Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sofia Convertible Leather Bag

We've taken a real shine to this burnished leather bag handcrafted in a small Italian leather mill, turned out in rich shades that beautifully embody the season. Wear it cross-body (the brushed nickel buckle lets you adjust the length), or remove the strap to carry it as an oversized clutch. Top zipper closure; back zip pocket; and lots of organization inside, including two open pockets and one zip, all trimmed in leather. Brushed nickel hardware. Due to the natural dyeing process, color variations will occur. Cotton lining. Italy. Size: 14 1/2"H x 13" W x 1 1/4" D
Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (70 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
68 of 7097%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sofia Convertible Leather Bag
Review 1 for Sofia Convertible Leather Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mickeyshellkathryn2
Location:Mobile, AL
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Wish I Could Have One In Every Color!
Date:August 30, 2014
I just love this soft, beautiful purse. Mine is in green, and I'd love to have one in Merlot, and Blue, and .... It's big enough for all I need, but not too big. And fairly light weight. Received many compliments on it. The leather is quite sumptuous and soft. I definitely recommend it.
Review 2 for Sofia Convertible Leather Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anaiis
Location:Northern California Bay Area
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
I have three now!
Date:August 29, 2014
I have bought a Sofia Convertible every year for three years and thought I would report on how they wear. The leather softens and slouches a bit with use, but retains it's sheen and becomes even better! The handles are sturdy and sometimes I end up loading up this bag more like a tote without fearing tearing the handles. I use it both cross body and as a hand bag. I get complements all the time and the brighter colors seem to go with a lot in my closet. My birthday is coming and I just might buy another ... now that is love! It is also nice to change bags without having to 'learn' where everything is. I am switching often because of this. Keep them coming Garnet Hill!
Review 3 for Sofia Convertible Leather Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vmbb
Location:Marco Island FL
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Perfect Size and # of Compartments
Date:August 21, 2014
I love this bag. Very functional! I use it often and receive many compliments.
Review 4 for Sofia Convertible Leather Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
weezy
Location:Gilmer, TX
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
I love this bag
Date:January 15, 2014
I got purchased the green one. I plan the get the gray one for my mother. Lots of compliments one the is. Its pretty, comfortable, and I love it.
Review 5 for Sofia Convertible Leather Bag
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
rinn9
Location:Mass.
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
awkward design
Date:January 15, 2014
I wanted to love this bag! Beautiful leather and color but the design was weird and would flop over when using the strap. It just never seemed to look right and carrying it the way they show in the pictures is not practical.
Response from Garnet Hill:By CherieCustomer LiaisonJanuary 29, 2014
This bag converts from handbag to shoulder bag as quick as a wink! Use the shoulder strap and the bag folds over. Use the handles for a stylish tote.
Review 6 for Sofia Convertible Leather Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MargeT
Location:Richmond, VA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Wonderfully Versatile
Date:January 12, 2014
What's great about this bag? You can carry it any way you choose: crossbody, in the crook of your arm, as a clutch or on your shoulder! The leather is striking - shiny, but does not look cheap. I purchased the gray and am contemplating getting another one in a different color because style possibilities are endless.
TIP: Grab it when in stock and especially when it goes on sale.
Review 7 for Sofia Convertible Leather Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nicelady
Location:Los Angeles, California
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Sofia Convertible Leather Bag
Date:January 5, 2014
Purchased this in Ruby Red. It's beautiful to look at, great feel to the touch. Still working on finding the correct adjustable shoulder strap length for me, but note, it is adjustable. Often hold it as a clutch. Like it enough to have purchased a green bag also as I could not resist the price. I have admired this bag in the past, finally took the financial plunge.
Review 8 for Sofia Convertible Leather Bag
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CandyCane
Location:St. Louis
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Very good quality
Date:January 4, 2014
Been eyeing this bag for over one year - finally bought when it went on sale with free shipping. Got the caramel brown color. Great bag when bought on sale, would not pay full price. Quality is very good, but not exceptional. Not sorry I spent the money for sale price.
Review 9 for Sofia Convertible Leather Bag
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
momofbovis
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
I feel like a fashionable Italian lady!
Date:January 3, 2014
Love the look of this bag. Works with both casual and more dressy days. Well-made and red leather is beautiful. The top half flops over when you carry it and that's a little inconvenient but otherwise I really like this bag.
