Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Garnet Hill.

Double-Breasted Ruffle-Trimmed Coat - Regular

Our bestselling double-breasted coat gets a stunning remake in a luxe Italian wool blend with a cascading ruffle from the waist to the hem. Beautifully shaped and fitted. Inside concealed buttons for a clean, streamlined look. Wide tie belt and back belt loops. Falls to below the knee. Wool/nylon. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.268 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
36 of 4188%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Double-Breasted Ruffle-Trimmed Coat - Regular
Review 1 for Double-Breasted Ruffle-Trimmed Coat - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AlwaysLearning
Location:VA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Lovely coat, but...
Date:February 26, 2013
I eyeballed this coat for over a year before I bought it. Absolutely loved the uniqueness of the ruffle detail and the fit was good. The snap closures were a bit awkward and I get the feeling they could potentially come loose after repeated use. My main reason for returning the coat was because the camel color that I chose washed me out - I looked grey! Even putting on red lipstick didn't keep me from looking like one of the undead. So, I reluctantly sent it back. Crossing my fingers that next season will have other darker color options and perhaps sturdier fasteners.
Review 2 for Double-Breasted Ruffle-Trimmed Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Judit
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Double-Breasted Ruffle-trimmed Coat
Date:January 28, 2013
Very elegant and feminine coat. I bought it for my daughter and she weared it only a few times, but she loves it.
Review 3 for Double-Breasted Ruffle-Trimmed Coat - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ellie62
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
unflattering for petites
Date:January 21, 2013
I had been eyeing this coat for two years before deciding to purchase. I am 5'2", with slender build. I had some doubts on the length after reading it falls below the knee. Generally, I think coats on petites are more flattering if they fall above the knee. The coat fit well (ordered a 6 P), but stylewise, it was unflattering on a short person with a slight build. Way too much coat overwhelming the body. I didn't like the long, A-line style. This would look best on a tall, slender person like in the catalog photo. Unfortunately for me, this coat didn't work and I had to return it. I would recommend they re-design this coat to make it shorter.
Review 4 for Double-Breasted Ruffle-Trimmed Coat - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Abc1231000000
Location:Somerset, NJ
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Love it...but
Date:January 11, 2013
This coat is very beautiful. The ruffle is such a pretty feminine touch, however, it is not heavy enough to keep you very warm. And a bit expensive not to...Also had to be professionally ironed upon receipt. Another expense...
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Double-Breasted Ruffle-Trimmed Coat - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
barbny
Location:L.I., NY
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
lovely coat
Date:January 5, 2013
This coat is beautifully designed in a mid-weight wool. However, it arrived squished in a small box and looking like a wrinkled bathrobe. How disappointing, as it needs to be brought to a dry cleaner for pressing.
Review 6 for Double-Breasted Ruffle-Trimmed Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tiffin
Location:Cary. NC
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
LOVE
Date:December 8, 2012
I think this coat is beautiful and elegant. The inside has a combination of buttons further in for strength, and snaps along the edge for ease of use. The fit is good on me, and I am slightly high-waisted. I love the white color, it really stands out against all the standard black. The ruffle just on the lower half is just enough and not too much. It was simple to iron out any packaging wrinkles. I really love it!
Review 7 for Double-Breasted Ruffle-Trimmed Coat - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OhioanInVA
Location:Henrico, VA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Keeping it but not perfect
Date:November 23, 2012
Ordered the camel color. Really like the style; so different. Agree w/ other reviewers about top snap sometimes coming undone; I'm large-busted, so that doesn't help. Keeping it anyway; not a constant problem. Mine was wrapped carefully enough, not wrinkled as mentioned in some reviews. Was able to wear immediately. If received wrinkled, try hanging in steamy bathroom before paying to dry clean.
Review 8 for Double-Breasted Ruffle-Trimmed Coat - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bubblebubble
Location:VA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
stylish with less quality
Date:June 19, 2012
I bought a brown one when it was on sale. I will say the size is right on and the style is great. But the material is far below my expectation, especially from Garnet hill. I wouldn't want to pay the full price for this item but for the price I'd paid, it was ok to keep.
Review 9 for Double-Breasted Ruffle-Trimmed Coat - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
momOFfive2009
Location:PA
Pretty, Well Made Coat
Date:June 18, 2012
12P fits me well. I am typically a 10, but this feels just right. I have broader shoulders and this was what I needed. It's a pretty coat for a shorter person like me. I do not like how things come in the package. A wool coat should not be packed in so tightly that it comes with lots of folded wrinkles. That is my only complaint. These aren't wrinkles from just the folding but being smashed in the box.
