Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit

Retro-active! A plunging neckline and well-placed pleats make for a most flattering silhouette, even if you've missed a pilates class (or three). This year we've improved the fit a bit based on your request for a sleeker line. Soft molded cups provide light support and shaping. Lightweight, silky-luxe nylon/spandex; UPF 50 sun protection Lined Imported This suit runs true to size.
Average Customer Rating:
4.257 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (187 reviews)
5 stars
108
4 stars
40
3 stars
20
2 stars
17
1 star
2
159 of 18785%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Review 1 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
FitForMonkee
Location:Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Not for my build
Date:July 28, 2015
I have had, and loved, GH suits before. Not this one, and I so wanted to love it. I am 5'6", and a 14-16 -- a little curvier on bottom, but pretty hourglass-ish. The dip in front was obscene (and I'm not shy about showing cleavage). It dipped well below where my bra ends in the middle (think JLo's green dress), and the straps fall off my shoulders. They are about 2" too long, and I don't typically have this problem with suits, tank tops, etc. I am at risk of popping out whenever I move, not great for chasing a 6 year old around the pool. Also, when I readjust the seat, the liner stretches, and pops out the sides, and looks like a diaper. The ruching is nice, there's good tummy support without the feeling of being a packed in sardine like you get with "control" suits, and the openings are high, without being too much. The top was just a mess for me, as was the liner part in the back. I may see if I can send it back (I've worn it once), and if not, will see if I can get the straps taken in and the middle sewn together.
Review 2 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
AccidentalMidwesterner
Location:Fresno, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Pretty suit, but...
Date:July 27, 2015
Not for me. There isn't much support in the bust and no way to shorten the straps. I'm not particularly busty, but it made me look very saggy. And it was baggy in the seat. I've become accustomed to more support in my swimsuits and this one didn't have much. I sent it back.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison July 29, 2015
You're right, there is no way to shorten/tighten the straps on this Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit. Perhaps a different style swimsuit would offer a better fit. Give us a call, we'd love to discuss other options with you.
Review 3 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Engelein
Location:Danbury, CT.
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Very Nice swimsuit but......
Date:July 26, 2015
I am only 5'2' and this beautiful swimsuit has got to be returned. I am so sorry but the length was way to long for me. (like 4 ').
I wish that there were more petite sized bathing suits.
Review 4 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PaintedPony
Fits Perfectly
Date:July 20, 2015
Adorable and well made with nice fabric. It runs true to size and is very comfortable wet and dry. I'm 55 and feel it's most appropriate with nice coverage and attractiveness at the same time.
Review 5 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pickymom2
Location:michigan
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
beautiful suit but difficult fit
Date:July 18, 2015
this is really a nice suit..but i think you need a very specific body type and i'm not sure what it is..i am typically a size 2-4, 5'5 and 115-120..absolutely NO chest. i first ordered a 2 that felt too snug and too short, exchanged it for the 4 that felt exactly the same. i didn't want to bother trying a size 6 because i assume it won't be much different. it does look very nice..it is more a question of feeling it is a bit too snug and that it rides up in the back and i am constantly tugging on it which i don't like. however anyone who has seen it thinks i'm crazy that it might not fit and i've received lots of compliments. it definitely looks like the picture. i got the gray polka dots and it is very pretty.
Review 6 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fluffy2
Location:New Hampshire
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
well made; not a style for me
Date:July 14, 2015
This suit is very well constructed - material is sufficiently heavy and I love the print (Garden). Unfortunately, the fit of the top did not work well for my body.
Review 7 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sundog
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Flattering
Date:July 13, 2015
I love this suit! It is very flattering, and the second Garnet Hill swimsuit!
Review 8 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stacy1122
Location:Fairbanks
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Very Flattering Swimsuit
Date:June 13, 2015
This swimsuit is very flattering and functional. I have purchased the midnight stripe and the grey polka dot. Both are very classy. If between sizes i would size up.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rozzie
Location:Rochester, NY
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Date:June 6, 2015
Bathing suit fit at my size as advertised and I liked the color and the shape.
Review 10 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaryJ
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great swimsuit.
Date:May 21, 2015
This suit is great for hiding one's middle section. It is tight around the waist and holds everything in. The fabric is silky soft and feels good too. I am very pleased.
Review 11 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sryder
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
found it!
Date:May 1, 2015
So happy to find this suit- can't believe I actually wear an 8 in a bathing suit. I wear 8 in clothing but usually go up for suits, after reading the reviews decided to try my size and it fits perfectly. Very pretty, I like the low cut but it could be improved with an underwire. For size referenceI am about 5" 5' and 127 #s.
Review 12 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sandyk
Location:Leesburg, VA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
My favorite suit in years!
Date:April 30, 2015
I loved this suit so much I bought it in two other colors. Comfortable and forgiving! I am 6' and although this wasn't a tall size, it was long!
Review 13 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chanelgirl
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Waistline Appears 3 Inches Slimmer!
Date:April 28, 2015
Ordered the black stripe which I love. The stripe print (even though horizontal) along with the ruching takes inches off the waistline--it's amazing. Neckline is very flattering. The straps are wider than I'm used to, but are an interesting statement.
Review 14 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ginia
Location:Raleigh, NC, USA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
pretty polkas
Date:April 17, 2015
This suit is so cute on. Fits well. Very flattering & comfortable. Only thing I'd say is it could be a tad short if you're a long torso, but I'll run with it. Really love GH swim suits !
Review 15 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mandis
Location:South Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Wow
Date:April 12, 2015
This swimsuit fit my hourglass curves to a tee. It held up very well at the beach and I was able to comfortably play in the waves without slippage.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
acara
Location:USA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
For some not for others
Date:April 2, 2015
My problem is I have a long torso -- I am not complaining, it's good. But a good fitting swimsuit is difficult to find. Usually I end up buying a size 8 suit just to get a little lentth. 6 is more my size. I liked this suit a lot but I needed length. I felt that a size 8 in this suit would not work as it's somewhat revealing at the chest. I would have loved it if it fit right for my long torso.
Review 17 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GAPeach400
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Swimsuit search ends here!
Date:March 27, 2015
I bet I buy 3 suits a year in hopes of finding the perfect suit..I am a mom in my 30's and my average size is between a 6-8. I realized I need to bite the bullet and just try a one piece.. It's been tough for me to accept the fact that tankinis just don't look flattering on me. I need tummy support but didn't want to look too matronly. This one piece is amazing! I got the grey dot pattern and it is gorgeous. The neckline is not too low but still sexy and the rouching around the tummy isn't bunched up looking like a lot of the other swimsuits I've tried. I plan to get the black and white stripped pattern as well. Please offer this suit in some modern patterns to appeal to us moms that don't want to look like moms! Thanks Garnet Hill my search is over!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Riverqueen1714
Location:PA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Love Love Love it
Date:March 24, 2015
I absolutely love this suit. So mush that I got a second one in a different design. It has a great fit!
Review 19 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NJandFL
Location:Chatham, NJ and Vero Beach, Florida
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great swimsuit
Date:March 20, 2015
I/ve got two of these Retro swimsuits - one solid and one print. I always get compliments when I wear them. The rouching makes for a flattering, comfotable fit. I am in my mid 50s and a size 6 and found the fit true to size and the style very good for my age.
Review 20 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kitelady
Location:plymouth MI
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Date:March 18, 2015
First one piece I have bought in quite some time. Very comfortable but wished I had bought one size smaller. Top very roomy but still worked for smaller bust size. Great tummy control.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>