Product Reviews

Pointelle Sweater Coat

Throw our pretty pointelle sweater coat over the simplest dress or jeans-'n-tee and you've got a look with real panache. Cut to flatter, with a shawl collar that extends down the front. In a soft, substantial wool blend with a hint of alpaca, it's definitely one for your fall most-wanted list. Knee length. Acrylic/wool/viscose/alpaca. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
5 of 771%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pointelle Sweater Coat
Review 1 for Pointelle Sweater Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HAinMN
Location:MN
Versatile Sweater Coat!
Date:November 11, 2012
I bought the pointelle sweater coat in teal. I don't typically purchase anything from Garnet Hill at full price but splurged when I saw this. Absolutely love it! Very versatile - dress up or dress down. I've paired it with black leggings/boots and cream skinny cords/brown riding boots. Teal is a very rich, deep color - perfect for fall and winter. It is heavier than I expected but I actually like that, living in MN gives me more opportunities to wear it, plus I think it will hold up better over time. My only complaint is it is just a hair too long. I am 5'5" and with tall boots it doesn't doesn't leave enough leg exposed.
Review 2 for Pointelle Sweater Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
busylady
Location:Oklahoma
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Love it.!!!
Date:October 2, 2012
I can not wait for cooler days, so I can wear this sweater coat. I purchased the camel, which will go with anything. It's soft and airy which allows you to layer. Overall wonderful garment an addition to my wardrobe.
Review 3 for Pointelle Sweater Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KTeacherAnne
Location:Sidney, Maine
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
More than I expected!
Date:September 21, 2012
I was hesitant to spend so much on a sweater, but I am not disappointed. The sweater is even more beautiful than the picture. Although I am not looking forward to cooler weather, I'm anxious to wear this and know it will go with so many outfits, from dresses to tunics and leggings!
The gray is beautiful and I am so happy with my purchase!
Review 4 for Pointelle Sweater Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pickyshopper
Location:Lansing, MI
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great Basics Purchase
Date:August 25, 2012
Love this sweater!! It is very soft and not itchy! I rarely buy anything full price at GH but I splurged this time and I do not regret it. It looks great with the slim jeans and t-shirt I purchased! Color is beautiful. If you're going to buy a sweater coat for fall, this is a great piece to add to your wardrobe!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pointelle Sweater Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
toula454
Location:Louisiana
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
just what I was looking for
Date:August 16, 2012
I have many longer sweaters so I was hesitant to spend so much on another one. But I am glad I did. My sweater came very soft not scratchy like another reviewer. And it fits perfect. I am 5'6" and 145 with a very large bust so I ordered the medium and it fits perfect. I am starting to put my fall/winter wardrobe together and this so far is my favorite piece!
Review 6 for Pointelle Sweater Coat
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1CalmMom
Location:Cleveland Oh
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Too itchy to wear
Date:October 1, 2012
Looks Beautiful, very well made, but too itchy to wear for more than a few minutes - even with turtle neck on! Prettiest thing I've ever returned. It's only 30% wool, so it's surprising that it's that itchy.
Review 7 for Pointelle Sweater Coat
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Connoisseur
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Product misrepresented
Date:August 12, 2012
The photo of this sweater makes it appear soft, finely knit, and drapey. In reality, the yarn is coarse and scratchy, the knit is chunky and lumpish, the "alpaca blend" a mere 8% alpaca! The sleeves on a medium were two inches too long on me (5'11" and size 8). The "shawl collar" is actually gathered at the back of the neck and stitched down, which makes the fabric fall strangely down the front. The sweater coat is shapeless and puffy, due to the thick yarn; the gray color was a dull charcoal. Needless to say, I sent this back. I feel I was misled by Garnet Hill.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By MeganCustomer LiaisonAugust 22, 2012
We’re sorry you’re disappointed with the Pointelle Sweater Coat. Thank you for sharing your feedback — we value the opportunity to learn from it.