Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular

Unique and unforgettable in every way, our supersoft lightweight boiled wool coat has a flirty A-line shape, dramatically draped collar, and striking asymmetrical hem. A matte metal clasp closure offers a bold contrast to all its feminine details. Lined long sleeves. Raw-edge details (not on cuffs). Front slit pockets. Two-button inside closure. Three-quarter length. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.398 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (171 reviews)
5 stars
108
4 stars
39
3 stars
14
2 stars
4
1 star
6
149 of 17187%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Review 1 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DallasKay
Location:Dallas TX
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Petite sleeves too long
Date:October 24, 2014
I really like this coat/wrap which I ordered on sale in the dark red color. I am 5'3" and wear petite sizes so I was excited to see that this came in petites. But even in the petite, the sleeves were way too long. Good thing I got it on sale as I had to pay extra $$ for the alterations. One thing to note is that you can't just throw this on in a second-- it has a couple of inside buttons plus the clasp that have to be fastened up to achieve the look shown.
Review 2 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TexasGirl1004
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Different but NOT for me
Date:October 19, 2014
Thought I would love the uniqueness and style of this coat but the asymmetrical look was just not for me. Coat is comfortable and has an elegance about it but meant for a taller woman. Will sadly be returning this item
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonOctober 23, 2014
Thank you for your note! We're sad to hear that this coat did not work for you, but please remember our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 3 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mozie
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
asymetrical Boiled wool coat
Date:October 16, 2014
I loved the coat but unfortunately it didn't work for me, but through no fault of the manufacturer. I have broad shoulders and generally when I get a coat where the shoulders fit, the body of the coat or jacket swallows me. This happens all the time. So sorry.
Review 4 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gwenn
Location:Newport Beach, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
WOW, I love this Coat!
Date:October 15, 2014
I read all the reviews and went for it. I am SO glad I did. I'm 5'6" size 4 and it fits perfect. True to size. Looks great on! I purchased the grey and it looks amazing. I want to go back and get the other colors too. It's warm without being heavy at all. Very fashionable!
Review 5 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
soprino
Location:san francisco ca
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Bought my second one
Date:October 15, 2014
I bought this last year in the burnt orange and got another during the fall sale in black. I might buy another color too. It's a flattering style, not very heavy. It would be hard to wear over something bulky, and it does look best with pants or leggings. TTS for me (8/10 with large bust,) I ordered the 8.
Review 6 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sjmak
Gender:Female
Super Poor Fit
Date:October 15, 2014
I loved the way this looked online, but the fit was just awful. I ordered a petite size, which always work for me, but the sleeves on this product were about 2-3 inches too long. The shoulders were way too big and the length seemed like the regular size length. It seemed as if the regular size was simply relabeled with a Petite label. The fabric was nice and the style looked cool online. Very disappointed. Would have rated this higher on quality if the fit had been better.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonOctober 23, 2014
We provide garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in getting the right fit.
Review 7 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JCMA
Location:Boston area, MA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Made for tall thin women
Date:October 15, 2014
I absolutely fell in love with this sweater coat when I saw it on the model...and the reviews seemed all very positive (except for the note about the long tight arms) so I ordered. Due to the reviews I ordered up a size (normally I'm a size 8) and I got the black coat because I thought it would be the most versatile. Unfortunately, when I got my coat and tried it on, it looked like I was wearing a large tent. I'm average height and weight -- 5'5" - not terribly short...but the volumous fabric of this "swing" style coat was WAY too much--on top of which the black color has no "life" to it, which added to the "big tent" feel. In fact, the only thing that DID fit right was the arms, though my arms are pretty thin--go figure!?
I most definitely would NOT order up if you are considering this coat and I would NOT recommend it unless you are at least 5'8" tall. The quality of the fabric is rich and snuggly--but unfortunately shapeless--sadly I did return it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonOctober 23, 2014
We're so glad to see that you are taking advantage of our freight free exchanges to try another color and size.
Review 8 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
pbrm
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
asymmetrical boiled wool coat
Date:October 12, 2014
Love the look. Arms are a little tight with a sweater, but worth it for the fashion!!!
