Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Luisa Ankle-Strap Riding Boots

Our favorite boots ride the equestrian trend into spring, now in leather, Linen/leather or all suede, with more padding and a roomier fit through the vamp and calf. Wear them with dresses now and trot them out with shorts later. Wrapped ankle-strap detail with adjustable buckle. Inside half zipper. 16 1/4" shaft. 15" circumference at opening. 1" stacked leather heel. Rubber sole. Italy. Shaft: 16 1/4" (average; may vary per size) These boots run true to size. The vamp is snug at first, but will stretch with wear. FROM ITALY WITH LOVE Each bag, belt, boot and shoe in our Italian Collection is lovingly handmade one at a time at small, family-owned factories in Tuscany and Verona, Italy. Using only Italian leather and processes handed down from one generation to the next, they offer eloquent proof that the fine art of Italian leather crafting lives on.
Average Customer Rating:
4.077 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
2
21 of 2681%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Luisa Ankle-Strap Riding Boots
Review 1 for Luisa Ankle-Strap Riding Boots
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
twinsand2more
Location:salem, VA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Beautiful boots
Date:August 28, 2013
I am really happy with the color and the fit around my foot. The shaft gaps around my calf more than I would like. It would be great if they tapered in a bit at the top, then if I slouched them they would stay slouched. I do think I will keep them. I plan to wear them with skinny jeans.
Review 2 for Luisa Ankle-Strap Riding Boots
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Spruill
Location:Mississippi
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Date:August 6, 2013
Funny you should ask today. I am wearing them. Since they are linen, I broke my usual rules and wore them in the dead of summer. I love them and think that they look terrific. Don't know about lasting but so far, so good.
Review 3 for Luisa Ankle-Strap Riding Boots
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SCgirl
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Not for skinny legs
Date:August 5, 2013
Great looking boots - the gray color is neutral enough to wear with everything. Unfortunately, the shaft is too big for my skinny legs. Too bad!
Review 4 for Luisa Ankle-Strap Riding Boots
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nrhgal
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
So glad I bought these boots!!
Date:April 22, 2013
I live in Texas where we wear boots year round with almost eveything. I bought the stone suede style find they are very versatile. I received compliments the first time I wore them. I will be able to wear them with short and long skirts, jeans, pants, and shorts. These were a great purchase.
Review 5 for Luisa Ankle-Strap Riding Boots
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sesie
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
I love them
Date:March 10, 2013
I really love the look of them and they fit great!
Review 6 for Luisa Ankle-Strap Riding Boots
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sophie01
Location:Utah
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Disappointed
Date:July 22, 2012
These boots did not look anything like the picture. They were suede and I was expecting leather. Also I ordered the taupe color and the inside zipper was black. They went back without even trying them on
Response from Garnet Hill:By MeganCustomer LiaisonJuly 30, 2012
We're sorry to hear that our Luisa Ankle-Strap Riding Boots did not meet your expectations and will keep your feedback in mind as we plan future collections!
Review 7 for Luisa Ankle-Strap Riding Boots
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Adventurista
Location:PNW
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Made in Italy
Date:July 21, 2012
I'm keeping these boots because of the simple, classic style, and I like the taupe colored suede. I went up a half size as advised and the fit is perfect. They are soft and can be scrunched down for effect. As for being lined in leather, this is misleading. The boot is one thin layer of leather, unlined. The soles are thin and appear to be synthetic.They may have been made in Italy but the standard and quality are much like many shoes these days, not very substantial. Sorry to give such a poor review, but these boots are not worth the full price and are even a stretch at the sale price. They are fashionable, but will probably only last a season or two. I am usually pleased with Garnet Hill quality but some products are not as well made as others.
Response from Garnet Hill:By MeganCustomer LiaisonJuly 30, 2012
Customer feedback is very important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on our Luisa Ankle-Strap Riding Boots. Our designers will be sure to keep your feedback in mind as we go forward!
Review 8 for Luisa Ankle-Strap Riding Boots
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shopper1962
Location:Detroit, Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
things that make you go hmmm....
Date:June 22, 2012
I just received the boot in suede. I haven't worn it yet, but having tried it on, it does run a little bit small, so it's good I sized up a half size (7 1/2 up to 8). I downgraded the boot for not having a leather sole, but since the leather is very, very soft (in a good way), it might actually make it wear better in wet conditions. One very odd thing - the suede is a light tan, the the inner half zip is black or very dark brown, which makes is stand out more. As I was exploring the mysteries of this, I discovered that I can actually slip the boot on without unzipping, so I might go to the cobbler to see if he can do a zipper-ectomy, and close the seam. I'm not sure I would have kept them for full price, but for approximately 65% off, I think they are worth the price.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By MeganCustomer LiaisonJuly 30, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with our Luisa Ankle Strap Riding Boots. We'll keep your comments regarding the zipper color in mind as we plan our future collections.
Review 9 for Luisa Ankle-Strap Riding Boots
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Merion
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice Boots
Date:June 17, 2012
These boots were a bit lighter than I expected from the picture but they are a beautiful color. I did take them to a shoe repair place right away though to have a rubber heel put on them (the original was too hard and therefore slippery) and to have them waterproofed as the light color can be tricky in terms of stains. I got them on sale and so thought they were a fantastic value. They are beautiful and very well made.
Review 10 for Luisa Ankle-Strap Riding Boots
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
reneeXX
Location:Wisconsin, USA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Classy and well made
Date:April 16, 2012
I received these today and am so pleased with the way they fit, feel and look. I got the taupe suede and I feel like this color will work very well with many outfits. They are soft. I did order a half size up and they fit perfectly.
