Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Cotton-Gauze Long Dress

Breezy crinkled cotton gauze and voluminous styling define this cover-up with twisted knit straps, now in a striking palette (including dip-dye) that pairs beautifully with this year's swim collection. The racerback V-neck style is lined with tissue-weight jersey and flares to a dramatic ankle-length hem. Imported. This cover-up dress has relaxed styling. If you are between sizes or desire a slim fit through the bust, order the smaller size.
Average Customer Rating:
4.133 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (248 reviews)
5 stars
131
4 stars
60
3 stars
25
2 stars
23
1 star
9
190 of 24877%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Review 1 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Neah
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Stunning
Date:July 23, 2014
Flattering and perfect for the beach, although I wear it at home and day parties.
Review 2 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NKBee
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Tent Dress
Date:July 23, 2014
I was hugely disappointed in this dress. After reading so many good reviews, I purchased it thinking it would be flattering. Instead it is a tent-like dress that I cannot wear and need to return it.
Review 3 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KathAK
Location:Oakmon, PA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Cover up?
Date:July 18, 2014
This is a pretty cover up and very unusual (that's why I bought it), but I think it's too heavy to wear on the beach or at the pool. Probably sweat a lot with it on. To wear it as a dress, you need to put on a camisole because the front does dip down.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison July 21, 2014
This cover up has tissue-weight jersey lining. We offer other cover-ups that are a lighter weight and we'd be happy to help with a return or freight free exchange. If you need any assistance, give us a call 800.870.3513.
Review 4 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Rosie123
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Like wearing a tent
Date:July 17, 2014
I am 5'8" and 145 lbs. I thought this type of dress would be very flattering. After reading the reviews that the dress ran big, I ordered a Small. I just tried it on. It is huge!!! Made me look 20 lbs heavier. Was baggy in the chest and shoulders. I was surprised to see a dress from GH fit like this. I will be returning it.
Review 5 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nicsim2
Location:GA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Gorgeous Dress
Date:June 26, 2014
I ordered this in a medium and large. They were both about the same length .Mid calf on me...It runs big. I am keeping the medium and am usually a large or extra large! It is shorter than I would want, but I am tall . It is very a very pretty, attractive dress. The Iris color is lovely!
Review 6 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fran2
Location:San Francisco
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
I love these!
Date:June 24, 2014
I'll admit, I'm a bit obsessed with this dress. I wear them all summer - around the house, the beach, park, casual gatherings. It's lined so it's not transparent, and depending on what size you buy, it can be dressed up enough to be worn in public. I recently ran across one from the outlet that was patterned - I wish GH would do this again, because it's so pretty.
Review 7 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
epacse
Location:FL
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
GOOD BUT NOT GREAT
Date:June 19, 2014
Fabric is much heavier than expected.
This coarser gauze is more what I would expect in a less expensive dress.
Just wish it were "gauzier", more sheer and flowing, fitting for the beach!
Fit was true to size.
Will either cut lining shorter to reduce weight, or return item.
Not sure.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison June 22, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts! At Garnet Hill, your satisfaction is guaranteed and we are happy to help with a return or freight free exchange at any time. Give us a call if we can offer any assistance, 800-870-3513.
Review 8 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Txlinx
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great dress
Date:June 13, 2014
Wonderful for casual or dress! I got a medium and a large. Both fit. I'm 5'9" and are perfect .
Review 9 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TheRedCellist
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Did I miss the "Tall" version?
Date:June 11, 2014
This dress is fabulous. I am on my way to the same place as shown in the photo, and this dress is perfect for Santorini. However, it was not the length on me that it is on the model, so I'm pretty bummed about that. I am 5'8". It came to mid-calf, and I was hoping for floor-length. Mid-calf length can be iffy on me as a full-figured woman, and usually looks like a tent - and this one does. However, the colors are beautiful, the fabric is perfect for Greece, and it was incredibly comfortable, so I'm keeping it. I'm wondering if they listened to previous reviews about the voluminous fabric in the skirt and in the process shortened the length? Because I didn't find it to be as voluminous as I was expecting.
I took the advice of the other reviewers and sized down from an XL to an L. For reference, I am a 36G and this had me nervous since I am leaving next week with no time to exchange - but the fit was perfect on top, even a bit big. I usually can't wear an L in anything, but Garnet Hill does seem to cut their dresses more on the generous side, which I am thankful for. I just always have to stitch them up a bit under the armholes to fix that dreaded gap, as I can't stand a visible bra.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Martilynn
Location:Kalamazoo Michigan
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Love This Dress
Date:May 30, 2014
I bought two of these dresses (pewter and green), and love them. I had planned to use them as beach wraps, but like them so much that I'm wearing them out and about! I'm 5'2", 117 lbs, and usually wear a size 6. I ordered an XS which is bit long, but otherwise fits perfectly. I wear each dress with a brightly-colored sports bra, sandals and a belt (which shortens it, just enough).
