Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular

Unique and unforgettable in every way, our supersoft lightweight boiled wool coat has a flirty A-line shape, dramatically draped collar, and striking asymmetrical hem. A matte metal clasp closure offers a bold contrast to all its feminine details. Lined long sleeves. Raw-edge details (not on cuffs). Front slit pockets. Two-button inside closure. Three-quarter length. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.387 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (194 reviews)
5 stars
124
4 stars
41
3 stars
16
2 stars
6
1 star
7
167 of 19486%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Review 1 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ashley7045
Location:Woodstock, il
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Very disappointed
Date:December 16, 2014
So many other reviewers have said that this coat would be good on someone tall and slim. So not true! Made me look big as a house! Definitely do not recommend
Review 2 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
helenaM
Location:Sacramento, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
unique coat
Date:December 14, 2014
This is a really beautiful coat with unique styling. I found the size to be true (12p), but I ended up returning it because I was just too short for this kind of loose, draped style.It looked like an expensive tent on me. I did give it a very positive rating because if I were taller, it would be a wardrobe staple during our cold but not freezing northern CA winters. The lined sleeves were a very nice touch and made slipping it on and off easy (sweaters tend to catch on an unlined sleeve).
Review 3 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jliley
Location:Roswell NM
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
had to return it
Date:December 4, 2014
I found it to bulky and not soft at all. It also was difficult to get it to look similar to the picture. Anyway, not a coat for me!!
Review 4 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ben2bizzyshopping
Location:Silver Spring, MD
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Surprised
Date:November 30, 2014
When I recieved package thought no way there could be a coat inside since it was much too light. Wore the coat and it is surprisingly warm. Shape is unusual and you don't see yourself coming or going. Got the teal which is a muted blue/grey color with multiple colors mixed in. Appears to fit true to size. Noted some piling but not much.
Review 5 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nhudle
LOVE IT!
Date:November 29, 2014
I get so many compliments on this coat. It's lighter weight so you can't wear it out in a snow storm but it's perfect most of the fall into winter months. I'm so happy they brought it back this year. Will purchase another color. It's very flattering and not itchy at all. LOVE!
Review 6 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beach10
Location:Lakewood , ca
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Beautiful product
Date:November 28, 2014
I waited to purchase this item, why I do not know. I love it! Warm, comfortable and very stylish. A bit pricey, but worth every penny.
Review 7 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Wellingtonian
Location:Oakland
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Adore!
Date:November 26, 2014
Beautiful extra layer. Note that it is not too thick -- thus it is perfect for a Northern Californian cool evening. I got one in every color! The wine is rich, beautiful. The teal is a faded greyish-teal, which makes it more versatile. I haven't received the cement yet. The material is quite soft, but in case of potential itching, the sleeves are lined. I sized up in case I needed to fit a sweater under it comfortably -- I am very broad-shouldered too.
Review 8 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MJCW44
Location:Boston MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Love It!!
Date:November 21, 2014
Although this is a light weight coat and very expensive, the style is fantastic and unique. I love that the sleeves are lined and I find myself wearing this everywhere and getting a lot of compliments and inquiries about where I purchased it!!
Review 9 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mom24kiddos
Location:Philly suburbs
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Excellent purchase
Date:November 21, 2014
I really love this coat. The fit is a bit large, so I sized down. I am 7 months pregnant and it fits/drapes nicely over my belly. I expect that it will do me to the end of my pregnancy. I got the blue, and it compliments my fair/blonde complexion really well. I have worn this coat perhaps 10 times so far, and have received easily 20 compliments. I am really considering purchasing it in red also. Just a really beautiful, unique and well-made piece.
Review 10 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mbp52
Location:Burlington, VT
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great coat
Date:November 19, 2014
I ordered the coat in gray in size 12, when it came in it was pretty big and the gray had brownish undertones...not good for my complexion.
I exchanged it for size 10 in teal and it looks FANTASTIC! I have received some many compliments ..from complete strangers literally coming up to me to say how much they admire the look of the coat. It pairs well with jeans & boots or a short black skirt/tights and boots.
Review 11 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
K2Paris
Location:Northern Va
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Fun stylish warm
Date:November 18, 2014
Wasn't sure I was going to keep it as the sitting of the collar was driving me mad but loved the fit & the asymmetrical design + the ease of the button on the inside to keep the shape & ease of the buckle.
Decided to wear it out to give it a try; loved the warmth & all the compliments....so it's a keeper!
Love the pockets & the lined sleeves.....+ it dresses up or down.
Great coat!
Review 12 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bluebird52
Location:Hansville, WA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Very long sleeves, but otherwise great!
