Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Cotton-Gauze Long Dress

Breezy crinkled cotton gauze and voluminous styling define this cover-up with twisted knit straps, now in a striking palette (including dip-dye) that pairs beautifully with this year's swim collection. The racerback V-neck style is lined with tissue-weight jersey and flares to a dramatic ankle-length hem. Imported. This cover-up dress has relaxed styling. If you are between sizes or desire a slim fit through the bust, order the smaller size.
Average Customer Rating:
4.144 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (222 reviews)
5 stars
118
4 stars
54
3 stars
22
2 stars
20
1 star
8
170 of 22277%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Review 1 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
muranomama
Location:Midwest
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Beautiful!
Date:April 15, 2014
I purchased this in both cobalt and fushia dip-dye in XS (34 C, 5'3, 118 lbs ) and I couldn't be happier. Both colors are rich, unique, and beautiful. The fabric is surprisingly soft--I worried a "gauze" dress would be scratchy--and substantial, and the lining is a nice touch. It hangs beautifully and will work both as a cover up and a casual summer dress. Glad I got two, and will likely purchase in other colors, as well.
Review 2 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Carr01
Location:Toronto, ON
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Really big
Date:April 14, 2014
I think this dress would have looked better once it was washed, but unfortunately, I did not get to that part. I am size 8, ordered small, but it was HUGE on me. I wanted to use it as a light summer dress, as it is quite pretty and way too expensive for a coverup. Sadly, it is going back.
Review 3 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
acara
Location:Montana
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Color wonderful
Date:April 11, 2014
I took the advice from other reviews to go a size smaller and it was still too big. One would need to wear something inside for the top, as the V comes down between the boobs and is very revealing. But worse is the sloppy fit. It hangs like a sack with no shape. I am a 4 in missus or a 6 in petite, I am 5' 4". Note that the smaller size comes shorter in length -- it was about 3" too short but even if the length was right I still wouldn't be caught wearing this anywhere not even to bed. The colors are great! This fashion needs some more tweeking. I am 119 lbs and in great shape, no bulges and I couldn't make this dress look good. I bought two so I am sending them back.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer LiaisonApril 14, 2014
Our Cotton-Gauze Long Dress is intended to be a cover up that pairs beautifully with our swim collection. If you have any questions regarding a freight free exchange or return, please let us know. We're here to help at 800-870-3513.
Review 4 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stylinmom
Location:Boston,MA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Doesn't look like a maternity dress!
Date:April 5, 2014
I love this dress, but is was nervous when I ordered it, I thought it might make me look pregnant or fat. It doesn't. It is flowy but slimming. Really fun and comfortable to wear. I wore this on a recent trip to Florida and I know I will wear it a ton thus summer. Thank you once again GH!
Review 5 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kkatca
Location:Houston, TX
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Better Than Expected!
Date:April 5, 2014
This was a last minute purchase before a cruise to the Carribean. Boy, am I glad I put that in my shopping cart! What started out as a bathing suit coverup quickly became my outfit du'jour for every excursion. With my bathing suit underneath, a floppy sunhat & sandals- this dress took me everywhere. It's chic, effortless & a bit different than your boring tunic.Fit is a little large- which came in handy on a cruise!
Review 6 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ItsPat
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great quality
Date:April 2, 2014
This dress is perfect for a summer evening at home or out for dinner. Well made. Lined. Fits perfectly. I'm 5'4" and 140. The white and blue is gorgeous.
Review 7 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CKPKC
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
AMAZING
Date:March 31, 2014
I have been wanting this dress for sometime. Thus when it went on sale I jumped at it. Prior to ordering I did read the reviews which helped with the sizing of this dress. Normally I'm between a 6 & 8 or with the Garnet Hill products a small on top. Thus I ordered the xs and it fits perfect. The material is wonderful and can be worn casual or glame it up with some jewerly. Worth every penny. Don't second guess yourself on this one.
Review 8 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GGuyz
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Date:March 22, 2014
Very pretty and well made. Funky but with style. Glad I bought it!
