Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Garnet Hill.

Oversized Boatneck Sweater

The sweater that goes over everything — and we do mean everything. Oversized without being overwhelming, our sumptuous merino wool/cashmere--blend design looks fabulous anchored with slim pants and a sleek pair of boots. Chic details include a wide boatneck, three-quarter sleeves, and ribbing at the hem and cuffs. Side vents at hem. Below-hip length. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.131 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
16
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
3
49 of 6180%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Oversized Boatneck Sweater
Review 1 for Oversized Boatneck Sweater
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sashin
Location:La Jolla
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
nice but itchy
Date:February 4, 2014
I got this in black. Medium is my usual top size and this was fine. A bit itchy so I have to wear something under it.
Review 2 for Oversized Boatneck Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MyDailyDessert
Location:Hidden Hills, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great for leggings
Date:January 1, 2014
I'm always looking for oversized sweaters. I was pleased to find this one and more pleased when I took it to Peru, let my size medium daughter wear this XS sweater and not only did it fit it kept her warm and looked stylish on her. Great purchase and I'm ordering the other colors as well!
Review 3 for Oversized Boatneck Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Toonces
Location:wisconsn
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great Everyday Sweater
Date:December 11, 2013
This is a very flattering sweater that looks great and a go to for every day! My hips are slim, but I carry a little weight in my tummy, so for me this is perfect. I ordered the size small, am 5'5" and 130. I am sure I will buy other colors at some point. Garnet Hill quality is fantastic and this washes great on "ultra hand wash" machine setting.
Review 4 for Oversized Boatneck Sweater
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cleone50
Location:Southern California
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Beautiful Oversized Sweater
Date:November 25, 2013
I purchased the orange color in a size "large". I am a size 12 - 14 size and I followed the garment "measurements" to determine which size to order. I had to make an unexpected trip to Chicago and needed some cold weather clothes. The large size was huge and I was quite disappointed but customer service helped me make an exchange for size medium in the same color without returning the item (!) which I did not know could be done. The sweater came the day before my trip and was perfect. I love the color, quality and design of the sweater! In my opinion, there is still work to be done in regards to sizing.
Review 5 for Oversized Boatneck Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LAChelle
Location:Los Angeles
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Really like this one
Date:November 23, 2013
I really like this sweater. It needs a shirt underneath because it is a bit itchy. I love the fit--I am a medium and that size fits great--not too big, nice lines, comfy, flattering over jeans or a skirt. I bought the black and am going back for the blue. I gave it only 4 stars for quality because it arrived with so much lint on the inside...the lint came off but was odd and had to be dealt with before the sweater could be worn.
Review 6 for Oversized Boatneck Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Benny
Location:Western WA State
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
lovely sweater
Date:November 5, 2013
Beautiful knit, wonderful color (dark pumpkin). The fit is a bit strange in the hip, but I'm making peace with it. Just hope it doesn't start to pill.
Review 7 for Oversized Boatneck Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lloyd7
Location:Morristown, New Jersey
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Wonderful Tunic
Date:November 4, 2013
I bought this sweater in black a few weeks ago and reached for it last weekend as the weather finally cooled. I love my new sweater! I have worn it with a short houndstooth skirt, black tights, and boots. So happy! The sleeves are a great length for stacking multiple bracelets (I wore five), and the tunic length is very flattering. Thanks again Garnet Hill for understated perfection!
Review 8 for Oversized Boatneck Sweater
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
FranklyD
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Itchy
Date:October 29, 2013
I found this cashmere sweater to be horrible itchy- not as roomy and over sized as I wanted it to be.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonNovember 14, 2013
Please know if you are not completely satisfied, you can exchange or return at any time. Our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 9 for Oversized Boatneck Sweater
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Judio
Location:Richmond VA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Baggy but Versatile
Date:October 22, 2013
I ordered this in a Large,which is my normal size, in orange. First time I wore it, I received many complements, but it kinda stretched out, so the next time I wore it, I thought it looked a little sloppy. Had it dry-cleaned, and it got pretty fuzzy, but still looks stretched out. So now I'm ordering it in a Medium, hoping it will fit a little better without being too clingy. And I"m going to try hand-washing the sweater as someone else suggested. Looks best with slim leg pants.
