Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Garnet Hill.

Quilted Car Coat

Our car coat offers a relaxing ride with a forgiving fit, water- and wrinkle-resistant quilted fabric, and supersoft lining. Season to season, it's a great grab-and-go piece. Snap closures conceal full zipper. Removable hood. Extra-long, cuffed sleeves to roll up or down as you please. Front zip pockets. Three-quarter length. Poly/nylon. Lightweight poly fill. Poly lined. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.008 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (127 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
35
3 stars
20
2 stars
13
1 star
3
92 of 12772%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Quilted Car Coat
Review 1 for Quilted Car Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JaneInTheNorthEast
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Very Versatile and Useful
Date:October 2, 2014
I read the reviews for this car coat before purchase and thought there was a good chance I might have to return it. Because far from being a tall, long-limbed person with broad shoulders and narrow hips, I am . . . well . . . completely the opposite. I used the Garnet Hill “True Fit” feature, with some doubts in mind, also. But I thought that if the coat fit, or could be made to fit, it would be perfect for my needs. So I was absolutely delighted — and frankly surprised — to find that it fit so well. (Good job, True Fit feature!) I bought it in the gray color and in a size 8.
The sleeves arrived cuffed, which eliminated the length of arm problem. The hood was too tall, but it can zip off or not be worn. The coat itself had a firm rather than drapey structure, but I liked that — it presented a crisp, tailored appearance. The only real problem with fit was the extra fabric in the back, which other reviewers have noted. After wearing the coat in a variety of conditions, I have decided that this extra fabric is designed to facilitate arm-freedom while driving, especially in a bucket seat. (There must be some reason for it!) It does also allow room for a bulkier winter sweater. A two-way zipper would be nice, but I find that if I just use the snaps and undo the bottom two, it works well enough. What pleases me most about the purchase is the coat’s versatility — it can go from an outdoor sports stadium to dinner, from dog-walking to shopping, from apple-picking to museum visiting. I have worn it on showery days and it has kept me dry, and it is nicely windproof. I have received a number of compliments on it. I did buy it on sale, which made me more easily pleased. I think a redesigned version of this coat, or it’s availability in petite sizes, would be very popular.
Thank you for the opportunity to review this purchase. I rely heavily on customer reviews in shopping at Garnet Hill, and I always feel grateful for the thoughtfulness of the reviewers and the time they spent writing the reviews.
Review 2 for Quilted Car Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fairconti
Location:Wheaton il
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great coat for all times
Date:October 2, 2014
This is a surprise coat it looks basic but once on has a lot of style great fit
Review 3 for Quilted Car Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lilliana
Location:Spokane, WA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Beautiful, warm and lightweight
Date:September 29, 2014
I LOVE this coat. It is very versatile and makes me look good and put together with any outfit, dresses or jeans. It is warm yet lightweight, stylish and beautiful material. I bought it in the mushroom and charcoal. I am 5 ft 3 inches tall, 115 lbs. The size 6 was my trufit size, but it is a bit too big with the sleeves needing to be rolled up. I kept it anyway but then ordered the charcoal in a size 4, which fits perfectly. The size 6 will give me lots of room with sweaters, and both look great. The colors are neutral but dress up any outfit. Also there is a hood for rain or snow. Perfect fall, winter and spring coat!
Review 4 for Quilted Car Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vld7
Location:Rhode Island
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
nice jacket
Date:September 21, 2014
nice quality, favorite color and longer than other quilted jackets I've seen, been searching for a few years, saw this and happy its not black! And got it on sale. Fits to size and removable hood is great.
Review 5 for Quilted Car Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Neverpayretail
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Quilted car coat
Date:April 1, 2014
Great coat for fall and spring and warmer winter days. Teal color is beautiful! The hood is light weight and removable. I like the adjustable sleeve length. Only one flaw: a car coat zipper should also be able to be opened from the bottom.This one does not.
Review 6 for Quilted Car Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Momcat
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Just perfect
Date:March 24, 2014
I was so lucky to buy this coat on sale. I'll wear it while flying to Ireland and, of course, the green (teal) is the appropriate color for my trip. Fits right, comfortable, and warm for my size 6 person.
Review 7 for Quilted Car Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gwendy
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Love Love this raincoat
Date:March 17, 2014
Its very nice, lighht but cozy, perfect for California weather , it DOES rain here sometimes, just a bit tight in hip area and I even went a size up.
Review 8 for Quilted Car Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dvt123
Location:Vermont
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
I love this coat.
