. I asked my shoe repairperson to take 10" from strap length and to triple stitch both straps to metal rings for security. The leather is soft against my neck. The strap is wide enough for comfort and relative security but could be cut by a determined thief and this is good! The brown is a yummy color. I am small and I can still carry a purchased bottle of wine, a baguette, any other tall item with tote flap up. Otherwise it is a foldover. This tote is such. Not an around town fast bag. I love it.
Review 13 for Abrielle Expandable Leather Bag
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lisey184
Location:Maine
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Surprised
Date:April 17, 2013
I was surprised when this bag came. I wanted to love it. It looks very well made BUT is not well represented by the picture in the catalog. I have 4 criticisms as far as my needs go: It is quite a bit bigger than it looks in the photo-the model's arm hides this. It is much lighter pink than in the photo-creamier and paler. It is much too long-this last problem could be corrected with a punch, however. AND the inside pockets are very deep down inside due to the overlaying flap, so that they're hard to see-it's dark down there. It's a nice bag but be aware of these features. Sadly, I'm sending it back since they don't work for me.
Review 14 for Abrielle Expandable Leather Bag
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Marinette
Location:Boulder, Colorado
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Beautiful Leather Bag But Quite Large
Date:April 9, 2013
This bag looks smaller on the model in the picture than it actually is. It is large enough to hold a lot even when not expanded. I loved the leather, but returned it because the foldover is annoying to use and the bag was bigger than I needed. Every time you open the bag, you have to unzip and pull the material up--like a big sac. I thought the top was a separate compartment--it is not. The brown is a lovely color though--the picture doesn't do it justice.
Review 15 for Abrielle Expandable Leather Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PrairieFire
Location:San Carlos
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Love this purse!
Date:April 7, 2013
Beautiful spring purse! I got the green and it is absolutely gorgeous!
Perfect size, love the cross body style...leaves your hands free, and the quality of the leather is fantastic.I get lots of compliments and would recommend this purse to anyone who wants a top quality bag. Garnett Hill even gave me the sale price (went on sale right after I bought for full price) so, needless to say I am a very happy customer.Thank you Garnett Hill!
Review 16 for Abrielle Expandable Leather Bag
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
stella24
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Beautiful purse but strap is too long
Date:April 4, 2013
I purchased this in the light brown color, which looks even better in person. I was really impressed with the quality of the leather - very soft and expensive looking. My only issue with this bag is the length of the strap. I am 5'2 and this bag hits almost mid-thigh on me, which is awkward. I'm going to have to pay to get the strap shortened otherwise this won't look right. This would be the perfect purse if the strap was shorter.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Abrielle Expandable Leather Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jmk1
Location:Midland, MI
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Beautiful bag!
Date:March 31, 2013
Bought this bag in green....absolutely love it. I get lots of compliments on it! You can unzip the bottom to make it bigger and it works well as a cross-body bag. Would love to get it in another color.
Review 18 for Abrielle Expandable Leather Bag
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cocobelle
Location:Chapel Hill, NC
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Pros and cons
Date:March 30, 2013
I bought this in the light brown color during a recent special sale. I was tempted to get the coral but thought the brown would be more practical. It is a great neutral shade, a lighter brown for summer. The leather is soft and a bit glossy. It is well made as all GH bags are (in my experience). My only complaints: the strap is very long. I may get another notch or two put in. (I am 5'7" and it is too long if just worn over the shoulder.) An exterior pocket would have been nice. I thought the zipper might scratch against my hand/arm as I reach in the bag, but that really hasn't been a problem. Overall a nice bag, and I do love the color.