Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit

This retro style combines a plunging neckline, well-placed pleats, and camouflaging prints — much appreciated if you've missed a Pilates class (or two). This year we've improved the fit a bit based on your request for a sleeker line. Soft molded cups provide light support and shaping. Lightweight, luxe nylon/spandex with UPF 50. Lined. Imported. This suit runs true to size.
Average Customer Rating:
4.223 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (157 reviews)
5 stars
89
4 stars
34
3 stars
16
2 stars
16
1 star
2
132 of 15784%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Review 1 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mimishka
Location:Boston area
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not for me
Date:July 24, 2014
I loved this suit but, for my body type—which does not have a slim middle—the suit didn't really flatter me the way I had hoped. So sadly I sent it back.
The fabric was really nice, and I liked the tank top style. It was slightly low between the bust - not racy-low, but low.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonJuly 30, 2014
We hope when you returned the swimsuit, you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to another one of our great items.
Review 2 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jacefk
Location:Narragansett, RI
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
After a couple of adjustments, a great suit!
Date:July 19, 2014
I loved the way this suit looked in the pictures, and after reading the reviews about how long it runs, I decided to "take the plunge" but order it down a size from my usual bathing suit size - an 8 rather than a 10. When I tried it, it seemed pretty good but I thought I might just shorten the shoulders a tad for a better fit. But something made me just put it in a drawer without removing the tags and did nothing. Then it went on sale and I said, hmmm I think I'll just try still another size smaller. Sure enough, when the 6 came, it's pretty perfect! I returned the 8 (good premonition not to take the tags off) and Garnet Hill even gave me a refund of the full price I paid even though the suit was now on sale and I no longer had my receipt! Very happy! My only wish (4 rather than 5 stars) is for a little more bust support.
Review 3 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
katdog
Location:Middle TN
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
hiding factor
Date:July 19, 2014
suit does exactly what it says it will do. I will stitch up the deep plunge but that's just me. others may like it that low.
Review 4 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LynDSmith
Location:Eden VT
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
So close to perfect...
Date:July 12, 2014
I bought this item in midnight and fuchia. I am so disappointed because I loooooved the prints and material and they fit perfectly, except the straps which opened serious potential for wardrobe malfunction. I am 5'8" and 220 lbs with a B/C cup and bought size 16. Unless you are a full B or not-so-shy D, think twice about purchasing this suit. There was about 3-4 inches of extra fabric in the straps which I could have taken up. Loved it but I shouldn't have to alter a suit that costs this much.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison July 14, 2014
We love the prints and material of the Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit as well. We're sad to hear the style of the straps didn't work and would love to help with a freight free exchange; perhaps a different style in the same print would better suit you. Give us a call any time if we can help, 800-870-3513.
Review 5 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SimoneSays
Location:St. Louis
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Perfect for my long torso
Date:July 7, 2014
I read the reviews before ordering, and many said this was too long. So I thought, "This might be the swimsuit for me", and it is! I have a longer torso and this is a very flattering suit. It fits to size, I'm 5'7", about 130 lbs., pear-shaped, longer torso and the 6 fits me perfectly. I can walk around without it riding up! The fabric is the softest and silkiest I've ever experienced in a swimsuit. I bought the grey dot and it is very cute in a retro way. The only downside is that it's not very flattering to my 50-something year old sagging bustline :-). Needs more support. Underwire would make it perfect. Can't wait to wear this on my beach vacation next month!!
Review 6 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
gigixxxx
Location:Florida Keys
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great suit
Date:July 6, 2014
The suit fits perfect. I am 5'5'', 135 pounds usually wear a size 8 or 10. I called Garnet Hill before ordering the suit because in their two piece I wear a size 6 on top but a size 10 on the bottom. A size 8 was recommended and it fits great. Loved the material and the color.
Review 7 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cabogrl
Location:Pueblo, CO>
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Very cute
Date:July 3, 2014
I got this in the midnight stripe, very cute just not me. I didn't keep the suit but it is very well made and for the price (on sale) so worth it. I'm just not a pattern girl so I just didn't like the way it looked on me. Had nothing to do with the suit. Pretty low v in front but sexy...and covers.
