Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit

Retro-active! A plunging neckline and well-placed pleats make for a most flattering silhouette, even if you've missed a pilates class (or three). This year we've improved the fit a bit based on your request for a sleeker line. Soft molded cups provide light support and shaping. Lightweight, silky-luxe nylon/spandex; UPF 50 sun protection Lined Imported This suit runs true to size.
Average Customer Rating:
4.272 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (195 reviews)
5 stars
114
4 stars
41
3 stars
21
2 stars
17
1 star
2
167 of 19586%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Review 1 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lexington , VA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great suit
Date:August 29, 2015
I have wanted this suit for 2 years, but my size in gray dot was always sold out when it went on sale. Persistence paid off this year and it was worth the wait. The fit is perfect, love the color, and the fabric is wonderful. Now if I just had a beach handy.
Review 2 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Beautiful Suit
Date:August 24, 2015
This is a beautiful suit. The quality is top notch, and the fit is very slimming and flattering. I love the color. I would purchase this again!
Review 3 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
stylish, comfortable, and very flattering
Date:August 15, 2015
I have tried on several suits in an attempt to find the perfect one. I think I've come as close to perfect as I'm going to with this suit. it is so comfy, it hugs without constricting, looks great, and has enough going on with the fabric and suit design that any little imperfections are well masked. I am 5'2" and 105 lbs, and initially went with a size 4. one piece swimsuits usually run a little short thru the torso on me, as this one also did. I went up to a 6, and everything still fits just fine with a little more length, so I'm keeping the 6. I found very little difference in the two sizes, actually, aside from that little bit of extra length thru the torso. the plunging neckline is not too revealing, and overall, this is a great suit!! in comparison, I also tried the Garnet Hill Signature Surplice suit, and altho I liked it a lot, I couldn't get the right fit. Size 4 was a bit tight (I am used to two piece suits, don't really like feeling a tight suit all day) and size 6 was comfortable but too long thru the torso.
Review 4 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Flattering!
Date:August 13, 2015
I am a fit and youthful 60+ year old and still enjoy the beach, pool and hot tub so still need to have bathing suits in my wardrobe. The "well placed pleats" disguise a less than flat tummy and the straps are wide enough to cover up other flaws. I bought the matching rashguard for a cover-up. I am very happy with this suit and bought it in 3 fabrics!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
This swimsuit was made for me....
Date:August 9, 2015
As a mature woman this swimsuit is ideal for my body type it conceals my flaws and accentuate my assets. I will be going to Bermuda at the end of August and can't wait to wear it!!! Thank you Garnet Hill!!!
Review 6 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Omaha, NE
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Date:August 6, 2015
Soft, lovely fabric, wonderful style, fit is true to slightly big. Very flattering. No "5" because no underwires - every suit should have these - I would love it if this suit had these in the future. Also rather miffed that the navy was not on sale when other colors/prints were.
Review 7 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Grapevine, TX
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Hides all the imperfections!
Date:August 6, 2015
I am loving this suit, its feminine, tasteful and yet hides a little tummy beautifully. Very comfortable to wear, a great purchase.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Cute but dips low
Date:August 2, 2015
This suit is really cute but it dips very low in front and the soft cup doesn't offer much support for a bust that is not perky. An underwire would have been perfect!. In fact, this suit would work well for someone who has large breasts because there is a lot of fabric to fill on the top. As described, it really does have a plunging neckline (keep in mind that the model has a perfect figure and small bust). I have a short torso and probably should have ordered a petite -- maybe then the straps would be shorter and hold the bust up better, but this will do. I might modify the straps by reattaching and crossing them in back or bringing them together with a piece of fabric at the back so the neckline/cleavage area does not gap so much in front. -- I think it will be more supportive if the straps sit closer to the neck. Otherwise it's very, very well made... lots of fabric and ruching, just as described. I like it a lot but wish I looked better in a swimsuit. Lol. I'm a little fat in the middle so the ruching helps hold it in. The legs are cut normal, not high. There is an extra layer of fabric over the bust area so nothing shows through, and the soft cups are quite padded.
