Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular

Unique and unforgettable in every way, our supersoft lightweight boiled wool coat has a flirty A-line shape, dramatically draped collar, and striking asymmetrical hem. A matte metal clasp closure offers a bold contrast to all its feminine details. Lined long sleeves. Raw-edge details (not on cuffs). Front slit pockets. Two-button inside closure. Three-quarter length. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.395 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (185 reviews)
5 stars
117
4 stars
41
3 stars
16
2 stars
5
1 star
6
160 of 18586%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Review 1 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mbp52
Location:Burlington, VT
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great coat
Date:November 19, 2014
I ordered the coat in gray in size 12, when it came in it was pretty big and the gray had brownish undertones...not good for my complexion.
I exchanged it for size 10 in teal and it looks FANTASTIC! I have received some many compliments ..from complete strangers literally coming up to me to say how much they admire the look of the coat. It pairs well with jeans & boots or a short black skirt/tights and boots.
Review 2 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
K2Paris
Location:Northern Va
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Fun stylish warm
Date:November 18, 2014
Wasn't sure I was going to keep it as the sitting of the collar was driving me mad but loved the fit & the asymmetrical design + the ease of the button on the inside to keep the shape & ease of the buckle.
Decided to wear it out to give it a try; loved the warmth & all the compliments....so it's a keeper!
Love the pockets & the lined sleeves.....+ it dresses up or down.
Great coat!
Review 3 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bluebird52
Location:Hansville, WA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Very long sleeves, but otherwise great!
Date:November 15, 2014
This coat is very high quality wool and feels warm even though it's very light. It would not be for a cold climate, i.e. would work better in the shoulder seasons or in southern climes.
My only complaint is the sleeves are very long! I'm 5'8" tall and have what I would consider quite long arms. The size 16 sleeves came down to the tip of my thumbs! Overall, the coat felt a little large, so I'm returning it for a size 14, hopefully the sleeves will be slightly shorter there.
Also, the color of the wool is somewhat lighter than the main photos of the model. The Rosewood has a bit of yellow woven in, which you can't see in the swatch, but it doesn't look bad. It's a very glamorous coat, and hopefully I'll get a lot of use out of it once I can get the size sorted out. I should add that to exchange it for a size down, they were sold out of the Rosewood color I wanted for a full TWO MONTHS, so I am having to exchange for a different color. Availability on this coat is quite limited.
Review 4 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JacquiJeanne
Location:Boston
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
My go to coat this year.
Date:November 13, 2014
I wasn't expecting the sleeves to be lined, but they are and it was a nice surprise. It keeps me comfortable in high 40's to low 50's degree days or nights, and it's really a great looking style to dress me up a bit.
Review 5 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cynqi
Location:Philadelphia
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
So pretty, but not for me
Date:November 13, 2014
Love the Rosewood color, the boiled-wool fabric, and the idea of a unique style, but there was too much going on for my body silhouette. The draped collar is gorgeous. I ordered multiple sizes and the smallest, the one I would have kept, had sleeves that were way too tight. So I just put the coats in a box and returned them today. GH you have such great clothes, some work for me, with others I can do better. Thanks for the price markdowns and friendly customer service.
Review 6 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rford
Location:Washington, DC
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Date:November 13, 2014
I returned this coat. I'm on the shorter side (5'4") and the coat did not look stylish on me. For the price, I would have expected a warmer, more substantial coat.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonNovember 22, 2014
You are correct, this coat was designed to be a lightweight boiled wool coat as stated in copy. We hope you remembered our exchanges are always freight free and we have many great items to choose from, when you returned your coat.
Review 7 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kawh
Location:North Bay, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Flattering Design
Date:November 12, 2014
This coat is a great design... it is almost exactly like a coat i got last year from a British chain, but this one was about half the price.
The asymmetrical hem is very flattering for someone who is slightly pear shaped. The lined sleeves make it easy to slip on and off.
I would call the fabric more of a 'boucle' than a boiled wool, because it is more a boucle texture and a little more sweater-like texture than the picture seems... though it is definitely not a sweater. The coat's weight is really quite light. I got the black, which I am happy with.... but I think that a little lighter color would show off the neckline better. If you're torn and love the design, go with a lighter color.
It would be perfect if it was 1 or 2 inches longer... it's just a bit short in the back...but does go to the bottom of my bottom! (i'm 5'7" but long waisted.)
Review 8 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mikeswife2009
Location:New Orleans
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
LOVE IT
Date:November 8, 2014
This is a great, fashion forward, coat. I absolutely love it. It is comfy, looks nice and fits perfectly. I got the black one and now I'm about to order it in the burgundy color.
Review 9 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
balaboosta
Location:Maryland
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Smashing!
Date:November 8, 2014
The styling of this lightweight topper is dramatic and eye-catching. I ordered the rosewood color as a winter pick-me-up and surprisingly, it almost works as a neutral it goes with so many things.I love the focal point of the big equestrian buckle that is like a piece of jewelry on the shoulder. I have narrow shoulders and am slim (105) but not short (5'5") but I took a chance with the 0 peitie because GH usually runs so big on me. It fits perfectly - the sleeves are snug but not so tight I can't easily get a medium weight sweater underneath - the nicely done detail of lined sleeves helps with that. I like it so well I ordered one in black as well which will work for the few things the rosewood doesn't go with.
