Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Signature Merino Cardigan

Our most-coveted cardigan features new prints to please every taste. No matter which one (or two) you choose, you'll find this sweater can single-handedly reboot any basic in your bureau. We kept the things you love the same, from the finely knit, soft merino to the slim, flattering fit. Grosgrain-ribbon placket Three-quarter sleeves Hip length Merino wool Imported Slim fit. For layering, we recommend you order one size larger than your usual size.
Average Customer Rating:
4.555 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (1,233 reviews)
5 stars
869
4 stars
247
3 stars
66
2 stars
34
1 star
17
1,129 of 1,23392%would recommend to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
39 Questions | 62 Answers
Customer Reviews for Signature Merino Cardigan
Review 1 for Signature Merino Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Greenwood Village CO
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Love these sweaters
Date:January 22, 2016
I have 5 of the sweaters and they are so comfortable and I always get compliments when I where them. Look forward to the new patterns!
Review 2 for Signature Merino Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Such A Beautiful Sweater
Date:January 21, 2016
This is a very pretty,soft cardigan that I think can be worn year round. I purchased the black floral and the colors are lovely. Got it on sale so it was well worth the price
Review 3 for Signature Merino Cardigan
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, WA
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Do not recommend
Date:January 20, 2016
I bought two merino cardigans on sale. I returned both. I thought the fabric quite thin. The fit on me was boxy and unflattering. I am 5' 10" and the length was too short.
Review 4 for Signature Merino Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Naples FL
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Soft and stylish
Date:January 20, 2016
Love the embellishments and detail on this pretty cardigan. The medium gives me a nice relaxed fit. The colour and styling are very flattering. Paid the sale price for this and feel it was a wonderful buy.
Review 5 for Signature Merino Cardigan
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bradenton, FL
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Cute, basic, simple sweater
Date:January 20, 2016
I ordered the ocelot brown print in medium and it was a good fit--I am 5'4" 115 lbs. Wore it with brown knit pants. The wool was kind of thin, but I live in Florida, so that is OK. Wish it wasn't "dry clean", but since it was on sale, it is forgivable.
Review 6 for Signature Merino Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
great wardrobe staple
Date:January 16, 2016
I try to buy one of these every year, I now have four! I mostly wear them buttoned, but they're also great as a lightweight cardigan. Can be worn to work, dressed up, or over jeans. A great basic.
Review 7 for Signature Merino Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Gender:Female
Age:Over 65
Daughter Loved It
Date:January 14, 2016
It is a beautiful sweater. You advised to go one size larger if layering and that was very good advice. I have a very happy daughter and my pocket book is happy as I purchased it on sale.
Review 8 for Signature Merino Cardigan
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Gulf Coast, FL
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
On the fence
Date:January 7, 2016
I ordered two of these sweaters in size small for gifts. Not sure why they tell you to order one size up because they seem to run true to size. Maybe it is because the material is very thin so there is no room to give? Not sure I like the really thin quality. I'd only recommend this sweater for very slim people
Review 9 for Signature Merino Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Classic update - striking poppies!
Date:January 7, 2016
Every year, if a particular pattern strikes me in GH's signature merino cardigan, I wait until a sale and snag one. This is my 3rd one. The poppies are really lovely, and you can pair with black pants or skirt. I had wanted the peacock, but the problem with waiting until sales is some can run out! The poppy one is a winner though. As always, they are slim fitting, soft and very comfortable. Great for weekdays at the office or weekends with jeans.
Review 10 for Signature Merino Cardigan
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Arlington, MA, USA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Beware Sizing Up if You're Small-Busted
Date:January 6, 2016
I took some reviewers' advice and sized up to large from my usual medium. I'm a 34B of medium build (i.e. not trim) and the large was way too wide. I ordered the scarlet embroidered floral and it's a pretty scarlet-magenta color, more pinkish than red. It also has sprinkling of gold sequins among the flowers, which are really quite pretty and not something I noticed online (not sure how well they'll wash, though). Being an ivory shade and on the thinner side, the material is soft but quite transparent. A nice sweater, and my first of its kind. I will return it for a medium.
Review 11 for Signature Merino Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Signature Merino Cardigan
Date:January 4, 2016
Beautiful cardigan. Love it.
Flower print is lighter than picture.
I thought it's black but it's actually charcoal gray.
Review 12 for Signature Merino Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Absolutely Beautiful
Date:December 28, 2015
This sweater is absolutely gorgeous. The only drawback if any is that the color of the floral petals are difficult to match other than worn with black. Would have been great if a skirt or slacks were the same color.
Review 13 for Signature Merino Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Milford, Ct
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Beautiful Sweater!
Date:December 24, 2015
I love the fit of this sweater. It's as though it was made for me. It's soft, the pattern is beautiful, and it's just the right length...not too long!
Review 14 for Signature Merino Cardigan
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Boston
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
disappointed in the ivory embroidered cardigan
Date:December 21, 2015
I got the signature merino cardigan in ivory, with deep red embroidered flowers. The sweater I received did not seem like what I saw online. The embroidery was very loosely done, with the flower petals outlined and then sketchily partly filled in, like sloppy crayon work in a coloring book. I thought it would be more tightly embroidered than what I got.
The sweater is also thinner than I expected, as a result it would need to be worn with a camisole because my bra showed through a little. I'll be sending it back.
Review 15 for Signature Merino Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NH
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
Color surprise
Date:December 20, 2015
I bought this sweater, thinking the embellishments were were gray.... that's how it looked on my computer screen. When it arrived, the decoration was clearly brown. A taupe-y brown, but brown. Fortunately it works with a pair of slacks and a skirt that I have, because it is a lovely sweater. Pretty creamy white and the embellishments are nicely done. Looks very festive, but still casual. Keeping it!
Review 16 for Signature Merino Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:santa fe, nm
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Third sweater
Date:December 9, 2015
I have three of these, which I bought in different seasons. Each looks very unique and so I don't feel like I'm dressing the same. I always get compliments on the colors and patterns.
Review 17 for Signature Merino Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
beautiful sweater
Date:December 4, 2015
I loved this sweater when I received it. But have to return it. I ordered next size up as recommended. I found out to achieve fitted look like the model on the catalogue it was best to order my actual size.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Signature Merino Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
My Go-To Cardi
Date:December 1, 2015
I love these versatile cardigans so much that I have purchased several. My latest was the poppy print, and the colors are just beautiful. They're a little pricy, but worth the money for all the wearing I get out of them, especially if I can get them on sale. Fabric is not bulky, so these can be worn year-round. I'm on the busty side, so I order them in Large so I can wear them either buttoned up, or layered over a tank or tee and left open or buttoned just part way.
Review 19 for Signature Merino Cardigan
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:St. Paul, Minnesota
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Signature Merino Cardigan
Date:November 13, 2015
I love this topper, I have several of them and they have always been a go to sure thing. I am sad to say that the new sweaters have gradually gotten smaller and smaller AND itchier and itchier. I will not be buying them anymore:(
Response from Garnet Hill:By LynnCustomer LiaisonJanuary 27, 2016
Thank you for your comments! We spoke with our Design Team and found that the fiber content, 100% Merino Wool, nor the sizing has changed. We would be happy to arrange a return or freight free exchange for you. Please give us a call at 800-870-3513.
Review 20 for Signature Merino Cardigan
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gender:Female
Age:55-64
merino cardigan
Date:November 12, 2015
I loved the fit and the style - but I am exchanging it for the blue floral. The brown color on a brown skin woman - just didn't compliment me,
I hope my exchange comes before Thanksgiving.
:)
1 2 3 4 5 ... 62 next>>