Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Eileen Fisher Washable Wool Scoop-Neck Dress - Regular

MADE BY EILEEN FISHER EXCLUSIVELY FOR GARNET HILL A modern update to an easy knit, this above-knee-length dress in Italian wool swings with accordion pleat detailing. Three-quarter sleeves. By Eileen Fisher. This dress has a more relaxed fit than pictured, and is knit of lightweight Italian wool.
Average Customer Rating:
4.203 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (285 reviews)
5 stars
165
4 stars
57
3 stars
32
2 stars
18
1 star
13
234 of 28582%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer Reviews for Eileen Fisher Washable Wool Scoop-Neck Dress - Regular
Review 1 for Eileen Fisher Washable Wool Scoop-Neck Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
julysparkler
Location:Cape Elizabeth, ME
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great casual dress!
Date:February 25, 2014
I purchased the XS in black, although I am usually a S or M in dresses. Even on sale, it's pretty expensive, but it's well made and the fact that it's "washable" wool is a plus. After trying on, my expectations were exceeded. I'm 5'7", 140 lbs, 32DD, and I was (pleasantly) surprised that the XS fit so well. It's loose but not at all tent-like (which usually happens with these dress styles on well-endowed women) drapes well, and even looks cool + funky over a pair of corduroy slims. I hope they bring this back next year in more colors and at a lower initial price.
Review 2 for Eileen Fisher Washable Wool Scoop-Neck Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
morningperson
Location:Massachusetts
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
perfect in every way
Date:February 24, 2014
This dress is fantastic! Elegant, versatile, warm and comfortable. To prevent any itchiness or static cling I wore beneath it, a lightweight silk long underwear top and a full slip. But it would probably be fine without either undergarment. The fabric lies flat so the empire waist is romantic not impregnating, and the simple line and solid color offers you creative fun with jewelry and other accessories. It is also beautifully made. I'm 5'4'' and it falls to the middle of my knee. I look forward to wearing it for years!
Review 3 for Eileen Fisher Washable Wool Scoop-Neck Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sgettoit
Location:Queens, NY
Gender:Female
Beautiful dress
Date:February 22, 2014
I purchased this dress in an XL in black, even though I am only 5 ft. and 1/2 inch tall. It fits me beautifully, and falls to a couple of inches below my knees. The dress made a big hit, and I received many compliments. The wool jersey fabric is lovely, and the style can be dressed up or down. Consider the layer(s) you wear underneath as the fabric is fairly sheer. I was happy to get the dress on sale and will be looking for other Eileen Fisher items. It is clear that other designers are copying and following her lead, in terms of her proportions and silhouette.
Review 4 for Eileen Fisher Washable Wool Scoop-Neck Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HulaGirlOne
Location:Illinois
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Light, warm, and great color!
Date:February 16, 2014
This is my first Eileen Fisher piece, and the first try for a P, as I wanted a nice dark brown (PEAT) and none were available in the regular. The fit is a little more snug that I prefer in the arms, yet the length is great. It is a little see-through, which I did not expect, so beware!
The color is rich and I look forward to a dress I can wash. The cost is significantly more that I usually spend, so I will see how it holds up over time--and it is a timeless design!
I missed the green this year, and may pop for the black since it is on sale.
Luv, luv, luv the color.
Review 5 for Eileen Fisher Washable Wool Scoop-Neck Dress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tampa
Too boxy and see through
Date:February 16, 2014
Loved the idea of this dress. You can dress it up or down, and it looks really cute with boots. Upon trying it on, I found it fit very unflattering on me-no waist. Also, you need some sort of undergarment as you can see through it.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison February 18, 2014
Thanks for your note! We're sorry to hear this dress didn't quite work for you. Perhaps another style may better suit you. Our exchanges are always freight free!
Review 6 for Eileen Fisher Washable Wool Scoop-Neck Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SusieH
Location:NYC
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Flattering!
Date:February 14, 2014
I like the color (peat moss) as an alternative to black. Comfortable with a nice swing and flattering. Great with tights and boots. Have not cleaned or washed yet. Hoping it holds up for long wear.
Review 7 for Eileen Fisher Washable Wool Scoop-Neck Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mygreyts
Location:Philadelphia
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Ready to go dress
Date:February 14, 2014
This dress has been rolled into a ball, stuffed into a duffle, and when I was ready to wear it, it was good to go with no wrinkles. I like it so much I purchased two. It can be dressed up or for a casual look, worn with tights and flats. It is my "go to dress" for multiple functions.
Review 8 for Eileen Fisher Washable Wool Scoop-Neck Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nannerl
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
works all ways!
Date:February 8, 2014
I noticed that another review said this was not able to be dressed up, but I paired it (in sage) with a long black jersey skirt, elegant black boots and an EF fabric necklace and it rated nicely for wearing to the symphony! A great dress!
Review 9 for Eileen Fisher Washable Wool Scoop-Neck Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MaineMartha
Location:Maine
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Eileen fisher and GH have done has done it, again
Date:February 8, 2014
I bought the petite petite in graphite. It is comfy, yet stylish. I have received many complements. The dress looks great with riding and heeled boots. If it came in a color other than the 3 dark ones offered, I would get another...particularly if on sale.
