Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular

Our favorite asymmetric coat wakes up winter togs. The flirty shape is the same: A-line silhouette, dramatically draped collar, and striking angled raw hem. We doubled the wool for a nice drape, and added a brushed-metal clasp for a little edge. Long sleeves; lined Two-button closure Slit pockets 3/4 length Boiled wool Imported
Average Customer Rating:
4.44 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (282 reviews)
5 stars
192
4 stars
49
3 stars
23
2 stars
9
1 star
9
243 of 28286%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
33 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer Reviews for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Review 1 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chico, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Beautiful Coat
Date:January 9, 2016
This was a big splurge for me! I love the color, sort of a bluish gray. It is soft and keeps me warm. It looks great with dresses or pants. The only thing that I think is sort of funky looking is the hook on the shoulder. It's a bit bulky looking, but no big deal. Overall it's the sort of coat that I've been looking for, stylish and warm without the heavy, bulky appearance.
Review 2 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
I love it!!
Date:January 9, 2016
This is a one of a kind type coat. I live in Mongolia, where everything is cashmere. I have been asked where I got this, and am happy to reply, from Garnet Hill. The design is great and the color fantastic. The sale price was what made me jump. I would buy another in a flash!
Review 3 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Valley Cottage, NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Warmth and Style
Date:January 8, 2016
I love this coat! I received the red last year as a gift and love it so much I bought the teal with a little help from a birthday gift card this year. It is lightweight warmth, great design and style. I love that it is so unique. As always, very well made and excellent fabric.
Review 4 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Medford NJ
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Wanted to LOVE this
Date:January 8, 2016
I really wanted to love this jacket. I sprung for the purchase (kind of expensive) because I loved the photos and the style of this jacket. Very hip and modern! Due to the mildness of our fall and winter I haven't had but three chances to wear it. Brought it out today to wear it and the entire jacket is a mass of pills-terrible that it hasn't been able to hold up to more than three wears. Poor fabric quality. Such a shame, and such a huge waste of money. I've spent hours trying to "shave" off the pills and it doesn't improve the appearance much. Very Very Disappointed!
Review 5 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ashland, OR
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
A favorite repeat purchase
Date:January 7, 2016
I have four of these coats in different colors, and gave one to my little sister who is very fashion-oriented. I'm a cashmere lover and sensitive to other wools, but this boiled wool is soft and snuggly. It's a stylish, somewhat dramatic piece that has great lines and quality hardware -- and always gets compliments. The quality is great though my first purchase of a chocolate brown came apart at the seams and I'll be returning it. However, my others look great and I even washed my burnt orange one after spilling coffee on it in cold water, gentle cycle and dried on low and it came out looking new. The recent renditions of this coat seem to have less fabric (maybe thinner wool?), are more fitted, a little shorter in back, and a better look overall. GH is great for taking a popular style and tweaking it for improvements so those of us who find something we love can often buy it again in following seasons. I am usually a size 10, 5'9 and found the new version of the size 10 works perfectly whereas the older versions were sized larger. Great job GH and I'm eying the hounds tooth to add to my collection!
Review 6 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kansas City
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Lovely light coat
Date:January 6, 2016
This is very wearable and makes a statement. Really like the neckline.
Review 7 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh PA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
OH BOY!
Date:January 5, 2016
Goodness! I just unpacked my coat. At first sight I noticed the lined arms. Brilliant - because my shirts don't slide back up the arm. But then, then moment closing the coat. I have never felt so warm and cozy and hugged in an instant as with this coat. I LOVE Love Love it! I love the high soft collar, the long arms (I have long arms and always have trouble finding a decent length), oh yes, and the pockets are great! perfectly positioned. ..since its a cold winter night and I had just made my hot tea.. I am keeping it on and am now lounging on the sofa! Heaven! This is certainly not just for outdoors! Oh no! :-D THANK YOU Garnet Hill! waiting for it to go on sale took forever - but it was sooooo worth it!
Review 8 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Classy!
Date:December 24, 2015
Great petite fit, comfortable , and effortlessly elegant!
Review 9 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ann Arbor, Michican
Gender:Female
Boiled Wool Coat
Date:December 23, 2015
I tried this coat a couple years ago and it didn't fit correctly, but they seem to have done something to make it work for taller people - a longer cut perhaps. This is a terrific style and perfect for late fall, early winter wear. It could use more inner buttons to keep it pulled together, and the heavy outside hook is rather kludgy - a big button or smaller more nimble hook would make more sense with this fabric. I love the houndstooth and asymmetrical drape.