Review 10 for Sofia Convertible Leather Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mrsdrs
Location:Bethesda, MD
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Beautiful bag
Date:December 30, 2013
Lovely, deep red color. The leather is so soft and the bag is unique looking, love to wear it with the long strap
Review 11 for Sofia Convertible Leather Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coppertop
Location:Charlotte, NC
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Sofia Bag
Date:December 30, 2013
I have had my eye on this bag for several years. I really wanted an Italian bag but wanted to get it on sale. I finally got it in Gray recently. I was so excited and hopeful that it would be as beautiful as pictured and it didn't disappoint. I absolutely love this bag. The size is good. I like that it can go across the body or fold over as a clutch. It has a very high-end look to it. It's everything I was looking for.
Review 12 for Sofia Convertible Leather Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chipsmom
Location:Windsor Heights, IA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great Style
Date:December 29, 2013
I love the style and finish on this bag! It has a bit of sheen without looking like vinyl or inexpensive. I purchased it in green and it is as pictured. Plenty of space and I like that the top is zippered. I definitely recommend this bag!
Review 13 for Sofia Convertible Leather Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sebers
Location:VA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Quality through and through
Date:December 29, 2013
This is a beautiful handbag! The leather is so soft, the color is rich (I bought the caramel), I just love it. Quality construction. I have nothing negative to say about this bag, just wish it was a tad less expensive so I could buy more.
Review 14 for Sofia Convertible Leather Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FluffyWally
Location:Rockport, MA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Beautiful bag!
Date:December 28, 2013
I gave this bag to my daughter (22), who has carried a bag of similar size and design all through Mexico, Costa Rica and domestically coast to coast. It really seems to answer her travel needs with cross-body strap, pockets and zippers. The Sofia leather is beautiful. The original price of the bag was expensive but purchasing it on sale was an extra benefit.
Review 15 for Sofia Convertible Leather Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dwolfe96
Location:Riverside, Ca
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Fabulous looking handbag
Date:December 21, 2013
I bought the red for the Holidays and have received several compliments on the color. I like the zippered pouch on the outside because I can have easy access to my keys and phone. I like the versatility of the 2 sets of straps. Will use this all winter.
Review 16 for Sofia Convertible Leather Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Luvcasualchic
Location:Charlotte, NC
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Perfect Everyday Handbag
Date:December 2, 2013
LOVE the size, color, and design of this bag! Great quality!
Review 17 for Sofia Convertible Leather Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
penny1
Location:Virginia, USA
My go-to bag for travel
Date:December 2, 2013
This bag/purse was a splurge for myself last year, and it is my go-to bag now for travel. It is the perfect size for carrying personal items on a plane. I can fit a wallet, toiletry ziplock, a book, and even my 11-inch Macbook Air (if I don't use the zipper). I bought it in the pewter option last year and really love it. Plenty of pockets and so far it has been durable. Price is high, but I don't regret the splurge having bought it on sale and given its construction. It's one of my favorite GH purchases!
Review 18 for Sofia Convertible Leather Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mainefarmgirl
Location:Midcoast, ME
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great looking bag!
Date:December 1, 2013
I love this bag, perhaps the best-looking bag I've ever owned. Got it in the gray color. Sophisticated and casual at the same time. Great quality leather. I only wish it had a quickly accessible pocket for a cell phone. My phone gets lost in the big outer pocket, and the inner pocket takes some work to get to.
Review 19 for Sofia Convertible Leather Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ellu2everett
Location:La Grange, IL
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Love this purse!
Date:November 25, 2013
I like that you can use the purse as a cross body, clutch or on your wrist. I really enjoy the more rectangular shape. The leather is burnished and gives it awesome character. I'm thinking about getting the green or turquoise, too!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sofia Convertible Leather Bag
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Teddy
Location:Syracuse, NY; Miami, FL
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
sofia leather bag
Date:November 11, 2013
beautiful quality. has three pockets on inside including one zippered pocket large enough for a wallet. bag has a lush rich-looking. ruby-red patina. gave it four stars for value as full price, is so expensive. i was lucky to purchase during the recent sale. can be dressy or more casual with use of shoulder strap. i love the bag.. a splurge but worth it, if you can do. ( I ordered the red.)
1 2 3 4 next>>