Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Garnet Hill Down-Alternative Comforter

A HYPOALLERGENIC ALTERNATIVE FOR THOSE WITH SENSITIVITIES TO DOWN Our light and lofty poly microfiber comforter mimics the softness and year-round warmth of down so you never have to sacrifice comfort and luxury just because you're sensitive to down. Hypoallergenic poly microfibers mimic the properties of down Smooth 230 thread count cotton covering Sewn-through 12" box construction maintains the loft Meticulously finished with double-needle stitching (to prevent fill from escaping) Machine-washable Piped edges Designed with four corner tabs to anchor a duvet/comforter cover USA/Imported Twin: 70" x 86" Double/Queen: 88" x 88" King: 104" x 88" Create a beautiful look while protecting your comforter — dress this bedding essential in one of our many Duvet Covers .
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 2095%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garnet Hill Down-Alternative Comforter
Review 1 for Garnet Hill Down-Alternative Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
michmom
Location:Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Warm and Cozy!
Date:March 12, 2014
I love this comforter! It is warm and squishy. Its great to sleep under and nice to lounge on top of too. It has corner ties to hold your cover in place. (A few ties along the edges of the comforter and cover too would be a great thing to have too.) There are no stray feathers to deal with and no sneezing either!
Review 2 for Garnet Hill Down-Alternative Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TakuDude
Location:Juneau, AK
Gender:Male
Age:45-54
Soft, light and warm - great value!
Date:February 11, 2014
Purchased this comforter after dealing for years with an older comforter constantly shedding feathers. This one is almost as light weight as the down and just as warm - a winner.
Review 3 for Garnet Hill Down-Alternative Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KKD116
Location:Westchester, NY
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Excellent option
Date:January 21, 2014
We have very much enjoyed this purchase. We have down comforters and I am not sure we need them in the future based on how this one feels and looks.
Review 4 for Garnet Hill Down-Alternative Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
alabamamama
Location:Alabama to California
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Next Best Thing to Down
Date:January 20, 2014
I recently purchased this and 2 down-alternative pillows for my daughter, who normally will use nothing but high quality down comforters. She has rescued an adorable little dog within the last few weeks - who is allergic to feathers - so I was hoping this down-alternative would live up to both of their expectations of comfort - and it has! They both stay snuggly warm. Yip - Yip - Yippeee!!!
Review 5 for Garnet Hill Down-Alternative Comforter
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
AnnL721
Location:Colorado Springs
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Down Alternative Comforter
Date:January 20, 2014
I guess I should have washed it first. There is fuzz everywhere in my bedroom but since it is a king - I will have to go to the laundry mat to wash it. It is definitely warmer than I was expecting.
Review 6 for Garnet Hill Down-Alternative Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bellkell
Sleeping on a Cloud
Date:January 17, 2014
Love this down alternative comforter. High quality, soft and warm.
Review 7 for Garnet Hill Down-Alternative Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
marygina
Location:CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Date:October 14, 2013
Perfect light weight for CA nights in the Fall and will work well as a layering piece when it gets colder.
Review 8 for Garnet Hill Down-Alternative Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IndigoGirl
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Love this comforter
Date:June 11, 2013
Mere words can never express how much I love this comforter! It is warm, fluffy and snuggly - like sleeping on a cloud. Thank you very much.
Review 9 for Garnet Hill Down-Alternative Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elise2
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Amazing
Date:April 15, 2013
I love this comforter. I used to only use full down feathers, but my last comforter ripped a hole after years of wear and tear and feathers would get everywhere despite trying to fix the holes. I opted to try a down alternative to avoid another feather fiasco in the future.
I was very reluctant to try the alternative, as I thought it would feel stiff and plastic-like. I was very (pleasantly) surprised! It is so light and airy. I bought this back in November. Boston has had a pretty harsh winter and I can say, without hesitation, that I could turn the heat off at night, go to bed with this comforter and be warm all night. It feels like you are sleeping on clouds.