Review 10 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Solon, OH
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Love it!
Date:December 21, 2015
Love this coat! It's so unusual, I've gotten a few compliments already. I love the houndstooth pattern. I originally ordered a size 4 and had to return it for a 2 because the sleeves were way too long and it hung off my shoulders too much. I am 5'3" and 120 lbs. I thought about ordering the petite, but I'm glad I didn't because I think it would be too short. Would have been nice to get it on sale, but I didn't want it to sell out.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Love this coat
Date:December 20, 2015
This coat even looks better in person. I love the oatmeal. I disagree that the sleeves are tight. I ordered my normal size and they are plenty roomy for wearing a thin sweater underneath.
Review 12 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Dallas TX
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Striking lightweight coat
Date:December 19, 2015
I already have this coat in blue and get compliments every time I wear it. It's a great lightweight "coat" especially for our typically mild Dallas winters. I like my blue one so much that when I saw the houndstooth one I wanted it even at the higher cost. Turns out the houndstooth is made in a heavier, more substantial fabric and well worth the money (especailly if you get it on sale with free shipping like I did). I tried it on and my husband said, "that's a keeper". Can't wait to wear it.
Review 13 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Iowa
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Great coat
Date:December 17, 2015
I love this coat! Very stylish and made well! I get lots of compliments and you don't meet someone wearing the same coat on every street corner!
Review 14 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Milwaukee, WI
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
The Best Piece!
Date:December 15, 2015
This coat is absolutely amazing! I bought it last week, and have received compliments on it every day I wear it. I've worn it with dresses and heels, leggings and boots - it's the most versatile coat in my closet. I'm 5'9'' and generally wear a size 8/M in tops. The size 8 is perfect in coat length, sleeve length and roomy enough for sweaters underneath. I'm already thinking about what color to get next!
Review 15 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Arlington, VA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Love styling, don't love the quality
Date:December 10, 2015
I love love love the styling of this item, but a whole line of stitching under the arm came out right away, and I ordered it sized up so it's not remotely tight on me/no strain on the seams. It's beautiful so I still wear it, but it did come apart very quickly after purchase. It is cozy and pretty though, and I'd recommend it for that reason alone.
Review 16 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Style, not function
Date:December 9, 2015
This coat is very stylish and a great weight for running errands, or times when you will be frequently inside. It is quite lightweight and not very warm. It looks great, though!
Review 17 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Baton Rouge, LA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Houndstooth Coat .... Really Nice!
Date:December 9, 2015
I have two Asymmetrical Coats in solid colors from past years ... and get complements on both. I am so happy that I added the houndstooth this season. The fabric is slightly thicker and warmer. I ordered the coat in petite and still take up the sleeves an inch. I'm 5'4" and I usually don't order petite sizing but on this coat I like the shorter length.
This is a great coat and I can't wait for some cool weather to wear it!
Review 18 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Big Letdown
Date:December 5, 2015
Due to all the glowing reviews, I was really expecting to receive a stylish coat of good quality. I ordered the graphite color and it's nothing like the color pictured in the photos. It's a flat, dull gray color like wet cement. There's no depth or variation of color as the photos indicate. Completely different color and fabric, if you ask me. Not only was the color bad, but the quality of the fabric itself is very cheap. It feels like thin, soft felt, rather than boiled wool. It's really more of a sweater than a coat. There is also no seam at the hem, it's just cut with scissors (and crookedly so I might add). Bottom line is it's overpriced for what it is. If you're not too discerning or can overlook quality for style, you may be happy with this. I'll be returning mine.
Review 19 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:huntington ny
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
nice coat
Date:December 5, 2015
Sizing issue - I am 5'4" and typically wear a size 6, often petite. Ordered the 6P and it was too tight in the sleeves and chest and too short in the back. I exchanged it for the 8 regular on the advice of the telephone representative and it fits perfectly.
Review 20 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NYC
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Best ever
Date:December 4, 2015
It's a statement coat, unique and comfortable. The lined sleeves make it slide on easily. Because of the way it's constructed the cowl neck always looks great without fussiness. Got this coat in teal. Fit is true to size but loose. Love it!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>