Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit

As seen in Real Simple This retro style combines a plunging neckline, well-placed pleats, and camouflaging prints — much appreciated if you've missed a Pilates class (or two). This year we've improved the fit a bit based on your request for a sleeker line. Soft molded cups provide light support and shaping. Lightweight, luxe nylon/spandex with UPF 50. Lined. Imported. This suit runs true to size.
Average Customer Rating:
4.331 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (130 reviews)
5 stars
79
4 stars
28
3 stars
11
2 stars
11
1 star
1
113 of 13087%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Review 1 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
docdoc
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Straps down to your waist!
Date:April 14, 2014
This is a beautiful swimsuit, and the prints are fabulous. I ordered the pink print this year, not realizing it was the exact same suit I ordered last year in another color. Everything about it is good except for one huge no-no.The straps on this suit are way, way too long, so even if you are amply endowed, your boobs are hanging out. And the space between is extra wide, which only contributes to the problem. I wear a size 36C bra, so I'm not exactly small. If you are very long-waisted or have major shoulders, it might work for you, but the straps are NOT adjustable, so it does NOT work for me.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison April 15, 2014
We offer many swimsuits that do have adjustable straps. We'd love to discuss other options and help with a freight free exchange. Give us a call any time 800-870-3513.
Review 2 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jessiesmom
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice Swimsuit
Date:April 11, 2014
I like this swimsuit a lot. I ordered it fully expecting to have to return it, but it actually fits true-to-size and is super flattering. As other reviewers have noted, it is quite low cut on top, but there is enough fabric to prevent everything from falling out. :) I only wish the straps were adjustable, because they are a tiny bit long, I'm going to keep it because it really looks lovely on and is very comfortable. I may buy another in a different color.
Review 3 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sharona
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great fit for 5'2" 36B 125 lbs
Date:April 4, 2014
So I've finally come to the age where I need to give up two piece swimsuits... And this is a perfect suit for me. I'm not built proportionally as slim as the models in the photos. I'm more of a short wide sturdy build with slight mommy tummy. The leg openings are not too high and not overly modestly low. The v-neckline works well for my shape. The stitched ruching satisfies my self conscious need to camouflage my midsection. The modesty pads are not too bulky or padded but just enough to hide headlights. The shoulder straps are just right for me in length, and I like the width because they don't dig in and they don't overemphasize my wide shoulders. Very comfortable and not prone to wardrobe malfunctions. Girls stay put, suit stays put, and everyone is happy :)
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GardenStateMom
Location:NJ
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Flattering Suit!
Date:March 26, 2014
I bought this in the purple print, and the ruching isn't as apparent as it is in some of the other colors on the website. This suit has good elastic and tummy control yet isn't too hot or constricting. I have a small chest (36B) and feel like the cut would be better for someone with a larger chest. (I may end up shortening the straps -which are a bit wider than I'd realized from the pics -- to improve the fit through the chest.) Yet in spite of these small complaints on my part, my husband noticed -- and really liked -- this suit and even suggested I find it in another color, so it's a keeper!
Review 5 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
RubyStar1
Location:SC
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not for Petites
Date:March 25, 2014
Loved the suit but it does not have adjustable straps. If you are petite and curvy you NEED to be able to adjust the strap. Everything else was great. I had to return.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison March 27, 2014
You're right, this swimsuit does not have adjustable straps however, we offer many that do! We hope you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to try another style that will work for you!
Review 6 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yogajacqui
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great fit!
Date:March 12, 2014
I was shocked that a swimsuit ordered thru the mail would fit so perfectly!
Review 7 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dirkie
Great Fit
Date:March 10, 2014
I ordered this in my size (10) and it is a perfect fit! Looks great on, can't wait to wear it this summer!
Review 8 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SCC1
Location:CT
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great Suit
Date:March 10, 2014
This is the most comfortable bathing suit I have worn in a long time. The wide shoulder straps provide hold and comfort. I love the gray with polka dots. The gathered fabric in the midsection is very flattering.
Review 9 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lovefashion
Location:Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Flattering suit
Date:March 4, 2014
This suit is so comfortable and very flattering. I got the gray dot and love it!
Can't wait to get to the beach!
Review 10 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chichihill
Location:Evanston
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Wow, yay.
Date:February 23, 2014
Extremely flattering and classy suit. This was my first new suit purchase in years, and I was thrilled to put it on just before a spring vacation. I'm 5'4", an athletic 140 pounds, and the size 10 was perfect.