Review 10 for Double-Breasted Ruffle-Trimmed Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KnitterGirl
Location:Eldersburg, MD
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Classic with a twist
Date:May 7, 2012
This is a fantastic coat. I love the twist of a ruffle on the classic wool coat. The attention to detail makes this coat stand out. The snaps are the only reason why I did not rate the quality and value a 5 star. While the snaps seem substantial, I have not worn the coat enough to test the durability. My coat was packaged well and arrived unwrinkled and in excellent condition. I am looking forward to next fall when it will definately get more wear.
Review 11 for Double-Breasted Ruffle-Trimmed Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TennD
Location:Nashville, TN
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Love it
Date:March 6, 2012
I have been wanting this coat for 2 seasons but always procrastinate and by the time I go to buy it has been out of stock in my size and color. Checked back after the holidays and it became available again and I was so psyched! Came just a bit wrinkled as others noted but not too bad. Good weight for the south where the temps are not too extreme. Very classy and glad I bought it (and glad I got it on sale!)
Review 12 for Double-Breasted Ruffle-Trimmed Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
freeagentrocks
Location:Brookfield, WI
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great dress coat
Date:March 4, 2012
I waited for this coat to go on sale. It is very classy to wear over skirts and dresses while keeping me warm in WI winter! I love the ruffle trim. The sizing is exact. I believe this classy yet funky style will look great for years to come!
Review 13 for Double-Breasted Ruffle-Trimmed Coat - Regular
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kmm1
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
disappointing
Date:February 19, 2012
I was very disappointed. This coat has snaps instead of buttons. Even though the coat fits and isn't tight at all the snaps do not stay together. I have also found that the collar comes up high. The fabric is so scratchy that it bothers my neck. If it wasn't so late in the season and I didn't need a coat for the remainder I would return this coat. I would not recommend anyone to purchase this. I buy from Garnet Hill a lot and am very disappointed.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Double-Breasted Ruffle-Trimmed Coat - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kimis
Location:wisconsin
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
great coat
Date:February 14, 2012
I bought a petite size since I am 5;2" The fit is perfect and the coat looks good - not too much material for my petite frame. The quality is also good. As with other reviews, the coat came quite wrinkled and I took it straight to the dry cleaners as the job was too much for an iron.
Review 15 for Double-Breasted Ruffle-Trimmed Coat - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bkkaewal
nice coat
Date:February 13, 2012
Nice styling, but awkward to button and wool is very itchy. Purchased on sale, otherwise too pricey for the quality.
Review 16 for Double-Breasted Ruffle-Trimmed Coat - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Rainypete
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
A little disappointing
Date:February 13, 2012
Coat is adorable -- I love the way it looks. But the snaps are hard to fasten and they open by themselves at random times. It's so bad that I think I'm going to have to replace them.
I'm glad I caught a sale -- otherwise I'd probably return it.
Review 17 for Double-Breasted Ruffle-Trimmed Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Di1955
Location:Saint Louis, MO
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Lovely!
Date:January 23, 2012
Was very excited to get this coat. It's very feminine and fit me perfectly too. Tres chic!!
Review 18 for Double-Breasted Ruffle-Trimmed Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bluiis
Location:MI
Double-Breasted Ruffle-Trimmed Coat
Date:January 17, 2012
Love this coat!!!!! I read other reviews regarding this coat and how it was packaged and shipped. I had none of those problems, but I also ordered other items so they could not stuff the coat into a small package. I was able to wear right away and have received very nice compliments on the coat.
Review 19 for Double-Breasted Ruffle-Trimmed Coat - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Beachgirl1
Location:NC
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
What happened Garnet Hill?
Date:January 12, 2012
The coat was stiff and the fabric quality poor. The ruffle looks weird and out of place. For the price, I wasn't expecting a much, but the coat really isn't worth a quarter of the sticker price.
Review 20 for Double-Breasted Ruffle-Trimmed Coat - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Inger
Location:Northern California
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Not a good fit --- for me
Date:January 3, 2012
Beautiful coat - well made. I really wanted to keep it. The belt hit above my waistline though - making the coat look like a robe on me. I tried it on several times - but still the same. I have a long waist - and hitting the center can be a problem :(
1 2 3 next>>