Review 10 for Oversized Boatneck Sweater
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CoolCat
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Oversize Boatneck Sweater
Date:September 24, 2013
Very comfortable and lightweight. A little big and long for my 5'2" height, but comfy over leggings.
Review 11 for Oversized Boatneck Sweater
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Thisby
Location:Boston
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Nice sweater
Date:September 10, 2013
I agree with other reviewers that this sweater is not especially flattering, but sometimes I'm quite happy to wear a rectangular sweater in a lovely color (I bought the pumpkin). I got several compliments on it the first day I wore it. I also have the pale blue from an earlier season. Purchased during the 20% off flash sale.
Review 12 for Oversized Boatneck Sweater
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MBbaby
Location:Incline Village NV
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Too Frumpy
Date:February 14, 2013
Ordered this in the green xsmall--I'm 5'4", 130 lbs, 34C,--and it fit fine but it was just too baggy around the mid section--wasn't cute enough for the price.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Oversized Boatneck Sweater
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CharlyGirl
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Versatile
Date:February 12, 2013
Purchased the slate color in XS on sale. I am 5'4" 130 lb. Fits beautifully. Looks great with slim fitting skirts or skinny jeans and boots. I would like to have it in another color or two but only if it goes back on sale. I do not think this sweater is worth full price.
Review 14 for Oversized Boatneck Sweater
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ElenaG
Location:Oakville, ON, Canada
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Basic, but not flattering to hippy women
Date:February 6, 2013
I like this sweater and can see how it might look good on those with broader shoulders and small hips, but for whatever reason it make me look bigger in the hips than I am. Also, because it's a thin fabric and the slits on the sides are short, it can bloom out on the bottom a little - you can see it in the photo above. I've worn it once and not sure I'll put it back on again.
Review 15 for Oversized Boatneck Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mumd
Location:Long Beach, Ca
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
lovely casual sweater
Date:February 5, 2013
Purchased this on sale and have worn it alot! The turquoise is a soft, heathery color and goes with quite a few things. Am 5'3" and 130lbs, got the small and it's perfect. Loose, but not bulky. Very neutral and easy to wear with anyhting. Might get another color!
Review 16 for Oversized Boatneck Sweater
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
zoegirl
Location:Colorado
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
okay.....
Date:February 5, 2013
I like this sweater and might recommend it to others, depending on what they're looking for and don't think it's the best value. It's soft, sleeves are definitely 3/4 and, it's a bit shapeless, esp. if one has shape. Runs somewhat big so ordering down one size might help with that.
Haven't worn it that much and my guess is it will pill shortly and wear out under arms.
Review 17 for Oversized Boatneck Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Puna
Location:Fairfield Iowa
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Love the style
Date:February 5, 2013
This sweater is magical in terms of the unique style with the cropped sleeve length and the boat neck. It is light and hangs well and is at the same time casual and elegant. A nice find ! I bought it in the wheat color one size smaller than I normally get and it fits very well. Very happy with this light weight sweater and I'm sure I will get a lot of use out of it.
Review 18 for Oversized Boatneck Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kuanon
Location:Tulsa, OK
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Sooo versatile!
Date:February 5, 2013
I wear this sweater all the time. You can put it with a skirt & boots, or over a T and leggings. It's soft & flattering.
Review 19 for Oversized Boatneck Sweater
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JayKay
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Good Basic
Date:February 5, 2013
This is a great little basic that I wear over a racer-back T and dress with scarves. Looks great with skinnies or tube skirts.
The garment slightly blouses out at the bottom and then decreases due to the ribbing. I would rate this piece as excellent if it had completely straight silhouette.
Have it in black and in oatmeal. I handwash and lay flat to dry and it looks fresh. Did go with a size S. I am 5'8" and 145lbs with an athletic build.
Review 20 for Oversized Boatneck Sweater
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Na123
Versatile sweater
Date:February 5, 2013
this is a great sweater to wear with leggings. nice color and wool.
1 2 3 4 next>>