Review 8 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
shelbyv
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Love the Print on Fuchsia
Date:July 1, 2014
I ordered a size 12 (which I normally wear in swimwear) but it was too big so I had a return for a 10. Received within a week so I loved that the turnaround was fast. I also love the print. The fit was just okay. I ordered this on sale but I probably wouldn't have ordered for full price.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonJuly 2, 2014
We're glad to hear that you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to try another size.
Review 9 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JenCB
Location:NY state
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
fantastic cut, look, quality.
Date:June 30, 2014
great suit. snug enough to give a little tummy support, but still comfortable.
Review 10 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
escott
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
lovely suit
Date:June 28, 2014
I love this suit, it is very flattering.
I bought a size smaller because the straps are too long and they are not adjustable so the cups collect water as I swim.
Review 11 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsAFS
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Great for that post baby body!
Date:June 28, 2014
This bathing suit is beautiful. I have two kids, and though I work out, I need a little more "tummy control" than I used to. This has a low enough neckline to be sexy, but still takes inches off the middle (in the front and back!). Even my husband noticed how much thinner my abdomen looked. It is kind of thicker fabric, since there are so many layers, but not so much that I am hot. Just thought I would mention that. I got the black suit, and I am considering getting one in another color!
Review 12 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
martamo
Location:St. Louis
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Cute suit, just not for me
Date:June 27, 2014
I found the straps too wide -- would make weird tan lines. And I couldn't decide if I liked all the slimming material inside the suit or whether it made the suit feel heavy.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison June 29, 2014
We're sorry to hear this style swimsuit wasn't for you. We have several other styles in our swimwear collection and would love to help with a freight free exchange. Give us a call any time, 800-870-3513
Review 13 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MomAlyt
Location:West Chester, PA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Yay!!!
Date:June 19, 2014
Thank you so much for listening to us! I bought (and returned) this suit last year. Not this year... I bought two! Great fabrics and just enough "sexy" for this old gal. Yes - the suit is low cut, but is IS a bathing suit after all!
Review 14 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
gryph
Location:new york, new york
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Terrific One-Piece
Date:June 18, 2014
Comfortable, adorable and true to size. I usually prefer two piece suits but the Midnight Black Stripe really caught my eye.
I normally wear a 2 or 4 and the 4 fit perfectly.
Review 15 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
stphint
Location:Leawood Kansas
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
It's going back
Date:June 16, 2014
I didn't like this suit at all. I was surprise since there were so many positive reviews. I felt like I was going to fall out of the top. There is no support and I am not large chested. I wasn't sure if I was going to fall out of the top or the sides. Sadly, I am sending it back.
Review 16 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PhillyMomof2
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Long torso, had to return
Date:May 31, 2014
Loved the gray dot print, wanted to keep this but couldn't. Torso very long, would have been incredibly baggy in the water Quality and construction solid, flattering to a problem tummy with nice ruching. For sizing reference: bought size 10, I'm 5'4" 145 lb, average torso length, 36 A-B, pear-shaped, wear size 8-12 pants and smaller tops.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison June 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We offer many other styles in our swimwear collection that may offer a better fit. Give us a call if we can help with a return or freight free exchange.
Review 17 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Klock
Location:Columbia , SC
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Good for smaller bust
Date:May 20, 2014
This suit is very pretty and flattering to those like me that consider their tummy to be a trouble area. However, I am a D cup and have a hard time not falling out up top while swimming. That is the reason for lower score.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lizzzzzzz
Location:PA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Date:May 20, 2014
loved the swimsuit, feel it is very flattering! cant wait to wear it this summer
Review 19 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gingikins
Location:Port Angeles , WA.
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Very pleased!
Date:May 19, 2014
This is the second time I have purchased this suit-last year I got, it in the black and white stripe (took it to Europe on vacation) and recieved lots of compliments. I lost twenty five lbs this year so I bought it in a smaller size in black. I can't rave enough about how well this suit fits and how comfortable it is!
Review 20 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
peticular
Location:Central Coast, CA
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
great suit
Date:May 18, 2014
This suit is comfortable, flattering, feminine, and classic. It is easy to wear. Considering buying in black too as it would be the perfect suit for any occasion; playing at the beach with my kids, laying by a pool, on vacation with my husband, sailing or standup paddle boarding.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>