Review 9 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kj2t
Location:Eden Prairie, MN
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Nice transition coat
Date:October 12, 2014
This coat fits the purpose I bought if for perfectly. Something to wear on a chilly fall day that isn't too heavy and yet stylish. I love the clasp and asymmetrical design. I was worried the sleeves might be tight due to other reviews I read, but they were roomier than I thought. In fact, I ordered up a size but I think I could've gone with my usual size. I kept the larger size in case I wanted to layer. The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is that the sleeves and overall length seemed a bit long being that I ordered a petite size and I'm 5'3" which isn't the shortest of the petite range. Other than that it's a great coat!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WaverlyAnne
Location:Dyer, IN
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Lovely coat
Date:October 11, 2014
I wanted this coat last year in pumpkin/rust color, but waited too long. This year it was offered in the rose color, which was just as pretty. Sleeves are a little long, but that's an easy fix. I like the way it drapes and its uniqueness. I haven't worn it yet because the weather has been too warm. Can't wait.
Review 11 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
feistyfox
Location:Portland, OR
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Perfect Coat for the PNW Fall
Date:October 10, 2014
I was unsure at first about the asymmetrical hem, but it really looks sharp with the great collar detail. It is just the right weight for our mild Pacific Northwest winters. My only small complaint was that the petite arm length was more like the regular size, but it is an easy fix. Love the color too!
Review 12 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Westmoon
Location:Cape Cod
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
MY THIRD COLOR!!!!
Date:October 9, 2014
I LOVE this coat!!! Ordered two last year...Brown and Grey...Got the Mulberry this year....They are Gorgeous...such a flattering ( SLIMMING) shape.... EVERY time I wear it I get compliments and questions...honestly....BEST coat ever for style!!!
Review 13 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lindsay0614
Location:Denver, CO
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Love Love Love!
Date:October 8, 2014
I have been eyeing this coat since last year and finally decided to get one during the 25% of sale last month. It fits so nicely and I love the buckle closure on the shoulder. The only down side is that this the material is pretty thin so you will need to layer well if you want to wear this fabulous coat when it's colder out. Because of that I didn't think the price was well matched to the quality because for the price, I expect to get more regular wear out of it through the fall and winter months. I would love to see this coat in a pumpkin color which I believe was available last year.
Review 14 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Burghmomx3
Location:Pgh
love but didn't work for me sadly
Date:October 7, 2014
This is very beautiful and I love boiled wool. Love the look of this online but I bought the XS and it was a ridiculous amount of material on my frame. I am small, size 0, 5'4" 102# however, I do wear flowy things...this was just waaaaay too much. I never wear petites bc although I'm small, I have long legs and norma arms and torso, petites never work for me. I'm sad, but I guess I'm saving (a lot) money by sending it back.
Review 15 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Toby7
Location:mass
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
disappointed
Date:October 6, 2014
I know this coat has had tons of possible of reviews so I don't get it . The quality seem poor the hem of the coat except for the tips of the cross over edge did not have a hem or finished edge .Looked like it was cut with a pr of scissors & not even a nice even cut ? This isn't an inexpensive item . The sleeves were much to long for me I am a larger size & the style was very unflattering for me
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison October 7, 2014
You're right, this coat is asymmetrical and has raw-edge detail. We're sorry to hear the style didn't work for you and are here if you need help with a return or freight free exchange.
Review 16 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Koakoakoa
Location:Sparks, Nevada
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Asymmetrical boiled wool coat
Date:October 3, 2014
This coat is amazing so many complements style, style!!!
Review 17 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BillieD
Location:Upstate New York
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Perfect Fall Topper for Any Occasion
Date:October 1, 2014
As always, your attention to detail is what sets Garnet Hill apart from other online companies . The equestrian buckle is wonderful as well as beautiful. I love that the jacket is asymmetrical. It adds interest and draws the eye upwards. I was pleasantly surprised to find the sleeves lined. I purchased this to were over a cocktail dress to a garden wedding in NYC next weekend. Perfect for the Fall weather. I know I will were it right through the winter as well with jeans.
Thank you for using such beautiful fabrics as always.
BillieD
Review 18 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rebeccarar
Location:Bar Harbor, ME
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
amazing coat
Date:September 21, 2014
love this! so unique, comfortable, warm, fit is good.
Review 19 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BookLover
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
I simply LOVE this coat!
Date:August 27, 2014
I bought the cement color; it's perfect weight for my mild winters & always gathers so many compliments. It's a winner in all respects!
Review 20 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
shopgirlie
Location:St Louis, MO
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Lovely and fun coat
Date:August 22, 2014
This is such a great coat. The wool is very nice and wears well--not much pilling after wearing it one winter. Fits over sweaters easily. Easy to throw on and look stylish. Many compliments--I ordered the charcoal color and it goes with almost anything. Great with boots!
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>