Review 9 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Not for my build
Date:July 28, 2015
I have had, and loved, GH suits before. Not this one, and I so wanted to love it. I am 5'6", and a 14-16 -- a little curvier on bottom, but pretty hourglass-ish. The dip in front was obscene (and I'm not shy about showing cleavage). It dipped well below where my bra ends in the middle (think JLo's green dress), and the straps fall off my shoulders. They are about 2" too long, and I don't typically have this problem with suits, tank tops, etc. I am at risk of popping out whenever I move, not great for chasing a 6 year old around the pool. Also, when I readjust the seat, the liner stretches, and pops out the sides, and looks like a diaper. The ruching is nice, there's good tummy support without the feeling of being a packed in sardine like you get with "control" suits, and the openings are high, without being too much. The top was just a mess for me, as was the liner part in the back. I may see if I can send it back (I've worn it once), and if not, will see if I can get the straps taken in and the middle sewn together.
Review 10 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Fresno, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Pretty suit, but...
Date:July 27, 2015
Not for me. There isn't much support in the bust and no way to shorten the straps. I'm not particularly busty, but it made me look very saggy. And it was baggy in the seat. I've become accustomed to more support in my swimsuits and this one didn't have much. I sent it back.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison July 29, 2015
You're right, there is no way to shorten/tighten the straps on this Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit. Perhaps a different style swimsuit would offer a better fit. Give us a call, we'd love to discuss other options with you.
Review 11 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Danbury, CT.
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Very Nice swimsuit but......
Date:July 26, 2015
I am only 5'2' and this beautiful swimsuit has got to be returned. I am so sorry but the length was way to long for me. (like 4 ').
I wish that there were more petite sized bathing suits.
Review 12 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fits Perfectly
Date:July 20, 2015
Adorable and well made with nice fabric. It runs true to size and is very comfortable wet and dry. I'm 55 and feel it's most appropriate with nice coverage and attractiveness at the same time.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:michigan
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
beautiful suit but difficult fit
Date:July 18, 2015
this is really a nice suit..but i think you need a very specific body type and i'm not sure what it is..i am typically a size 2-4, 5'5 and 115-120..absolutely NO chest. i first ordered a 2 that felt too snug and too short, exchanged it for the 4 that felt exactly the same. i didn't want to bother trying a size 6 because i assume it won't be much different. it does look very nice..it is more a question of feeling it is a bit too snug and that it rides up in the back and i am constantly tugging on it which i don't like. however anyone who has seen it thinks i'm crazy that it might not fit and i've received lots of compliments. it definitely looks like the picture. i got the gray polka dots and it is very pretty.
Review 14 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Hampshire
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
well made; not a style for me
Date:July 14, 2015
This suit is very well constructed - material is sufficiently heavy and I love the print (Garden). Unfortunately, the fit of the top did not work well for my body.
Review 15 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Flattering
Date:July 13, 2015
I love this suit! It is very flattering, and the second Garnet Hill swimsuit!
Review 16 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fairbanks
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Very Flattering Swimsuit
Date:June 13, 2015
This swimsuit is very flattering and functional. I have purchased the midnight stripe and the grey polka dot. Both are very classy. If between sizes i would size up.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Rochester, NY
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Date:June 6, 2015
Bathing suit fit at my size as advertised and I liked the color and the shape.
Review 18 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great swimsuit.
Date:May 21, 2015
This suit is great for hiding one's middle section. It is tight around the waist and holds everything in. The fabric is silky soft and feels good too. I am very pleased.
Review 19 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
found it!
Date:May 1, 2015
So happy to find this suit- can't believe I actually wear an 8 in a bathing suit. I wear 8 in clothing but usually go up for suits, after reading the reviews decided to try my size and it fits perfectly. Very pretty, I like the low cut but it could be improved with an underwire. For size referenceI am about 5" 5' and 127 #s.
Review 20 for Garnet Hill Retro Ruched One-Piece Swimsuit
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Leesburg, VA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
My favorite suit in years!
Date:April 30, 2015
I loved this suit so much I bought it in two other colors. Comfortable and forgiving! I am 6' and although this wasn't a tall size, it was long!
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>