Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Boyfriend Denim Shorts

There's nothing like a pair of easygoing denim shorts. Ours fit the bill in stretch denim with authentic five-pocket styling, a lower rise, and cuffs you can roll up or down. We rebooted the palette with softly muted neutrals that go with every single thing you pair their way. Fly front Belt loops Above-knee length unrolled Inseam (unrolled): 11 1/2" Cotton/spandex Imported Rise: Favorite (View our Pants Rise Guide )
Average Customer Rating:
4.331 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (172 reviews)
5 stars
104
4 stars
40
3 stars
14
2 stars
9
1 star
5
148 of 17286%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Boyfriend Denim Shorts
Review 1 for Boyfriend Denim Shorts
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mainegal
Location:Portland ME
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Love the Short But...
Date:May 12, 2015
The fabric was great and the overall style is good too but could not find a pair that fit. Legs very baggy went down to a size 2 and even those were too big. Tried both the denim and parchment colors...Does not work with my body...thin legs..= poor overall fit.
Review 2 for Boyfriend Denim Shorts
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
EveEve
Location:Fredericksburg VA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great, but depends on color/size?
Date:May 11, 2015
I now have 3 pairs in different colors. The first pair I bought years ago and have worn so often that they are finally looking a little aged. But they were so comfy that I bought two new pairs this year. The first pair (dark indigo color) arrived early, and fit perfectly. The natural/off white pair did not fit the same at all -- they are somehow snug at the waist in front and gap in the back at the same time. Don't know how that's possible! Hoping they will become more comfy as the denim washes/ages, as I don't think a size up or down will help and I really need something this color.
Review 3 for Boyfriend Denim Shorts
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Putzfee
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
nice Bermudas
Date:May 10, 2015
I like the color (got the light blue ones)
and the heavy jeans fabric.
Review 4 for Boyfriend Denim Shorts
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Yoga1
Location:Albany, NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not for me
Date:May 9, 2015
These shorts look completely different than they do on the models. the legs are like bloomers though the hips fit. The fabric is a bit odd as well, kinds of coarse. I realize these are boyfriend shorts but they are bloomer shorts for me and a really bad look. they are going back. I ordered the size 6 in the dark color.
Review 5 for Boyfriend Denim Shorts
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SNBVT
Location:Vermont
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Perfect fit
Date:April 29, 2015
These denim shorts fit perfectly and they are flattering. Nice slim legs work well with a long or a boxy top and also with slim tops. I love that you can adjust the length by rolling the legs up or down. I got the white and will definitely be purchasing another color as summer gets a little closer.
Review 6 for Boyfriend Denim Shorts
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
EvaD
Location:Charlottesville, VA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Denim too thin
Date:March 25, 2015
Unfortunately, these shorts aren't made like the denim shorts I purchased last year. This year, I bought the white and pale pink in a size 4. The pink pair fit but the white pair fit like a size 2. Also, the material is very thin and reveals underwear as well as the interior pockets. Sadly, these must be returned.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonApril 1, 2015
You do have to be careful with what colors you wear under light colored clothing, as they can show through.
Review 7 for Boyfriend Denim Shorts
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
freetobe
Location:Ky
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Date:March 19, 2015
Nothing has ever looked as bad on me as these shorts did. Wide legs and short rise made me look short and fat. Need I say more?
Review 8 for Boyfriend Denim Shorts
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Aggie
Location:VA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
very comfy, nice fitting
Date:March 19, 2015
Got these in parchment, a great go-with-everything color. These shorts will be great early spring and fall shorts due to the longer length and heavier weight jean material. Love how they are not tight on the thighs due to the design made to accommodate rolling (they don;t look good unrolled, the legs look bell-shaped when you do that) but not grandmotherly looking either.
Review 9 for Boyfriend Denim Shorts
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kzoo
Location:Kalamazoo, MI
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Lived in these last summer!
Date:March 18, 2015
I got the regular denim color last year and lived in them all summer. I love the longer length and the relaxed fit through the hips and thighs. I'm 5"5" and 125 with pretty straight hips, and the 4 fits very comfortably. Got the gray this year- very pretty neutral gray, and same fit as last year's pair.
Review 10 for Boyfriend Denim Shorts
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bluebayou
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
great shorts!
Date:March 18, 2015
They are a little long on me even when rolled up, I'm about 5'3. I had them altered and they are great. I love the blue floral so summery. I'm normally a 12 and the 12 fit well.