I don't know how it will feel come the summer months. I can only guess that it will be light and airy, but the warmth it gives off in the winter can't be beat.
Great product. Easy to wash and dry. Love it!
Review 10 for Garnet Hill Down-Alternative Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Belana
Location:Tacoma, Washington
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
We're very, very pleased
Date:March 30, 2013
We live in the Pacific Northwest, where it rains frequently during the fall, winter and spring months, and winter cold snaps can take temperatures into the low 20's and teens.
The comforter is just the right weight: Not too heavy, but very, very cozy. It provides solid warmth, but doesn't overheat the bed, as some comforters can. It seems to be well made, covered with good, serviceable fabric, much better looking and more durable than other fabric I've seen on comforters from other companies. And a good price, too! We're very, very pleased with this purchase.
Review 11 for Garnet Hill Down-Alternative Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mumd
Location:Long Beach, Ca
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Best mid weight alternative to down
Date:March 4, 2013
This is the second one I have purchased form GH. I bought one for my daughter and when she took it with her, I promptly waited for a sale and bought another. They wash well and are perfect for anyone allergic to down. I highly recommend!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garnet Hill Down-Alternative Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
viviloves
Location:Upper Valley, NH
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Very happy with this purchase
Date:December 25, 2012
I was worried about the lack of warmth in a non-down comforter, but this comforter delivers! It's very warm, yet fluffy & there are no worries about any feathers getting stuck in the corners of the comforter. Paired with a flannel duvet cover from Garnet Hill and you get the most luxurious affordable set! Very content!
Review 13 for Garnet Hill Down-Alternative Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dynamo
Location:Nyack, NY
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Heavenly!
Date:October 19, 2012
Nicely fluffy and makes one not want to get out of bed. Cover with the heathered jersey sheets comforter cover!
Review 14 for Garnet Hill Down-Alternative Comforter
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lildog
Location:Colorado
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Very nice!
Date:August 19, 2012
I bought this a gift for my son. He likes a nice white comforter- no thrills and this does the trick and more. He said it's not too heavy yet knows it'll keep him warm. There were a few threads that were hanging ( too long) that needed to be cut but other than that it arrived in good shape and I know he'll enjoy it for years to come.
Review 15 for Garnet Hill Down-Alternative Comforter
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1Nickname
Location:NY, NY
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Heavenly!
Date:August 15, 2012
This is a perfect weight, not too heavy, not too light. Great softness & well made, too.
In terms of quality I give it 5+ stars.
I gave it an overall 4 because I REALLY REALLY REALLY wish GH would offer a straight QUEEN side, not a combined DQ size.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garnet Hill Down-Alternative Comforter
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kzita
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Nice comforter but too heavy for us
Date:February 1, 2012
This is a very nice comforter - it is good quality, with attention to detail, but unfortunately, it's too heavy for our needs - both in terms of weight and warmth. So I am going to return it, but for those who are OK with the weight, this is a good comforter at a good price.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Garnet Hill Down-Alternative Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mommyx3
Location:Austin,Tx
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
perfect!
Date:January 9, 2012
Love this comforter. Perfect wieght....not too thin or thick. Great for year round use. Very happy:)
Review 18 for Garnet Hill Down-Alternative Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
heath
Location:Exeter, NH
warm and light
Date:January 1, 2012
Before purchasing this comforter I slept under 4 or 5 quilts which were heavy and did not make me feel warm or comfortable. This comforter is super light and warm. I now sleep with just it and a light blanket underneath.
Review 19 for Garnet Hill Down-Alternative Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AutumnSky
Love this!
Date:December 27, 2011
A wonderful down alternative duvet. It's lightweight ,but keeps you warm. Washes well, and is a great value, especially when on sale.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garnet Hill Down-Alternative Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bemmett
Location:Heber City, UT
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
I Always Love Their Basics
Date:November 22, 2011
I only order pillow forms and comforters from Garnet Hill. They're such good quality and the price is really good. I'd rather pay a few extra dollars and get a product that holds up and looks great .
1 of 1 found this review helpful.