Product Reviews

Five-Pocket Pencil Skirt - Regular

We've added classic five-pocket styling to a must-have skirt in everyday stretch denim. Slim silhouette sits slightly lower on the hips. Knee length. Back vent for ease. Cotton/spandex. Imported. Regular length: 22" Petite length: approx. 21" This pencil skirt has a straight, slim fit through the hips. If you are between sizes or desire a more relaxed fit, order one size up.
Average Customer Rating:
3.911 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
18
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
3
41 of 5673%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Five-Pocket Pencil Skirt - Regular
Review 1 for Five-Pocket Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Abc234
Location:Sammamish, WA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Darling skirt!
Date:April 21, 2014
This skirt is exactly what I wanted for spring and summer weather. The fit is perfect. I am 5'8" and 160lbs; I have slim athletic legs and carry my weight around my middle and upper torso, so I was a little skeptical that the skirt would fit me around the waist area and still look slim in the thigh area. Again, it's perfect! There is a wee bit of stretch, so it does not bunch up and fits all my "curves". Of course getting it on sale is a bonus; Garnet Hill quality is solid (good) as well. Definitely would recommend this skirt.
Review 2 for Five-Pocket Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Feather1
Location:Houston, TX
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great skirt!
Date:April 12, 2014
This skirt is true to size and fits well. It's flattering and I like the length. Comfortable and goes with just about any top.
Review 3 for Five-Pocket Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
americangirl
Location:Spokane
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Cute skirt but hard to size
Date:April 11, 2014
I decided to get this in a 6 as usually I am a 2 or 4 in skirts. The skirt originally looked good but immediately stretched so much I am returning and ordering a 4 in both regular and petite so I can hopefully get right size. As for the skirt it is great however the zipper of the skirt is not as smooth as I had hoped for. I don't like that area as it sticks out- making it impossible to wear a shirt out. They look to bulky over the zipper area. I am hoping a size down will solve this problem.
Review 4 for Five-Pocket Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mimishka
Location:Boston area
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Too long
Date:February 6, 2014
I ordered and returned this skirt because it was too long. I am 5'2" and both the overall length, and the length in the rise was too long. The rise was especially odd, because when I sat it bunched up. Too bad, as I really liked the skirt.
Response from Garnet Hill:By MeganCustomer LiaisonApril 17, 2014
Thanks so much for your note! Keep in mind, we share the length of this skirt by size on the 'Measurements' tab. If you have any questions regarding your return or exchange don't hesitate to reach out!
Review 5 for Five-Pocket Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jcd43
Location:atlanta
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
a bit bunchy around the pockets
Date:February 5, 2014
I love the skirt. Haven't had a denim skirt before and I like having one but it seems to get bunchy around the pockets and won't lay flat. This happened after a few washings. Not sure if I need a different size.
Review 6 for Five-Pocket Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Kippers5
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice Spring Skirt
Date:February 4, 2014
I am typically a petite size 4 or 6 in skirts. After reading other reviews I ordered a size 8 petite but needed to return for a size 6 petite. I am 5 foot, 2 " and will need to have the skirt hemmed an inch or so to fall slighly above the knee.
Review 7 for Five-Pocket Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MLS2411
Location:Colorado
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
White denim skirt
Date:February 1, 2014
Well made and fits great. I ordered a petite length to keep it from being over my knees, but it is well above my knees... Oh well, it can sit lower on my hips as well. Really well made and sturdy denim that will last a long time.
Review 8 for Five-Pocket Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SandraInAustin
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Five Pocket Pencil Skirt -Petite
Date:February 1, 2014
I usually wear 6 in petite sizes (5'3 120-lb weight evenly distributed), but ordered an 8P because most of the reviews said to size up 1-2 sizes. Well, the 8P was to big, so I sent it back in exchange for a 6P, which fit perfect. I like the way the skirt fits, but not crazy about the denim and styling. The denim color looks slightly dirty to me -- I know it's supposed to be distressed looking, but I don't love this particular shade of denim. The seam down the front isn't quite centered, which bugs me but people probably won't notice. If I had paid full price I would send it back, but this was priced very low on clearance, so I decided to keep it. I might try this in white next season.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 11, 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback. Please know if you are not completely satisfied, you can always exchange or return.