Review 10 for Eileen Fisher Washable Wool Scoop-Neck Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
glen
Location:New York
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Fantastic Dress--Possibly my best dress!
Date:February 8, 2014
I'm small boned, 5'' 5', and 115-120 lbs. sometimes the smallest eileen fisher clothes are too big for me if there isn't a petite size. but i got a PP in this dress and it is fantastic. i wear it with tights, boots, and a colorful scarf or beads.
it DOES NOT make you look pregnant [like a # of reviews say] if you get it in the right size.
it isn't itchy in the least, and you feel so comfortable in it while you look incredible. i'm wearing it often, even on days that i work from home because it makes me feel so good to have on. the black will need a lint brush every couple of times you wear it.
at the sale price, everyone should buy one, but it's worth the full price!
Review 11 for Eileen Fisher Washable Wool Scoop-Neck Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Candy
Location:Connecticut
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Nice Dress
Date:February 7, 2014
Based on all the reviews, I felt this dress would be a winner. Not so much for me. It fit well, I'm 5'6", sz 8 and went with Small. The deal breaker for me was that it would require some type of undergarment as the material is semi-sheer and a bit scratchy. Otherwise, it was a nice style and a different little black dress look.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Eileen Fisher Washable Wool Scoop-Neck Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Di37
Location:Arkansas
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Love This Dress
Date:January 7, 2014
Bought one, then another, then another!!!! Love Love this dress. It is so comfortable and classy. Worth every penny!!!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Eileen Fisher Washable Wool Scoop-Neck Dress - Regular
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LinnieC
Location:North Carolina
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Perhaps there are two versions of this dress?
Date:January 6, 2014
I ordered the dress based on the great reviews from people who sounded similar to me in age, shape, size etc. I love the fabric and the style but the dress looks like baby doll pjs on me. It just hangs straight down from the shoulders, though I am fairly curvy. Add oddly, the sleeves are huge - sleeves are normally tight on me, but these hang off my arms. Also didn't realize the sleeves were 3/4 length. I normally wear a size 10 dress and ordered a small, but it hung shapeless on me. I'm really baffled why this dresses works so well for some and not at all for others. I'd love this dress if it fit.
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison January 16, 2014
We're sorry the fit didn't work for you. We'd be happy to assist with a return or exchange.
Review 14 for Eileen Fisher Washable Wool Scoop-Neck Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jtmsd
Location:northern NJ
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Date:January 5, 2014
just dressy enough for holiday dinner; just casual enough to be comfortable at dinner!
Review 15 for Eileen Fisher Washable Wool Scoop-Neck Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mitzicat
Location:Oldwick, NJ
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
The best dress
Date:January 4, 2014
Everything has already been said about this wonderful, simple, elegant basic. I almost didn't buy it because it's nearly too short for someone my age but I'm so glad I did. I'm hoping GH continues to go forward with this style because as an exclusive, it's only available here!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Eileen Fisher Washable Wool Scoop-Neck Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Elyse36
Location:E. Greenwich, RI
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Lovely Dress
Date:January 3, 2014
I am a fan of this dress. I was worried it might be too short at 5'8, but I think with tights or leggings and boots it will be fine. It is swingy and drapy, but not sack-like as some reviewers have said. The medium was a perfect fit--that is my usual Garnet Hill size.
Review 17 for Eileen Fisher Washable Wool Scoop-Neck Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jambon
Location:Cambridge, MA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Best dress
Date:December 31, 2013
This is my all-time favorite dress. Over the years I have acquired it in five different colors. Falls beautifully, fits comfortably and
cleans easily.
Review 18 for Eileen Fisher Washable Wool Scoop-Neck Dress - Regular
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
zzmommi
Location:Atlanta GA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Sigh...
Date:December 31, 2013
I have eyed this dress forever and it was finally in stock at a sale price so I ordered. It arrived yesterday and sadly does not seem to be the same dress pictured. The top bodice part is considerably higher waisted than shown and the knit does not show the definition of a waist. That said, the fabric is lovely and light weight. It would probably work for someone who is short waisted and small chested, then it may hang like the photo. I'm returning. :-(
Review 19 for Eileen Fisher Washable Wool Scoop-Neck Dress - Regular
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
JeanieBeanie
Location:Upstate New York
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Washable Wool Scoop Dress
Date:December 30, 2013
Again another item when I first opened the package up the feeling was yuk what the heck
but after wearing it the thoughts change, for me anyways, and I find myself wearing this dress a couple of times a week.
I work from home and keep the heat on the low side so this dress is a great purchase. I wear tights, and a cotton shirt under it and perhaps a sweater over it and I look good , feel warm and it is so comfortable. It washes well and it sure beats sweats or jeans.
I also did enjoy the sale price so EF is turning me into an EF junkie.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Eileen Fisher Washable Wool Scoop-Neck Dress - Regular
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Austinchic
Location:Austin, Texas
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
looks great, feels great
Date:December 28, 2013
From the moment I put this dress on I loved it!. It is flattering and very comfortable. I have had so many compliments, and several friends plan on ordering too!
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>