Date:November 15, 2014
This coat is very high quality wool and feels warm even though it's very light. It would not be for a cold climate, i.e. would work better in the shoulder seasons or in southern climes.
My only complaint is the sleeves are very long! I'm 5'8" tall and have what I would consider quite long arms. The size 16 sleeves came down to the tip of my thumbs! Overall, the coat felt a little large, so I'm returning it for a size 14, hopefully the sleeves will be slightly shorter there.
Also, the color of the wool is somewhat lighter than the main photos of the model. The Rosewood has a bit of yellow woven in, which you can't see in the swatch, but it doesn't look bad. It's a very glamorous coat, and hopefully I'll get a lot of use out of it once I can get the size sorted out. I should add that to exchange it for a size down, they were sold out of the Rosewood color I wanted for a full TWO MONTHS, so I am having to exchange for a different color. Availability on this coat is quite limited.
Review 13 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JacquiJeanne
Location:Boston
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
My go to coat this year.
Date:November 13, 2014
I wasn't expecting the sleeves to be lined, but they are and it was a nice surprise. It keeps me comfortable in high 40's to low 50's degree days or nights, and it's really a great looking style to dress me up a bit.
Review 14 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cynqi
Location:Philadelphia
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
So pretty, but not for me
Date:November 13, 2014
Love the Rosewood color, the boiled-wool fabric, and the idea of a unique style, but there was too much going on for my body silhouette. The draped collar is gorgeous. I ordered multiple sizes and the smallest, the one I would have kept, had sleeves that were way too tight. So I just put the coats in a box and returned them today. GH you have such great clothes, some work for me, with others I can do better. Thanks for the price markdowns and friendly customer service.
Review 15 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rford
Location:Washington, DC
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Date:November 13, 2014
I returned this coat. I'm on the shorter side (5'4") and the coat did not look stylish on me. For the price, I would have expected a warmer, more substantial coat.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonNovember 22, 2014
You are correct, this coat was designed to be a lightweight boiled wool coat as stated in copy. We hope you remembered our exchanges are always freight free and we have many great items to choose from, when you returned your coat.
Review 16 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kawh
Location:North Bay, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Flattering Design
Date:November 12, 2014
This coat is a great design... it is almost exactly like a coat i got last year from a British chain, but this one was about half the price.
The asymmetrical hem is very flattering for someone who is slightly pear shaped. The lined sleeves make it easy to slip on and off.
I would call the fabric more of a 'boucle' than a boiled wool, because it is more a boucle texture and a little more sweater-like texture than the picture seems... though it is definitely not a sweater. The coat's weight is really quite light. I got the black, which I am happy with.... but I think that a little lighter color would show off the neckline better. If you're torn and love the design, go with a lighter color.
It would be perfect if it was 1 or 2 inches longer... it's just a bit short in the back...but does go to the bottom of my bottom! (i'm 5'7" but long waisted.)
Review 17 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mikeswife2009
Location:New Orleans
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
LOVE IT
Date:November 8, 2014
This is a great, fashion forward, coat. I absolutely love it. It is comfy, looks nice and fits perfectly. I got the black one and now I'm about to order it in the burgundy color.
Review 18 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
balaboosta
Location:Maryland
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Smashing!
Date:November 8, 2014
The styling of this lightweight topper is dramatic and eye-catching. I ordered the rosewood color as a winter pick-me-up and surprisingly, it almost works as a neutral it goes with so many things.I love the focal point of the big equestrian buckle that is like a piece of jewelry on the shoulder. I have narrow shoulders and am slim (105) but not short (5'5") but I took a chance with the 0 peitie because GH usually runs so big on me. It fits perfectly - the sleeves are snug but not so tight I can't easily get a medium weight sweater underneath - the nicely done detail of lined sleeves helps with that. I like it so well I ordered one in black as well which will work for the few things the rosewood doesn't go with.
Review 19 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BelleK
Location:washington, DC
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Stylish, Lightweight and Warm
Date:November 8, 2014
Love this stylish coat. I have the rosewood bought on sale. Dislike heavy coats and this one is perfect. Like that the sleeves are lined. Would like other colors as well.
Very well made.
Review 20 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
rutabaga
Location:Richmond, VA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Asymmetrical Boiled woll Coat
Date:November 7, 2014
When i first got the catalog featuring this coat, i kept the page open on my nightstand, because i had told myself i do not need another coat. But i fell in love with the rose colored version. Finally broke down, went on line and the color was sold out. So i called to place the order and the wonderful sales person told me that it's on back order, and i could receive it two weeks. i am so please with how light weight it is, yet seems to block coldness and the draped style will allow me to wear some thicker sweaters underneath if i need to. Great design! so unique!
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>