Review 11 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MelanieNova
Location:Northern Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Not for the pears at heart
Date:February 14, 2014
I am a pear. Recently stopped nursing, so I have small Bs with no volume left (sigh). I also have a curvy lower half. This chopped me in half and made me look really stumpy. I actually look much better in a bikini than in this one piece! The models they have in the pictures are all nicely endowed up top and boyish on the bottom. Doesn't work for this body!
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison February 17, 2014
Thank you for your comments. Perhaps another style of our swimwear would better suit you. Our exchanges are always freight free!

Review 12 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nana10
Location:sheldon, iowa
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Love this swimsuit
Date:February 7, 2014
What can I say that others haven't said already. Have gotten may positive comments on the suit. I don't tell everyone where I got it because I don't want any more of these showing up on my friends at the pool. I try not to wear it if I'm going down waterslides or sit on a towel if I'm going to be sitting on abrasive surfaces as I want it to look new for awhile. This will be my second season for the suit and it still looks great. Very flattering suit.
Review 13 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nicky690
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great!
Date:February 4, 2014
Great baithing suit. The only issue I found is that once the suit is wet, the behind looses its tight shape, aka, loosens. This might be due to my small 'bottom' but fyi for those ladies with smaller 'rear ends'.
Review 14 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MAG52
Location:Detroit, MI
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great fit, great fabric
Date:February 4, 2014
Always on the quest for a great suit...tried a number already this year, but have to say this is my favorite. I agree that there is not a lot of bust support as some have noted (I am a 34D) but I don't intend to run down the beach in it, so it's okay. The fabric is fabulous, substantial but not so stiff and tight you can't breathe. Love love love this suit!
Review 15 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
campmom29
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
LOVE!
Date:January 28, 2014
I have been looking for a one-piece for 2 years and have tried on countless options. FINALLY I have found what I'm looking for. It has great hold around the tummy, sexy deep V in the front and awesome thick straps. I am 5'4", 135 lbs, with a boxy athletic build and I have finally found a swimsuit that is flattering. I have to admit the suit does not do a whole lot to make the chest look larger (I have a small chest (A cup) but it still looks great overall! Thanks! I'm going to go order another.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
birdmom
Location:Hawaii
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
structure on bottom, but not on top
Date:December 8, 2013
This suit has plenty of elastic in the lower part -- so it is fairly slimming -- but could use more support in the bust area. I'm not that well-endowed, yet felt I needed a bit more support. Ended up stitching up the front a bit to reduce cleavage concerns. The fabric and print are nice but there are a lot of fabric folds that billow out a bit when you're in the pool.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By Bridget, Customer LiaisonCustomer ServiceDecember 27, 2013
Please know we want you to be completely satisfied with your purchase. Remember our exchanges are always freight free! Please call us at 1-800-870-3513 to assist you with this purchase.
Review 17 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
kpeeze
Location:LA, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
If you have a large chest, forget this one
Date:December 3, 2013
No support for "my girls". It actually made them look larger and smashed down. Not a good look. Returning this.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
flamary
Location:naples
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Also not for me
Date:December 3, 2013
I loved this suit when I opened the package, however, once I tried it on, it does not fit correctly for me. The "bottom" is too large and the straps too long. I considered ordering a size down, but am afraid those issues would remain. Color and pattern are beautiful (I ordered the jade)
Review 19 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MomCoo
Location:Chicago
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Best for Pear Shaped Women (not for me)
Date:November 20, 2013
I'd been interested in this suit and I finally decided to order it when I saw extra 30% off clearance with free shipping. Since I got it so cheap I won't be returning it but it's not as fantastic on me as most others seem to say. I'm short, wide shouldered, and quite flat chested <36B> with a small bottom <size 4 pants> <so I'm a reversed triangle>. The plunging neckline only makes me look flatter. The shirring around the tummy is nice to hide my imperfect post baby middle. I think this suit would be great for a pear shaped woman. The material is nice, the color is nice<love the dark gray!> and the price is great, so if it fits you, it's a great buy!
Review 20 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stuff
Location:CA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Super soft
Date:September 24, 2013
I can't believe how soft this swimsuit is. I like the lines of this suit. And i agree that the pleats and the prints are flattering. My only complaint would be that sometimes I look down to find that the lining is showing. I love that the bra cups are sewn in. Would like for the lining that is sometimes showing around the legs/butt be remedied.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>