Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Garnet Hill Essential Down Blanket

When we say essential, we mean it's a staple that works for every season and with every bedding ensemble, year after comfy year. Choose a fill, select a style (blanket or comforter), pick a color — with so many options, these lofty layers are your go-to pieces for every bed in the house. Filled with plush white down or hypoallergenic Core-Loft®• Covered in a 230 thread count percale shell of luxurious, long-staple cotton Lightweight down-free blanket provides year-round sleeping comfort Detailed with matching piping and box-stitched construction Available in 19 coordinating colors Imported Throw: 52" x 80" Twin: 70" x 96" Double/Queen: 90" x 96" King: 107" x 96" PART OF OUR ESSENTIAL DOWN AND DOWN-FREE COLLECTION Also available: Garnet Hill Essential Core-loft® Blanket & Comforter . SIZE TIP: COMFORTER VS. BLANKET Our comforter size sits neatly on the top of the bed — perfect for an extra layer of warmth under a pieced quilt. Our blanket size is designed to cascade and drape over the sides of the bed — great on its own or with another top layer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.76 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (263 reviews)
5 stars
225
4 stars
23
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
4
250 of 26395%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
33 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garnet Hill Essential Down Blanket
Review 1 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Blanket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lycus
Location:Phoenix
Perfect !
Date:May 15, 2015
Just exactly what I have been looking for. The weight is perfect for all year round in our region. Color is beautiful and texture is great.
Review 2 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Blanket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rowdybbpearl
Location:Berkeley ca.
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Down Blanket
Date:May 3, 2015
Just beautiful ! Large enough to have plenty of hangover or tuck in on 15 in. Mattress with lots at the end.
Bought one and went back and bought another !
Review 3 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Blanket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jvmcfarlane
kids lacrosse comforters
Date:April 20, 2015
love these down alternative comforters for their vivid colors, great quality, ease in laundering, warmth!
Review 4 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Blanket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LaurelSong
Location:MN.
Gender:Female
Finally found my down blanket
Date:March 28, 2015
I started looking for a down blanket in late fall. Bought and returned 2 down blankets before this 1 popped up in my search. I am so happy with basically everything . Nice loft, lightweight, also warm. I own a down comforter. Even though I live in MN.,it is too hot for most of winter. I layer this blanket as needed. Most of all, I like the softness. The other blankets were crunchy and satin trim was poking into me.
Purchased king size on good sale price. I may be late winter bloomer, but this is to keep for years.
Review 5 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Blanket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lafolie
Location:NE iowa
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Great all year round!
Date:March 18, 2015
I bought the core loft throw to use on a couch during the winter. I wanted something I could wash frequently. The percale is a tight weave and feels soft. The surprise was using it on my bed during the hot summer months. The light weight was perfect. I caught a sale price, and feel the throw was a great buy.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Blanket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
t8v7lily
Location:Chicago, IL
Great Purchase
Date:March 13, 2015
We love this blanket. Bought it in the green and it is so pretty. Keeps us warm at night but we're not too warm, just right. I did wash it when I received it and it did very well. I let it dry for quite a while on low and nothing bunched up or clumped together. Very pleased.
Review 7 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Blanket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pmome
Location:NJ
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
WOW!! So very comfortable
Date:February 20, 2015
Love my son's new Core Loft Blanket...A few years back I purchased a Navy Core-Loft Comforter along with a Lapis Cotton Fleece Blanket from GH...still looks as great as the day I received them...this year I decided to add a little more color and selected the garnet color core loft blanket...it really completes the look...hangs longer than the comforter and really looks great. Washes up nicely... is very soft and he will definitely use it year round. Simply beautiful!
Review 8 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Blanket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ruby22
Location:Fairfield County, CT
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Great Alternative to a Heavy Comforter
Date:February 15, 2015
We purchased a king sized Down Blanket in Dune for our bed and are very pleased! We paired it with the Dream Quilt. It is lightweight, warm and comfortable. We love it!
Review 9 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Blanket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MySharonA
Great Down Blanket
Date:February 9, 2015
I am a first time buyer at Garnet Hill, and I WILL be back for more. Love this down blanket - I have used electric blankest for many, many years now...and I don't need one with this blanket...I can't believe how wonderful it feels.
