Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Modern Merino Sweater Dress

Our bestselling merino dress is new for the season in a host of bodacious winter shades. The crewneck style is a classic — wear it belted, over leggings, or paired with boots or flats. Drop-shoulder detail. Bracelet-length sleeves. Above-knee length. 100% merino wool. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (291 reviews)
5 stars
184
4 stars
56
3 stars
31
2 stars
13
1 star
7
254 of 29187%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 42 Answers
Customer Reviews for Modern Merino Sweater Dress
Review 1 for Modern Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1mom
Location:St Louis,Mo
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
love it!
Date:February 18, 2014
I got this in the pumpkin on sale and have worn with a GH skinny belt-- lot's of compliments! Not too tight ,tts,comfortable and not too tight in the bust- which is usually a prob for me. Nice texture,finish.
Review 2 for Modern Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
olivia
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great versatile dress
Date:February 16, 2014
This is a great dress to dress down with tights, boots, or clogs but dress up with a belt and drape cardigan. The fit is very true to Garnet Hill sizing. I ordered an XS and am usually a 2. The neckline is flattering alone or with a simple necklace.
Review 3 for Modern Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dbspeanut
Location:Georgia
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great Winter Dress in Warmer Climates
Date:February 8, 2014
This dress is a great weight for my Southeastern Georgia milder winters. I usually shy away from anything wool, but this dress in an XSmall fit me to a tee and doesn't itch at all. Hits just at the knee and looks great with leggings or boots.
Review 4 for Modern Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LNiles
Location:Ft Collins, CO
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great fit
Date:February 5, 2014
The dress was loose fitting so no flaws were seen. Warm but not itchy. The orange is a great color. Classy.
Review 5 for Modern Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ginnyk
Location:Massachusetts
Gender:Female
very nice quality
Date:February 5, 2014
I got the orange, it is a beautiful color. Slightly too boxy form me but still a keeper.
Review 6 for Modern Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mcclured
Location:London, England
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great dress!
Date:February 5, 2014
Fits well, smooth lines. Dress up or down to suit your needs.
Review 7 for Modern Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lwhifm
Location:Charlottesville, VA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Would be fantastic if it fit me.
Date:February 4, 2014
Loved the color and weight of the wool. I am a 10-12 w/ broad shoulders and the large just hung off of me. If it had fit it would have been a keeper, especially at the sale price
Review 8 for Modern Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DMTC
Location:Hudson Falls, New York
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Love the color ~ pumpkin
Date:February 4, 2014
This is a gift. I did order a smaller size. I think the length is longer and will not be above the knee.
I'm hoping it fits!
Review 9 for Modern Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VailSkiGirl
Location:Vail, CO
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Fun pumpkin color good for Bronco's game
Date:January 28, 2014
Wearing lovely pumpkin color dress today for Bronco's pre-game celebration. Got lots of compliments. Size Small is loose, comfortable and looks great with low belt, tights and boots - I'm 5'6' and 125 lbs. Sweater is well made with no itch or see through issues.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Modern Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eclaire
Location:Fairfax, VA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
So comfortable
Date:January 27, 2014
Need to look great but feel like you are in your pjs? This dress hangs loosely, yet clings to hips and moves gracefully. Add a belt and its easy. I bought the pumpkin and blue dress and love both. I really like the weight of the knit (not too thin or thick) and the arm hole seam is loose which is nice.
Review 11 for Modern Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AngelenoMomma
Location:San Francisco, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Perfect Fit
Date:January 26, 2014
This is an excellent dress with leggings or stockings. Not too short, not too long, it is very flattering and form fitting. True to size, the crewneck can be dressed up or down. I
may try to get it in another color or two. A great addition to anyone woman's wardrobe.
Review 12 for Modern Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ladybug54
Location:Clemson, sc
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Had great hopes...
