Product Reviews

Travel Coat

There's no raining on your parade with our packs-to-nothing travel coat. Made from a lightweight poly that resists water and wrinkles, the trim three-quarter-length style is neatly tailored with a stand-up collar and hidden hood, adjustable tabs to cinch the waist and wrists, and a front zipper with a clean-line storm placket. Zippered pockets. Fully lined. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.943 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
27 of 3577%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Travel Coat
Review 1 for Travel Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meduse
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great fit aside from the sleeves
Date:September 24, 2013
But I had been forwarned about this by many other reviewers, they will definitely need tailoring.
Review 2 for Travel Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nawne
Location:Honesdale, PA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Really lightweight rain coat.
Date:August 13, 2013
Perfect for travel, which is why I purchased it. It folds very tightly to fit into a suitcase and is very light weight. Nicely made and runs true to size. Great value at the sale price.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Travel Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
teacherforlife
Location:Huntington Beach, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Needs adjusting
Date:August 12, 2013
I usually wear a size 12 in a coat for extra room, but this coat was huge. I purchased the next size down and it is better, but as others said, the sleeves are still too long. I will have to hem a few inches up. Pockets are too far back to be comfortable, but I can live with that as the coat is well styled and comfortable.
Review 4 for Travel Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Canihaveitall
Location:New York NY
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Perfect Summer Travel Coat
Date:August 9, 2013
I bought this for a trip to Europe this summer and it worked out perfectly. The coat is very lightweight and easily packable, and was just enough protection from the medium cool weather and light drizzle we encountered in Copenhagen and Talin. I ordered a size 10 -It seems to run slightly small and the sleeves are long, but it worked for my needs - I"m 5'10".
Review 5 for Travel Coat
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
nylight
Location:new york
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not like last year travel coat
Date:July 30, 2013
i have the last year travel coat in gray and order this year in black
it isn't the same coat. last year was a wonderful one
The material is too thin and shiny, not enough structure
the shape is nice , runs big (i order down and the size was good)
will buy the black if garnet hill will bring back the same one from last year
i will send this one back
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Travel Coat
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
absolan
Location:sausalito, ca
Date:July 21, 2013
this coat is the least attractive item I've ever ordered from Garnet Hill. I'm sending it back tomorrow, and unfortunately, have to pay to send it back.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Travel Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cathy7288
Location:indiana
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Love this coat!
Date:July 6, 2013
I ordered a size 2, which is my normal size at 5'6, 115 lbs. The sleeves are a little longer than some coats, but I love having them a little longer and actually prefer them this way! The coat is ever so slightly tight through the chest when my arms are raised, so I am ordering a 4 for comparison because it will be worn so often. The fabric is soft, with a perfectly beautiful sheen.
Review 8 for Travel Coat
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
rellimarual
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Decent light jacket
Date:May 18, 2013
The green color of this raincoat is pretty, but it does have two problems worth considering. First, it's not much protection against the rain and gets soaked in anything heavier than a drizzle. Second, the cut is odd, with the pockets set very far back on the hips. Also, the pockets are small. so if you'd like to carry your wallet in your pockets or you like to put your hands in the pockets of your coat a lot, I would not recommend it. I like it well enough to keep it but it's not great.
Review 9 for Travel Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
yogivet
Location:Pittsfield, Ma
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
I like it.
Date:May 12, 2013
I like this coat. In agreement with a few other reviewers comments on size. A little small or narrow across my shoulders--i would not put a thick sweater under it. It zips up fine. sitting in the car are reaching for something is fine. The sleeves are perfect for my arms but I can see how they would be too long if I ordered the next size up. I am 5'2", usually wear a 10-12 in coats. . I love the color and the feel of the fabric. I use the name tag as a hook to hang it on. two side pockets and two narrow straps at either side for snugging it in a little bit. I haven't taken out the hood yet.
I would recommend this coat.
