Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Hooded Swing Trench Coat

What happens when the classic details of a trench meet up with the nonchalant swing of a cape? You've got the season's chicest topper. Cut boxy, to fit over many a modern kimono-sleeve or batwing top. Water-repellent cotton twill. Poly lining. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.056 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
0
15 of 1883%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hooded Swing Trench Coat
Review 1 for Hooded Swing Trench Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aeklund
Location:DallasTexas
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Love it!!!
Date:April 6, 2014
I love this coat!! I got it in all three colors. It is a lot like a cape but it keeps you covered in the rain on dog walks and any other time. The hood is great too!!
Review 2 for Hooded Swing Trench Coat
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
grammysue
Location:Connecticut
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
not for me
Date:April 4, 2014
This coat did not look good on me. The cut of it was strange looking, so I sent it back.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonApril 14, 2014
We're sorry this coat did not work for you. We hope you took advantage of our freight free exchanges when you returned your coat.
Review 3 for Hooded Swing Trench Coat
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
scribbler
Location:Chicago
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Returing this poncho
Date:January 6, 2014
This really isn't a coat; it's a poncho with snaps at the bottom. It's cute but not practical at all; there are too many gaps and it's far too short to really protect you against the weather, especially if you use the snaps to make "sleeves;" raising your arms from your side exposes everything underneath. So I'm returning this one.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison January 16, 2014
We're sorry the style didn't work for you. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, and we’re happy to accept exchanges and returns.
Review 4 for Hooded Swing Trench Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TxTennis
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Date:October 22, 2013
I originally ordered an XL, however, it runs rather large. I exchanged it for a L and love it! I think I want it in black AND khaki.
Review 5 for Hooded Swing Trench Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OverYonderField
Location:East Coast
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Boy do I like this
Date:September 23, 2013
Worked EXACTLY as I required: A slightly rainy walk many blocks in Baltimore and it kept my purse and me dry. Except the hood would blow off, so I may sew one of the extra buttons on the hood in a spot for windy plus rainy days. Grey color and M size perfect.
Review 6 for Hooded Swing Trench Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sbmm
Location:New York
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Transitional trench
Date:September 18, 2013
For weather right now I keep this in the car with a light sweater underneath. The hood is great when running from car to stores.I got it on sale of the day.
Review 7 for Hooded Swing Trench Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cuzsuz
Location:Los Angeles
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Great jacket/cape with one or two flaws
Date:September 18, 2013
Ordered the XL and it was too big (and I am an XL to a 1X). Returned for a large. Have not received it yet. Would have liked to see this a little longer -- the proportions would have been better. I feel a cape/poncho needs to be longer. The quality is excellent and the value(on sale) was fantastic. Looking forward to receiving the smaller one.
Review 8 for Hooded Swing Trench Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
loves2shop4more
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Very cute runs large
Date:September 17, 2013
Very cute. Should've listened to reviews and ordered down a size. I wear L/XL normally and needed a medium in this. Had to return both larges. Love the comfort of these over sweaters and jackets so you're not stuck inside tight sleeves!
Review 9 for Hooded Swing Trench Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Torontofan
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great style
Date:September 17, 2013
I purchased this on a Sale of the Day, so am overall very pleased with the purchase. I ordered a medium, and can see what other reviewers mean about its roominess, however, I expect to be layering it over bulky sweaters, so am happy with the sizing. Castlerock is a lovely grey, so no complaints there, either. My issue with the coat has to do with the quality - I lost one of the pivotal side buttons on the coat's maiden voyage, and when I checked the buttons securing the other side (there are two on each side to create the cropped arm effect), I noticed that they were hanging by a thread. On its first wearing!! So, while I'm generally happy, I would caution others to double-check the buttons before heading out. I now have a little sewing project I wasn't anticipating.
Review 10 for Hooded Swing Trench Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ser5766
Location:Central PA
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Absolutely adorable!