Review 10 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BelleK
Location:washington, DC
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Stylish, Lightweight and Warm
Date:November 8, 2014
Love this stylish coat. I have the rosewood bought on sale. Dislike heavy coats and this one is perfect. Like that the sleeves are lined. Would like other colors as well.
Very well made.
Review 11 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
rutabaga
Location:Richmond, VA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Asymmetrical Boiled woll Coat
Date:November 7, 2014
When i first got the catalog featuring this coat, i kept the page open on my nightstand, because i had told myself i do not need another coat. But i fell in love with the rose colored version. Finally broke down, went on line and the color was sold out. So i called to place the order and the wonderful sales person told me that it's on back order, and i could receive it two weeks. i am so please with how light weight it is, yet seems to block coldness and the draped style will allow me to wear some thicker sweaters underneath if i need to. Great design! so unique!
Review 12 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Flatcoatlover
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Very long sleeves
Date:November 6, 2014
I have short arms and ordered this in a petite expecting that the sleeves would work. They were too long by 3 inches which is just crazy! I love this topper even though it was expensive and I had to have the sleeves shortened. Just be aware of the sleeve length, I think the petite sleeve length was about 18 or 19 inches. Can not even imagine what the length of the regular sleeves are.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonNovember 22, 2014
Thank you for your note! Please know we provide garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in getting the right fit.
Review 13 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LaurainDC
Location:Washington D.C.
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Disappointed
Date:October 30, 2014
I was so excited to buy this coat - it looked beautiful in the picture. Big let-down upon receipt: it was the weight of a sweater, and not even a super-heavy sweater at that. I have another boiled-wool sweater that is much warmer and about 1/3 of the price. It was also too long and overwhelmed by 5'0 frame, even in petite. Last complaint: it was packed in a fairly small, unlined mailer instead of a box so was quite wrinkled, which didn't help my overall impression of the quality. I did like the color, and the design was nice, although not great for petites.
Response from Garnet Hill:By Lorna Customer LiaisonNovember 4, 2014
We do provide garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in getting the right fit. If you ever need assistance, we are available at 1.800.870.3513.
Review 14 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Minski
Location:Vernont
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Cozy Fall Coat
Date:October 30, 2014
This coat is very flattering and trendy. it seems to wrap you in warmth especially around the neck. The wool is very soft but is keeping me cozy this fall in Vermont. I love the funky clasp at the neck and the crooked hem.
Review 15 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DallasKay
Location:Dallas TX
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Petite sleeves too long
Date:October 24, 2014
I really like this coat/wrap which I ordered on sale in the dark red color. I am 5'3" and wear petite sizes so I was excited to see that this came in petites. But even in the petite, the sleeves were way too long. Good thing I got it on sale as I had to pay extra $$ for the alterations. One thing to note is that you can't just throw this on in a second-- it has a couple of inside buttons plus the clasp that have to be fastened up to achieve the look shown.
Review 16 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TexasGirl1004
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Different but NOT for me
Date:October 19, 2014
Thought I would love the uniqueness and style of this coat but the asymmetrical look was just not for me. Coat is comfortable and has an elegance about it but meant for a taller woman. Will sadly be returning this item
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonOctober 23, 2014
Thank you for your note! We're sad to hear that this coat did not work for you, but please remember our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 17 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mozie
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
asymetrical Boiled wool coat
Date:October 16, 2014
I loved the coat but unfortunately it didn't work for me, but through no fault of the manufacturer. I have broad shoulders and generally when I get a coat where the shoulders fit, the body of the coat or jacket swallows me. This happens all the time. So sorry.
Review 18 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gwenn
Location:Newport Beach, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
WOW, I love this Coat!
Date:October 15, 2014
I read all the reviews and went for it. I am SO glad I did. I'm 5'6" size 4 and it fits perfect. True to size. Looks great on! I purchased the grey and it looks amazing. I want to go back and get the other colors too. It's warm without being heavy at all. Very fashionable!
Review 19 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
soprino
Location:san francisco ca
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Bought my second one
Date:October 15, 2014
I bought this last year in the burnt orange and got another during the fall sale in black. I might buy another color too. It's a flattering style, not very heavy. It would be hard to wear over something bulky, and it does look best with pants or leggings. TTS for me (8/10 with large bust,) I ordered the 8.
Review 20 for Asymmetrical Boiled Wool Coat - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sjmak
Gender:Female
Super Poor Fit
Date:October 15, 2014
I loved the way this looked online, but the fit was just awful. I ordered a petite size, which always work for me, but the sleeves on this product were about 2-3 inches too long. The shoulders were way too big and the length seemed like the regular size length. It seemed as if the regular size was simply relabeled with a Petite label. The fabric was nice and the style looked cool online. Very disappointed. Would have rated this higher on quality if the fit had been better.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonOctober 23, 2014
We provide garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in getting the right fit.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>