Review 10 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Blanket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ciemque
Location:New Mexico
Great Purchase
Date:January 18, 2015
We bought the king down-alternative blanket for winter use on our queen bed. Love it. There is extra to hang over without having to tuck it in and we both stay covered. Not heavy.
Review 11 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Blanket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Peppermurphy
Location:Seattle, WA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Love love love
Date:January 15, 2015
I got this on sale but it would be worth paying full price. It's soft and warm and the tangerine color is beautiful. Just the pop of color I needed. And it's big enough to cover your whole body unlike those smaller throws that are so common. I use it for my afternoon naps on the sofa. It's perfect in every way.
Review 12 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Blanket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gypsyx4
Location:Bossier City, LA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Perfect extra layer
Date:December 29, 2014
For my guest bed, I just needed an extra but not too heavy layer over a quilt for winter. In Louisiana we don't get snow and/or long-term frigid temps, but you can sometimes want a little extra coziness when the thermostat dips at night. This was perfect and I love the color, which can be coordinated with so many things. We just fold it in half at the foot of the bed and it keeps tootsies warm or can be pulled all the way up for snuggling. Looking to add a few more in other colors!
Review 13 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Blanket
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Rhodeeho
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Odd "stains" after washing
Date:December 20, 2014
Received these for my sons' beds. Washed according to label and now have strange streak marks / stains on both. So disappointed as these are expensive for what they are.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonJanuary 15, 2015
We have not heard of this happening before! We will have a Customer Care Specialist contact you regarding this.
Review 14 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Blanket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JEGSacramento
Location:Sacramento
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Best comforter!
Date:December 16, 2014
Two years ago I purchased the turquoise throw in down. It has been the best purchase. No leaky feathers, machine washable, and very cozy. The quality I like best about the blanket is that I can use it nearly year round. In warmer temperatures I use it as a throw, and in the winter time it is warm enough to put on my bed. I was surprised at how toasty I was at night given that I had initially purchased it to use in the spring and summer. Great purchase. You won't regret it!
Review 15 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Blanket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Neno
Location:Amarillo Tx
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
very nice
Date:November 28, 2014
After looking at several sites and in several stores I finally found this lovely down blanket at Garnet Hill. I paid a bit more than I wanted too, however the $20 off was a nice surprise when I finished my order and free shipping was nice also. The blanket is just what I wanted and it fits our king bed with plenty of room left over all around. I would highly recommend this item.
Review 16 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Blanket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tapp
Location:Little Rock, AR
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Great product
Date:November 26, 2014
The down blanket is light in weight and very warm. I got it on sale so it was an excellent value. I am enjoying it.
Review 17 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Blanket
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bostonklg
Location:Boston, Ma
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Disappointed
Date:November 22, 2014
I was disappointed in the quality of the Garnet Hall Essential Down Blanket Throw.
I had first ordered the Raspberry Tile and returned as the color was not going to work for me. I then ordered the Throw in Beaujolais and am happy with the color and the covering. However the down filling is simply too skimpy. I have shaken and shaken, air fluffed in the dryer and still the throw is flat as a pancake! I wish I had read deeper into the reviews before ordering. Shame on me as now I realize others have had the same conclusion.
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonDecember 5, 2014
We want you to be completely satisfied with your purchase. Please know that our exchanges are always freight free. If you need any assistance, please contact us at 1.800.870.3513.
Review 18 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Blanket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
iris7833
Date:October 25, 2014
These comforters are wonderful! I previously purchased a throw, and then bought the twin, which is huge, and fits my queen bed fine! Just the right weight, the fabric is nice too. Would like a few more neutral color choices
Review 19 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Blanket
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Grizzy5
Location:East Greenwich, RI
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Great blanket
Date:October 24, 2014
Down blanket is the perfect weight and generous size for our king bed. Quality fabric and construction make it au real value!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garnet Hill Essential Down Blanket
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
redbear
Location:Seattle
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
'cucumber green' is a minty pastel green
Date:October 17, 2014
Of course you can't really rely on your screen to accurately portray color but this is REALLY off. bummer!
Response from Garnet Hill:By LornaCustomer LiaisonOctober 25, 2014
Thanks so much for your note! We strive to accurately present colors online, and are sorry you were disappointed. If you would like to return or exchange and need assistance, please call us at 1.800.870.3513.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>