Date:September 7, 2013
I saw this cape/trench on sale and had to try it for myself. What a wonderful purchase! The fabric is ideal for the upcoming fall weather in PA. I agree with other reviewers that it won't keep you really warm or dry and shouldn't be purchased with that intention. It is purely a 60-70 degree weather coat to throw on over a light sweater or keep you protected in a light mist. I think I will love having this loser coat I could throw on over anything without looking sloppy. The zipper is heavy and zips to a button around the neck for the hood. Castlerock is a beautiful gray and just as pictured. Based on other reviews, I ordered one size smaller (usually M top, 10 bottom) and glad I did. The M would have been way too big. I think I would even be perfectly fine with an XS. I have a feeling this will be worn every day until the first snow!
Review 11 for Hooded Swing Trench Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
music
Location:lewes DE
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Classy little hood
Date:September 3, 2013
I bought the black. It's a great little jacket to throw on over anything! (Maybe not if you're going to the Oscars....but everything else!). I love the fabric and the drape of it. I think any size would fit anyone! Highly recommend....even if you don't need another jacket...at this sale price!
Review 12 for Hooded Swing Trench Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jillybean
Location:Long Island, NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Cute Cape, Nice for Travel
Date:August 28, 2013
I bought this cape in khaki and liked it so much that I ordered a second one in gray. I usually wear an 8 Petite, but I found the Misses size Small fit fine. At 5'2'', I found the cape was nicely hip length, not too short at all. It gets compliments every time I wear it, and the hood makes it great for light rain and/or travel.
Review 13 for Hooded Swing Trench Coat
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aamiller
Location:Oregon
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
cute, cute , cute
Date:July 30, 2013
This is a great piece. It runs a bit big and is not designed for heavy rain. But, it is perfect for those days that it won't stop misting! It is also perfect for wearing over dolman sleeves. This is rare to find in a rain coat. I am very happy with this purchase!
Review 14 for Hooded Swing Trench Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gazelle
Location:Cape Cod, MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Cute but not meant for serious weather
Date:July 9, 2013
I am quite petite (5'4" and a size 0/2) and found the small enormous. I sized up thinking it would offer more coverage. It would be great on a warm, fall day, with the threat of rain. Not very practical in a downpour, due to the open, cropped sleeves.
Review 15 for Hooded Swing Trench Coat
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
EmmBee
Location:Wadsworth IL
Gender:Female
Very fashionable, but . . .
Date:February 28, 2013
The quality of this coat is very high, and the gray color is just as pictured. No matter how water resistant the fabric is however, this coat will NOT keep you dry. It is very short, just below the waist really, and because of the poncho-like design there is a large gap between the front panel of the coat and the back panel on each side. The back panel swings backward when you walk. Not a design for rain protection below the shoulders.
If I wanted a chic spring jacket I would definitely consider. I wanted rain protection, so it's going back.
Response from Garnet Hill:By MeganCustomer LiaisonMarch 1, 2013
Thanks for your note! We do have other water resistant styles if you'd like to try another style. Give us a call if we can help, 800-870-3513.
Review 16 for Hooded Swing Trench Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
larrouxgirl
Location:Gulfport, MS
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
I'm in love
Date:February 23, 2013
This is the cutest, sassiest thing I've bought in years. My daughter was shocked (and jealous) that I'd chosen something so stylish. She wants to get one herself. Love the fabric, the weight (light), the shape (raglan sleeves and a poncho kind of silhouette). I chose the grayish color and it goes with just everything. Good with jeans and a T or over dressier pieces.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hooded Swing Trench Coat
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Upscalehippie
Location:Vancover, WA area
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
great style poor quality
Date:February 18, 2013
I returned this after the first one had a hole in a pocket and thready, poorly sewn seams. Really liked the style and hoped the poor quality was a fluke. Quality on the second no better than the first. I am keeping it because I love the style but it is not worth half what I paid for it. This is the second poor quality purchase recently from GH and I will be unlikely to keep ordering from them.
Response from Garnet Hill:By MeganCustomer LiaisonMarch 1, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and are reviewing your comments with our team! Keep in mind, we're happy to help you with a return or exchange at any time!
Review 18 for Hooded Swing Trench Coat
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended
Location:Tampa, Florida
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Great to throw on & has a hood!
Date:February 18, 2013
This jacket that can double as a "cape" type jacket is perfect for any type of spring/summer weather. It also has a hood, which is great for spring showers. I must admit, I like it better when it has the "sleeves" buttoned, but the button holes are a bit large, so they often come unbuttoned when you are wearing the jacket & moving around. But I still really love it!