Date:January 26, 2014
Thought this was darling and simple. We wear orange every Friday to work (college town!) so I ordered in pumpkin. Fabric is nice light weight wool, but cut is goofy. Top and sleeves are huge but it's snug through the hips. I can't quite get the right look belting it in as it doesn't help w/ all the extra fabric in the sleeves and shoulders. Great color and fabric win the day though.
Review 13 for Modern Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chaps
Location:Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Very comfortable and flattering
Date:January 20, 2014
Just wore this dress and got lots of compliments! The fabric is very soft and moves well with my body - even getting up and down from sitting on the floor with the kids. The orange is really pretty - very true to the online image.
Review 14 for Modern Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
blackcat13
Location:Pickerington, Ohio
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Versatile Dress!
Date:January 19, 2014
I bought this dress in four colors. I love it! You can dress it up or down. It's also super-comfy to wear and flattering. Good value even at full-price.
Review 15 for Modern Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
shopperkay
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Thin and clingy
Date:January 18, 2014
I wanted to love this dress. The merino is soft and seems of good quality, but it is a bit thin and clingy on the body--shows to many sins for me! . If you don't want a body con look, size up or skip this one.
Response from Garnet Hill:By CherieCustomer LiaisonJanuary 20, 2014
Our merino dress is most definitely a body conscious fit. We found a slip works beautifully underneath to smooth the look. Call us if you'd like to exchange or return.
Review 16 for Modern Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AP79
Location:Columbia, South Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
staple piece!
Date:January 18, 2014
Such a wonderful basic dress. It is not too short, as other reviews have it -- or my legs are just too short, who knows. The cut is clear and simple, the color (red) is FANTASTIC. Fabric is very light and still warm. I love it!
Review 17 for Modern Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
197666
Location:the Berkshires
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Quality with a capital Q
Date:January 18, 2014
This merino wool dress is so soft and comfortable. I prefer natural fibers and sometimes wool can be itchy, but not this dress, superior quality. I host in a busy restaurant and take pride in my appearance but at the same time I sometimes need to pitch in and hustle with my co-workers and this dress allows me to do all of the above.
The 1st one I bought was green, love it! and the second one blue plus a black as a gift for my sister.
I belt my dress, add boots and great earrings or a necklace and I am good to go.
Review 18 for Modern Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pgigi
Location:Alabama
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Disappointing
Date:January 17, 2014
I loved this dress online but was very disappointed in the quality once I received it. The only color available when I placed my order was pumpkin. I liked the color but could not believe how thin the material was and how cheap it looked. There is no way you could wear black or brown tights with this dress. I think I would have liked this in another color! I, unfortunately, will be returning this dress.
Review 19 for Modern Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fenjen
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
A Classic. Something to Have in Your Closet!
Date:January 15, 2014
I've eyed this dress for a couple of years and actually suggested it to a friend who was looking for something simple and chic to wear in family photos. She looked great in it and I decided to give it a go myself. I purchased the black and the orange and both are lovely. The fabric is not heavy, which may be a downside for those in colder climates. For Texas, this dress is just the right weight. I paired it with tights and boots and an infinity scarf. Easy, comfortable and a pulled together look. I'm 5'4, 135 lbs, with a very curvy figure. I ordered size small and probably could fit a XS. As usual, I find that GH is running a little big in my opinion. I purchased mine on sale and at that price I have zero complaints.
Review 20 for Modern Merino Sweater Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boots
Location:Boise, ID
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Liked it 3 times!
Date:January 15, 2014
Purchased the lovely green, black, and charcoal at end of year sale for a song! I'm 5'4"; 118#, 36-26-34. Took a small, and it fits well. I think the bottom portion is a little wide, and the "bracelet length" sleeves are full length to my wrist on me. The merino wool is very soft and very comfortable. I wear with tights and boots and a scarf. I think belted will work well, too, as shown. I was worried the collar would be too high; however, there is a little breathing room. Received compliments on these dresses every time I wear them. Wish I would have gotten the blue one, too!
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>