Review 11 for Boyfriend Denim Shorts
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ShannonT
Location:Hillsborough, NC
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Sizing Off
Date:March 13, 2015
I ordered a size 6, as recommended by the TrueFit. The rise was too short, so I am exchanging for my regular size, 8, in hopes that will work better. I don't mind a looser overall fit if the waist is comfortable, and for that I need a higher rise. I also ordered the Parchment, which looks tan in the picture but is really more of an ecru, much brighter and whiter than pictured. I am exchanging for a denim pair.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 18, 2015
We're glad to hear you are taking advantage of our freight free exchanges to try another size. If you need any assistance please contact us at 1.800.870.3513.
Review 12 for Boyfriend Denim Shorts
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
natalia123
Location:Cleveland, Ohio
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Pleasant Surprise
Date:February 24, 2015
I have never ordered pants or shorts from Garnet Hill simply because I didn't know my sizing with this company. I have ordered dresses, tops and coats only. I took a chance when this was on sale of the day. Sure glad I did. I ordered correctly using the TrueFit. By entering in my size in other brand clothing it helped me determine my size in Garnet Hill clothing. The TrueFit really does work. I am five foot 3 inch and 126 pounds. I have a rather slim build and the size 4 fit perfect. I like that these shorts can be worn longer which some may prefer or rolled up for a casual and shorter style. The material is very soft and comfortable. I got the floral which was on the sale of the day. I would order more colors especially the white and / or denim. So happy with this purchase.
Review 13 for Boyfriend Denim Shorts
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lighthouselady
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
perfect length
Date:February 11, 2015
I ordered the mint green on sale and I'm pleased that it wasn't as bright a color as in the picture. I'm 5'6, 114 lbs with slim hips and the 4 fits well, but is a tiny bit tight. A lot of the reviewers said they run large but I don't think these run large at all, and will order another pair in a 6.
Review 14 for Boyfriend Denim Shorts
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
andeels
Location:Los Angeles
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Weird legs
Date:January 27, 2015
While the waist and butt fit are great, as well as the material, the legs are all wrong unless you have super skinny legs. The shorts flare out when up or down. Too much material. I am 5'5", 145 athletic build (more booty and legs) and I bought the 10.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonFebruary 21, 2015
We provide the garment measurements under the "Measurements" tab to assist you in getting the right fit. If you need any assistance, please contact us at 1.800.870.3513.
Review 15 for Boyfriend Denim Shorts
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MaryJ
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
good fit with a little stretch
Date:September 2, 2014
These are tight when you first put them on, but they stretch out. I am 130 lbs and the 6 fits me. I have the white and blue denim. They wash well and still look good after a year
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Boyfriend Denim Shorts
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Leesee
Location:Santa Monica, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Poor Fit for Curvier Figures
Date:August 22, 2014
I am always looking for pants/shorts/skirts that fit my body type. I have a smallish waist but a "bubble butt". It is very difficult to find bottoms that have enough room in the rear end, but are not too big everywhere else. I ordered the correct size, but I ran into this problem with these shorts. The rear fit, but there was way too much fabric in the front, by the fly. Boyfriend cuts are usually right for my body type, but this one didn't work. Also,since I bought it from the Clearance section, color choices were limited. it wasn't available in solid colors, so I tried the print. Not pretty nor flattering.
Review 17 for Boyfriend Denim Shorts
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Zapatos
Location:Fort Worth
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Uh, these were so wrong!
Date:August 21, 2014
While I loved that these shorts were on sale and I read the reviews and ordered them anyway. These shorts were awful on my 5.0" body. I bought the stripped ones and the legs went down to my knee caps and when rolled up they made me look even shorter and really stumpy! One must really be tall to pull these off. Something I am not. :(
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonAugust 30, 2014
Thank you for your note! We have shared your comments with our Design team for further review. Remember our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 18 for Boyfriend Denim Shorts
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mija
Location:central mid texas
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Cute
Date:August 13, 2014
Purchased a size 8 - they really run large but all's good. Good quality material. Wash and dry well.
Review 19 for Boyfriend Denim Shorts
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
scimmia
Location:FL
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great shorts, bought second pair
Date:August 4, 2014
Like them, good length and price. Just know they are a boyfriend cut - a little wide at the knee.
Review 20 for Boyfriend Denim Shorts
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
winddance
Location:Anchorage AK
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Denim Shorts
Date:August 2, 2014
Ordered 3, and I did not really like them all.I wanted to wear without roll up, but they are too wide. Also it is less cost then send them back from Alaska.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison August 6, 2014
Remember, we offer freight free exchanges! Give us a call at 800.870.3513 and we'd be glad to assist you.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>