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonMarch 24, 2014
We're glad to hear you are happy with your purchase of the Cotton-Gauze Long Dress.
Review 9 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DNYC
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Perfect beach dress
Date:March 21, 2014
I bought this in two colors and love the easy fit and beachy feeling. Wish it came in all-white.
Very full, I ordered down a size.
Review 10 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Leave
Location:LA and Las Vegas
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
What a great dress
Date:March 17, 2014
This could be a cover up but I plan to wear it in morning drinking coffee and sitting by pool. So happy with it I m buying another color. Yes, like everyone says.....it runs big. I took heed and ordered an extra small which fit perfect. Wish they still had the pewter color available in my size.
Review 11 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bcute
Gender:Female
Date:March 14, 2014
I now own 3 of these dresses. very flattering, cool, comfortable and have received many compliments so far! just wish they had been less expensive.
Review 12 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sarahehunter
Location:Huntington Beach, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
What a great dress
Date:March 6, 2014
Just received this for our trip to Mexico & I'm so excited to wear it. The color is fantastic as is the fit. Just wish I could adjust the straps to pull the neck line up a bit. I might get another jus to have a second color.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shelbyv
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great Beach Vacation Dress
Date:February 12, 2014
Wore this dress to Jamaica and got lots of compliments from my girlfriends. I did have it tailored to fit better because I ordered a small and was little large on me. I usually wear medium Garnet Hill dresses. I wore it to dinner and did put on a strapless bra because I am busty. I will order it is another color in XS.
Review 14 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AndiGirl
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Beautiful dress!
Date:February 11, 2014
I received this as a gift and wore it my entire vacation! It was perfect for the beach and for wearing out to lunch. Very soft material and can be dressed up wtih a belt.
Does run big.
Review 15 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Frigga
Location:Kansas
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Lovely
Date:February 8, 2014
I own three of these dresses. I have bought one every year for the past three years. An XS fits me, but I prefer it loose and flowing so I buy it in small. I am 5'5", 125 pounds, and in my early 60's. I wear these dresses year round and as they get older and softer, I wear them with a robe or surplice before I go to bed or in the morning drinking my coffee.
Though the dress is fairly sheer, even with the lining, I love to wear it with a pretty, strappy bra during the day or out to dinner with a couple of ropes of pearls or turquoise. This dress makes me feel beautiful--and young-ish! Perfect!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ErinP
Location:NY NY
Nice Vacation Dress
Date:February 1, 2014
Got this dress is Mermaid (green) for my upcoming FL vacation. Took some trial and error to get the size right. I am a true M, in Garnet Hill I typically order S (XS for Eileen Fisher). The XS in this dress fit perfectly. It's comfortable, flattering and solidly constructed. Highly recommend!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boston80
Location:Boston
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Thanks to all you who wrote about this dressi
Date:January 28, 2014
I would never have bought this dress without reading the reviews. You girls reviewing are awesome. You helped me pick me size and set my expectations for this lovely and special dress. I ordered with respect to all your reviews and got exactly what I wanted. Love this dress! 5 foot 9 inches 140 pounds X Small is stunning. Love the Garnet Hill Family.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nordic
Location:Minnesota
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great for the walk to the beach
Date:January 8, 2014
Beautiful fabric, flowing and soft. Lining is great. I agree with other reviewers, think about sizing down. Very generous cut through the bust, Wonderful long length, perfect with sandals. I have eyed this for a while and happy I saw it on sale. I would buy again.
Review 19 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tamtami
Location:AR
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
very nice
Date:November 20, 2013
very nice dress, but im 5.3 and its very long for me. i just hope and they gonna make them for petites too. i would love to have the green one :(
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cotton-Gauze Long Dress
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
resortbound
Location:Dublin, Obhio
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Have two of these now!
Date:September 7, 2013
Great vacation dress - wear it over your bathing suit, to lounge in or out for dinner! Very cute style!
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>