Date:March 13, 2014
It is a great weight and is very attractive. The only thing i would suggest is to have the zipper work both ways. As a car coat it would be nice to zip it up when you are driving. All in all a great value and I wear it all the time.
Review 9 for Quilted Car Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MiniMum
Location:Orlando, FL
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Nice coat for bad weather
Date:February 24, 2014
This coat is a gift for my daughter to use on cool and rainy days. The quality is good and the coat is lightly quilted so it should be warm without being bulky, a good 3 season coat.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Quilted Car Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MissyC
Location:Richmond Va
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Perfect Coat
Date:February 23, 2014
This coat is perfect for every day. It fits well, is flattering and quality is great. Love the color too, as shown. It is a perfect weight for most of the winter here in the mid atlantic area.
Review 11 for Quilted Car Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cincy1
Location:Cincinnati OH
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Terrific Transitional Jacket
Date:February 22, 2014
Outside quite a bit with kiddo soccer games in the late fall and early spring. The jacket is perfect length; building warmth with layering is easy as jacket is well cut; the color and style are timeless. The perfect jacket. Many compliments.
Review 12 for Quilted Car Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
resortbound
Location:Dublin, Obhio
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Love this coat!
Date:February 21, 2014
In general, I hate to wear coats, but this coat is so comfortable and warm. I have receive compliments on it as well! It is true to size - I wear a size 8 and it fits perfectly. I love that it has a hood,
Review 13 for Quilted Car Coat
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CPAK
Location:Westport CT
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Tight through hips
Date:February 15, 2014
I love the color (teal) of this car coat, but I wish I had paid more attention to the reviews regarding fit. It's boxy on top and slim through the hips. I can't decide if I should send it back or not because I do love the color...
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison February 17, 2014
We agree - the teal color is great! We'd love to help with a return or exchange if you decide, and are here to help at 800-870-3513.
Review 14 for Quilted Car Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GMMoe
Location:Idaho
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Love the Color
Date:February 13, 2014
I am very happy with the color (teal) and fit after my initial order was returned for a size larger.
I find that sizing has changed as well as styles and wearing bulky sweaters for warmth not necessary with the fabric in this coat.
Review 15 for Quilted Car Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mom3ags
Love my jacket
Date:February 11, 2014
Bought this when it was "sale of the day". Love it! And, I have no issues with the fit
Review 16 for Quilted Car Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Patticakes2
Location:Denver
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Great Coat -- Careful of Size
Date:February 11, 2014
Love this coat. Lightweight yet warm.
I wear a 6-8 but often with Garnet Hill I have to go up a size particularly in tops. I ordered a 10 and just for reference it just fits -- all zipped and snapped up -- However I would recommend you order up. Its a shame they didn't make this slightly A line instead of straight, which would allow for extra sitting down room.
Review 17 for Quilted Car Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Missy3
Location:Sherborn, MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Did not fit well
Date:February 11, 2014
I think the coat is a great idea but is executed poorly with regard to fit. Zipper should go both ways and the coat itself should be less boxy, especially around the top. Got it at a large discount, which should have alerted me. The material and color are quite lovely, though!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Quilted Car Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MagMags
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great coat!
Date:February 11, 2014
I bought this coat for a trip to Ireland later this spring, but I have already enjoyed wearing it. The color is true to the picture and the comfy jacket is both lightweight and warm. It holds up well in the rain and is truly wrinkle resistant. Love it!
Review 19 for Quilted Car Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
winddance
Location:Anchorage AK
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Quilted Car Coat
Date:February 11, 2014
First I thought I was going to return this because of the length(little longer than I would like to have).
Then a couple of days ago, I tried on to gym, I was pleasantly surprised how comfortable, and practical for casual wear.
The color (Teal green) is beautiful and goes with many pants that I have.
I have size 12 my normal jacket size, it works perfect - has some room to wear sweatshirt/sweater inside.
Review 20 for Quilted Car Coat
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BusyMominNY
Location:Orchard Park, NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Strange Fit
Date:February 11, 2014
On the fence with this one. I love the color, style, weight, etc. I usually wear a Small at Garnet Hill. I ordered a size 6 and while it's plenty roomy up top, the hip area is very fitted...if I order up a size, I'll be swimming in it. I ordered it when it was the "sale of day" so a great price, but still trying to decide if I should keep it or not.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison February 19, 2014
Please know we want you to be completely satisfied with your purchase. Remember our exchanges are always freight free! Please call us at 1-800-870-3513 if you need assistance with this purchase.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>