Review 9 for Five-Pocket Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
debb24
Location:New York
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Not Flattering on me
Date:January 28, 2014
I really wanted to like this skirt but it does not look good on my 5' 2 inch frame. I also did not expect the back slit to be so high. Sadly, must return.
Response from Garnet Hill:By CherieCustomer LiaisonJanuary 29, 2014
We apologize the fit did not work for you! Call us for help with return if needed.
Review 10 for Five-Pocket Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
maturingmama52
Location:SW Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Just what I was looking for
Date:January 26, 2014
Been looking for awhile for a nice denim skirt. Found it in this skirt; fits well and looks nice. What more can you ask of a skirt?
Review 11 for Five-Pocket Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Azinnia
Location:Rhode Island
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great value
Date:January 26, 2014
Great fit. Comfortable fabric. Purchased on sale at a great price.
Review 12 for Five-Pocket Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jenttn2
Location:Orange County, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Love this purhase
Date:January 24, 2014
Fits great and is true to size. And I got this item on sale!
Review 13 for Five-Pocket Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BayAreaOnlineShopper
Location:Bay Area, CA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great denim pencil skirt!
Date:December 19, 2013
I sized up to a 4P after reading reviews, as I'm typically a size 2 and 5' 2" in other brands, and they fit pretty well. Did contemplate sizing down as I Haven't worn them all day to determine amount do stretching that might occur. Denim itself is on the thinner side for me, but feels soft rather than stiff, and moves well.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Five-Pocket Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
michmom
Location:Upper Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
VERY nice jean skirt!
Date:December 10, 2013
This is my second of these skirts. I LOVE my first one and thought it a good idea to have a backup. I wear it often. I am 5'6 125# and bought the size 4. I did size up, as my GH jeans are a 2, and I like the way this skirt fits. Maybe the 2 would be fine but the 4 works for me as I didn't want it too tight. The regular price is quite high but both times I ordered I had sale prices so they were great prices. I would love a really dark denim or a khaki color. Then I may just pay full price!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Five-Pocket Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kstein
Location:PA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Fabulous Purchase
Date:October 9, 2013
Love this denim skirt. Comfy and fits fabulously! The sizing was perfect. On the web site, a suggestion was given to possibly go up in size. I'm glad I didn't. It's perfect!
Review 16 for Five-Pocket Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hawaiiangramma
Location:Hawaii
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Love it with reservations...
Date:October 2, 2013
Had to shorten skirt and sized up. Fits snug in hips and big at waist line, so I just let it hang low. But I love the weight (heavy denim) and style.
Review 17 for Five-Pocket Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
outdoorsybutstylish
Location:midwest
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
very cute
Date:May 20, 2013
a little pricey but fits well-have dark denim in my regular size but sized up for the white denim. Some loose threads on belt loops but really cute and flattering. Like the length. I'm 148 lbs. 5" 8" and bought the 10 and the 12
Review 18 for Five-Pocket Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gatorgal
Location:Central Florida
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Snug
Date:May 13, 2013
Tighter than I usually purchase.
Normally 2-4 petite, I went with 4p
Hope it doesn't shrink cause perfect out of box
Review 19 for Five-Pocket Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
40mama
Location:Minneapolis
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Odd fit. Looks MUCH better on the model.
Date:May 9, 2013
Unusual fit. I am 5'4", slender build, 114 lbs. After reading reviews, I ordered a size 6, my usual size is size 4. I can generally wear a size 4 in anything with no problem. The skirt is very long and tight on me, unflattering cut. Wearing around the hips would put this skirt at mid calf. I chose the denim, and the color is much lighter than appears online. I was really looking forward to this skirt, and unfortunately it will be going back.
Review 20 for Five-Pocket Pencil Skirt - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ophelia
Location:Massachusetts
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Weird fit
Date:May 9, 2013
I followed the advice of others and sized up on this skirt - instead of my usual 6 or 8 I got a 10 - but it's just a very weird fit. Tight in the butt, huge gap at the waist (even with the waist pulled down to my hips).
I have a pretty average body - not too curvy, not too straight - so I'm not really sure who this skirt would fit.
This one has gone back...
1 2 3 next>>