Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Garnet Hill Essential Down Comforter

CHOOSE YOUR FILL. CHOOSE YOUR COLOR. CHOOSE YOUR COMFORT. When we say essential, we mean it's a staple that works for every season and with every bedding ensemble, year after comfy year. Choose a fill, select a style (comforter or blanket), pick a color — with so many options, these lofty layers are your go-to pieces for every bed in the house. Filled with plush white down or hypoallergenic Core-Loft™ Covered in a 230 thread count percale shell of luxurious, long-staple cotton Offers warmth and insulation with a lofty appearance Detailed with matching piping and box-stitched construction Available in 19 colors Imported Twin: 68" x 90" Double/Queen: 88" x 90" King: 104" x 90" PART OF OUR ESSENTIAL DOWN AND DOWN-FREE COLLECTION Also available: Garnet Hill Essential Down or Core-Loft™ Blanket . SIZE TIP: COMFORTER VS. BLANKET Our comforter size sits neatly on the top of the bed — perfect for an extra layer of warmth under a pieced quilt. Our blanket size is designed to cascade and drape over the sides of the bed — great on its own or with another top layer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.872 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (109 reviews)
5 stars
98
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
108 of 10999%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garnet Hill Essential Down Comforter
Review 1 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JackieDD
Location:Walton, NY
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Wonderful Comforter!
Date:April 10, 2014
Thin and very warm!
Just what I was looking for!
Wish I could get one in every color!
Review 2 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Harris850
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Perfect for Florida!
Date:March 24, 2014
I have been searching for the right comforter for a long time. I wanted something that would go with a lot of other things, but I didn't want a solid and I didn't want to have to use a duvet cover. I wanted cotton, and I wanted lightweight yet warm enough to use on its own. This is the ONE! It is SO lightweight - it doesn't feel heavy on my toes when I lie on my back - and yet it is surprisingly warm. I got the dune herringbone, and it is a great neutral but with enough visual interest that it's not boring. Haven't washed it yet and will try to remember to update after that.
Review 3 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
afti
Location:SC
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great comforter
Date:February 21, 2014
thrilled with our new comforter, exactly what I needed at reasonable price, came quickly and hangs beautifully on the bed! Husband thought it might be too thin when it first came but kept us cozy! LOVE the color..
Review 4 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
workingmomindc
Location:Washington, DC
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great comforter
Date:February 5, 2014
Got one of these for my son's room, which is always several degrees colder than the rest of the bedrooms. The color is vivid, the fabric is soft, and best of all he's toasty warm. Goes great with the GH flannel sheets!
Review 5 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
clivia
Location:Massachusetts
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Very warm
Date:February 5, 2014
I got the torquoise, which is very true to the catalog color and quite beautiful. I was concerned, even after reading the reviews, when I saw how thin the comforter was. I was afraid it wouldn't be warm enough in the winter. I was amazed to discover how very warm it was. In fact, even with the heat turned down to 50 and the coldest weather ever, it brought on hot flashes and I can't use it right now.
Review 6 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ladyslipper
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Core loft comforter
Date:February 5, 2014
I purchased this along with a flannel comforter cover from Garnet Hill to go on a guest room bed. It seems to be light weight and lofty. I don't know how warm it is because I haven't slept under it.
Review 7 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EShan
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Love this!
Date:February 4, 2014
I love this comforter. It's extremely warm, but yet light enough so that you aren't TOO warm. Our family uses this blanket in both the warmer and colder weather vs. another type of blanket.
Review 8 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mardan
Location:San Antonio, Texas
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Perfect down comforter for San Antonio
Date:January 22, 2014
I tried the Essential Down Comforter for the first time last night and I am so glad I finally found the perfect solution for the San Antonio climate...light weight warmth. Thank you, Garnet Hill.
Review 9 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
xmiche
Location:New England
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Just right...
Date:January 21, 2014
Ordered this to replace a heavy down comforter that got too hot in the middle of the night. This one is just the perfect weight. Love the turquoise color too...
Review 10 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Phili
Location:Northern New Jersey
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Great colors, light and warm
Date:January 18, 2014
I now have 5 of these comforters in various colors. THe orange one is on my king bed and brightens up the whole room. It is not garish, just sunny.
Review 11 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hedi
Warm
Date:January 18, 2014
This item is surprisingly warm while yet lightweight. It is definitely a good buy.
Review 12 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jinjer
Location:Boston
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Great but no cigar
Date:January 17, 2014
Especially on sale, this down king comforter was an excellent value. Never was able to figure out how much down was in it to compare with other items, however. Very amply sized! I sent it back because the thread count though lovely, 250-ish, it made the rustling noise that I object to in my current comforter. Need at least 400 ct, I think.
Review 13 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nannerl
Location:Austin, TX
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
just in time
Date:January 5, 2014
I decided to buy this because it was a special sale and oh man am I glad I did. Baby it's cold ya wohl!! But heavenly sleeping under this comforter--not too dense, just right. Thanks for having it on sale GH!
Review 14 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sayles
Location:rhode island
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Date:January 5, 2014
We received two of these down throws for Christmas! They are extremely warm, easy to wash and come in great colors and patterns! Really cozy for the couch!
Review 15 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SkiVT
Location:Vermon
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Ski House Bunk Beds
Date:January 1, 2014
Using on ski house bunk beds - kids and teens love them. good quality, well constructed. Great looking and very warm.
Review 16 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mswool
Location:Dartmouth, MA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
light, warm and attractive
Date:December 16, 2013
Great quality, looks and comfort. Very warm! Very happy with the purchase.
Review 17 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
magirl
Location:arizona
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Date:December 14, 2013
generous in size, as pictured, great quality, very warm
Review 18 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loveymama
Location:Upstate, NY
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Cozy and Warm
Date:December 14, 2013
We use a woodstove in winter, and while it keeps the downstairs warm, the bedrooms upstairs are not! This is the second down comforter from Garnet Hill we have gotten for our family, last year for our daughter, now for my husband and I. We have cozy and warm beds without needing 5 comforters and quilts! I use it with a light quilt and blanket in winter, and it is super warm! In summer or fall, it is too warm, but perfect for northern winters!
Review 19 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FavoriteAuntie
Location:Hanover, MA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Amazing down comforter
Date:December 1, 2013
After looking at numerous websites for a light-weight down comforter I found this at GH. I am amazed at the warmth it provides (we live in MA) and LOVE the color choices.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Comforter
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Eveningcrane
Location:New Mexico, USA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
SO LIGHT YET SO WARM
Date:September 9, 2013
We purchased the King core-loft version of this comforter when it was on sale. When we opened the box and felt how light the comforter was, we had our doubts about whether it would be warm enough. Well it kept us warm all winter and we keep our house rather cool. Beautifully made and the filling doesn't bunch up. Great comforter!
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>