Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Starlet Knit Dress

Luscious jersey knit and our own artistic prints beg the question, where did you find that? Surplice neckline dips softly in front. Empire waist; falls easily to above-knee length. Front pockets. Lined bodice. Viscose/elastane. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.581 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (621 reviews)
5 stars
439
4 stars
122
3 stars
45
2 stars
12
1 star
3
570 of 62192%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for Starlet Knit Dress
Review 1 for Starlet Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
atxKaren
Date:July 19, 2014
The waist is a bit of an empire waist. Then there is a bit of gathering. Wound up looking like I was pregnant or trying to hide a big tummy. Not flattering. Will be returning it.
Review 2 for Starlet Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Annamae
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Simply flattering
Date:July 17, 2014
I've bought this dress in 3 different prints/colors. The fabric is soft, comfortable and washes well. It's a dress that can easily be dressed up or down. Most importantly the cut is very flattering -- a staple of my summer wardrobe.
Review 3 for Starlet Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ny4agirl
Location:upstate NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
disappointed
Date:July 16, 2014
Had hoped this would fit like the Garden Party dress, which unfortunately has no bright colors remaining. This dress, unlined, has more similarity with a house dress and the excess crossover material bunches in the middle. At 5' 4" and 130, the S was plenty big enough and it did not make me feel pretty, which is the goal of any dress. Exchanging for something completely different!
Review 4 for Starlet Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
deviltiger
Location:South Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
so, so pretty
Date:July 13, 2014
This is a very beautifully made dress. Loved it so much that I ordered another. An excellent dress in every way.
Review 5 for Starlet Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
raf102
Location:metro NJ/NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Best dress purchase all year
Date:July 9, 2014
Wow, I love this dress. It is stylish, easy to dress up or down, and so comfortable. I wore it on a recent trip and I was amazed at how wonderful it was for the plane ride. It's long enough to cover your upper legs, and with a cardigan, it was perfect. I am 5'3, wear a size 6-8 dress and the small was perfect for me. I bought it in 3 prints: the rose, kaleidoscope, and ocean paisley when they were on sale. I had gone back to the site for the orchid print but sadly it was out of stock in my size. I plan to wear these dresses all summer and hope it comes back in more prints next year.
Review 6 for Starlet Knit Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reeeeeeeta
Location:Connecticut
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Not What I Thought
Date:July 7, 2014
From the pictures in the catalogue, I thought this dress would have more shape to it. But when I put it on, it hung like a sheet. I am usually a medium, but this medium was very loose and I imagine even if I got an XS it would still drape off of me. So...if you want something fitted to show some curves, look elsewhere.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonJuly 8, 2014
We hope you take advantage of our freight free exchanges, since this dress style did not work for you. We have many other dress styles to choose from. If you need assistance please let us know. 1.800.870.3513
Review 7 for Starlet Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EGinNYC
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great travel dress
Date:July 4, 2014
Bought the ocean paisley in a Medium. I'm 5-6" and about 150lbs. Fit is great. Material is cool for summer days, with good swing, but sturdy enough that it isn't too clingy. Packs great for summer weekend trips - no iron necessary. Chest opens a bit, but used a bit of fashion tape for more conservative wear and was good to go.
Review 8 for Starlet Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
shopstoomuch
Location:Connecticut
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Nice dress but could be better
Date:July 2, 2014
This is an ok dress. Definitely runs bigger although I find that with all GH dresses. I always size down. Material is thin and the kaleidoscope dot does not have any black in it. It's dark purple. I am very surprised that more reviews didn't comment on the strange plastic running on the empire waist seam. Very surprising and uncomfortable. I noticed 2 previous GH dresses I own have the same thing BUT the plastic is on the inside not the part that touches you. Very disappointed that this was made this way. I am still undecided as to whether I am keeping because of this. I just don't know if I would wear this all the time because it's uncomfortable.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonJuly 8, 2014
Please know we want you to be completely satisfied with your dress. Our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 9 for Starlet Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Waulie
Location:Collegeville, PA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
very comfortable and flattering
Date:July 1, 2014
I love this dress- it is soft and flowing and vey flattering. I bought the ocean paisley and I love the colors. I have a small chest and the neckline was a little low cut for my liking but I stilllov ethe dress.
