Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Portland Platform Bed

Minimal lines lend modern sophistication to this low-profile wooden bed made of lacquered ash. The hardwood slats and sturdy polypropylene straps will accommodate a mattress without a box spring. Simple assembly required. USA. Twin: 79 1/2" L x 43 1/2" W x 17" H Double: 79 1/2" L x 58 1/2" W x 17" H Queen: 84 1/2" L x 64 1/2" W x 17" H King: 84 1/2" L x 80 1/2" W x 17" H Drawer: 20 3/4" L x 36 1/2" W x 12" H Drawers are sold separately. The Platform Bed can fit up to four drawers, two on each side. Please allow 2-3 weeks to ship. This item can only be shipped via UPS.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 1894%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for Portland Platform Bed
Review 1 for Portland Platform Bed
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
veritas
Location:Long Island, New York
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Simply Perfect! Highly Recommended!
Date:May 14, 2014
I just love this classic bed. Well-built in the USA(!) and so easy to assemble (Twin size - 20 minutes - by myself). Excellent quality, solid and comfortable. The Milk White finish is creamy and gorgeous and the clean look goes with any decor. Ample space for underbed storage with 11" clearance. And nothing beats Garnet Hill's Outstanding Customer Service! Every day I'm so happy that I bought this bed :)
Response from Garnet Hill:By TiffanyCustomer Liaison May 15, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments!
Review 2 for Portland Platform Bed
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
valerina
Location:palo alto, california
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Adore this clean cut bed
Date:February 4, 2014
And so do guests.
It is a a few small inches higher than other platform beds which lends to its airiness, and gives room for storage, like under clothes seasonal storage.
I got the milky white platform bed and it is pretty and clean giving both a country or modern look spending on sheets and comforters decor.
I am not good at putting things together so hired a handyman to put it together. It took an hour, or less.
I am going to order another one!
Review 3 for Portland Platform Bed
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MicheMarie
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Great platform bed
Date:December 15, 2013
I bought the twin in white and liked it so much for the guest bedroom that I ordered the queen in white for the master bedroom. I put the queen bed together in less than 30 minutes. I have not noticed any issues with either bed to date. Great product!
Review 4 for Portland Platform Bed
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lymegal
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Perfect!
Date:December 12, 2013
I bought this bed for our summer cottage in Cape Cod. It's perfect! Beautifully constructed and works very well with the simple, clean, beach esthetic. I am also delighted that it is made in Maine. Garnet Hill is the best!
Review 5 for Portland Platform Bed
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mishymom
Location:Connecticut
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Great Bed Frames
Date:November 19, 2013
I bought two of these to convert empty kid's rooms to guest rooms. They arrived within a few weeks and took less time to assemble than to unpack. Great quality, all wood, beautiful clean style, made in the USA. Couldn't be happier.
Review 6 for Portland Platform Bed
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BeverlyWriter
Location:Nutmeg State
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Solid American Construction
Date:October 24, 2013
I was delighted to purchase this bed during a good sale on the site, and am overall very pleased with it. In a universe full of furniture made in China, I felt happy to buy a bed made of American wood. The instructions were simple and the bed itself is SOLID and the improved sleep we've achieved on our now mattress-only sleep station (aka BED) is excellent. My only quibble is, in the king version, two cross supports provided were able to slip sideways when the bed saw some amorous activity. This necessitated taking up the mattress again and re-positioning these cross supports--I gather the second time is a charm as we haven't had any trouble with these moving since. Anyway, I am happy with this purchase and it is a DREAMBOAT, literally.
Review 7 for Portland Platform Bed
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Matilda8
Location:Maine
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
simple and elegant
Date:August 28, 2013
I purchased this bed for my teenage son about 3 years ago and it has been perfect in every regard. It is wonderful in any sort of space, roomy, and timeless. I am sure he will take it to college when he goes!