I haven't washed either dress yet, but it's time to wash the gray one; am hoping for the best...maybe the length will shrink!!
Review 11 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bklynkid
Location:Orange County, Ca
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Perfect Summer Dress
Date:May 30, 2014
Love the color and fabric. I like the interesting twist straps. A comfortable, pretty dress to wear with some great sandals on a summer night.
Review 12 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chicagal
Location:Chicago IL
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Just Lovely
Date:May 20, 2014
I love this dress, sophisticated yet casual in the gray color.
Based on previous reviews, I ordered a size down (typically wear a 14, ordered a M). Perfect fit. I am a 34C and dress looks and fits fine over a strapless bra.
Review 13 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jessie123
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Matronly
Date:May 6, 2014
This dress swam on me even though I ordered the XS after reading reviews. It's entirely shapeless. Very disappointed in the style. Also, there are multiple layers of fabric which make the dress feel heavy and not at all like something to wear to the beach. Had I not returned the dress I would only have worn it around the house or to sleep in.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMay 9, 2014
We're sorry to hear that this dress did not meet your expectations. Please remember our exchanges are always freight free.
Review 14 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HulaGirlOne
Location:Illinois
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Luxury on the Beach!
Date:May 5, 2014
This very well made dress is a real beach and street dress, with a stretchy lining for coverage and a simply elegant color treatment. Day into evening paired with some cute sandals will get you through a vacation, cruise, or staple for the summer. The fuchsia dip-dye is exquisite and flattering--and my favorite color any year!
It is a little heavy for a cover-up on a hot summer's day, yet with a wrap will handle some cooler nights or air-conditioning with "no sweat."
Great value--a keeper for many seasons.
Review 15 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grannytques
Location:Littleton, co
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Daughter loved it!
Date:May 3, 2014
I bought this for my daughters birthday. I read the reviews and ordered a size smaller. The fit was perfect, the white to blue toning very dramatic and very well made, with a knit like lining and gauzy outer fabric. My daughter plans to use it on vacation as a beach cover up or summer dress. It's lovely!
Review 16 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FavoriteAuntie
Location:Hanover, MA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Really cute dress
Date:May 3, 2014
Originally purchased this in a Small (I'm usually an 8) and it was too big. Returned for an XS and the fit is perfect. Received great customer service when I called about exchanging this item.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison May 4, 2014
Glad to hear you received great Customer Service while you took advantage of our freight free exchanges.
Review 17 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mobettah
Perfect
Date:April 30, 2014
Great summer dress. I am a little busty so tried on a bra with the convertible clear straps, made it cross back, and straps hide perfectly under the dress. Now can wear out to casual parties and dinner. Love it.
Review 18 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ilovetoshop
Location:Chicago
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Amazing summer piece
Date:April 28, 2014
I haven't had the opportunity to wear this yet, but of course had to try it on! I chose the purple shade--gorgeous. Upon the advice of other reviewers I sized down. I am a size 4, and petite, and the xs is perfect, both fit and length. I think it will be a dress I wear again and again for everything from grad parties to nights out. I love it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
beachgirl4
Location:Sacramento, CA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
My go-to vacation dress
Date:April 27, 2014
I now own five of these dresses. Each time there is a new color, I get another! So comfortable to wear and easy to pack. Just twist and go! I use it as a sun dress, bathing suit cover-up, or dressed up with jewelry for dinner. It is fully lined so no slip is needed. As you can tell, I love this dress!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mamaspajamas
Location:San Diego, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Not as expected
Date:April 27, 2014
The color is beautiful...just like photo. Other reviews helped to order a size down, which is perfect. However, it is much shorter on me than the model in the photo, so that is very disappointing. I wanted a maxi dress, not a tea length dress. It is very, very comfortable. I love that the lining is a t-shirt type of material, instead of the usual thin, cheap non-stretchable cotton. The t-shirt material makes it REALLY COMFORTABLE.
Response from Garnet Hill:By CherieCustomer LiaisonApril 29, 2014
We love the color too! We have garment measurements available to help with fit in case one of our other maxi dresses would suit your needs. We're happy to help with a freight free exchange or return.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>