Review 10 for Starlet Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
levans
Location:St. Petersburg, FL
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Best dress ever
Date:June 30, 2014
Only problem with this dress is that I want to wear it every day. It's incredibly comfortable, fit is ideal. After 12 months of wear (Florida) the fabric from last year's dress is showing a bit of pilling but that is after almost weekly washings. I bought it when it was on sale.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonJuly 2, 2014
We love to hear when customers find an item, that is so comfortable, that they want to wear it every day! Thank you so much for your great feedback!
Review 11 for Starlet Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chsumpter
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Beautiful Dress
Date:June 28, 2014
This is an absolutely beautiful dress. It fits me perfectly and the rose pattern is even prettier in person. It fits perfectly and the pockets are convenient without adding bulk.
Review 12 for Starlet Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sportsgirl59
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
PERFECT Dress
Date:June 28, 2014
This is the dress that, when I find it, I will buy 3 or 4 in different prints if I like that many. It's flattering, comfortable, and inexpensive.The length is good, because I can wear it to work, but it's not too long. I am over 50, so I can't wear the shorter dresses.Please continue to offer this dress and make more prints! I LOVE it!
Review 13 for Starlet Knit Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AlliV
Location:Philadelphia
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Super thin fabric...
Date:June 27, 2014
The menthe color was beautiful. But the quality of this fabric was so thin, it showed every lump-bump-bra line-panty line...I had to return it. A patterned version of this dress may hide some of this a little bit but the solid color showed everything!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison June 30, 2014
We're sorry to hear the fabric of this dress didn't meet your expectations. We have several other options and would love to help with a return or freight free exchange. Give us a call at any time, 800.870.3513.
Review 14 for Starlet Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
warmthfreak
Location:new jersey
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
scratchy seams
Date:June 25, 2014
This dress has a really nice design, the well concealed pockets, that don't in the least bit affect the style, were a nice surprise, and i really want to keep 2 of the 3 colors i got, but the waist seam on one side is way to scratchy for comfort. Seems to be some sort of plastic in the seams. Kind of a strange complaint, but this is the second time i have this problem with a GH dress - one i bought a year ago on sale i can only wear with a camisole underneath, but this does defeat the purpose of it being a light summer dress. Wondering if i should bring these to a tailor and have them sew a piece of fabric over the seams. This is not a problem i usually have with dresses. Will contact GH to see if anything can be done. Don't see any other reviews stating this. My skin is moderately sensitive, but didn't think to that extent.
Review 15 for Starlet Knit Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DanainMD
Location:Maryland
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Disappointed
Date:June 23, 2014
I read so many positive reviews on this dress. Sadly, I returned it. I bought the medium in the tulip color. The color is beautiful. However, the dress didn't have much shape to it. I really like how its V-neck was not too plunging as many tend to be these days. Great price for a simple dress.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison June 24, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the shape of this dress. We hope you took advantage of our freight free exchanges to try another style that may better suit you.
Review 16 for Starlet Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
auctionlady
Location:Ohio
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Love this dress
Date:June 22, 2014
It looks great, feels great, and gets lots of compliments. Fits true to size. I like the little higher neckline this year.
Review 17 for Starlet Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CHike
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice easy summer dress
Date:June 19, 2014
Got this on a flash sale so price was great. Nice soft material. Easy to throw on in summer. I'm average build 5'8" at 150 and medium fits great.
Review 18 for Starlet Knit Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1happygardner
Location:Newburyport,Ma
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great summer dress
Date:June 19, 2014
This is a perfect dress for summer as it is so light and comfortable. The fabric drapes beautifully and is very flattering. You can either dress it up or down with accessories which also makes it a good choice! I purchased this on sale which was even better.
Review 19 for Starlet Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
textilegirl
Location:modesto, ca
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
ok, a little different from last year
Date:June 18, 2014
I got this dress last year in the black cherry print and love it, so ordered it in the blue paisley this year. It seemed bigger than last year's, and did not flatter me, maybe it was all the white in the print. But it's an adorable dress, and I've gotten a lot of use out of it. Love the retro prints.
Review 20 for Starlet Knit Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LisaH
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Roses are great
Date:June 18, 2014
The dress got a great reaction from my husband - and I like the light weight of the fabric, pockets, and the way it doesn't show any "bumps" -- I'm not crazy about the way it is cut-- I am aware of the seam under the bust. But the price (on sale) is right for a new casual summer dress that fits well and is cheerful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 32 next>>