Review 10 for Travel Coat
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Emms
Location:St.louis
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Accurate reviews
Date:May 9, 2013
Shiny, lightweight material, doesn't wrinkle. Sizing odd, the sleeves are way too long, and I have wide shoulders and super long arms. I like the length, the taupe color is OK. I got this for a long trip to Europe, I've only worn it to work. It seems OK,
Review 11 for Travel Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
oakley
Location:SF Bay area
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
great coat, needs a little sewing
Date:February 14, 2013
I'm 140lbs. 5'5" I'm a 10. This size did not allow for layers underneath, and sleeves were too long. The 12 is good; shoulders 181/2", center neck to wrist is 36, hip 46. I took up 2 1/2" from the sleeves and sewed the band of elastic in the collar down to the inside, and took off the top snap on collar = perfect ! No rain yet so I don't know how rain proof it is. One of the lightest weight coats out there.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Travel Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Zelzer
Location:Midwest
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Runs big!
Date:February 8, 2013
I'm 5'8", 135 lbs. and ordered a size 6. It's huge on me! I have long arms and the sleeves are still very long. Shortening them would be tricky, because there is a band with a buckle at the end of the sleeve. I don't even dare order a smaller size. I'm not sure what would work since the sizing is so odd. Sorry, GH...it's going back.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Travel Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ladyslipper
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Travel coat
Date:February 5, 2013
This is a pretty coat, but I returned it after careful consideration. The sleeves are extremely long, and I have long arms. Also, the fabric doesn't have much "body" to it, for lack of a better word. I wanted something that looked a little more sporty, so I returned it. If you want a travel coat that looks a little more dressy, and like a really soft fabric in rain gear, then you will like this coat. If between sizes I would recommend sizing up.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Travel Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fuzzzy
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
love this coat!
Date:December 24, 2012
Love this coat - it fits just right, great with a sweater under it, not bulky and looks great! The collar has a nice lift to it with the hood folded inside - sleeves are about 1" too long, but I can handle that...
Review 15 for Travel Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CalGal50
Location:San Ramon, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Perfect Rain Coat
Date:December 3, 2012
I love this rain coat!! It slides on and off easily because of the lining and the blue that I ordered has a beautiful light sheen. I gave the coat 4 stars for the overall rating because the pockets are too far to the side. The value is excellent because I got it on sale. Based on other reviews, I ordered up a size (6) and it is perfect. The sleeves are just right on me. I am 5'-7-1/2, 132lbs.
Review 16 for Travel Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
criticalreviewer
Location:Bethel Park, PA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Classy
Date:November 25, 2012
This lightweight travel coat adds class to a casual look.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Travel Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beachlady
Location:Virginia Beach VA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Nearly Perfect!
Date:November 25, 2012
I'd been searching for a coat like this in charcoal grey, but the blue offered seemed as close as possible, so I ordered it. And VOILA! The color appears to be much closer to charcoal grey than to blue! Yay!!! fI appreciate everything about this coat except the narrow pocket opening. Another inch would make this coat perfect! The slim lines and low fabric noise are wonderful. Thank you!!!
Review 18 for Travel Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DiRod
Location:Portland, OR
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
A nice change
Date:November 17, 2012
This is a cute coat. I purchased the black and sometimes it almost looks navy, but it isn't. The length and fit are fine except that the sleeves are REALLY long and that doesn't happen to me much so maybe it is the style. I fold them up about 2 inches. Love that it has a hood as I live in Portland OR where it rains often and I am glad I can wear it with casual or work attire. I was lucky to buy it on sale so the value was good for me.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Travel Coat
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jupiter
Location:Atlanta , GA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Crazy orangutan arms
Date:November 10, 2012
I'm a size 6, 5'4", 125 poundsand ordered a small. Love the look, color (beige) and the weight of this coat, but the sleeves are waaaaaay too long. Don't want to send it back, but if it costs too much to alter, it will be returned.
Review 20 for Travel Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
blessedone
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Must have.
Date:October 24, 2012
I traveled throughout Europe this summer and realized that I need a travel coat. I wanted something light that folds up but is feminine, not boxy and masculine. Anoraks are not flattering on me so I could not find anything until this coat came along. It is well made, flattering, feminine and somehow both dressy and casual. The quality is fantastic and I imagine that I will use it for many, many years. If you travel, you can just fold it up and have it with you, just in case. It takes up little space but will come in handy in rainy or cold weather.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>