Review 8 for Portland Platform Bed
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LGmom
Location:Los Gatos, CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Simple, quality bed
Date:May 16, 2013
I was hesitant to order a bed online without seeing, but this is a quality bed and so easy to put together. Arrived shortly after placing order. I ordered the espresso. My 8-yr old son couldn't be happier. Looks much better than a metal bed frame and there is plenty of room under the bed. Very happy with purchase and quality of wood frame. Made in Maine, USA.
Review 9 for Portland Platform Bed
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location:Des Moines, IA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Cool Quality Bed
Date:February 9, 2013
I bought this bed for my son. It is solid, high quality, and very cool looking. I love the simple lines and the smooth wood. Such a great value and again such great QUALITY!
Review 10 for Portland Platform Bed
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EandL
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Extremely Happy with this Purchase
Date:October 21, 2012
After much waiting and searching for a great, simple platform bed - we decided on this one and couldn't be happier! Took a bit of time to receive but once it got here, it was so easy to assemble. The bed is sturdy and the wood is gorgeous. Made our old mattress feel much better while we waited for the new one to come in! We would definitely recommend this bed!
Review 11 for Portland Platform Bed
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garnet4life
Location:West Unity,OH
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Simplicity at its best!
Date:June 7, 2012
I will just say that this bed is simple and of great quality. We couldn't be happier. However, we do not agree with the special shipping cost. UPS or any other shipping service could have delivered it much cheaper.
Review 12 for Portland Platform Bed
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Zenas
Location:CT
Great bed
Date:April 9, 2012
Stylish, sturdy, good quality...Extra delivery charges (in the case of twin bed one third of the price) are unnecessary since they don't include putting the bed together.
Review 13 for Portland Platform Bed
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CWhite
Location:New Albany, OH
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Buy it!
Date:November 21, 2011
I have purchased a bed like this from another company and was leery about buying this one. This bed is far superior to the average platform. There are supports in the middle of the bed, but you cannot see them unless you bend over and look. I put this bed together in 30 minutes by myself. I used my son's chair to support the side so they were straight while I screwed them in. I would consider buying another one in another finish for a guest room. You should look no further and buy this bed!
Review 14 for Portland Platform Bed
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gingerale
Location:Madison, WI
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
REALLY Tall Bed
Date:November 21, 2011
This bed is fantastic - lovely, a good price, and relatively easy to put together. The only thing: please notice that the mattress in the photo is VERY THIN. If you have a regular mattress and box spring, your bed is going to be INSANELY TALL. I almost need a stepladder to climb into mine. Just make sure you're prepared for that because I was not!
Review 15 for Portland Platform Bed
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
swedishes
Location:santa monica, ca
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
high quality bed
Date:October 23, 2011
i purchased this bed frame in white in december 2008. i loved it when it arrived, and i still love it today. it is a super solid piece of furniture. and then considering the price... what? so cheap for such an awesome bed frame.
Review 16 for Portland Platform Bed
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
opinionated
Location:Phila., PA
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Found; the perfect bed!
Date:March 26, 2010
I went in search of the perfect bed for my son's room. We found the Portland Platform bed at Garnet Hill! My son is so pleased with this bed, and he has named this bed the perfect bed!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Portland Platform Bed
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vale
Location:WA State
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Simple and very attractive
Date:February 7, 2009
First we bought the king size in espresso for our room, then the double size in white for the guest room. Even for me the bed was pretty easy to put together. The first time a delvery company guy helped us put together the king sized bed; the second time there were some problems with the shipping, but Garnet Hill staff were very helpful and responsive in working out the problems, and arranging delivery. That time we were on our own putting it together - no big deal. The style of the bed is very versatile, depending on what you prefer it can work in a very modern minimal room, or be dressed up by linens and bedding to work with a more luxurious effect. In our bedroom it looks great during the winter with Eileen Fisher quilts, fluffy duvets and a cashmere blanket, and in the winter works with our Brahms Mount striped linen blanket (love that blanket!). Great buy!
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Portland Platform Bed
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bettyjo
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
solid bed great price
Date:November 12, 2008
We liked this bed because it is simple, solid and does not require a box springs. We put it in the guest room and everyone has loved it. It is a good value.
6 of 7 found this review helpful.