Review 11 for Luisa Ankle-Strap Riding Boots
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
DianeS
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Date:February 28, 2012
I had been looking for a black riding boot.. I loved these and after reading the reviews decided to order a half size up. Big mistake.. they are slipping all over even with socks.. I would have returned them for my correct size but unfortunately they weren't available.
Review 12 for Luisa Ankle-Strap Riding Boots
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CHOCOLATECHIP
Location:MATA DE PLATANO , COSTA RICA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
ARTISTIC
Date:February 24, 2012
I PURCHASED THESE BOOTS ON SALE IN BLACK IN JUST A FEW WORD I WOULD HAVE TO SAY THEY ARE A PIECE OF ART, VERY BEAUTIFUL , BEST QUALITY OF LEATHER AND COMFORTABLE , I AM GLAD TO HAVE FOLLOWED GH TIP ON ORDERING A HALF SIZE UP. GH IS GREAT QUALITY AND ITALIAN PRODUCTS ARE USUALLY VERY ARTISTIC , YOU CANNOT GO WRONG WITH THEESE BOOTS.
Review 13 for Luisa Ankle-Strap Riding Boots
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NanaCoco
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Yum Riding Boot!
Date:January 22, 2012
I really love these riding boots. They are not heavy like my Frye's which I also love. These are a bit more dressy so span my outfits and occasions well. I bought the black leather which is beautiful and supple. I am well pleased. I have a narrow 7-7.5 foot and the size 7.5 is fitting well over lightweight socks/hosiery. The tread is minimal but good for preventing slipping in wet weather. Not a snow boot. Very pleased with this boot!
Review 14 for Luisa Ankle-Strap Riding Boots
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ang1278
Location:Basking Ridge, NJ
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
They're going back!
Date:January 19, 2012
I was so excited to receive these boots, but I was disappointed. The color (taupe) is a little darker than I expected, I didn't like the toe shape, and I felt they looked a little stiff on. The sole is very hard and slippery. For the price, I was expecting them to look/feel a little bit more "broken in" and luxurious.
If you still want to go ahead and order them, do order a half size up. I'm typically an 8 1/2 and I ordered a 9--if I liked the style I would have been able to wear them, they did fit.
Review 15 for Luisa Ankle-Strap Riding Boots
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GoPackGo
Location:Milwaukee, WI
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Luisa - Beautiful Boots But Returning Them!
Date:December 18, 2011
These are beautiful boots, but I'm returning them with much regret so that someone with thinner and shorter calves can enjoy them! The leather is soft and of high quality. The foot area is shaped to follow the foot and looks very elegant. You won't find boots this nice at this price anywhere. These would be great on a petite woman that wants a knee high boot without the pirate look. I'm just under 5'8" with abnormally long calves, 15 1/2" at the widest part, and a high arched foot. I had to walk around the house with these on every night to get these to stretch so that they just fit (the foot area stretches as well, so don't be discouraged if they feel tight at first). They hit me at the widest part of my calf, lower than they appear to hit on the model's legs - not very flattering on me. Since I couldn't wear these over anything more than a pair of tights and can't fit a winter sock inside, they just aren't versatile enough for my budget. Perhaps they would stretch more with time, but I just couldn't take that chance. I wish the shaft were just two inches higher, with a full zipper. Maybe next year...
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Luisa Ankle-Strap Riding Boots
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bw76107
Location:Living in the country, TX
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Good Looking Boot...But
Date:December 18, 2011
This boot appeared to be the perfect riding boot, until I put it on and the left shaft was taller than the right shaft. This is something that Quality Control needs to address. I agree that these boots run small and you should order up a half a size. The look of the boot is really nice, good quality leather. I like the toe of the boot, not too pointed, not too round. If they had just added some padding in the bottom of this shoe, I would be exchanging for a half-size larger, rather than returning them. I feel certain I just got a lemon on the boot shaft issue, but definitely a "Quality Control" point for Garnet Hill.
Response from Garnet Hill:By MeganCustomer LiaisonJanuary 3, 2012
We're sorry you were disappointed in the quality of these boots. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback, and will look further into this issue. We want you to be completely satisfied with all of your Garnet Hill purchases, and are happy to accept a return or exchange at any time!
Review 17 for Luisa Ankle-Strap Riding Boots
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
p3sa
great look and comfortable
Date:December 7, 2011
I love these boots. They are good looking enough to wear almost anywhere and comfortable enough to put on in the morning and wear all day.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Luisa Ankle-Strap Riding Boots
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sookie
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Luis Ankle Strap Boot
Date:November 27, 2011
Very nice boot! At first I thought they might be too tight in the foot, but they proved to be comfortable and I am hoping will be more so with wear.
The leather is lovely and I am so far happy with my purchase.
Review 19 for Luisa Ankle-Strap Riding Boots
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Holly83
Location:Cleveland, OH
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Beautiful Boot!!!
Date:November 27, 2011
After reading reviews I ordered a half size up and they fit perfectly. These boots are absolutely beautiful and very comfortable. I highly recommend buying them, you will not be disappointed... The first time I wore them was for a flight and a long day of travel. By the end of day they felt just as good as the beginning. No discomfort. Easy to take off/on to go through security.
Review 20 for Luisa Ankle-Strap Riding Boots
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
UpstateNY
Gender:Female
Great Boots!
Date:November 22, 2011
I love these boots! They are wonderfully made, great quality. I did order up a half size and they fit perfectly!! Thank you!!
1 2 next>>